MITI received 14 proposals for new national car project

Here’s an update on the new national car project (NNCP). The government’s invitation for NNCP proposals from the private sector has closed, and the ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) has in hand 14 proposals. This was revealed by MITI deputy minister Dr Ong Kian Ming in parliament today, reported by The Star.

Ong reiterated that the NNCP would be fully driven by the private sector and the government would only give select assistance based on the capabilities of the company involved.

“I believe the suggestion to conduct an economic impact study for the project is acceptable and fair, but we need to get a clear direction first as we have yet to study the proposals given by the private companies and individuals on the project. In order to carry out the economic impact report, we have to get clarity first on the National Automotive Policy,” he said in a reply to Subang MP Wong Chen, who asked the government when it would be able to produce an economic impact report on the NNCP.

The NAP review will cover a much wider scope than just the NNCP. “The last time the policy was reviewed was in 2014, and after four years we are reviewing it again. The review will be a holistic process, not only involving the third national car project but the industry as a whole,” Ong said.

The Bangi MP added that the NNCP will spur the country’s capabilities in R&D as well as new technologies in the automotive sector, besides creating a cluster of new tech and expertise in automotive engineering.

Last week, Datuk Madani Sahari – CEO of the Malaysia Automotive Institute, which is under MITI – said that the government had received two proposals to date (October 9), so plenty must have rushed in over the past week. The deadline for submissions was October 15.

To recap, earlier this month, entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Yusof announced the timelines for the NNCP – the new national car’s name will be announced by the end of this year, while the prototype for the NNCP model is expected to be ready by early next year, ahead of a 2020 roll out. The car is expected to feature semi-autonomous capabilities and advanced safety features, while remaining affordable.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sohai (not ori) on Oct 17, 2018 at 4:56 pm

Wat a sohai plan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • YB HULK on Oct 17, 2018 at 5:38 pm

In: sst, 3rd national car, crooked bridge, capital gain tax, dsai
      Out: gst, brim, hsr, ecrl, lrt3, mrt2, lynas, dsn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • YB Albert on Oct 17, 2018 at 8:36 pm

The only way to frustrate this PROJECT MEMBAZIR WANG is to boycott buying it,when it kicks off.
        In the name of ‘private hands” ,this project will suck taxringgit to the tune of billions of Rm in R & D gomen grants.
        Albert Einstein said : If u keep doing the same (stupid)thing over and over again,but expect different results….it is called INSANITY.
        PROTIGA…A CLEAR & PRESENT DANGER
        BOYCOTT BOYCOTT BOYCOTT BOYCOTT BOYCOTT

• DrLi misled DrM on Oct 17, 2018 at 10:53 pm

1 genuine proposal by local company and 13 proposals from China brands – to replicate how Geely successfully misled the Malaysian Govt and abused the Malaysian Automotive Policy by making a Chinese Geely a national car overnight – to enjoy preferential tax

• Panjang on Oct 17, 2018 at 6:02 pm

SupermAnwar yo’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • transformer on Oct 17, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Since this new Msia Gov want to go ahead with 3rd car co., we as RAKYAT only wish is ABOLISH ALL Excise Duty on ALL CARS(local & foreign brands)! Lets Rakyat decides what we want to own! Give back Rakyat our right to choose! It’s like when 509, Rakyat chosen YOU, PH!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • excise duty translated to gov income. abolish excise duty means gov losing money. usually, gov will introduce other means of tax structure to get back this income. what do you propose on how the gov would be able to get back their money if the gov abolish excise duty? your opinion is very much appreciated. Could you throw in the impacts on the local industry as well, their suppliers, their family, etc. Thanks.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:02 pm

Oni now u think bout that? I already think bout that long time ago.

• Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 17, 2018 at 5:14 pm

LAIN-KALI LAH….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Leafable on Oct 17, 2018 at 5:49 pm

Here we go again. Increase import and excise taxes again. Thank you Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Oct 17, 2018 at 6:38 pm

this new government has only slightly over 4 years to turn around Malaysia. starting projects that will fail will see the government being change again. this is because of Dr M who refuses to listen to the people that voted for him. so when the next GE come, let’s see who is mightier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Absolutely nonsense and stupid project. We voted you not for this National car project 3.0!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Ahmadjr on Oct 17, 2018 at 9:44 pm

Bila tengok balik, dr m ni ada persamaan dengan hitler. Hitler bangunkan volkswagen guna wang rakyat untuk bangunkan industri german, sediakan kereta murah dan peluang pekerjaan pada rakyat. Hitler masa tu pun cemburu dengan kepesatan industri di uk dan italy. Dr m pulak cemburu dengan jepun tapi tak sedar sikap orang malaysia jauh berbeza dengan mereka

• john is otak batu on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:18 pm

Betul! Saapot u Basng!

• Yang Bagus on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:11 pm

‘tak sedar sikap orang malaysia jauh berbeza dengan mereka’

sikap orang malaysia camner ye, tanye skit jer …

• 14 proposals to siphon public funds? Same ol same ol msia. Thx to the foolish macais

• To be funded by Khazanah, which is appparently “not govt” now.

Aiyoh.

• Korean Fan on Oct 17, 2018 at 11:27 pm

Seriously, before the become government, they shout so loud condeming local car, proton, excise duty, bla bla bla, but once they become government, suddenly they become the spokesman of Mahathir to carry out his egocentric ambition. I can’t believe that DAP stalwart like Ong Kian Meng and Lim Guan Eng have been reduced to nothing but macai of Mahathir.

• Vincent on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:22 pm

DAP been given so much negative comment about national car during Tun M time. Now, After join Tun M, they diam diam! All politician same same… run dog!

• hondaman on Oct 18, 2018 at 9:04 am

People…. where are your sense of patriotic to the motherland?… support local product, this venture will give jobs to the 20k staffs retrenched by MMC-GAMUDA. Lets flood our road with the local EEV cars. #swappinghonda2pro3 #letsseewhoisthepembaris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Johns Johns Everywhere on Oct 18, 2018 at 9:15 am

Perusahaan Otomotif Rebadger Sdn Bhd (ProRebadger)

• newme on Oct 18, 2018 at 9:16 am

You act against the wishes of the rakyat, get ready to face the wrath of the rakyat.

• If the programmes claims No Single Cents from Gomen but provide technology expertise, work and business opportunities..Why Not.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:08 pm

The the program start by govt do u really think no single cent govt money is use. Hell they use ministry man power to kick start the program. That aren’t free.

• FireAce on Oct 18, 2018 at 9:38 am

Please be transparent and show us who is the owner of the “14 Proposals”. I’m really curious about how many of these entities are GLC / Majority Share Holder are GLC / Government have major influence in corporate decision.

Btw, I wonder how many of these proposals are sincere. Not something that entities conjure out because government asked (read: Forced) them to submit.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 18, 2018 at 9:52 am

say TakNak to national car…not rokok

• Vincent on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:17 pm

I am still wonder which 14 sohai is serious about 3rd national car.. MY domestic volume is only less than 500K a year. Why need a national car status, CKD not enough? Export to Thailand.. Indonesia??? Their already have a complete value chain in those coutry… So.. why MY?

End up, the one who awarded for 3rd national car status could be an investment arm of government.. mean using rakyat money!

• fadzili Rahman on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:01 pm

I have one question out of all these proposals submitted to MITI, which one is real car maker? these are some Lawyers, accountants and cronies who think they know it all and all they want is to please tun M. you mean we had so many car specialists and could not save Proton? we saw what having lawyers and accountants on the top of proton did to them during the fist year of take over disaster by DRB. this 3rd car will be doomed. maybe they bring other ah beng chaina cars and rebade

• Julie on Oct 19, 2018 at 5:23 am

Please improve Public Transport to efficient and be on time

We , Malaysian do not need another Third world technology third Malaysia national car project anymore.

No Europeans, No Americans , No japanese , Koreans and even China Chinese will buy this Malaysia Third national car . Even India and Indonesia prefer better cars than Malaysia third national car of third world standard and quality.

You are just wasting time , forcing malaysia to buy , producing inferior products and borrowed costly technology and lastly v=creating more traffic jam on the malaysia roads which already so congested nowadays

Better Malaysia to concentrate in producing IT technology equipments ,marines equipments, building coaches , train coaches , telecommunication, high tech farming , high tech fisheries and husbandry , sustainable forestry , petrol chemical industry , high tech medical equipments , ship vessels building and so on

Why always have to be making cars when most Malaysian dislike it .. Tun M ,Why you keep insisting on 3rd national car always?