MITI invites proposals for new national car project

By now, there should be no doubting how serious the new government is with the third national car plan – they’re pushing on, regardless of the rakyat’s sentiment on the matter. A reader alerted us to a page on the website of the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI), inviting proposals for the new national car project.

“The Malaysian automotive industry is an important and strategic part of our manufacturing sector. Automotive industry is vital for the country’s growth and a new national car project would boost Malaysia’s engineering and technological capabilities. The overall automotive industry and related sectors employs more than 700,000 people and contributes almost 4% to Malaysia’s GDP. With more than 25 manufacturing and assembly plants as well as experienced component producers, Malaysia is set to embark on the new national car project,” MITI explains.

“The project should not be limited to the development of manufacturing capabilities. It should be viewed holistically to include the entire value chain and the ecosystem that makes up the automotive industry. It needs to place emphasis on the development of research and development (R&D), new trends and technologies and further spur the growth of the automotive industry in Malaysia as well as other ASEAN member states,” the invite read.

As previously stressed by the government, the new national car project will be a private sector initiative, and will not use public funds. The government will act as a facilitator. “The new national car project proposal has to be fully private sector driven with support from the government in terms of facilitation and assistance based on the companies’ commitments,” MITI said.

In August, prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said that Malaysia will be seeking assistance from Japanese automakers such as Nissan and Toyota, but we’re now hearing from Malaysian Industry-Government Group for High Technology (MIGHT, an agency under the PM’s department tasked to lead the new national car project) that it will be an all-Malaysian effort.

UPDATE: Details on the new national car project from MIGHT, here.

“The government feels the need to acquire engineering capability which means that we have to produce and manufacture for ourselves so that goods can be sold to other countries, where there can be an inflow of money. Outflow of money is very bad for the country, that’s the government way of thinking,” Mahathir said last month, urging Malaysians to look at countries like Japan, South Korea and China as examples.

In any case, MITI’s invitation for proposals seem like a formality, while various parties within the government are already formalising plans and pulling the strings. This one isn’t going away, that’s for sure.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 04, 2018 at 3:59 pm

enough with this “national” status of these things… if someone wants to make a car in malaysia, so be it. they should succeed on their own merits. dont la go make it national, give it extra perks etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Koenigsegg Agera Owner on Oct 04, 2018 at 4:35 pm

Since this private sector initiative, and will not use public funds.

Lykan Hypersport or McLaren the best yo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:24 pm

New National car is a waste of money and more suffering to the rakyat. The rakyat already suffered so much with high car prices the past 30 years because of protectionism towards Proton. Because Proton was protected, all non national car prices went up by 700%

You see, in the late 80s, a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla was only RM20k. 30 years later in Malaysia, the Toyota Corolla Altis in Malaysia has jumped 700% to RM139k

But in Japan, the same Toyota Corolla has only gone up 50% in price from 1985 to 2018. (50% vs 700%)

So how come Malaysia, the Toyota Corolla went up to RM139k which is 700% increase? The answer is very clear. It is sheer protectionism towards Proton

So, rakyat had to suffer the past 30 years with super high car prices and super high car loans. It is estimated that if Proton was not born, Rakyat would have spent RM300 billion less on cars the past 20 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • kingslayer on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:50 pm

get to know the player! Silterra Sdn Bhd is 100% wholly own by Khazanah… PM7 is the chairman.. you do the maths…

• If this was by private sector, why MITI must invite proposals? Funny lor this Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
      • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:33 pm

In 1985, a brand new Mercedes Benz 200 was RM57k. Many Malaysians could afford to buy a Mercedes.

Infact, it was so cheap that many teksi drivers bought Mercedes as their teksis. In the 80s, there were thousands of brand new Mercedes 240D and 300D Mercedes as teksis in Malaysia.

Today in 2018, the Mercedes is RM400k. Who really can afford?

Do you know why our Mercedes has gone up from RM57k to RM400k from 1985 to 2018?

The answer is Protectionism Towards Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:43 pm

30 years we protected the 12,000 workers in Proton. Just like how we protect the 1.6 million workers in Putrajaya.

Malaysia needs to learn to down size its workforce and make the few people work harder.

Same problem in Proton. 12,000 workers produce 50,000 cars per annum

Mitsubishi in Thailand has 6000 workers producing 320,000 cars per annum

Half the workforce produce 7X more cars.

• YB Albert on Oct 04, 2018 at 6:05 pm

John..I hate your lopsided comments but this time I agree with you.You can finally see the light.

• Dangdutman on Oct 04, 2018 at 8:42 pm

Chill out gais .. U-Turn right in front

• Lotsa pipu hate truth, but it dun lessen the fact that its true what i alwiz said.

• “Automotive industry is vital for the country’s growth and a new national car project would boost Malaysia’s engineering and technological capabilities.” MITI explains.

Hello MITI, if u wanna boost Malaysia engineering & technological capabilities, why don’t you let Malaysians to be highly involved in mega projects such as HSR, ECRL, or MRT3. I believe public transport is more vital for the country’s growth.

• YB Albert on Oct 04, 2018 at 6:07 pm

We voted to kick out the bandits..not Protiga,Tun.

• Forest City Proton City on Oct 04, 2018 at 4:07 pm

DrM saying a big NO to DRB Proton China tie up – this affirms it

• dah keluar announcement.
    3rd National Car – come out year 2020. So in two years time, we are going to have a so-called ” SEMI Automatic” car , that will change the whole car industry landscape – according to the latest news.

can you believe it?

Now this new government talk pandai, promise pandai, tapi kerja tak da!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Their keje is to 24/7 find fault or make stories like its the fault, of previous Gov. Ironically, the one who created the faults r now their leader. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • lut you on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:34 pm

And u-turn pandai

• Chris on Oct 05, 2018 at 1:44 am

Bro bagi link source mana? thank you

• azhar on Oct 04, 2018 at 4:07 pm

hybrid,plugin hybrid,EV is the way to go..no more proton business model with petrol/diesel engines

• proposal sekadar hiasan on Oct 04, 2018 at 4:08 pm

if there is someone who believes that the proposal will actually be viewed and contemplated, you must be smokin some good stuff.

like anything in MY, lama or baru, got kaki all identified and when public outcry, they say we receive 29,888 proposals for it and we saw the viability.

if serious about really taking in the proposal, put it on an open platform and have the public vote because at the end, it will be us that will be handing out the bail out via government of the day…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • MusTanG on Oct 04, 2018 at 4:52 pm

wah. in about 10 days submit proposal..

I guess what you’re saying is right. They probably already have kroni with solid proposal.

This “open proposal” is just wayang niaaa

• warga rumah rakyat bandar on Oct 04, 2018 at 7:58 pm

well said … the government should have the public voted, sadly it on us now handing out the bail out for 1mdb the dreaded monster …

• Still dont learnt the lesson of PROTON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Encik Pening on Oct 04, 2018 at 4:19 pm

HSR … ECRL … mrt3 for rakyat cancel because gov no money .. suddenly national car 3 project muncul … ape citer ni … adoi xfaham laa …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • zymba on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Maybe because private sector money is not gov money…?

• HSR, ECRL, MRT3, etc only 1 Kawan each will be happy. For Perotiga, many many many Kawans will be happy.

• lut you on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Government no money but the citizen rich, see the Tabung Harapan

• AimanDd on Oct 04, 2018 at 7:07 pm

MAI oredi cukup cekap … MIGHT plak muncul … ape citer ni … adoi xfaham laa .. nasib baik gov no money … dana pelaburan sepenuhnya
      dari private sektor … pheww rakyat lega …

• Najib Razaksss on Oct 04, 2018 at 7:58 pm

tak baca ke artikel lah ni..macamana nak jadi bijak macam saya…jangan malukan saya boleh? “the new national car project will be a private sector initiative, and will not use public funds”

• PlainBS on Oct 04, 2018 at 4:30 pm

I am more concern about what kind of protection policy they will implement for this new national car project.

• History Bender on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Duty 300% didn’t seem to work so perhaps 700% this time? All the more money into Government either way.

• “support from the government in terms of facilitation and assistance”

ya, what kind of “assistance” huh? like increasing non-national brand car prices to protect this new car project?

As long as there isn’t a level playing field between national car brand & non-national car brand, we the consumers will always overpay for cars in Malaysia

• Aiman Hakim on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:00 pm

I think Malaysia should ask german carmaker to teach our country in making cars.Look at Vietnam Vinfast as example,they use BMW to help them.

• Avenger on Oct 04, 2018 at 8:46 pm

Yes. Even Toyota look towards Germany as one of their national rebadging car project.

• Yes. But Malaysian to much concern on patriotism and how to siphone money from the people. The hanky panky tech transfer was just for cover up and give “false” hope to the people.

• I wish to see this project a success and this P3 looks like a VinFast competition in a long run.

• mig29ria on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:30 pm

Flying Car..

• Fireant on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:52 pm

The rakyat has been paying super inflated prices for cars for over 30 years, enough of this ego trip. If the cronies wanted to develop their creativity and technology they would have done so 30 years ago..the Gomen is just throwing money down a bottomless pit ant the expense of the rakyat!

• Fake Johns on Oct 04, 2018 at 8:53 pm

Will just be another lame rebadger

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 05, 2018 at 5:53 am

Najib forced DRB to sell shares to Geely in order to allow Proton to be more self-sufficient, and you people hentam him kaw kaw, go vote for Atok.

Now Atok’s forcing a new national car on us, and the ensuing high taxes that will surely come. So whoever voted for Atok, shut the hell up. It’s your damn fault.

• contilover on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:21 am

clearly stated PRIVATE FUND.

• contilover on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:22 am

clearly stated “PRIVATE FUND’. Why u all sebok2? u want Malaysia to be consumer je..produce Padi, Chips only and commodity only is it? let them do what is necessary. u all complain here, how much u all contribute to nation by the way. shut up and go back to work!!!!

• Such a naive. They only said “PRIVATE FUND” to ease the sceptical from the public. How would we know it is actually from Private Fund? It is not as transparent as it should be. Perhaps, the government injected the fund through third party from cayman island. Who knows? You on the other hand should learn how the business world works. The complaints showed that the people actually care and love the country and does not want any future suffering to their future generation. Grow up!!!

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Private fund from Khazanah linked companies.

It’s not private funds.

• Orang Malaysia on Oct 06, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Orang malaysia mestilah mampu untuk beli kereta ini, kecil tetapi besar, murah tetapi cukup, mahal kerana canggih, cantik rekaannya kerana kita yang akan menggunakannya begitu juga si pembuatnya.

• aiman on Apr 09, 2019 at 12:54 pm

what will be the economic justifications to embark into third national car?