Auto cake is big enough for third national car – MAI

The third national car project is timely, as it can fulfil market needs in a bid to complete the automotive industry under the connected mobility concept, says Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Datuk Madani Sahari, reported by Bernama.

“Technologies related to information technology and electronics will develop rapidly to prepare for such vehicles. This is one of the branches of R&D that can be developed if we have the (third) national car. The R&D that we have done are good but we must move forward, so we can develop R&D in the connected mobility segment,” he said on the national news agency’s Ruang Bicara programme last night.

Madani, a supporter of the new national car project mooted by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, dismissed the perception that the proposal by the PM was due to his frustration with Proton. “That is only a perception. The desire to develop the third national car project is not solely to gain fame but it will spur economic spillovers in terms of engineering as well as services.

“For me, the development of the automotive industry is getting bigger as its scope is tremendous. The cake is big enough for the third national car to play a role. Of course, Proton and Perodua will play their respective roles but the third national car will be another national car entity,” he said.

It’s no secret that many Malaysians aren’t supportive of the third national car project, something that Mahathir himself is fully aware of.

“One thing I’ve learned in my line of work – one I consider a great honour and challenge – is the elimination of preconceived bias and assumptions to any issue. As a nation that is itself on a learning curve, we too must look at issues from both sides of the divide before forming an opinion,” the MAI man said in an opinion piece on paultan.org last month.

At the end of the day, both camps are viewing it from their perspective. Consumers don’t want something shoved down their throats in the name of “patriotism”, and the snippets we’ve heard so far has been to the tune of “we must support local, shun foreign.” On the other hand, the government’s goal is to grow the local automotive industry and ecosystem, industrialisation via the auto industry, and being self-sufficient. You can read the latter argument by Madani in full here. Thoughts?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Johan on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:01 pm

Proton was created when malaysia population was only 18 mil. Perodua when we had about 22mil in 94. Today we have on circa of 33 mil. Cake is bigger but one cannot depend only on local market support. That was a terrible choice made by proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Deswaii MAI Autoshow now got bigger local support.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:23 pm

But we dont want that cake…we want foreign cake..can aaaa…enuff of our cakes

• komarad on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:38 pm

so only want to sell cake in Bolehland aa?? what about exporting the cakes all over the world

• topkek on Sep 25, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Local cake serve w kopi korek.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 26, 2018 at 8:35 am

MAI is a defunct organisation. Government spends about a hundred million per year just to keep MAI running.

What do they do?

Until today, still never sorted high car prices, 30% car price reduction promise, and AP problem.

• tokmoh. on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:10 pm

Madani datang lagi dengan kemaslanan dia.

3rd national car only makes sense if Geely is involved. The rest can keep skin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Kimsun on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:02 pm

Geely is so far behind on its EV technology. Look for kimchi for partnership better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
      • https://paultan.org/2018/09/12/toyota-in-talks-with-geely-on-hybrid-tech-cooperation/

• Lokman on Sep 25, 2018 at 9:59 pm

BYD has one of the best battery tech, and it’s the largest ev maker in the world

• Raja Celup on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:20 pm

He said “The cake is big enough for the third national car to play a role”

What he dare not to mention is:
      “The govt coffers is not big enough to bail out another failure”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Operation Manager on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:01 pm

Duplicate and merge Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) + Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM).

• kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2018 at 6:03 am

they are different. how they want to merge? MAI is govt body. MAA is private association @ grup of auto trader n manufacturer

• YB Albert on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:06 pm

This guy ,his name sounds like permaidani…better dress like middle east guy,and start selling permaidani…makes more sense.
        Just pathetic to have people talking crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Zek Ampang on Sep 25, 2018 at 10:31 pm

Not good to say bad about one’s name lah. You argue with facts lah not with nonsense.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:17 pm

Aiyooo..

This guy again. Another load of Hot Air, shoe polishing and brown nosing.

How does he even justify “room” for another national car brand? This guy can’t even predict the TIV correctly.

As it is, Proton can’t even survive. We don’t have the market to support 2, let alone 3 automakers.

You don’t have to be an automaker to get RnD and research. One can be a RnD house and just do engineering research…and develop technology and products for ALL AUTOMAKERS. To justify a 3rd automaker, just for RnD simply means he is trying to justify doing up an automaker just to support RnD. Where is his priorities??? What bull crap logic is this?? Want to build another white elephant?

As it is, our local automakers do little to nothing to support any RnD on new tech. The best we can come up is a teh Tarik hook and most of the parts used by the automakers are off the shelf parts from different vendors. The automaker parts suppliers should already been doing their own RnD after 30 years patronage by our local automakers and assemblers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Sohai on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:21 pm

Apa kereta SiMani pakai? Honda atau Toyota? Cakap besar atau role model?

• Its not the market is big enough..its the current price to peeformance/spec leaving a lot of wanting and demamds unaddressed for. Any price protection for any players within the industry is bad for an overall industry growth.

• shimmy shaman on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:35 pm

using public coffers to build and sell tax-free EVs back to goverment while charging them exorbitant maintenace fees…..

Classic mahathir u dawg….

• Madani…what a joke. He wanted to keep his job only.

• Why is this guy still around? Can’t provide answer on national radio when asked about Proton. Elak sini, elak sana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Why amoi is still around? Badmouthing and slandering here and there

• Shahrol on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:44 pm

Tok Madani veli cekap …rebadge je Swift Sport.

• willie on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Go Full Electric if its 3rd National Car. by the time all the investment set up, hybrid would be the norm and electric would be the next step, the 3rd car need export market, if still have the stone age thinking of malaysian market, karma will back again. one can than impose 30% tax lower for such vehicle like many countries have practise.

• “The cake is big enough for the third national car”
    He just say that so that he dun lose his job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Ah beng Level 2 on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:59 pm

The ENTIRE MAI team should be sacked…they serve no functionn than to warm seats and make dumb statements EVERY FEW MONTHS in order to show they r still alive and relvant…and make wrong predictions on TIV later revised them again..cannot even make close prediction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Golbal Auto Industrialists on Sep 25, 2018 at 2:01 pm

The auto making industry is moving forward with full robotic automation.
    Minimal manpower labor is required means minimal employment opportunities.
    Otherwise the only way to create more employment is moving backward using labor intensive manufacturing process.

• Dyson on Sep 25, 2018 at 2:11 pm

PM met Dyson in London yesterday, pushing for more investment by Dyson into this country. But why? Instead, we should design and make our own vacuum cleaners: more engineering work for locals. Smart-vacuum with AI technology! National vacuum cleaner brand and then export to other markets! What, do you guys want to live in wooden house for the rest of your life? No? Then we better make our own vacuum cleaners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Roidmi on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:11 pm

Dyson initiatives on upcomming electric car project.

• Hehehe. Next Manifesto: Lets stop all foreign devil impots! Only locally made for local pipu! Bapak will make MY great again!

• Typist or Driver on Sep 25, 2018 at 2:17 pm

has the mechanical competency been achieved? are we really ready for the IT and electronics aspects of automotive? one thing everyone learns in life (not just work) – learn from past mistakes and avoid the same. no?

• Learn from past mistakes? Where got? We just voted him back …

• Lawrence on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:31 pm

This is indeed a big joke when a lot of those renowned car manufacturers are already merging and consolidating, but yet we are still toying this idea of starting a new automotive brand ourselves.

• Sukakereta on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:48 pm

Err.. Is he dared enough to say “Auto cake is NOT big enough for third national car – MAI” considering his new paymaster said otherwise?

• hondaman on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:52 pm

It will be an expensive piece of the cake

• Vincent Cheng on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:57 pm

Say something just to please Tun M!

• Vincent on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:04 pm

WE don’t care how many more national car you wanted to build! Only below condition must meet

1)No special tax incentive
    2) No subsidy or government money or any form of liability from Malaysia Government!

We will accept it openly even the owner of the new national car is the son of Tun M!

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:23 pm

And then raise car prices by 500% to “incentivise” the rakyat to buy from Son of Tun? Wait, that might just happen…

• camtakpro on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:13 pm

He should work in a cake house.

• abdullah on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:23 pm

If the third national car fails there will be a forth
    and so on. CEO Datuk Madani Sahari is only concern he will have a job.

• Jay Law on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Believe every Malaysian would like to try something nice this lifetime not a third national car :D

• nosushi on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Why not if third one os nicer than your worshipped jepunis junk cars

• Conrad Noronha on Sep 25, 2018 at 6:38 pm

Why would we want to drive inferior cars at higher prices, which is going to happen. In 1995 my wife drove a Satria at RM50.000 and there were no other options. Today the cost is the same, which was highway robbery then by the government.

Unless they can compete in a level playing field which I doubt very much will happen. Focus on other important industries like food and herb production (Security) so that we do not rely on imports.

Think out of the box and think about making the Malaysians healthy, instead of chasing pipe dreams. Leave the car industry to the experts like Japan, Korea, Germans, Chinese Etc.

Leave our cars alone and allow us to have better choices. Already the tax is so high. Today we have better choices even in the second hand car market…It does not benefit the rakyat to have another National Car…

• Third national car, is it?????

• this guy eyeing the 3rd national car CEO post ^^ hahahahah
    ofcoz he support it kaw kaw

• Bernard on Sep 25, 2018 at 10:40 pm

We don’t believe you MAI..,,

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 26, 2018 at 9:17 am

why does he get press attention…cakap byk byk aje

• Robinhood on Sep 26, 2018 at 1:44 pm

We must ask Madani how much share he will be given in the 3rd National Car Project? Of course the cake is enough if he is not too greedy. Come on, please don’t treat the rakyat as idiots.

• Lim Kok Heong on Sep 27, 2018 at 8:37 pm

Talk without fact. This is typical Malaysia… useless. RnD….talk cock. 30 years cannot design own engine….celaka