New national car prototype due next year – Azmin Ali

The prototype for the new national car project (NNCP) is expected to be introduced as early as next year, economic affairs minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali told reporters. A Bernama report states that Azmin Ali had discussed the matter in the National Development Council meeting chaired by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad recently, and said “we will share the prototype with the public soonest next year.”

He added that, to realise the government’s aspiration to produce a new national car, the government was focusing on enhancing local engineering competitiveness and creating new ecosystems that are innovative and technologically friendly. It’s believed that the move will help revitalise the national automotive industry and help the parts and components industry that drives small and medium enterprises (SMEs) grow.

The NNCP has been the talk of the town since it was mooted by Tun M in June, and the premier claimed that the automotive industry will be the driving force behind other sectors of the economy, particularly engineering. “A car is a kind of catalyst for other things. If you want to learn manufacturing of certain products, engineering-wise, you have to start with a car,” he said.

Earlier in October, entrepreneur development minister Mohd Redzuan Yusof said the project will develop more than 500 new automotive suppliers and vendors as well as more than 100 new entrepreneurs as a result of its formation. It is also expected to result in the creation of a large number of jobs for Malaysians, which will ultimately deliver a car that will cater to international demands.

Currently, the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) recently said that it has received over 20 proposals from the private sector for the project, which finance minister Lim Guan Eng said will not use public funds. The name of the vehicle will be announced by the end of this year, and it is expected to feature semi-autonomous driving capability.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• tokmoh. on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Choose Lynk & Co! Your success will be guaranteed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Sohai on Dec 05, 2018 at 1:09 am

Talk very big lor, company oso no exist how come out prototype… Rm20 plastic car, or design bumper skerting change rim as usual msian show in autoshow…

• Confessions of a Perodua Employee on Dec 05, 2018 at 9:16 am

I work for P2. We are always working. Even when new model comes out, we are already at the design room making our next model. Why Proton failed is very simple. Just look at their workers. Proton cars are very good. Infact, they are better than our Perodua cars.

However it is sheer lepak and relax attitude that made our P! collapse.

We do not sleep and relax in our plant. Our sales figures show to the whole of Malaysia how hardworking we are. And the new NNCP should also be the same. This is why, it is important to get good man power for the NNCP

Proton always try to headhunt our workers but how can we go there? We are running fast. And then suddenly, you just have to walk slow. Not even jogging. Just walk slow.

How to adjust from running to waling slow??

If the Government is serious about NNCP, ask Perodua advice how to employ competent workers for the NNCP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
      • yawnz on Dec 05, 2018 at 12:14 pm

“Our sales figures show to the whole of Malaysia how hardworking we are.”

This is a big joke. Sales numbers has nothing to do with the designers or assemblers in plants. Your SAs are non-stop badmouthing P1 and other makes here when showroom empty and yes pipu buy p2 coz it is cheap not because it is good.

• Greenroda on Dec 07, 2018 at 1:30 pm

Agree..perodua components that is made locally sucks i.e. seat cushion etc. New myvi seat cushion sunk after 6 months. Hyundai seat lasted longer than the engine after 16 years. Ppl buy p2 cos of lack of choice. Cos of all these taxes to subsidize all these BS national car projects.

• newme on Dec 06, 2018 at 8:19 am

Proton lazy but produces better car than Perodua. What a stupid logic. Why don’t you become lazy and produce better car?

• Perebadger Sdn Bhd on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:38 pm

Why need prototype if it is just another rebadger company

• This is just like Vinfast. Talk so big and with grand ideas of being a national car but end up being just a rebadger.
      Company havent setup alredi want to have prototype in less than 1 year?

I want what Azmin is smoking, thats some pretty gud stuff they pass around in Cabinet now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Vincent on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:40 pm

We don’t care if you made the 3rd and 4th National car, as long as it won’t cost single cents from rakyat money! No R&D cost from Government! No special privilege! Don’t increase the car tax of other to help the P3, P4 for survive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • Anonymous on Dec 04, 2018 at 6:16 pm

They’ll probably hide any handout via R&D grant. Thats what they did with TunM… didn’t u see all the great innovation done by P1 come to fruition.(???) : P

• guan yin ma on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:55 pm

Good luck ya. This best way to bankrupt a company.

• Amran on Dec 04, 2018 at 6:00 pm

Happy face of vincent tan

• Ben Yap on Dec 04, 2018 at 6:05 pm

“The NNCP has been the talk of the town since it was mooted by Tun M in June, and the premier claimed that the automotive industry will be the driving force behind other sectors of the economy, particularly engineering. “A car is a kind of catalyst for other things. If you want to learn manufacturing of certain products, engineering-wise, you have to start with a car,” he said.”

I beg to differ from Tun. As far as I know Singapore is doing better than us even though they don’t have their own national car. hong kong also don’t have their own national car and they do better than us. Having our own national car is not a catalyst for the economy. Weed out corruption, projects with personal interest and place the country’s and citizen’s well-being above all else is the catalyst for the countries economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • YB Albert on Dec 04, 2018 at 6:26 pm

Gomen no money refund GST…RM20 Billion
    Gomen no money for certain drugs in gomen hospitals
    Gomen no money for UTAR,TARUC
    Gomen no money for KOJADI
    Gomen no money to subsidise petrol for all except B40
    But suddenly Gomen got money to pump R n D grants into protiga!!!! hello,PH….you are becoming unbelievable and not credible anymore.It is PAKATAN HALANGAN soon,much to the disappointment to voters.
    PROTIGA need grants to kick off…no private entity,not even the saudi santa will pump billions to TURN A MAN’S FANTASY DREAM INTO REALITY.
    WE VOTED FOR REGIME CHANGE,NEVER FOR PROTIGA!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • Yang manis on Dec 04, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Abang Anwar selamatkan lah Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Greasemonkey on Dec 04, 2018 at 11:36 pm

Mkh,old gov use 60yrs to play us out…new gov use 6 MONTHS to do it !!! RESPECT lo..Anwar cepat-cepat kasi stop this stupid nonsense.

• The return of the cronies…. part 2!!

• Eternalgl0ry on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:32 pm

Oi Oi don’t waste money la. Omg I really don’t get these clowns leh

Use the money for better roads la. 50 years still use the garbage quality road paths.

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Dec 04, 2018 at 10:04 pm

In actual production for new national car, one simple question, IS THIS CAR GOT BLOODY TEMPERATURE GAUGE OR NOT. Our local car, simple thing also can’t perform or they just doing as much cut corner job as possible (that’s why we still can get a brand new shitbox that doesn’t even come with ABS, not to mention more than half doesn’t have ESC).

• Madey on Dec 05, 2018 at 12:00 am

Bodoh punya PM. Spend money on public transport lah idiot. Guess it is a huge conspiracy to make Najib’s administration seems so much better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Plz Collab with petronas Motorsport

• I mean really on Dec 05, 2018 at 9:51 am

Maybe when this came out the city, vios would cost 130k

• Ruslan Bahari on Dec 05, 2018 at 10:47 am

A national car should have equity in some part owned by the nation i.e. the government. So please don’t call this a national car. Its a private initiative.
    Proton was a national car.
    Perodua was never a national car.
    But all three marques should get incentives for their roles in helping Malaysia get engineering as a field of focus for the nation.

• apa mau on Dec 05, 2018 at 2:29 pm

What we want? reduce car price
    what we get? another white elephant

• If govt not involved in this –

Why is a govt MINISTER making this announcement?

Instead of a private company?

• After this even GEELY will run away and give up.
    Proton price go up by 30%, otherwise how Proton 2 will sell?
    Crooked bridge NEXT!