FIRST LOOK: 2019 Geely Binyue – new Proton X50?

As compact B-segment SUVs go, the Geely Binyue is the first of its kind for the automaker. It’s built on Geely’s BMA modular platform (co-developed with Volvo, but not shared with any current model from the premium brand yet), and like the name suggests, the platform can be scalable and even electrified, as seen with the Binyue PHEV.

Two turbocharged engines are available, beginning with the entry-level 1.0 litre three-cylinder petrol making 134 hp and 205 Nm of torque. Above that is the 1.5 litre three-potter making 174 hp and 255 Nm of torque. In the PHEV variant, the bigger engine is used, and together with the hybrid system generates a total combined output of 255 hp and 415 Nm of torque. Transmission choices include a six-speed manual and seven-speed dual-clutch automatic.

The Geely Binyue, previously codenamed SX11, was launched in China in November last year, with prices ranging from 78,800 yuan (RM48k, for the base 1.0 litre models) to 118,800 yuan (RM72k, more representative of what we’re likely to receive). It’s currently being readied for our market, and test mules of what is expected to be the “Proton X50” are already roaming in Malaysia. So, what do you think, how would you like a Honda HR-V rival priced from say, RM80k to under RM100k?

GALLERY: Geely Binyue PHEV

GALLERY: Geely Binyue

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• I’m waiting for that Geely MPV only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Sohai on May 29, 2019 at 1:10 pm

Rm69k low spec

• Owners of Jazz, Yaris & A200 hapgred to X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
        • Got or Not? on May 30, 2019 at 12:31 pm

Does it have a blooody temp gauge or not??? thats more important!

• Matthew, u forgot to test power windows :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • spare part okey jer on May 31, 2019 at 6:01 pm

3-cylinders engine! Don’t fool by the look

• Sama Kunta Loo on Jun 01, 2019 at 10:52 pm

Does it have a blooody temp gauge or not??? thats more important!

This one, you should indeed ask our beloved car manufacturer called PukiDua

• Nasi lemak on May 29, 2019 at 1:59 pm

Perfect game changer for Proton! So sad 30 years of automotive experience now only can stick X50 and funny cat logo. Usually 30 years of automotive experience company already can create many game changing cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 51
        • panjang on May 29, 2019 at 2:52 pm

Bravo Geely China! the fridgemaker ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Mr. Octopus on May 30, 2019 at 10:43 am

Some companies with 50-60 years automotive experience with the prettiest cars also can tapau go bankrupt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • Some other prominent brands with more than 100 yrs of experiences such as Rover, Jaguar and etc. also went bankrupt and took over by unknown company from third world country..

But i do agree that Proton recently has improved much but sadly becoming more like Perodua.. Their product no more unique to Proton, only C&P. They may share the powertrain but should design their own model instead.

• jibbyv2.6b on May 29, 2019 at 2:01 pm

me too.. if no delay, should be on q4 of 2020.. glup..

• China car is now Malaysia national car …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • BOYRACER on May 29, 2019 at 4:02 pm

Boeing 737?are you sure?you surely mean the 787 right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Celup King on May 29, 2019 at 7:58 pm

You do realise Boeing 737 are made in the West right? And So far no China made planes have crashed twice in a short time. I feel so much safer in a China made plane than in a Boeing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Indeed, it has Swedish (Volvo) technology in their models. According to Volvo official, the engine used by Geely was developed by them actually.. But Geely had claimed, it is a collaboration with Volvo.

• thepolygon on May 29, 2019 at 11:47 am

RM48k to RM72k. If it comes here with these pricing, it’s a sad story for the rest of the B-Segment SUV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • gestapo on May 29, 2019 at 6:50 pm

CKD Proton X70 coming 1.5TD + 7DCT combo.

• Let’s be serious, pricing will start at RM72K. At that price, Proton will compete against itself. You have hardline Toyota/Honda/Nissan/etc buyers, and you have hardline Proton Haters, nothing done will swing those votes. All Proton has are on-the-fencers, as shown with the X70 debut. Which in spite of being good, did it kill those other manufacturers? No. Hell, the lesser spec’d Aruz held on, and thus Perodua still dominates the market. Under pricing a similar albeit not the same segment model will likely kill the X70’s numbers. And just in time for their CKD debut. And truthfully, as shown by HRV numbers, the trend in Malaysia is crossovers/compact SUVs. The X70 simply had the benefit of being first. All that work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • The only reason why Aruz held on was because it was cheaper and mainly because it is one segment down which comparison with Proton X70 a stupid effort, oh and another reason why it is cheaper was that it has inferior specs. Much like don’t try to compare Vivo phones with those from Huawei. It is just as stupid.

• Dude, you do know that the X70 is on average 30k more expensive than the Aruz yet selling more than the Aruz every month, right? Anyways, the X70 is catering more to the middle income groups while the X50 will be in the same segment as the Aruz. Wanna bet how Aruz will fare after the arrival of the X50?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • (Like) Proton X50
      (Dislike) Honda HRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
    • xoxox on May 30, 2019 at 8:39 am

i think wont be that low, the price is converted currency rate… my OTR price guess will be 72k to 105k range..

• piupiupiu on May 29, 2019 at 11:59 am

Sorry, off topic. Is it true ertiga has been discontinued?

• What safety? on May 29, 2019 at 2:24 pm

Yes, Proton have stopped the production of Ertiga & Preve. But you may ask Proton dealership if there’s any stock available. They may still keep the stock for both models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Eritga is the ugliest thing I’ve seen from Proton since the Juara and the Arena. I guess blind people needed a car too.
        Shame about the Preve, but I guess Geely doesn’t want to pay licensing to Mitsubishi for old tech. Both are smart moves, even though the Preve actually is one of the nicest cars pre-Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Proton oh Proton on May 29, 2019 at 12:17 pm

this will be killer to HRV… looks like proton will slowly take over Honda.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
    • P2 Aruz sez Catch me if you can…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Elephants don’t need to bother playing with ants.

• See you later on May 30, 2019 at 6:19 am

It will brother, ride and handling a lot better. X50 Overall looks much better and high tech… perodua really need to catch up with car infotainment system (upgrade to android player “already very cheap on market less than rm 600”) if not slowly perodua will be taken over by Proton.

• Rogaz on Jul 17, 2019 at 9:44 am

Aruz with bad absorber please. This car for the poor people in Toyota brand. Those who have it must put themselves at the right level. X50 positioned at HRV, CHR not the produa product. So those who love Produa it ok that your level but Proton put their brand at Honda or Toyota. The Gen2 CPS top speed is more than 200km/h on the road after 10 years but the new Civic only 200km/h on real testing. So what Proton been great for long time already but the mentality of Malaysian always low.

• Geely, P1, Mesidis, VolvoCar, Volvo trucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Ksatria on May 29, 2019 at 12:55 pm

Way too late but has great potential to go against the contenders if the price/equipment/spec is right.
    In anticipation…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • zulkifli on May 29, 2019 at 1:09 pm

a quick review on geely jiaji please.

• Syer1n on May 29, 2019 at 1:11 pm

I like it. A lot.

• at rm60k to rm80k, this will rule malaysia road like wira & myvi used to

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • Max291 on May 29, 2019 at 1:41 pm

Can’t wait to get my hands on that PHEV

• Wayne on May 29, 2019 at 10:57 pm

I know! Waiting eagerly for the PHEV to come to Msia. *fingers crossed*

• seancorr (Member) on May 29, 2019 at 2:07 pm

This will put Proton back into shape. Honda will be worried about their sales position

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Anonymous Coward on May 29, 2019 at 3:13 pm

RM80k to RM100k is asking a bit much; speaking as a current Proton Suprima owner, I’m extremely hesitant to purchase another Proton. My engine mounting failed after 3 years, my fuel cap disintegrated, my seats creak from new…

I dunno, at RM60k to RM75k, maybe I’d take another look, but I’d rather downsize my next car and buy whatever Japanese/Korean that won’t break than buy a Proton again.

Sorry Proton, but my ownership experience sucked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 43
    • typical malaysian on May 29, 2019 at 4:20 pm

clearly you dont maintain your car well. I own a Suprima S also. owned since 2014 till now, and I can send you pics of those parts you claim “broken”. Mine is still not changed and I drive hard to work everyday LOL. 60km to and from work with no problem, even those OCH “timebomb” is not a worry for me. Blame the owners who can’t even maintain their cars well, then only you blame the car itself, GAI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
      • Clearly Proton had QA issues. Just because your SuprimaS is fine doesn’t mean others are. I had a Proton Satria Neo, that sat for a month at the proton repair center. They couldn’t figure out why it overheated. Couldn’t fix it, so I sold it.

• Anonymous Coward on May 30, 2019 at 11:13 am

The Suprima has fans and honestly, I really do love the car’s handling, practicality and comfort. I guess they felt I was personally attacking them for their choice of car. Nothing could be further from the truth; I LOVED my Suprima until all these issues happened.

It’s too bad, I made some peace with it (read: tolerate the problems) but it does make me hesitant to buy another Proton.

To those without issues, I’m glad for you but I really hope you can understand why someone like me might be hesitant to look at Proton again.

• Vader on May 30, 2019 at 3:22 pm

This story smells fishy as I explained below. Your Suprima can’t possibly be 10 years old!

• Anonymous Coward on May 30, 2019 at 6:44 pm

It isn’t. I’ve said elsewhere it’s a 2014 model year. I don’t know what to tell you, it’s simply my experience. I’d be happy to sell the car to you for you to experience yourself if you’d like.

• Anonymous Coward on May 30, 2019 at 10:51 am

Happy for you that your car is serving you well; despite the insinuation that I’m lying or don’t maintain my car well, I follow the maintenance schedule as outlined in the manual to a tee (and yes, I performed all the recommended optional maintenance items as well).

It’s simply my true experience; I have nothing to gain by shaming Proton here since I’m just a guy looking for a car that’s trouble-free (or as close to it as possible). The list that I mentioned is only a subset of my issues (the full list is more absurd and ridiculous).

Cheers, hope your Suprima continues to serve you well. It IS a nice car to drive, I just can’t stand the stupid issues.

• mr1031 on May 30, 2019 at 12:21 pm

LOL, how do expect him to maintain engine mounting, disintegrated fuel cap & creaking seat? pls advice..those are definitely quality issue not consumer

• Konte kote on May 29, 2019 at 4:54 pm

Because that proton isnt from Geely, now this is Geely proton, different stuff

• Anonymous Coward on May 30, 2019 at 11:16 am

Well, I certainly hope so but hopefully you can understand why I’m skeptical.

• Caesar on May 29, 2019 at 7:15 pm

I am owner of Proton Suprima since 2014. The car has no problem so far. Everything working well.

• Anonymous Coward on May 30, 2019 at 10:57 am

Very happy for you that your Suprima is working well, man. That’s the same model year as mine, so I guess I got a lemon. Too bad and such a shame as the Suprima is such a fantastic machine to drive. Alas, my ownership experience has soured me on a Proton.

• Siam kap on May 29, 2019 at 8:01 pm

Very apt for a coward to troll and whack without a name. Your stories are just like those “my friend” stories you told.

• How the heck did you destroy your fuel cap? You keep turning and turning even after the cap is already tight is it? I don’t think a tank can last long for you if you abuse it.

• Anonymous Coward on May 30, 2019 at 11:06 am

Well, the fuel cap disintegrated while unscrewing to refuel, so I don’t know why it did, honestly.

I don’t think I was abusive to it since I’m a pretty average guy without super strength or OCD. I tighten the caps similar to other cars I’ve owned before and used, so I don’t know why it disintegrated but it did. I wish it didn’t, because the Suprima really IS a nice car to drive. Just not to own, I suppose.

• Anonymous Coward on May 30, 2019 at 10:55 am

I don’t know what to tell you; that’s really what happened. I’d rather it didn’t so I can be happy with the car, but alas.

I’m sure Proton is aware of it as well since someone at WeCare got an earful immediately after it happened. They never offered to replace the fuel cap for me though, too bad.

I’m happy for you if your car served you well, but that’s my experience.

• I have been screwing and unscrewing my Gen2 fuel cap for the past 10 years and everytime I make sure I screw in properly and can hears the tak tak sound then its tight. Its still screws tight and I never see the need to replace it yet. U must have misused it. I think u likely screw in wrongly and cross threaded the cap, which u then try to tighten harder since its not going in, and then it breaks.

• Anonymous Coward on May 30, 2019 at 3:06 pm

No, it broke while unscrewing the cap before refueling, not while screwing it in. Like you, I also have more than 10 years of experience in screwing and unscrewing fuel caps.

• Vader on May 30, 2019 at 3:15 pm

10 years? Sure boh? Suprima only came out in 2013, your car at max is less than 6 years old. This story smells even more fishy.

• hahaha on May 30, 2019 at 6:36 pm

All bashers failed simple math, hahaha. Tried very hard to badmouth p1 but failed miserably

• Anonymous Coward on May 30, 2019 at 6:42 pm

Quite obviously I’ve owned other cars in that 10 years. If you read my other comments, I pointed out that my Suprima is 2014 model year.

• MakOih on Aug 08, 2019 at 9:56 pm

Yo Bro – Dun put too high hope on H/T – Especially for H – City : Start Button about 3 months KO – Unknown sound from dashboard after 2 years (car always under shade) – Gear Box sensor issues at 4th years – Absorber leaking after 2 years – Rear axle fail after 8 months.

Honda SC : “we submitted report, wait for hq approval replacement”

• no back row AC vents

• BOYRACER on May 29, 2019 at 4:03 pm

There’s a hint of XC40 in the design.Nice overall looks though

• Jascha on May 29, 2019 at 4:45 pm

Can’t wait for this model to come in. Priced it under RM90K for the top spec, sure will sell like hot cakes.

• Wang Chin Kheong on May 29, 2019 at 6:31 pm

If really 47k for 1.0 liter engine i will buy

• Azam Ali on May 29, 2019 at 8:08 pm

everytime he says ‘Geely Binyue’, the youtube translation keeps on repeating ‘Jellybean you’.

• Lalala on May 29, 2019 at 10:35 pm

If they want to kill everybody around, the shud just sell it under rm65k

• Ha ha ha on May 30, 2019 at 6:25 am

Bring 1.0turbo also, sell it from 55k to 70k… then kill all perodua, honda, toyota, mazda, nissan,….. no mater which model all RiP

• choha on May 30, 2019 at 3:57 am

clearly one of the best and original-looking chinese car around

• This is a good car. As long as no campro and punch cvt inside..

• I cant wait for this

• Why must it come with an unbalanced 3 cylinder engine. No matter what you do to a 3 cylinder design, it will have noticeable vibrations from the engine.

• ashhhhhhhhhhhhh on Jun 10, 2019 at 9:40 am

LOLS looking at comments

• Geely already has more advanced tech (Gdi engine) acquired from Volvo collaboration which was originally bought the engine patent from Mitsubishi in early 2000’s. They won’t bother with old Proton models.

• ayamas on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:15 pm

Just shut up and take my money soon