Michelin Energy XM2+ launched in Malaysia – shorter wet braking distances even when worn, 14- to 16-inch

Michelin has launched a replacement for its popular Energy XM2 entry-level tyre, simply called the Energy XM2+. Again aimed at city car and compact family car owners, the new rubber is touted to offer greater durability and shorter wet weather braking distances even when worn – a claim it shares with the Primacy 4.

While it sports the same tread pattern as its predecessor, the XM2+ features a newly-formulated full-silica tread compound that Michelin says is highly flexible, enabling micro-scale contact with the ground and ensuring better grip throughout the life of the tyre. It is also claimed to have a stronger bond that makes it more durable, resulting in minimised wear and thus, longer mileage.

As such, the tyre is said to allow for wet weather braking distances some 1.5 metres shorter than tyres from other premium manufacturers, extending that lead to 2.6 metres when worn. It also delivers up to 25% greater mileage compared to other tyres, according to Michelin, and it wears the same Green “X” marking as its predecessor, indicating optimised fuel efficiency as a result of low rolling resistance.

The Michelin Energy XM2+ is now available at all Tyreplus and Michelin authorised dealers across Malaysia in 32 sizes, ranging from 14 to 16 inches in diameter, with prices starting from RM200.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Zaman Khan on Jun 20, 2019 at 2:10 pm

Good tyres are important. I hope Malaysians invest in good tyres. Don’t be like those folks who buy expensive cars to show off to opah when balik kampung but the tyres are botak and cannot afford to buy replacement tyres.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • panjang on Jun 20, 2019 at 4:35 pm

Where got botak…their expensive cars are shod with tires that require us 2nd or 3rd look just to read the brand name.

• Veyron Owner on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:22 pm

Nearly all of them expensive cars have good tyres to begin with, you know. Clearly you never had an expensive car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • FireAce on Jun 20, 2019 at 8:19 pm

Giti tyres from Singapore. Also standard OEM tyres specced on Proton X70 the better choice.

• Driver should invest in better tyres, breaks and other safety features rather than spending on car stickers, useless bodykits and annoying exhaust pipes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Many also change to bigger rims but use unknown brand cheap tyres. Looks still more important than function for these car owners.

• anonymous on Jun 20, 2019 at 3:15 pm

I ever used two sets XM2 (175/65R14 and 215/60R16) on two cars. Both cars appeared to have vibration (steering shake and front suspension vibrate) during U-turn on wet road condition after 10000 km mileage traveling. Suspect hydroplaning occur. After that change to other brand budget tires and no more occurrence of such symptom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • XM2 is an entry level tyre, not even HP. Maybe you’re doing u-turn at speed. XM2 strength is it’s last very long. Its treadwear rating is 420.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Treadwear on the tyre only indicate for the same brand tyre and does not same with other brand rating.I.E a Michelin 420 treadwear rating does not same with Bridgestone 420 Rating.Look for traction rating,i would say at least A rating for Malaysia road.Traction rating indicate for braking distance in wet condition.AA rating is 150% better than A and the list goes on.

• Ethan on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:05 pm

Hydroplaning while U-turn? That’s quite peculiar. Most people U-turn also less than 10-20 km/h. Shouldn’t hydroplane at those speeds. Hydroplaning usually occurs at much faster speeds and the tyres skim across the water.

Are you possibly referring to something else instead of U-turns?

• Brian on Jun 20, 2019 at 10:32 pm

He was attempting a 4 wheel drift maneuver while u-turning at high speeds but didn’t catch the apex point in time and so ran wide.

• Ethan on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:07 pm

What tyrea did you change to? And what is your experience ? Thanks

• Calvin on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Hydroplaning? Are you serious? XM2 have the best wet grip performance of all the tyres I’d used so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • jinggo on Jun 20, 2019 at 3:35 pm

Toyo Proxes TR1 better than this overprice tyre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
  • v-tec fan on Jun 20, 2019 at 3:43 pm

any sifu out there, XM2+ vs Toyo TR1 = which is better? in tern of wet/rain driving. i never use Michelin before, currently using Toyo T1R.

• panjang on Jun 20, 2019 at 4:33 pm

dude….your question is like comparing Toyota Vios (XM2) and a Mercedes C Class (TR1).
      They are in different league.

• v-tec fan on Jun 21, 2019 at 9:25 am

well.. i’m comparing the price point. this 2 tires is about the same price, RM200+\-

• Ethan on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:06 pm

I’m curious to know too

• vr2turbo on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:39 pm

XM2+ is still an entry level tyre only. Toyo T1R is Toyo UHP tyre so cannot compare directly. TR1 is new and should have improvement over T1R. For performance better off with UHP tyres. For your info Toyo entry level is their Nano Energy NE-03

• Sohai on Jun 22, 2019 at 5:22 pm

I think you over generelise certain things. TR1 is a UHP tyres because the manufacturer told you so. Everything is marketing hence people are asking for user opinion. Are you a user of said tyre? I am…

Toyo T1R has never got good reviews especially its wet performance is quite poor. The thread design might look like it can pump out lots of water, but the compound is just not upto mark for the grip. And Toyo are known to have very soft side walls. Is not a problem unless you brand yourself UHP tyres, which then becomes a problem.

Now TR1 follows that T1R tradition. Softside walls..more like a touring tyre as a whole, noisier then some. The thread grooves do look very deep, which will give you a longer wet road performance. It is worth to invest because toyo price it right (the main reason why i am using it) Otherwise, nothing special about it.

XM2 focus more on low rolling resistence and thread life. XM2 plus seems to be using the compound of the Primacy 4 ( which i wanted but couldnt afford), which by itself scores very well on most reviews. Michelin bought some creditility by having TUV to test their tyres against competitors. So is also worth a try.

• U shud be comparing it with PS4.

• I never buy and I hate most japanese Tyre Brands

Always feel Japanese tyre brands are inferior to those coming from Michelin, Pirelli , Continental and so on….in getting my money worth..

• This or Assurance triplemax 2?

• SilentForever on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:05 pm

Should have just release xm3 instead

• michelin on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Used XM1 before and currently XM2.. value for money..

• Just a suggestion on Jun 20, 2019 at 6:23 pm

You can take a look at Viking tyres. They are good tyres for normal users without breaking the bank.

• panjang on Jun 21, 2019 at 4:39 am

Yes but be very careful with wet grip at anything below 50% thread depth.

• Had changed 4 pieces into my Myvi back in 2013…
    Been using it ever since until two months ago…
    Durability was way off the chart and can feel the rolling resistance really low compared to other tires and I’ve tested many.

Travelled more than 60,000km on them and I changed them not because they were worn out cause still have about 3mm thread but because I got bored using them for so long… hahhahaha….
    Also there was a special discount to try out the continental CC6… They said it’s much more quiet and they definitely are…

Why I didn’t go back to XM2?
    First of all as I mentioned, got good discount on CC6.
    Myvi tires so cheap… durability not much of an issue.

There’s also two problems with the XM2s I’ve used.
    1. Thread breaks off in small chunks irregularly making it look very ugly but don’t feel that it affects the performance.
    2. The tires were quiet when new but gradually got very loud very fast.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jun 21, 2019 at 10:28 am

Standard tyre is pretty good, when we drive within the speed limit, and within our control. Why buy a tyre with high rating when our speed limit is just 110km/hr only?

• Dilbert on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:11 am

Speeding will be legalised soon. You just need to pay money to unlock that achievement. So tyres with a higher rating will be essential and critical then.

• Memey on Jun 21, 2019 at 3:15 pm

One of the best entry level tyre is Falken Sincera SN832i, good in hydroplaning and eco tyre too. Cheaper also.. i’m using it now

• pengomel on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:04 am

if u are looking for budget/eco/entry level tyre, try ecopia ep300. utqg rating not nice, but very good tyre actually. i bought it because cheap, have no high expectation. but, the performance just beyond my expectation. wet and dry better than toyo neo3 made in taiping. suprisingly, better aquaplaning than conti cc6. better mileage than overpriced xm2.