Michelin Energy XM2+ sampled at Sepang – does it perform better in the wet compared to its competitors?

You’ve probably heard the idiom “the proof is in the pudding” before, which means the end result is the mark of the success or failure of one’s efforts or planning. Well, Michelin Malaysia is keen to demonstrate that its new Energy XM2+ tyre perfectly encapsulates the saying, as the company promises improved performance from the previous XM2 it replaces.

With the XM2+, the company is claiming greater durability and shorter wet weather braking distances when compared to offerings from close competitors, and this is even when the tyres are worn.

These are bold claims, and to ensure the XM2+ conforms to another idiom – walk the talk – we were given the chance to sample the XM2+ in various scenarios following the launch at the Sepang International Circuit.

To ensure a level playing field that only factors in the performance of the tyre is evaluated, every single vehicle used on the day was a low-mileage Honda City of almost identical condition.

The only differences between the cars were the tyre models fitted, with a mix of brand-new and worn-down rubbers – the latter being about 15% of tread life left, or really close to the tread wear indicator.

The first test of the day was to navigate a small gymkhana course, which has been properly drenched to mimic the kind of road conditions we usually get in our climate. For this exercise, we drove three cars, with two of them being fitted with worn XM2+ and Continental ComfortContact CC6 tyres, while the third car got a new set of XM2+.

On our runs (two in each car), where we maintained a consistent pace of around 40-50 km/h, we discovered that the wet cornering performance didn’t differ drastically between the XM2+ and CC6.

Both tyres dispersed water well enough to ensure there was grip, and short of forcing the issue by way of the accelerator pedal, allowed for easy manoeuvring without understeer creeping in.

With the XM2+ however, it did feel like the car was capable of turning in a little sharper by comparison, which could be attributed to the larger contact area resulting from the new formulation of the tyre’s full-silica compound. A run with a fresh set of XM2+ did give a slightly “floaty feeling” but this could be due to the tyre not being worn in a little beforehand.

According to Michelin, the new formulation provides higher flexibility, allowing for a larger tyre-ground contact area in micro-scale. With this, the tyre is better able to better fill in the incredibly tiny gaps that the human eye can’t see on the road surface, which translates to better grip.

The new compound also bonds stronger from filler to filler, and this molecular bonding is said to minimise wear and extend longevity by up to 25% against competitors. Of course, we aren’t able to test this claim during our short stint, so your mileage may vary depending on usage.

The effects of a larger contact area is more evident in our second test, a braking test from 80 km/h to a dead stop, also on a wet surface. With some figures for context, the XM2+ is claimed to provide a braking distance of around 30.4-30.5 metres, regardless of them being worn or new.

L to R: Michelin XM2+ (worn and new), Bridgestone Ecopia EP300, Continental CC6

By comparison, the other tyres tested here – CC6 and Bridgestone Ecopia EP300 – are said to have longer braking distances of up to 35.2 metres when new, and up to 40.9 metres when worn. The numbers from this test show the XM2+ stops five metres earlier when new compared to its competitors, and a full 10 metres when worn. On its marketing material, Michelin says its offering offers shorter wet braking distances by 1.5 metres when new, and by 2.6 metres when tested by an independent company – TUV Rheinland Thailand.

With VBox data loggers fitted on each car, and after repeated attempts, the results we (and other media present) obtained were consistent with the claims made, as the cars with XM2+ had shorter braking distances compared to its competitors. This is even when any margin of error resulting from driver input is taken into consideration, which is certainly an impressive feat.

As explained by a Michelin technical engineer, the XM2+ with its softer compound, allows for more tyre-ground contact area that is beneficial when braking in the wet. By using a durometer – a device used to measure material hardness – we found out that the rubber compound of the XM2+ registered a 61.5 on the Shore A scale (less indicates a softer material) – the competitor tyres had figures closer to the 70 mark.

While the engineer did concede a softer compound can wear faster, the gains from wet braking performance took priority when it came to designing the XM2+. With the volatility involved in driving, a metre more or less could be the difference between you stopping safely, or hitting an object in front of you during an emergency braking situation.

Other characteristics that assist in this regard is the compound’s ability to maintain the tyre’s tread and siping patterns even when the tyre has been worned down, ensuring water is channeled away efficiently. The tyre’s alternating bridging also reinforces the rigidity of the tread blocks for better grip and mileage – larger profile tyres have three grooves instead of two.

Unfortunately, there’s no way for us to test how the XM2+ performs when it comes to ride comfort and road noise, but we were told that the company maintained the same levels as what the XM2 already had, which is already a positive previously.

All in all, the XM2+ certainly lives up to the company’s claims as we found out, and would be a welcome upgrade for many mass-market car models like the City, Volkswagen Polo, Toyota Vios, Perodua Myvi, Honda Jazz and many others.

The XM2+ is now available at all Tyreplus and Michelin authorised dealers across Malaysia in 32 sizes, ranging from 14 to 16 inches in diameter, with prices starting from RM200.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• razmund on Jun 25, 2019 at 6:42 pm

The standard rubbers on my Iriz FL, Silverstone Kruizer1 impressive wet & breaking perf too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • Pakulupapito on Jun 25, 2019 at 8:53 pm

The tyre pattern was actually designed by Toyo and the rest are completed by the guys at Silverstone thats why it is quite good compared to previous silverstone.

• Powershot on Jun 26, 2019 at 8:20 am

That is because of the car setup itself. If change to a better tyre, the performance should be significantly improved

• Lotek on Jun 26, 2019 at 8:56 am

You’re funny, that tyre was the first thing to go in a few hours after I got the car.

• panjang on Jun 26, 2019 at 2:11 pm

Seriously?
      What tire did u experience before?

I used 2 set of Michelin ( Certis and XM2 ) before and both perform as their claimed. XM2 is very robust. For an entry model, the wet grip is great.

Then i go for BS EP200 and it comes close to XM2. If price is a concern then EP200 ( new model already out) is the next choice.

Silverstone?
      Nope…the tire does not work well with the well sorted out chassis of the iriz. Then again, our driving style is different.

• Slow Poke on Jun 25, 2019 at 7:44 pm

The car behind you is fitted with bad tyres = crash bang!!

• Get Michelins, veli gud and safe tyres

• Azam Ali on Jun 26, 2019 at 12:10 am

Will never buy CC6, ever! Use it for less than a year and the tyre bulges on the sides. Replace it with new tyres, same model and the same swollen happens again, on both new and old tyres. I avoid potholes my entire life, never overload and always parked inside building yet this thing happen. I dont think its batch issue, Continentals are just unreliable. Michelin was ok but the tyres was too soft I had to change after mere 2 years. Goodyear is the best, swap new every 4 years and still have no issues till this day.

• Diss-illusions on Jun 26, 2019 at 10:34 am

Wow.. 4 years are a bit long no? Threads may not be worn but the rubber is likely to have hardened (based on my own experience of buying a 2012/13 MY car in late 2014).

Always thought that 2-year change is the rule of thumb.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 26, 2019 at 12:34 pm

If the tyres are being run regularly, four years lifespan sounds about right.

If it was left stranded for a long period, then yes the rubber would most definitely have hardened.

• Sohai on Jun 26, 2019 at 3:12 pm

CC6 and the likes of UC6 are not a good representarion of Continental tyres. These are not global models which are built to a price point. Go for CPC5 and other global models.

Or, you may go for made in japan toyo. Although the toyo has nothing to shout about in terms of their performance, but they are at least well QC in its constuction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Sohai2 on Jun 29, 2019 at 10:40 am

Yes. Agreed. You are absolutely right. Tyres specially designed for use in tropical weather, when used in tropical country like Malaysia is not good. Should buy global tyres and use in tropical climate.

• Sohai3 on Jul 03, 2019 at 9:38 pm

The original thread was about quality and tyre swollen problem. All season tyres are perfect for tropical countries as well. CC6 and the likes are not proven in a global stage.

Again, is about build quality, in which made in japan gives you that.

In terms of performance is another story all together.

• accidentalnazi on Jun 26, 2019 at 1:25 am

Not the be that guy, but the idiom is “the proof of the pudding is in the eating”.

Anyway, good review!

• biasaje on Jun 26, 2019 at 1:09 pm

I am using landsail tyres now, value for money. Even porsche, audi and bmw use landsail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Littlebear on Jun 28, 2019 at 6:53 am

“when it comes to ride comfort and road noise, but we were told that the company maintained the same levels as what the XM2”.

If Michelin maintains the comfort and noise level the same as XM2, better avoid this tyre as XM2 is a hard and noisy tyre.

• Best tyre only on Jul 01, 2019 at 11:09 pm

Comparing XM+ with CC6 seems a but unfair.

Ultra contact 6 (UC6) was made for better wet grip.

Feel like Michelin made XM+ to compete with UC6 and then compared with CC6?

Whar do you guys think?

• pengomel on Jul 11, 2019 at 2:02 am

can not la. xm2+ is a new tyre replaced xm2. so it same entry level tyre like cc6, ep300, neo3. but, uc6 is in different level and price is a bit higher.

• pengomel on Jul 11, 2019 at 2:19 am

i already tried xm2, cc6, ep300, neo3, es32 for my honda city (185/55/r16). all these tyres are in budget/eco entry level tyres. so no high expectation. what i can say is.. xm2 is an overpriced/overhyped tyre, because it is michelin dont think the quality is the best. primacy or pilot sport is in different level. comfort is ok but too pricey. cc6 very comfort/silent in dry but very bad in wet, easy to bulge if masuk lubang. neo3 made in taiping..pls avoid..very sway in wet. i recommend ep300..not the best but balance in dry and wet, good mileage too..and cheaper..made in thai. many times masuk lubang but not bulging. u can get quality of xm2 + cc6 in ep300. if u prefer made in japan quality, get yokohama es32. but not many shop sell this tyre, and pricey too.

• Aszrol on Jul 26, 2020 at 1:38 am

My experience falken sincera 832 and goodyear excellence never give me any problem..hit potholes very hard also no bulging nothing..falken good in dry so so in wet..GYE good in wet so so in dry..both wear fast..less than 2 years botak..falken made in Thailand..GY made in malaysia..

• Good year excellence did badly in my opinion. Very noisy and did not really have very well dry and wet grip.

When I tried to corner hard when the tyre give me the squeaky sound it just did not give me the confidence I need as I need to countersteer to avoid oversteer a few times in the past.

One of my stock honda city tyre rubber blown one year in while I was driving high speed in highway.

Car feels super bouncy and noisy as well with this tyre. Changed to xm2+ and definitely feels the difference and kind of like giving me the grip of potenza re003 back then when I was driving my old car.

I usually avoid potholes but apart from that I corner hard and brake hard. Who knows maybe it is due to my driving style that I feel it is not suitable for me.

And again lets not compare the tyre with UHP and for daily use xm2+ fare very well in my opinion.

• Good year excellence did badly in my opinion. Very noisy and did not really have very well dry and wet grip.

When I tried to corner hard when the tyre give me the squeaky sound it just did not give me the confidence I need as I need to countersteer to avoid oversteer a few times in the past.

One of my stock honda city tyre rubber blown one year in while I was driving high speed in highway.

Car feels super bouncy and noisy as well with this tyre. Changed to xm2+ and definitely feels the difference and kind of like giving me the grip of potenza re003 back then when I was driving my old car.

I usually avoid potholes but apart from that I corner hard and brake hard. Who knows maybe it is due to my driving style that I feel it is not suitable for me.

And again lets not compare the tyre with UHP and for daily use xm2+ fare very well in my opinion.