2019 Mazda 3 launched in Malaysia – hatchback and sedan; three variants; price from RM140k to RM160k

At long last, the all-new, fourth-generation Mazda 3 has finally made its launch debut in Malaysia, with three variants (1.5, 2.0 High and 2.0 High Plus) and two body styles (sedan and hatchback) available. The C-segment model comes fully imported (CBU) from Japan, competes against nameplates like the Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla Altis, Hyundai Elantra and Volkswagen Golf, just to name a few.

At first glance, the visual differences between the two body styles are easily apparent, as the sedan gets a pin-style grille with chrome surrounds, while the hatchback adopts a honeycomb-like design with black trim instead. In profile, the sculpted sides play with light and shadow to create reflections that are unique to each model, with another cue being the prominent C-pillar and shorter rump on the hatchback as compared to the sedan.

While the exterior of both body styles are distinctive in their own right, the interior is identical, with a cabin that cuts down on “visual noise,” and has a driver-centric approach that also sees improvements to practicality. The infotainment display is much larger this time around, and it is powered by the latest version of the Mazda Connect system, although it does lose touch functionality to reduce cognitive distraction.

Below it, the air vents and climate system switchgear are positioned on a horizontal plane that leads into a restyled instrument binnacle that contains a digital instrument cluster display alongside analogue dials. There’s a new steering wheel design here, and the driver also gets two dedicated air vents.

Also revamped is the centre console, where the two cupholders are brought further forward aft to a small cubby space. The centre armrest is also much larger this time around, and features a “karakuri” opening mechanism to reveal additional storage. Even the Commander Control switchgear is new, and is designed to be more intuitive to operate.

For our market, we get two naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engines from Mazda’s SkyActiv-G range, with the first being a 1.5 litre unit that makes 118 hp at 6,000 rpm and 153 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The other option is a 2.0 litre powerplant serving up 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 213 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Regardless of which mill you pick, both are paired with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission, with drive going to the front wheels.

The base variant, which is offered as a sedan and hatchback, is priced at RM139,620 on-the-road without insurance, and comes with the 1.5 litre engine. In terms of equipment, you get automatic LED projector headlamps with bulb-type daytime running lights, LED taillights and 16-inch alloy wheels on the outside.

As for the interior, there’s single-zone manual air-conditioning, a seven-inch TFT-LCD digital instrument cluster display, an 8.8-inch central display linked to a Mazda Connect infotainment system with eight speakers, fabric upholstery, windscreen-projected head-up display, a soft-touch dash and door cards, plus manually operated front seats.

Further up the range is the 2.0 High variant that retails at RM150,059, but is available only in sedan form. Paying the premium over the base model nets you the larger-capacity 2.0 litre motor, along with more goodies in the kit list. Improvements over the base model include the addition of keyless entry, leather upholstery, a sunroof, frameless rearview mirror, 10-way powered driver seat with two-setting memory function, and dual-zone climate control with rear air vents.

At the very top is the 2.0 High Plus, which can be ordered in both body styles, and goes for RM160,059. This variant gets all the items found on the 2.0 High, with upgrades being larger 18-inch wheels in place of the 16-inch units, as well as adaptive LED headlamp.

You’ll also get four front parking sensors, along with a full complement of Mazda i-Activsense safety and driver assistance systems. These include Adaptive Front-lighting System (AFS), High Beam Control (HBC), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS), Lane Keep Assist System (LAS), Driver Attention Alert (DAA), Smart Brake Support (SBS – front and rear) and Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC), the last item being the first time Bermaz has offered the driver assistance feature on a Mazda model.

Speaking of safety, all variants come as standard with traction control, an anti-lock braking system (ABS), electronic brake-force distribution (EBA), emergency brake assist (EBA), hill launch assist (HLA), G-Vectoring Control Plus, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and seven airbags (front, side, curtain and a new addition being for the driver’s knee).

In terms of colour options, the get seven colours to choose from – Soul Red Crystal, Machine Grey, Snowflake White Pearl, Deep Crystal Blue, Sonic Silver, Jet Black and Polymetal Grey, although it should be noted that the last option is only offered for the hatchback.

Also included with each purchase is a five-year/100,000 km warranty, five-year/100,000 free maintenance package, as well as SkyTint security window tint.

We’ve already had a chance to get up close with the new Mazda 3, and you can check out our first look video here (or below). There’s also a detailed look at some of the technological highlights of the car, as well as our first impressions of the model for further reading. So, what do you think of the new Mazda 3? Share your thoughts on the model in the comments section below.

Here’s a variant-by-variant breakdown for your convenience. For detailed specifications of the new Mazda 3, head on over to CarBase.my.

Mazda 3 1.5L Sedan, 1.5L Hatchback – RM139,620
Comes standard with:

• SkyActiv-G 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine (118 hp and 153 Nm) with i-Stop idling technology
  • SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission with manual mode
  • Automatic LED projector headlamps
  • LED rear taillights
  • 16-inch alloy wheels with 205/60 profile tyres
  • Four rear parking sensors
  • Reverse camera
  • Leather-wrapped dashboard
  • Single-zone manual air-conditioning
  • Fabric seats
  • Manually operated front seats with thigh support adjustment
  • Tilt and telescopic multifunction steering wheel
  • Seven-inch TFT-LCD full-colour digital instrument cluster display
  • 8.8-inch primary display
  • Mazda Connect infotainment system with Commander Control, eight speakers, Android Auto and Apple CarPlay support
  • Full-colour, windscreen-projected head-up display
  • Seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver’s knee)
  • Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), traction control, ABS, EBD with brake assist
  • Hill Launch Assist (HLA)
  • Rear corner Isofix child seat anchors with top tethers
  • G-Vectoring Control Plus

Mazda 3 2.0 High Sedan – RM150,059
Adds on:

• SkyActiv-G 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine (162 hp and 213 Nm) with i-Stop idling technology
  • Paddle shifters
  • Electric powered sunroof
  • Frameless rearview mirror
  • Keyless entry
  • Leather seats
  • 10-way powered driver seat with two-setting memory function
  • Dual-zone automatic climate control with rear air vents

Mazda 3 2.0 High Plus Sedan, 2.0 High Plus Hatchback – RM160,059
Adds on:

• Adaptive LED projector headlamps with LED daytime running light signature
  • 18-inch alloy wheels with 215/45 profile tyres
  • Four front parking sensors
  • Mazda i-Activsense safety and driver asssistance systems – Adaptive Front-lighting System (AFS), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS), Lane Keep Assist System (LAS), Driver Attention Alert (DAA), Smart Brake Support (SBS – front and rear), High Beam Control (HBC) and Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC)

2019 Mazda 3 Hatchback 2.0L High Plus

2019 Mazda 3 Sedan 2.0L High Plus

2019 Mazda 3 Sedan 1.5L

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• For same money, better wait Mazda CX30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • Zechariah Pinto on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:20 pm

Mazda has become very arrogant in Malaysia. RM160k for a small C class sedan is just plain wrong. How many of us can afford such high car prices?

According to EPF’s own official statistics, 78.3% of its total contributors earn RM1500 and below.

This means, 78.3% of the total working workforce in Malaysia earn from RM0 to RM1500.

With this in mind, who in Malaysia can really afford our high car prices?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 18
      • skodamalaysia on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:33 pm

This is because our ringgit is weak, 1USD=4.1rm
        This is CBU model, just wait for the CKD model next year from bermaz. Meanwhile, just play mobile legends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
        • spock on Jul 17, 2019 at 9:09 pm

Pretty decent price for a premium marque. Don’t forget Mazda3 hatchback and Merc A-Class are in the same segment. And Mazda3 sedan rivalling the Audi A3 sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
      • AdityaKrsna Naidu on Feb 24, 2021 at 1:56 pm

Dun blame Mazda, blame the ringgit and import tax, remember, sticker prices in Japan for the Mazda 3 are just like the prices of Perodua and Proton cars in our country

• Real World on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:39 pm

Also wait for CKD Mazda CX-8. This will stole sales from Hyundai Sales

(Like) CKD Mazda CX-8 and CKD Mazda CX30
      (Dislike) Hyundai Santa Fe, Hyundai Tucson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Spin Too Much on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:59 pm

Something must be wrong during government of 2018-2019.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 51
    • Steven Ong on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:17 pm

something must be wrong during the Government of 1989 to 2018 because that is when car rices went up and ringgit collapsed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 60
      • Manifesto Dicapati on Jul 17, 2019 at 7:17 pm

2017- new Camry at Rm160k
        2019- new Camry at Rm200k

something must be wrong during the Government of 2018 to 2019

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Zechariah Pinto on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:27 pm

Everybody in the car industry confirmed car prices going higher because Government cannot sustain the exemptions and tax subsidies given MAINLY to SPANCO and Proton.

https://paultan.org/2019/07/15/govt-lost-out-on-rm4-89-bil-in-excise-duty-on-locally-assembled-vehicles-from-2015-to-2017-ags-report/

“The bulk of the excise duty exemption was for EEVs and fleet management service provider SPANCO’s vehicles, and these totaled RM3.862 billion, or 94.3%, of all approved exemptions during the three-year timeframe.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 38
    • Rich Commenter on Jul 17, 2019 at 10:54 pm

Mazda CX-30 prices at 170k and above ;)

• sugarhill on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:39 pm

goodluck mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • sir rhys lee on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:45 pm

the sedan sure laku keras. those who like the hatchback probably cant even afford a mazda 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Ben Yap on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:54 pm

surely with that price and torsion beam, the car is not sellable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • dont forget the 1.5NA engine.

Both the car and the buyer are a total joke of the year

• Ben Yap on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:59 pm

By the way, why is the sedan heavier but still faster than the lighter hatchback?

• Michelin on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:01 pm

The stupid pricing by stupid Mazda. Good luck to you Mazda. Honda Civic kicks out Mazda3, end of story!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
    • Carfan on Jul 18, 2019 at 8:04 pm

But mazda 3 here just feels one step more atas, the honda build quality is just as bad as before

• Michelin on Jul 21, 2019 at 2:59 pm

No. You are wrong. I own a 2016 Honda City and till now, i have no issues in my Honda. My sister owns 2014 Accord and she has no issues in her Accord. Mazda design, quality may be good but their pricing strategy to their new Mazda 3 is utter nonsense. Mazda 3 will be a massive failure in Malaysia for sure while C segment king Civic and the much reliable Corolla Altis are gonna continue to conquer the C segment. If new Nissan Sylphy launched in Malaysia, Sylphy will join the Civic and Corolla line cause the new Sylphy looks fantastic. If Mazda wants to sell their Mazda 3, they should reduce their price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Remember the good old days when sub-RM150k meant a decently specced D-segment sedan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Celup King on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:59 pm

Welcome to Malaysia Baharu where everything is freaking expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
  • Still no apple carplay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Any plan for ckd?

• dong gor on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Marketing team @ Mazda on vacation ke?

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:46 pm

Honda: The power of Dreams
    Mazda: Only Dreaming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • Gabriel on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Gosh…so expensive.

• Welkam to Mesia Baru. You better have lotsa money cuz everything is expensip.

• Ongtk on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:55 pm

I read the Mazda 3 prices have increased substantially worldwide. So I doubted this is a Bermaz issue. Besides, it is fully imported.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • autodriver (Member) on Jul 29, 2019 at 8:54 am

Yes, the Mazda 3 price increase globally. It seems Mazda gonna position themselves higher level than H, T and N (not comparing with Acura, Lexus or Inifiniti). Be honest the Mazda 3 price shock many and even though it is a good car (unfortunately not skyactiv-x engine) but I doubt the sales will go well even after it become CKD. Even if it slash 20k people may not go for it as Civic 1.5T high spec still cheaper and more powerful plus better maintenance package.

• i hope this cbu mazda 3 not inherit abnormal sound from suspension like my current mazda 3.

• Henry Lim on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:24 pm

It’s worth RM 140k, cause you can own a brand new fully import bmw feel car from Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • lolpanda on Jul 17, 2019 at 11:10 pm

it’s one of the better Japanese makes, but far from a BMW feel…more VW if anything; it’s well built but nothing premium in build material and engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • patrick on Jul 17, 2019 at 11:20 pm

if you consider what goes into a premium make like a BMW, Merc, Audi, Lexus…this is far from it. the Mazda is a good build indeed, but not premium by a long shot.

when you breakdown the details in a premium make you’ll find there’s a lot more that goes into the construction of the vehicle. whether it’s conveniences or comfort…down to making every button silent and not make unnecessary clicks and rackety sounds..and making signal stalks that don’t make the clacking sound as you turn your wheel and then snap back into place as you counter steer.

tear down behind the surface in a premium make and you’ll find uncanny amounts of sound deadening in the most unlikely parts of the vehicle…but not in a Mazda.

again i reiterate…Mazda makes good quality cars. but it’s not premium by a mile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • heybadigol (Member) on Jul 18, 2019 at 2:01 pm

While that is true, not all Mercedes are equal too. A base A Class doesn’t have the luxury of a C Class. It has more hard plastics. But the C Class has few hard plastics. In that context, a Mazda 3 isn’t that far off an A Class. When you consider that context, the Mazda 3 looks like a bargain. .comparison to a Civic is a bit difficult cos the Honda is CKD. If both Mazda and Civic are CKD, then the price difference may not be so extreme.

• Choose the Japanese d segment. Better than c class, not A class.

• Imran Naim on Oct 03, 2019 at 10:27 am

spot on bro, very precise

• Mazda is trying to move upmarket , if u can’t make as many cars as toyota, might as well make them better, and more exclusive

The details is in the drive….

kinda like what bmw did back in the 70’s, it took them awhile until they are on the same par with mercedes benz

pricing might hurt existing base customers, but it is normal in malaysia for imported cars

The 3 is wholly imported from japan

2.0 high plus is the pick of the range

or go for a cx-5 2.0 gls, its a good car

• Lim Kok Keong on Jul 25, 2019 at 11:44 pm

2019 Mazda 3 2.0 High+ sell RM160K by removed dual-color Dashboard??? Removed 12x BOSE Speakers???
      Removed above specs still qualify to consider PREMIUM car????? Ha…Ha…Ha…

• I see alot people say not worth, what rather buy what what bla bla bla…. endup it sell like hot cake, CH-R 160K wtr without insurance also got alot vagetariane head go buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Passerby on Jul 18, 2019 at 10:41 am

Those who say not worth is not Mazda’s target segment for this model, because they are not competing for mass market. This move is a move to a nicher market than they already have. If you ask me worth or not? I think value for money wise the answer is a clear no. But if you prefer the premium interior and willing to pay the price, then I don’t see why not.

• Giler lebih on Jul 19, 2019 at 11:05 pm

Can you proof me by providing valid statistics of CHR sales that showing selling like hot cake dude? Or you just become shaking ur balls while commenting?

• Mat pan on Jul 17, 2019 at 7:05 pm

Why in spec list mention SBS? But you mention SCBS Which one is true?

• DXLEE on Jul 17, 2019 at 8:32 pm

About year ago, I bought a reconditioned W204 C250 coupe for RM129k – it had 15,000km on the clock and based on pre-purchase inspection, only things wrong with it were tires, wheel speed sensor, engine and gearbox mounting – all of which the dealer sorted before delivery (except for the tires). Car comes with 204bhp and 310nm of torque. I can’t help but feel that RM140k for a base spec Mazda 3 is unjustifiable, especially from a performance standpoint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Tity Mcswagger on Jul 20, 2019 at 3:04 pm

Well, there you go. At 15,000 km and you already need to change the wheel speed sensor, engine and gearbox mounting. Mountings that were supposed to last a few years, you had to change it at 15,000km. At 30,000km what will you be changing? 45k? 50k? Savings you had when buying a used german car will be used for the maintenance bill.

• Imran Naim on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:16 am

rm140k for a slow-ass 118bhp lol mazda

• those airvents design reminds me of the 80s toyota taxis airvents…

• True story.. Waited so long to upgrade my car for this car vs civic facelift. Thought of giving a try to mazda car..expected for new skyactiv-x engine since begining of the year.. Basically its just the overpriced same old drivetrain.. Finally booked current civic with sone rebate (lazy to wait for facelift). Well, will be whacking it everday n dump it after 3 4 years.. Happy with my decision

• The Mazda3 High Plus comes with SBS, not SCBS.

• hyin21 on Jul 18, 2019 at 3:06 pm

Unless you are a major shareholder in Bermaz, nothing you say here can affect their pricing strategy. Some say that the company might collapse, fine, as long as you are not a shareholder or a worker there

• Mason on Jul 19, 2019 at 8:55 am

This is the strategy of Bermaz management team. In fact, Bermaz share price is on uptrend.
      Base on data, sedan/hatchback car is less popular nowadays. SUV is the choice of peoples now.
      With limited production capacity in their plant, they have to sacrified the CKD of mazda3 to build more SUV for higher return.

Although i personally feel sad of mazda3 not able to CKD. Just blame CX-5 for being too popular.

• Levin on Jul 19, 2019 at 5:45 pm

I wonder how’s the performance of the 1.5L engine pulling the 1,400kg car with just 118hp. From the start, its clearly going to be an underpowered car. Better to go for the 2L model, but the price for the CBU spec is literally over the top for this segment. At that price range, various other better choices around…

• ahmad on Jul 20, 2019 at 9:13 pm

overpriced!

• Im a huge Mazda fan, but the prices are simply too high.

• IMO, 140 – 160k is the only letdown for this beauty.
    But I believe Mazda already consider all the risk before deciding to bring this model with this price. It should reflect on the volume later on.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:42 am

as much as the price is crazy…there are people who buy a golf 1.4 TSI and mercedes a200

• Lim Kok Keong on Jul 25, 2019 at 11:15 pm

2019 Mazda 3 worth the price?

Comparing 2019 Mazda 3 2.0 High (CBU) and 2014 Mazda 3 2.0 High (CBU)

Price: 2019 RM147K vs 2014 RM135K (Different: RM12K)
    Engine & Transmission: No change. Manufacture Cost should be same or reduce. [Note: Same engine production for longer time should have cost reduced.]
    Fuel Consumption: Same engine slight tuning. Manufacture Cost should be same or slight increase.
    Car Body & Structure: New and improved. Manufacture Cost increase.
    Suspension: Multi-link to Torsion Beam. Manufacture Cost decrease.
    Interior: Better material. Manufacture Cost increase.
    Handling & Ride: Remain. Manufacture Cost refer to Suspension – decrease.
    NVH: Improve. Manufacture Cost increase.
    Space: No different. Manufacture Cost refer to Car Body & Structure & Suspension – Same. [Note: Offset each other]
    Safety Spec (Passive or Active): Passive Remain. ALL Active Safety Spec being REMOVED!!! Manufacture Cost decrease.
    Standard Features & Accessories Spec: Add rear air-con vents. Rim & Tyre reduce from 18″ to 16″. Manufacture Cost should be decrease.
    Useless Spec: Sunroof. If remove Sunroof, Manufacture Cost CAN decrease.

Overall, 2019 Mazda 3 is improved compares to 2014 Mazda 3 in terms of material quality with price increase.
    However, ALL Active Safety Spec REMOVED!!! Some spec being REDUCED!!!
    Yes. 2019 Mazda 3 improved in quality BUT the rest of the car competitors are improved as well. Did other car competitors increased price?

Base on above comparison, price increase RM12K, quality improved, Spec reduced and removed.
    Does 2019 Mazda 3 worth the price?
    2019 Mazda 3 is attractive or not?
    Does Bermaz Mazda Malaysia treat buyers sincerely?

Answer is NO.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 26, 2019 at 12:09 pm

The 2014 car was priced at RM139k at launch and did not come with i-Activsense safety systems – those only arrived with the CKD model.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 13, 2019 at 6:30 pm

just noticed something, parking sensors are only available with the high plus version…the 1.5 and high versions do not have sensors

• The base models have only rear parking sensors. The high versions add on front parking sensors.

• Mazda 3, Rare On The Road on Nov 22, 2020 at 3:15 pm

Looks like there’s alot of haters towards this model because of the pricing. How about someone launch a petition so you can afford it? Or else, stick to average public choice: Civic or Corolla. Done.

• Monana on Dec 16, 2020 at 1:52 pm

MRCC is not until STOP!!!