Seek alternative ride-hailing providers if fares increase

Consumers faced with fare increases from any ride-hailing provider have a choice of picking other similar services offering cheaper fares, according to transport minister Anthony Loke. He said that with 31 ride-hailing operators providing such services, riders should be able to find cheaper alternatives, Bernama reports.

“The consumers should make wise decisions. If there is a fare increase, they have the choice of using other e-hailing services with cheaper fares. We do not want this industry to be a monopoly and there should be competition. If there is competition, the fare will be cheap and no ride-hailing company can wantonly increase their prices,” he said.

He said there were many companies which offer competitive rates and as such, the consumer should assess the provider and application they choose.

Loke however said that any ride-hailing company that is operating without a valid licence will face stern action, and added that ride-hailing drivers who have not yet abided by the conditions including getting a mandatory public service vehicle (PSV) licence have an additional three months to comply by the rules.

The government had originally set a July 12 deadline for ride-hailing drivers to be in possession of a valid PSV licence. As of July 11, 17,596 e-hailing vehicle permits (EVP) had been issued, of which 13,380 are for private vehicles and 4,216 for taxis.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sick& Tired on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:45 am

Fully agreed YB Anthony. Tried ezCab & myCar, memang ekselen. why so stubborn hadap grab tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Avenger on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:12 am

Because of Grab’s reach. Try hailing them in Seri Kembangan. The closest drivers you can find is in Puchong and they would refuse hails, understandably because of their travel distance but that tell us there is little alternative to Grab instead of the lousy taxi services which Loki seems to be promoting here.

• LRT User on Jul 23, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Grab raise prices and you blame the drivers? Sick mentality there.

• Troll, the prices are controlled by Grab. The drivers have no say in how much to charge. You want to BS also think first lah.

• Ben Yap on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:28 am

bring in those motorcycle e-hailing la…. that one syiok can bawak amoi. fares also very cheap.

• LRT User on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:52 am

Epically obvious statement from our “brilliant” minister. We don’t need to pay his skyhigh salary just to tell us that.

We want him to tell us what is he planning by trying to strangle ridesharing services and benefiting taxi drivers & their crony owners.

Ridesharing is the alternative to this menace and you’re trying to kill them so by telling us to find alternatives, are you telling us we have no choice but to support the badly run taxi system just to benefit your pocket?

Just be honest with us here, Loke. Ridesharing takes us for a ride to our intended destination. You are taking us for a ride to ‘holland’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 15
    • Sham Bahrin on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:55 am

Terbaik la Loke. Persaingan secara sihat dan bersih Ridesharing dalam industri teksi negara.

Terutama bg pemandu2 teksi terus berdaya maju, bekas2 anggota perajurit, polis dan penjawat awam. Gudjobb kipidapp. Now we hav more choice.

• Safety First on Jul 23, 2019 at 6:37 pm

What choice? When Loklok is trying to reduce competition by Grab there is no more incentives for taxies to improve themselves. We can this when there is no more protests coming from the taxi associations anymore. They are being ‘protected’ just like the days of Ghee Hin & Hai San.

• passion on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:16 am

WHAT ALTERNATIVE!!!

• Yea. What alternative?

Please spoon-feed us all info. We have no money you know.

• Ok wiseguy. Then what about Uber? No? What about Gojek? No? Lyft? No too? So what alternatives with similar level of services are we talking about here?

• Crony on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:15 am

Loke Taxi & Co.

• passionate on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:19 am

err…ezCab & myCar..dont be lazy..kalau tau tau, Google laa brotha..byk ada..

• Y not u be the minister. He has done tonnes compared to the previous beeend dungu. Typical only complaint no compliment auntie mentality.

• LRT User on Jul 23, 2019 at 5:39 pm

He has done tonnes but were the tonnes a boon for the rakyat or a bane? From the online feedback and fury, it’s definitely the latter. In this case, the previous beeend dunggu was more useful than this PHuckatan dunggu.

• Angry Voters on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:42 am

I wished we could seek immediate alternative to our useless and clueless ministers who are making things worse rather than better. Can we do it now?

• Really on Jul 23, 2019 at 6:08 pm

As if you have better ideas and alternative. Talk is cheap and easy. Wait until you need to do it, by then you will realise how hard it is.

• Mr. Octopus on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:48 am

Why the heck is this news? MOT also so free to give spending advise is it?

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:00 am

Ah Loke Loves Teksi drivers.

• isengard12 on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:30 am

The Ministry should publish all the registered e-hailing services in their Ministerial website.

This is to protect consumers, arming them with knowledge & updated info on e-hailing services. Consumers can make decisions based on that.

• Newme on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:42 pm

If the biggest company also got driver shortage problem that lead to price increase, what makes him this the smaller ones dont have problem? Minister apa nie?

• Gabriel on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:57 pm

I was expecting better answer from a minister in Malaysia Baru.
    So disappointed.
    He should at least share what are the alternatives.

• chuckles on Jul 23, 2019 at 2:23 pm

the problem isnt no PSV licence but after get the PSV licence then need to submit to the ehailing company for them to submit to JPJ and the EVP approval . Wothout this EVP and having the PSv alone is useless and still will get saman. And who controls this EVP? JPJ lo….

• Alibaba Chiam on Jul 23, 2019 at 2:53 pm

Good news send to me

• Like ahmad maslan lah this minister. Minyak naik, go ride lrt. Rice naik, eat potato

• Dale Ismail on Jul 23, 2019 at 8:59 pm

Did anyone save the picture of those taxi drivers during their demonstration? There was a long list of e-hailing :)
    And also, the next time regular taxi ask for fare hike just approve it; then remind us again of this statement “Consumers faced with fare increases…. have a choice of picking other similar services offering cheaper fares”