Proton targets over 100k sales in 2020, aims to be #1

During the prize presentation for Proton’s marketing challenge for its X70 SUV, its CEO Dr Li Chunrong outlined his bold plans for 2020 and beyond. On the back of strong sales this year – which put the national carmaker just hundreds of units behind second-placed Honda at the half-year mark – the executive did not mince his words, announcing that the company is aiming to eventually wrestle the #1 spot from Perodua.

“Our target is to be the number one carmaker in Malaysia and number three in ASEAN,” Li said. “Some people have laughed at this, but look at the results – last year we were number four, from April this year we are number two. Maybe next year we can be number one for one month!”

To do this, Proton has set itself a few targets for the near future. The first is that it is targeting to sell over 100,000 vehicles next year, likely to be buoyed by the introduction of a highly-anticipated small SUV – expected to be based on the Geely Binyue and called the X50.

Li cites the company’s impressive growth in the first half of the year as proof that the lofty target is within reach. Sales have shot up by 59.1% (or 60.55% according to the Malaysian Automotive Association’s sales data), outpacing both its immediate competitors and the total industry volume.

Proton also plans to achieve the top spot in its class in JD Power’s Customer Service Index (CSI) and Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI) studies in Malaysia, through its sales and service network that is set to grow to 150 3S and 4S centres.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• alldisc on Jul 29, 2019 at 5:38 pm

JD power is tough act for proton. They were the bottom 3 for the entire period of last 15 years. Even after numerous number of trainings. Proton weakness was… The non passionate service personnel in their work. They need to change. Or else, proton need to change the staff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • passion on Jul 29, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Agreed. The non passionate service personnel seriusly needed retraining. Based my expert intelligence, Proton 2020 sales hit above 100k:
      Proton X70 – 30k.
      Proton X50 – 50k
      Proton M70 Exora – 30k
      Proton Persona – 15k
      Proton Saga – 15k.
      Proton Iriz – 10k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • Ziddin on Jul 30, 2019 at 12:13 pm

Based on your expert intelligence, maybe you can properly spell seriusly?

• Rahman on Jul 29, 2019 at 6:23 pm

Proton cars are good. The problem is not the car. It is the poor customer service.

For the past 30 years, whenever my Proton had problems, i send it to the workshop for repair. The car SC always say, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton. What do you expect?”

Enough is enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
      • Mason on Jul 30, 2019 at 1:29 pm

Once my perodua had problem as well and I send to complain and ask for repair. One of the guy fr perodua say:”ini masalah biasa bro, model ini mmg ini mcm tapi kita lebih baik dari proton.” He aaid this very proudly…that the problem.

My take away fr this incident is y we always compare wit those that lousy than us and not wit those better than us?

How are we going to improve whereby our attitude din change.

• Coca cola on Jul 29, 2019 at 6:24 pm

With Proton cars and SC quality still GO, it is hard (almost impossible) for Proton to target over 100k sales in 2020 which is a really big ambition. So I suggest Proton to learn more from GC Perodua as Perodua have more experience and knowledge to teach Proton how to be a #1 GC carmaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
      • Did u know a few management team from Perodua already work in Proton. One of them top position in Perodua Maketing team

• X50 pls on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:46 pm

X50 will take all b segment sales… None of the b segment can win on specs, interior and exterior design. If X50 take down all B segment sales difference story, perodua need to be worry and better come out with something. Better interior designs n materials, better sound systems and add on android player double din…

• Tun F on Jul 30, 2019 at 9:06 am

Dude… It’s next year Q4……. Still far away…. You know Proton.. Never meet the deadline when it comes to launch new car

• Tun F on Jul 30, 2019 at 9:15 am

The important thing…. Quality… Quality… Quality… If they can maintain this.. No doubt it will give other competitors a run for their money

• New Trend on Jul 29, 2019 at 6:59 pm

If perodua make more suv…proton bye2 only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
      • P2 is trying their best but still can’t beat X70 sales figure until today.

• You’re kidding, right? Even the Axia beats X70 sales. Look back at previous Paul Tan articles. The numbers are all there.

• Where in gods name told you that Axia is an SUV?

• Ahcong on Jul 29, 2019 at 9:29 pm

you mean under powered SUV.

• What SUV does Daihatsu/Toyota has that P2 can rebadge? You are not thinking about the Fortuner, are you?

• Din Din on Jul 30, 2019 at 12:53 am

For the sake of argument: RAV4, CH-R, Harrier. And that’s just the ones that are in the Malaysian market. Land Cruiser series, Kluger, Highlander, 4Runner (full cab version of Hilux which is already sold here) and Sequoia. Daihatsu Cast Activa.

• China or local on Jul 30, 2019 at 10:52 am

Fact is now it is a china designed and made car. Just admit.

• Toyota will only let Perodua rebadge models designed for 3rd world countries ala Rush/Aruz. UMW doesn’t even bring in the LC series, what chance for rebadging as Perodua?

• Andra on Jul 31, 2019 at 12:01 am

Did you realize Perodua never rebadged a pure Toyota product? All things they rebadge is Daihatsu cars.

• Didn’t realise that Japan was a 3rd World… honestly don’t bs on the internet. It becomes sad when you’re wrong. YOU may not fact check, but doesn’t mean anyone else won’t.

• Perodua is a Daihatsu subsidiary. While Daihatsu is Toyota’s. Hence Perodua rebadges Daihatsu, not Toyota. This is basic auto info, not even insider. The fact that you’ve mouthed off so blatantly shows you’re just a pointless troll.

• Andra on Jul 30, 2019 at 11:59 pm

Daihatsu is expected to launch a mini SUV under 4 meters long in Q3/Q4 2019 in Japan. Perodua might rebadge that

• Celup King on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:03 pm

You will have to wait neck long like giraffe for Perodua to rebadge a JDM current model. For that, wait until they switched to a new model change before Perodua can rebadge. Either that or they are allowed to rebadge Daihatsu/Toyota 3rd world cars like Rush.

• Vader on Jul 29, 2019 at 7:06 pm

You’re looking bottom 3 from the top 10 positions. Do take note that other brands are not being mentioned or far below the scale. So in essence, Proton ain’t doing too badly either but with the new impetus to upgrade their sales into 3S & 4S, there is now more focus on the servicing portion.

• suomynona on Jul 29, 2019 at 10:00 pm

Legit, my parents were a potential customer for X70, but slow processing through the payment process shifted them to get a Mazda instead.

Little details like this, needs improvement

• Aura89 on Jul 30, 2019 at 3:03 am

Loan for Proton comes from the banks while loan for Mazda invariably comes from Bermaz hence they speedier clearance but the price difference can tell you if they could have afforded a Mazda (overpriced as they are), they wouldn’t have seriously considered the X70 unless they will to wait the long delivery time.

• Tun F on Jul 30, 2019 at 9:07 am

Dude.. What kind of slow processing? I thought now 70is a ready stock

• Faris on Jul 30, 2019 at 10:21 pm

Sounds fishy. I mean if they can afford a Mazda then why opt for an X70. To me it wouldn’t be a problem since i can wait a month or two for clearence.

• Tun F on Jul 29, 2019 at 5:49 pm

Dr. Li chunrong…. Your target is 100,000 car per year and aiming for no. 1????? Did you know that Perodua sold more than 200k cars for years without fail. So I think you better get things right at your front liner personnel which are the main reason people lost faith in proton. It’s good to increase your sales. But at the moment. Step by step. Reach that 100k target first and at the same time try to deliver customer’s car at a quick time. We have heard lately that even market leader, Perodua faced stock problem to cater demand. Why not Proton take advantage of Perodua’s sluggishness..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Mark Cheng on Jul 29, 2019 at 6:37 pm

The article said “at least Nunber 1 in one month”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Dude, it’s stated 2020 and beyond with 100k units being the target first. He said Proton will be eventually be #1. Eventually meaning no set time yet.

• JOACHIM on Jul 29, 2019 at 8:25 pm

Have you ever seen or heard an aspiring champion say he is okay to reach No.2 or get a Silver medal? True champions always aim to be No.1. It just doesn’t happen immediately but it will come eventually if Proton continues to skyrocket.

• Day dream on Jul 29, 2019 at 6:01 pm

To be #1?
    Dreaming only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • No one thought Proton can pass Toyota and get near Honda, but here we are with Proton nearing the no 2 spot. It all start with a dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • One hit wonder. Let them use the cars, and regret little by little. I have 2019 Iriz, btw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • FishBoneDiagram on Jul 29, 2019 at 6:16 pm

> likely to be buoyed

Groaned…

• wah, tanpa CEO China tak boleh brain this statement.

MAS, apa lagi, cari a CEO from China

• Saladin on Jul 29, 2019 at 6:35 pm

Proton once reach 200k sales. They need to address one main issue of the co to get back the glory. And will take years to gain n hardwork.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 29, 2019 at 7:00 pm

Proton. Ambitious. But often very poorly tested and executed. Incorrect products, Half baked products, fault of poor product planning and lack of experienced upper management (or incompetent management) and misplaced priorities.

I can list some examples.
    1) exora with no isofix mounts
    2) Campro with no, well CPS
    3) Suprima S
    4) Iriz ( they should have designed a better persona)
    5) poorly done CVT
    6) oddball Savvy
    7) Tiara, Juara, Arena (ok, these were by the distributor being shiok sendiri)

And the absolute weirdness of a single marque selling 3 cars in the same segment at the same time (inspira, gen2 based persona, preve)

Compromized production quality, which isn’t that much of an issue in itself, as no marques are perfect out of the shop…. Was made worst with pretty much lackluster post sales service. Cars with almost no final QC and PDI making out to the customers hands. Sales and technical, not emphatic towards a customer (which is saddled with a 5-9 year debt to buy the car) with a problematic car and not sorting things out for them.

Proton left a lot of people with a very bitter aftertaste. It will take time to change that perception.

It is going in the right direction with Geely at the helm though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • X50 pls on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:49 pm

Alright agree the pass is history, won’t even consider proton models as you listed. X50 Please… GAME Changer!!!!

• Din Din on Jul 30, 2019 at 1:10 am

The bitterness remains, with the implied arrogance. They want to beat Perodua, yet pricing is trying to challenge Honda. If the rumours are true, and their subcompact SUV entry is priced beyond the Perodua Aruz’s range. Then that ambition remains forever reaching.

If starting at RM75k for a smaller SUV, when topping a few thousand more will net a larger one from Perodua. Then there’s no argument for it. Just Proton’s hubris. Wanna beat Perodua? Then beat them at the established game, PRICE.

Don’t wanna hear Hot Pressing method and such. You’ve been saying it since before Geely, nobody is listening. The aforementioned bitter after taste is that you’re no better than Perodua when it comes to quality. And now Perodua has upped the game with amenities. Ticking all the boxes from 5 Star NCAP to autonomous braking.

Don’t even try to ride on presumed glam of the brand. Geely owns volvo. So? We’re getting Geely car, not Volvo car. TATA owns Jaguar. Do you see anyone running out to buy a TATA? Swallow your pride and some profits, and beat Perodua’s Trump Card. Else, linger as 2nd best…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Yes produa please give a way to proton. Boring with the blame on “myvi” kahkahkah.

• Predict vehicle sales data in July 2019:-
    1) Perodua 18400 units
    2) Proton 8700 units
    3) Honda 7200 units
    4) Toyota 5800 units
    5) Nissan 2400 units

• X50 pls on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:51 pm

After X50 took over b segment sales, then different story. Just wait and see…..

• I highly doubt it. The amount of people already regretting buying the “new” 2019 Iriz and Persona is a lot. I personally own a 2019 Iriz, and it’s no where near what the reviews make it up to be. The rattles, squeaks, and other noises just make the car feel like a 10 year old car. Their customer service? ROFL… Sending some sms, calling to inquire about the car after the service, and nasi lemak isn’t going to cut it when your car sounds like plastic. Best line I got from the service staff after I complained about the dashboard sounds is, “your car still new, got warranty, just drive first”… That’s the point, it’s new! Why rattle and squeak? No fix yet when that rattle and squeaks have been going for 6 years for the Iriz? Oh please… No way I trust them to re-fix the dashboard, some how I feel it will only get worse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Tun F on Jul 30, 2019 at 9:09 am

Yaaaawn….. Argh.. Another fake story

• Jeremy on Jul 30, 2019 at 2:28 pm

I have an 2019 Persona and I never got any of such problems. Neither did my sis with her new Iriz. I find your story perplexing and strange and to go about with the servicing which both me & sis never encountered make this even more fishy. You sound like a disgruntled salesman dredging up old stories of Proton.

• Dude, just because you never encountered it, does not mean the underlying problem is not there. You are very lucky to have no problems with your Persona and Iriz. I know this site has many trolls, and fan boys. I’m just sharing my experience. If you think it’s fake, go ahead. Perhaps mine could be an isolated incident, but I highly doubt it after joining the forums.

• I highly doubt it. The brand should be Perodua. The actual news is:-
      The amount of people already regretting buying the new Myvi and Bezza is a lot. You personally didn’t own a 2019 Iriz, but it’s 5 years old Iriz. The rattles, squeaks, and other noises you mentioned actually from 1 month old Myvi. A lot people sending sms, calling to inquire Perodua service centre about the car after service, but service staff only replied that, “your car still new, got warranty, just drive first, we got few hundred cars to service everyday, don’t send your new car here for that minor issues”…

This is what I heard from new Myvi and Bezza’s owner.

• Well, thanks, I guess? I just joined LYN Low Yat Forum Iriz thread V9 – ID: jescon. I do have a 2019 Iriz 1.6CVT Premium, and my experiences unfortunately are not fake. Others agree with me. Anyway, I’m discussing methods to solve these issues in the forum. They are way less condescending than you fan boys.

• Easy to troll in any forums with made up names just to push you sorry agenda. You’re no different.

• redpilled on Jul 30, 2019 at 6:51 pm

Fake AF. By the way, my company owns a late ’17 base cvt model, which I daily drive, now clocking 60K km. No dash rattle. Only change I did was tire dimensions, now rolling on 195/55/15 Conti cc6. Way lower noise than stock rubbers.

• You may have a point there. Changing the tyres might actually help with the rattles. If you want to test drive my 2019 Iriz, PM in Low Yat forum Iriz thread V9 – ID: jescon. I’ll be glad to prove I’m not a fan boy like Tun M.

• Faris on Jul 30, 2019 at 10:26 pm

Say what you like, but i’m still getting the X50.

• Anti Kunta on Aug 04, 2019 at 1:31 am

Another fake news from Yb Kunta

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 29, 2019 at 8:39 pm

Selling X number is the easy part.

Maintaining a good work culture, good customer service, backed by consistent QA and QC vehicles is the tough part. Even tougher, keeping those standards at the highest level all the time. Consumer are longer cincai, today we demand the best value for money, backed by great after sales support.

There has been major improvements with Proton services at the new 3S in PJ that I go to. But still plenty of room for improvement.

I also know that Proton staff are now motivated, whip into shape by Dr Li and team. The X70 single handedly uplifted Proton in a mere matter of months, something unhead of in the history of automotive industry. But, it’s gonna be a long road ahead and you guys and girls at Proton better be mentally prepared for a tough and arduous journey ahead.

The lofty ambition is doable. Just work hard, achieve goals step by step and do your country proud by presenting the best we can offer to other ASEAN countries.

• Proton has always produce good cars. The problem is marketing. They do not know how to highlight the strength of each model. For example, Preve has 4 disk brakes, 7 cvt gears, 6 air bags, vsc with traction control, paddle shift, auto cruise, 138 hp and independent multi link with stabiliser bar rear suspension, and made of ultra high tensile steel?

• Ahmadjr on Jul 29, 2019 at 10:08 pm

They can if they make better looking iriz or new satria with 4 doors. Equipped with lotus handling, hpf, 7 speed auto with shift pedal then u will beat myvi anyday

• Abby Meaw on Jul 29, 2019 at 10:35 pm

Hello world!

• tokmoh. on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:37 pm

Well done, Proton. With very highly anticipated CKD X70 later this year and X50 next year, it is very realistic to get 100k sales in 2020.

X70 had just been launched in Brunei, that will add up as well.

Majulah Geely Empire!

• Double fist bump bro! If P1 continue to rise 60% y-o-y, it will soon dethrone P2 and that without even resorting to small cheapo volume game cars. Last year P1 has scalped 3rd position Toyota, this year P1 will scalp 2nd position Honda,next year will be scalping P2. Have faith cuz the full might of Geely empire will be brought onto taking P2 down from their perch.

P1, Geely, Mesidis, Volvo Cars, Volvo Trucks, Lotus, L&C, Polestar, SMART > all

• Tun F on Jul 30, 2019 at 9:12 am

Take it slowly dude… It’s not easy to change mentality in Proton’s Frontline… The after sales service.. Let Proton fix all this thing then only the result will come… Yes.. They have make over allSC to 3 or 4S..thats good.. But let me take one example.. Used to be Coe customer. And I never come back there due to frustrating service…

• Geeton is the best on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:54 pm

This is such a misleading with ostrich mindset as Proton claimed they are on ranked no 2 by overtaking Honda sales during “April to June” XD

In common sense, Proton should provide the comparison of the total car sales from Jan to June 2019 instead of “pick cherry” by only showing the “selective quarter SALES”!

the truth is Honda still no.2 by looking at the total sales for 2019 indeed!

• Tun F on Jul 30, 2019 at 9:14 am

Did you know that Honda malaysia and Proton are under DRB hicom in Malaysia.. It’s sibling’s rivalry

• Surpass 700 units is very easy for Proton in next 6 months.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 30, 2019 at 12:06 pm

Proton again has been smoking weeds. Always and has been very “dare” to claim this, target this and that. Cakap but takboleh bikin.

Remember once that Proton claims to be ASEAN’s BMW?

• Calvin on Jul 30, 2019 at 11:31 pm

It wasn’t Proton but was Madeywho said such statements. Do you think anybody in Proton dare to correct him back then? Nobody dares correct him even now.

• Not P1. It was Bapak Kronism.
      P1 ≠ Bapak Kronism

• Curiousity on Jul 30, 2019 at 5:21 pm

I have a question though, what happened to the investment on multiple modular type engine that were supposedly be ready this year? I still remember that one of the engines was for the Proton Perdana. Is it still in progress or what?

• Proton should aim for global market. No point to continue target on malaysian only. You earn nothing. Look at Kia, Hyundai … they earning USD.

• Personaian on Jul 31, 2019 at 9:31 am

Im using persona, for the price is a good car. But there are 2 major problem with proton car:

1. Still using timing belt, around 80,000km u need to fork out rm800 and 1 day leave to change at the SC. At least 3 hours to do the troublesome labour, aiyo improve the engine using timing chain like others lah..

2. The CVT oil change very expensive, 5 botol, filter, oil sum pan + labour rm600++. I dun mind the cvt being jerky at low speed and sluggish when pick up. But why dun use back the conventional 4AT lah??

• X70 Buyer on Jul 31, 2019 at 2:04 pm

1. Oklah. Honda normal service also takes a whole so what can complain for major service like replacing belting? As for the price, it is not too bad since you don’t do that every year either.

2. CVT oil only need 1 bottle to flush out old oil, you sure need 5 bottles ke? FYI 4AT also need to flush so the price difference is negligible. FFYI CVT oil replacement only done at 60,000km so price is also acceptable since you don’t do that often.

• It will happen if Proton stop wasting money at face-lift/improve the current model and research/develop new model.
    Just CKD/CBU all the model from Geely, it will success like X70.

• Rahim Riduan on Jul 31, 2019 at 1:31 pm

Protons are good. Problem is not the car. It is the poor customer after sales services. Poor updates of any recall..
    I send it to the SC for service then they told me my model hve a CVT damper recall.. Now after my servicing, i hve to send back again for the recall replacement and then engine vibration occurs after that, ..does not happen b4 the cvt change..
    And now back to SC again for the mounts change which they told me out of warranty…car less than 5yrs and mileage 26000km plus only.
    Now waited for them to order 2 of the 4 mounts and will b ready soon as from today.
    Mostly warranty all expired.
    Even 1 wheel rim was a little bend, wheels not so good and they said i hve to replace at my own cause…
    After they put back…steeeing was not straight during driving…
    Finally i change all 4 at third party outside with all wheels too.
    Enough is enough…Since mostly all warranty expired might as well go 3rd servicing.
    Protons Cares but dont just for sales, do also for peoples like us who bought it and dont forget us.
    Thank You.

• Vader on Jul 31, 2019 at 4:51 pm

You complain about Proton servicing because your car is out of warranty and then you said your car is less than 5 years? I smell a fish here…..

• Jeremy on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Interesting so many ‘new posters’ come here and talk long stories about Proton servicing. I find it sad for them, not because their stories are genuine but because I highly doubt it. I have 2 of the latest Protons and even my dad is aiming for X70 (when stocks are available) and yet never have I heard first hand of such “problems” and not only from the others waiting at SC with me. Never.
    And guess what. If they were real, our writer Hafriz would certainly have flagged that (he has an Iriz) and most surely wouldn’t have persuade his dad to get an X70. So take it what you will as I find these interesting in the fake news sort of way.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:23 pm

Hafriz does not own an Iriz, but his dad does have an X70.

• Brian on Jul 31, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Wait a minute. I really thought he had one or at least indicated that he did from the way he presented in his videos.