SPIED: A90 Toyota GR Supra spotted in Shah Alam!

Remember when UMW Toyota said it will launch the new A90 GR Supra in September this year? Well, it looks like things are right on track, because reader Mior Mohd Amin has just spotted a unit on a flatbed truck in Shah Alam, finished in the hero colour Renaissance Red 2.0.

It’s unclear which variant this is, but it’s worth noting that the Supra is available with two engines, starting with the base 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder that makes 197 PS and 320 Nm of torque, as well as a more potent tune of 258 PS and 400 Nm. The 0-100 km/h sprint time is done in 6.5 seconds and 5.2 seconds respectively.

However, the one we will most likely be getting is the 3.0 litre turbocharged inline-six, offering 340 PS and 500 Nm of torque. Here, the Supra does the century sprint in 4.3 seconds. All engines are mated to an eight-speed ZF automatic transmission as standard, with drive sent to the rear wheels.

For now, there is no indicative pricing for the Supra, but a vague benchmark is provided by the Supra’s close cousin, the G29 BMW Z4, which retails for RM480k in sDrive30i form. In Indonesia, the 3.0L Supra is priced close to RM600k.

The Supra’s arrival will also see the introduction of GR Garage, which will sell all GR-branded performance cars. These outlets will be located within an existing dealership, where they will have a dedicated corner that’s furnished with GR branding.

According to a source from UMW Toyota, there will be a total of six GR Garages across the country, although no specific locations have been mentioned. Besides the Klang Valley, the GR Garage will also be present in the northern and southern regions. Who’s ready for the Supra?!

GALLERY: A90 Toyota GR Supra at GIIAS 2019

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• This car, in Malaysia, is not aim for sales but just to tell others than Toyota able to manufacture super car. Just like our dear PM is keen to have our own super car now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
    • You do know that this whole car is based on a z4 right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 308 Thumb down 105
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 539 Thumb down 1156
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 423 Thumb down 830
          • English Teacher on Aug 10, 2019 at 6:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 421 Thumb down 737
          • Mazda1530 on Aug 10, 2019 at 7:22 pm

Wow! Again, or resident troll is spamming like for his comments and dislike for others

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 546 Thumb down 281
          • Pikachu on Aug 10, 2019 at 7:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 236 Thumb down 442
          • tikus on Aug 10, 2019 at 10:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 232 Thumb down 427
          • Watson on Aug 12, 2019 at 6:33 pm

Bashers probably need Vaseline to keep their butts cool. If they can’t afford Toyota, surely they can afford Vaseline?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
          • Policeman on Aug 12, 2019 at 11:51 pm

@Mazda1530
            How do you get more than 500 likes? Did the trolls like you or you like yourself? Since you said resident troll is spamming like for his comment, are you our resident troll?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
        • Kunta Troll Hunter on Aug 10, 2019 at 2:31 pm

Are you fake john or real john? Because your statements sounds from Kunta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 123
          • Bashers Are Trolls on Aug 10, 2019 at 6:33 pm

He is just stating the truth with link of PT article to support his statement. Is it wrong?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 307 Thumb down 381
          • Belip what u want, i only speak the truth.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 157 Thumb down 184
        • English Teacher on Aug 10, 2019 at 6:08 pm

“Unlike the GT86 co-developed with Subaru, with BMW we first decided on the concept of the car that each company would like to develop SEPARATELY”

John is correct. Looks like many bashers here don’t know how to read or don’t want to read. A trait in UiTM perhaps?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 234 Thumb down 246
          • EDITOR on Aug 10, 2019 at 10:08 pm

“Inside, the Supra borrows much of its switchgear (along with its door mirrors and door handles) from BMW – owners of the F30 3 Series will find plenty familiar here, down to the stubby electronic gearlever. The iDrive system, complete with its tiled interface, has also been lifted straight from Munich… again, similar to what you’ll find on a BMW.”
            https://paultan.org/2019/01/15/toyota-gr-supra-revealed-first-global-gazoo-racing-model-340-ps-3-0l-straight-six-priced-from-rm205k/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 236 Thumb down 182
          • Logic on Aug 11, 2019 at 9:15 am

Borrowing parts does not mean its based on Z4. Parts sharing is common in car manufacturing. Even Proton borrow parts from others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
          • English Teacher on Aug 11, 2019 at 12:24 pm

You’ve got taken in by a PR narrative just to push your agenda, hoping readers and car enthusiasts are none the wiser but you forget that independent reviewers still exist, -one such is here as captioned by EDITOR- and you’d think the general public would eat your marketing spiel? You’re not so smart are you?
            And to take other people’s identity just to push that agenda, you’re either desperately running out of excuses to give, or your motives are highly suspect. Or maybe I give you too much credit, and you’re just a low IQ imbecile having caught stealing people’s identity.

• panjang on Aug 09, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Hik, hik,hik,
      U mean Toyota knows how to rebadge super car? U mean Toyota is like Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 53
      • Suka Bash? on Aug 10, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Perodua knows how to rebadge super car? Wow! I don’t know that. This is better than Proton that can only rebadge China cars after more than 30yrs of experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
        • Mazda1530 on Aug 10, 2019 at 7:37 pm

Toyota also know how to rebadge Mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Rebadge King on Aug 11, 2019 at 9:00 am

And Proton knows how to rebadge Honda, Mitsubishi, Geely etc… So Proton wins?

• Kucing Gaok on Aug 10, 2019 at 9:57 pm

Perodua got all their chassis, engine and transmission from Toyota and Daihatsu.. so 2×5 saja bahh, except the new Myvi tho the engine and transmission is from Japan spec Avanza

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 09, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Well I hope Toyota has bigger balls to keep the Supra alive for the next gen coz BMW is axing out the next gen Z4 along with other great vehicles like the 8 Series coupe in favour for SUVs as they see no real economic value in roadsters and coupes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • Supercar? This is only a sportscar. How to show Toyota able to manufacture ‘supercar’ when the whole world knows it is a BMW Z4 rebadge? Good at rebadge, maybe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 122
  • thykrupp on Aug 09, 2019 at 1:01 pm

Smart move, expose little of the car body just to trigger curiosity from public and eventually get free publicity on Paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • v-tec fan on Aug 09, 2019 at 1:52 pm

nice!!! please make video review of Supra paultan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 71
    • bash bashers on Aug 10, 2019 at 10:50 am

Why so many dislikes on your comment? These Toyota bashers are too much with nothing better to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 64
      • Really? on Aug 10, 2019 at 4:23 pm

More Toyota salesmen with too much free time because showroom empty are here to defend the Supra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 52
        • To Li Chunrong on Aug 10, 2019 at 7:22 pm

When PT reader request for video review of Supra, you guys dislike him for no reason. The readers can see for themselves who are these bashers. Proton salesmen who got bailed out by Geely has too much free time and salary. I know you are a good CEO but your Proton workers mentality remain the same. Pls take note, Li Chunrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 44
  • Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Aug 09, 2019 at 2:29 pm

This is a great car. I hope the abang2 in Shah Alam don’t get excited seeing this car and quickly order one just to show off to Opah in kampung.

Then few months later, sure tarik balik or sambung bayar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 78
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 09, 2019 at 2:36 pm

All those ahbengs and ahlians will surely bring one home to show off in jinjang mew village…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 129
      • Johnwick on Aug 09, 2019 at 4:02 pm

But ahbeng and ahlians can afford to buy the car in cash while compared to abang2 need to take 9 yrs loan just to show kampung ppl they made it in the city..tats the difference..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 26
        • P.Alyanna on Aug 09, 2019 at 6:17 pm

Cash from loan sharking, laundering, meth, & bapok business. Is this something to shout in pride?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • You think all are like 1MDB meh? Can’t they do halal business?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 09, 2019 at 8:02 pm

Pinjam ahlong pay cash want to show off konon2 can afford…then when ahlong come looking for payment go and sembunyi at salak south new village…kesian…haiyaaaa…hak hak hak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
          • Michael Wong on Aug 09, 2019 at 10:48 pm

Statistics from local banks have proven highest tarik baliks are after Raya every year and year after year.

Bank statistic don’t lie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • Jeremy on Aug 10, 2019 at 3:37 pm

You only look at bank which is just the tip, but overall forfeitures statistic indicates most happened after CNY.

Bank statistics are incomplete but forfeitures don’t lie.

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Aug 10, 2019 at 4:17 pm

When I pass any pajak gadai, I only see one type of people inside trying to pajak their gold.

Too many wives and kids to support

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Which is why after 1 wife, they shouldn’t have gone for mistresses claiming them as wives. Now sudah dapat anak2 luar nikah.

• If they can support, no problem. The problem is when you can’t support so many yet kahwin 4, then will have money problem and ask from ah long then big problem.

• Kesian, launch before CNY then all kena tarik after CNY.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 09, 2019 at 8:05 pm

Normal la ahbeng and ahlian…always borrow from ahlong one to show off as if they are so rich…then main judi lor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
        • Spot on bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • Still better than main judi haram. Is it Ah Beng that is haram or Abang that is haram, i wonder?

• Ah Beng juga main judi halal dan judi haram, which is worse you say?

• Sharil Khalid on Aug 10, 2019 at 9:46 am

Most ah long customers are B40. And B40 are abang abangs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • Ah longs would only lent to those doing businesses. And those doing business are the AhTans, the AhKows, the AhBengs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • Petra on Aug 10, 2019 at 8:17 pm

Ah longs would lent to anyone who wants to borrow money, not just to those doing business. People especially those with many wifes need more money.

• Is that so? Then why I have never heard ahlong business going bankrupt? You think ahlongs are stupid? They will only lent to those who got collaterals or guarantors (like business people). Those with too many overheads are risky even for ahlongs because there is nothing to gain. Instead you are just saying ahlongs are saints & philanthropist. Incredulous how you try to bend your logic!

• kumar on Aug 13, 2019 at 11:55 am

Who says ahlong business going bankrupt? You think ahlongs only lent to business men? Collaterals or guarantors does not mean must be business men, can be other people or things like cars and houses. Nobody said ahlongs are saints so stop putting words into other people’s mouth and try to bend your logic!

• Veyron Owner on Aug 10, 2019 at 12:24 pm

they hapgred main moneygame & skim cepat kaya lor… oh waitt

• Saga Owner on Aug 11, 2019 at 10:00 am

Skim cepat kaya is invented for B40s, i heard.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 09, 2019 at 2:58 pm

delivering to my house….beribu ribu tahniah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • A cheeky Supra or is it the work of a slightly careless wrapping job? Anyway… nice to see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Matchy on Aug 09, 2019 at 3:29 pm

Highly suspicious that they purposely left the cover like that… not sure if Mior Mohd Amin is working for the T team or not.

• kyosho on Aug 09, 2019 at 4:00 pm

This is a fake promo photo from Toyota. Haha

• lembu on Aug 09, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 249
    • What interior? The whole thing was lifted of the Z4 and plonked into Supra. Even the meter panel is the same. All they did was rebadge Z4 and put their badges on the car, even the transmission is using ZF gearbox. Tak malu ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 15
    • The Supra’s interior is a copy from the Z4, right down to the iDrive and gearknob. What is Saga using Hyundai autobox gotta do with exterior designs? Want to defend Toyota but don’t know how, loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 91
      • Nissan on Aug 10, 2019 at 1:39 pm

Please respect each other here Mario. Keep this site a healthy place for car disscusions, not causing fights in here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
        • Hyundai Saga on Aug 10, 2019 at 9:40 pm

Agree with you, we are so fed up with Mario using dupes and calling others loser. I hope he will bertaubat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
      • First of all, you guys need to learn the difference between copying & rebadging/sharing components.

Toyota made a deal with BMW to use not only the engine & platform of the Z4 but various trim pieces and also the idrive system. With BMW’s approval, it isn’t called copying, especially when it benefits both companies.

“Copying” is for example when proton decided to blatantly copy paste alfa romeo’s front grill on their old perdana V6.

Secondly, Toyota’s argument is that if they had developed a fully bespoke car it wouldn’t be as affordable as it is now.
        Whether or not you think that is a believable excuse is up to you to decide.

In my opinion, im fine with the platform being the same. Bmw knows how to make a good chassis. But they should’ve and could’ve made a successor to the 2jz but they did not, a missed opportunity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
        • Dilbert on Aug 11, 2019 at 1:10 pm

Hang on, you said Proton copied that grille from AF but even AF themselves didn’t use that grille in some generations of their cars! Look, there is no patenting of designs. There is no issues of automakers lifting design elements from each other like KIA Forte mimicing Lancer ‘shark’, or Hyundai cars looking like Audi copies. Are you going to fault them too? If you say there is nothing wrong with Toyota, then your accusation of Proton is just as flimsy.

• Dude, no one said the Supra is a copy so you should get your facts right. Everyone said the Supra is a rebadge, which you even agreed in your comment. Only some Toyota and Perodua salesmen with too much free time can’t accept that fact and resorted to commenting using dupes and disliking critical comments.

• kereta_lembu on Aug 09, 2019 at 4:28 pm

The suspense is killing me…I wonder how it looks like under the cover? #sarcasm

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 09, 2019 at 6:13 pm

So besides selling the Supra we expect to see some exterior kitted up GR Camry and Vios being sold alongside? I hope they would at least get a tuned suspension and exhaust system this time around and maybe an ECU tweak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Losers on Aug 09, 2019 at 11:51 pm

Haters will always be haters. At least appreciate it’s either this with the collaboration from BMW or no Supra at all for the next 20 years. Also do you know that although it’s the same engine shared with the Z4 but if you did your research you’ll find that the Supra actually outperforms the Z4 in terms of BOTH power and handling which means it’s not just a mere REBADGE. Stop condemning and at least drive one b4 you day anything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 93
    • Proton Losers on Aug 10, 2019 at 6:28 pm

Can’t blame them. All they have driven is Proton. No money to buy Toyota or BMW, can only come here to bash which is what they are paid to do.

*They don’t even read the link posted by john, which shows that it’s not just a rebadge, straight dislike anyone who says otherwise. Can PT do anything about these trolls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 86
      • You mean the fake john you created? You really think no one know you are behind all the fake news and lies around here, RJ Raja Jamban? Why don’t you take your own advice and avoid provocations in Paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • You are like a kettle calling the pot black. The biggest troll is you, the one who likes to use dupes and trolls. Funny that you even pose as john, your biggest critic. You really think by changing your names we won’t recognize you? You can’t cover your reeking stench.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
  • A freaking BMW not toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 30
  • Kipidap on Aug 11, 2019 at 8:38 am

I would rather go for the classy and prettier BMW Z4 anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5