Proton opens first flagship 4S centre, in Kota Kinabalu

Proton has officially opened the doors to its flagship 4S centre in Kota Kinabalu last week. Operated by Fook Loi Corporation, it is the first of the national carmaker’s top-tier outlets in Malaysia.

“Deciding to become a Proton dealer was not difficult because we see the potential for Proton in Sabah,” said Fook Loi group executive director Thomas Chiu Kui Yin. “The current range of Proton models is highly competitive and technologically advanced with features that appeal to the new generation of car buyers.”

With the launch of the new outlet, Proton says it has extended its lead of operating the largest network of 3S and 4S centres in Malaysia, all of which are required to be attractive, spacious, comfortable and equipped with amenities such as free WiFi, a kids’ corner, ample parking space and a coffee area. They must also be staffed by well-trained sales and service personnel.

“These may seem like simple requirements, but they are critical ones,” said Proton CEO Dr Li Chunrong. “Since outlets are our first point of contact, numerous steps have been taken to ensure that a wholesome experience starts here. These efforts have paid off. Our sales have been on an increasing trend and with our new products, we are confident that we are on track for the company’s return to profitability.”

The expanding dealer network goes hand-in-hand with Proton’s sales growth, which sees it officially overtake Honda to become the number two car brand last month – the 8,590 vehicles it sold in July puts its year-to-date figure at 52,108 units.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Tahniah P1!

• There is no use for Proton in opening more showrooms as sales is still dissapointing. The only car Proton could sell is the X70 while others already game over. So I hope Proton will spend their money to develop a game changer first rather than opening more showrooms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • Sales is disappointing no one. Everyone is happy sales is increasing, only P2 pipu is worried about P1 sales going up.

• The only Proton car with sales increasing is the X70 only while other cars already game over. So in the end of the day, sales will still remain the same with X70 contributing the most

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • Celup King on Aug 28, 2019 at 5:13 pm

What you say what is happening in reality is so far apart, you might be referring to another reality or you are just dreaming. Whichever it is, you are game over either way.

• This year Proton helping DRB Hicom make profit already, what game over? U tok kok like others?

• Terbaik P1! Make P1 and Malaysia greater again!

• Fake Proton on Aug 27, 2019 at 7:48 pm

If Geely is allowed to continue what they are doing in Malaysia. Not designing and making new Protons, only disposing their EOL models here. The Malaysian automotive industry and market will face imminent collapse.

Its already being felt.

Donald Trump is right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • Fake brain of yours on Aug 27, 2019 at 11:54 pm

Donald Trump? Hahaha, the fact that you believe him already showed your level of critical thinking.
      Was Proton in good health before Geely entered the picture? Isn’t Daihatsu doing the same with Perodua by giving EOL models too for decades? So, the Malaysian market will collapse because Proton is gaining market share now? Stop being so obvious a basher.

• Celup King on Aug 28, 2019 at 12:14 am

There has been an awakening. 15,000 have felt it, 30,000 more will feel it. Have you felt it?

• sir rhys lee on Aug 28, 2019 at 11:22 am

you’re partly correct. proton should be given the opportunity to develop its own models based on the BMA/CMA platforms. instead, geely is just re-badging its models and selling them to malaysians as proton and still calls it our national carmaker. next to come : jiaji, binrui, borui. stop saying proton is our national automaker already. even myvi was developed inhouse by P2.

• Not Typical Malaysian on Aug 28, 2019 at 11:58 am

This is an example when you dont think far enough before commenting. Proton is still getting back up after being down for some time. it needs to gain trust and profit back before starting to develop their own model(s) back again. Later if they develop their own model(s) early and still no profit, those typical dogs and inbreds will bark again proton bail out, better keep rebadging and so on…Perodua started in 1994, and they only design their own myvi in late 2017/ early 2018. All those profit, and they still able to ONLY design, not DEVELOP their own techs and/or features, and their worsheepers can accept that? Furthermore, those kampung mentalities that cements belief that proton will forever be bad and no chance to improve, you think they change minds easy? Come on la, this is Malaysia la. Those kind of mentalities are very common.=)

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2019 at 3:40 pm

Not their money easy la tok kok as if they know more than Geely.

Geely turnaround Volvo, London Taxi before, and now on set to turnaround Proton and Lotus, who the hell is this rhys lee to question them?

Did he question P2 for rebadging Rush? Even the Axia is just redesign of already existing Ayla.

Myvi so-called 99.99% local, but the platform its on is still identical to previous gen Myvi at the front. Put simply, P2 still have 0 technical ability when it comes to complex engine bay engineering, only modify other areas like rear seating, boot space. They don’t have their own engine and gearbox, just take from Toyota/Daihatsu. What’ve they been doing with their big fat profits, just send it back to Japan?

Meanwhile from get go, Geely entrusted our local engineers, hundreds of them to convert Boyue to RHD. They’ve never thought of making Boyue RHD, so the credit can truly be claimed by us. Geely had been so kind and respectful, properly make halal kitchen, prepare suraus for our people at their Hangzhou plant.

And all these despite Proton deep in billions of losses. No wonder he’s just a loser here, while Geely is a fast climbing Fortune 500 company.

• Celup King on Aug 28, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Ohh. Tokmoh is HERE!!! Welcome back, long time no see.

• Welcom back my fren!

• tokmoh. on Aug 29, 2019 at 9:47 am

Yea, sorry been busy with IRL matters. But my spirit is always with you bwahahahaha.

ALL HAIL GEELY EMPIRE!!

• Vader on Aug 29, 2019 at 12:31 pm

All hail Geely!
            All hail Tokmoh!
            All hail john!

• Dude, there is difference between self-developed and reskin. Myvi is a reskin of existing Toyota platform, namely the Yaris.

• tokmoh. on Aug 29, 2019 at 9:45 am

No, current Myvi’s platform is a modified previous Myvi’s platform.

The front part is identical, around the engine bay area, they only changed beyond that, the cabin and boot space area.

Then call it 99.99% self made, kek.

• Only Myvi body panel was develop in house. The rest is not and even that after over 20 years of partnership with Diehatsu. GeelyP1 partnership only 2 years old, why u expect suddenly so much? 2 years cannot compare with 20 years.

• Bashers’ logic. Perodua can take however long they want, while Proton need to show result from day one. They keep saying Perodua never needed government’s help but they omit the part most of Perodua’s profits flow back to Japan. Perodua being labeled as national car despite never developing a car from scratch is already a big help from government. Perodua can only be selling on being cheapest despite its trolls and salesmen saying otherwise.

• tokmoh. on Aug 29, 2019 at 10:01 am

P2 had been bestseller since first Myvi in 2005. 14 years later, still is.

Amazingly however, Proton despite having continuous declining sales the past few years, deep in billions of losses, now has the largest network of 3S/4S outlets in the country.

Thus, you can see how much (or little) P2 cares about their customers, while Proton/Geely invests into giving customers the best ownership experience. 14 years of big fat profit, yet couldn’t be bothered to invest in customers like Proton did for the past 2 years. I think that says it all about P2 management vs global management in Proton.

At every new/facelift model launch, they will remind about how much they’ve improved their quality using QC practice adopted from Volvo, bringing down defects to less than a quarter of what they used to 2 years prior. And they commit they have more room for improvement and will go for it.

You won’t hear that from P2. Envious, some of their fans even turn racist to attack Proton, showing how low they are. Their success had gone way above their head, and shall be their downfall. Proton. Is. Inevitable!

• Khalid on Aug 29, 2019 at 11:31 am

who is being racist just to attack proton?

• Vader on Aug 29, 2019 at 12:31 pm

Japanese worsheeping fanboys ie Perodua sales troll

• tokmoh. on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:35 pm

@khalid : lurk around soc med, you’ll find them.

They talk of China cars as if it’s a bad thing, except this is no ordinary China car.

They spread rumours like Proton top management conduct meetings in mandarin, discriminate, bully the malays, etc. Yet I never saw any mass layoff conducted by Geely, would’ve been very easy and fast way to fix Proton’s problems. Instead they were patient, took the long, hard way to fix Proton.

Some of the worst ones I saw sound something like “Aku ada Allah, mereka tak ada!” Excuse me, what has religion got to do with making cars? Allowing tens of thousands of malay families to keep putting food on the table for the past 2 years plus? They did not even contribute a single sen! Talk is cheap, free even, yet empty cans make the most noise.

Toyota and VW are top 2 biggest carmakers, is it because they are muslim? Keep your toxic mentality away lah, you’re neither helping anyone nor putting race and religion in good light. Just cheap politicking to serve your selfish needs.

• sabahan on Aug 27, 2019 at 9:08 pm

SUVs and taller active variants of Irizx and Suprima eg. Subaru XV konpom sell like hotcakes,

• OMG… Display cars with dirty tyres display in a Flagship 4S Showroom. Way to go with Flagship standard.

• Nobody drives a proton in brunei

• Are you sure? I’ve seen X70 in BSB. In kampung area, you can even see plenty of Wiras.

• Great news for the towkays there, can buy china SUV for their maids.