2019 Nissan X-Trail X-Tremer, Aero Edition launched in Malaysia – four variants each; from RM139k-RM167k

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has launched the X-Tremer and Aero Edition packages for the X-Trail, with both being made available for all variants of the seven-seat SUV. These packages add on a number of accessories for more visual presence, and are fitted from the factory.

Let’s start with the X-Tremer, which is offered in three two-tone paint schemes – Imperial Red, Brilliant White and Tungsten Silver – all with a black roof, roof rails and rear spoiler. The black theme extends to the V-motion grille, 17-inch 10-spoke alloy wheels, door mirrors and the added Tomei aerokit.

Meanwhile, the Aero Edition gets the same gloss black 17-inch wheels and Tomei package as the X-Tremer, although the latter is finished in silver instead. Additionally, the model is available in three single-tone exterior finishes, including Diamond Black, Imperial Umber and Titanium Olive.

Nissan X-Trail X-Tremer (left), X-Trail Aero Edition (right)

On the inside, both feature brown Nappa leather upholstery for the seats, along with a leatherette dashboard, knee pad and armrest.

The X-Tremer and Aero Edition are offered in four variants, including the 2.0L 2WD and 2.0L 2WD Mid that feature a MR20DD 2.0 litre NA four-cylinder engine with 144 PS at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. Higher up the range, there’s the 2.5L 4WD with a QR25DE 2.5 litre four-pot providing 171 PS at 6,000 rpm and 233 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

At the very top is the 2.0L Hybrid, which pairs a MR20DD with a hybrid system that consists of an electric motor rated at 41 PS and 160 Nm, a 0.9 kWh lithium-ion battery and Nissan’s Intelligent Dual Clutch Control (clutch mechanism between the engine and CVT transmission). All engines are paired with an X-Tronic CVT with seven virtual gears.

In terms of pricing, the X-Tremer in 2.0L 2WD guise goes for RM140,888 on-the-road without insurance, while the 2.0L 2WD Mid retails for RM152,888, the 2.5L 4WD for RM160,888 and the 2.0L Hybrid for RM166,888.

As for the Aero Edition, the 2.0L 2WD variant is priced at RM138,888, the 2.0L 2WD Mid at RM150,888, the 2.5L 4WD at RM158,888 and the 2.0L Hybrid at RM164,888. All purchases come with a five-year/unlimited-mileage warranty, which also cover the hybrid system and battery), while the package accessories come with a three-year/100,000-km warranty.

2019 Nissan X-Trail X-Tremer

2019 Nissan X-Trail Aero Edition

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Christian Wong on Nov 01, 2019 at 1:09 pm

Nissan always give about RM15,000 discount. Aiyoooo, like this, the X-Trail might be even cheaper than the RM123k Proton X70

How is this so? I thought Proton is supposed to be cheap for Malaysians. National car maker mah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • RM138,888 minus RM15,000 is still higher than RM123,000. Where did you learn your maths from? The School of LGE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • massive impact on Nov 04, 2019 at 3:54 pm

No, he got it from the NAJIBAI/UMNO school of maths.

Anyway, 138,888 – 15k = 123,888. Top up 888 get high quality Japanese SUV.
        Vs shitty Tongsan China crap.

Which one you pick? Japan for sure.

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 01, 2019 at 4:35 pm

I still prefer Nissan because it is one of the few non GLC cars around. At least SC won’t be lazy and lembap with typical GLC mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Brian on Nov 02, 2019 at 12:20 am

Is that the reason why they lost one quarter of sales y-o-y? Perhaps because they are lazy and lembap unlike GLC mentality that helped another brand to get 42% sales increase during the same period.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 01, 2019 at 1:29 pm

When I first got notified of this because I follow a Nissan sales men on FaceBook, I was like, are they trying to clear old stock? Turns out that they’re doing it again. Sigh.

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 01, 2019 at 4:41 pm

Nissan ETCM has been trying to hard to bring in the Nissan Qashai into Malaysia. In Europe it is the No 1 SUV and top seller.

But everytime Nissan apply to MITI for permission to bring the Qashai in, it gets rejected.

Why? Very simple. If the Qashai comes in, who will buy the CRV, HRV and Toyota Innova/Rush?

MITI must protect GLC interest no matter what.

This is the problem when Government has interests in most of the car makers in Malaysia or owns them completely.

UMW -Toyota
      DRB- Honda
      Sime – BMW
      Sime – Ford
      Sime – Hyundai
      UMW – Perodua
      DRB – Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 01, 2019 at 7:34 pm

What’s your source?

• Brian on Nov 02, 2019 at 12:23 am

You’d realise he gets his source from what comes out of his rear hole right? You know what is that right?

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 02, 2019 at 7:50 am

common knowledge. Governments should not have interest in cars as Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world.

Furthermore, we did not have a Government to tell the car companies to give us higher safety spec cars like VSC and more airbags or ABS, EBD etc.

In Western Countries, their Governments take the car companies to court for failing to give their rakyat safer cars.

Example, US government sued Toyota in USA for brake pedal issues.

In Malaysia, since the Government owns all car companies, how are they going to sue their own self?

• Avenger on Nov 02, 2019 at 3:18 pm

I never knew that Malaysia was so rich that we owned all the Daimler AGs, the BMW Groups, the VW Groups, the Toyota conglomerates, and the recently merged FCA-PSAs. Where did you get that from? Aether again?

• Knightrider on Nov 01, 2019 at 2:37 pm

How many facelifts TC had changed, price is cut, but sales are still declining… what a pintu Nissan in bolehland

• tobacco on Nov 01, 2019 at 2:40 pm

hello nissan, turbo engine la

• Lets See on Nov 01, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Another make up act by Tan Chong. Still no Pro Pilot because they think we don’t deserve it. Lets see their sales continue to tumble.

• Noice! Smort! on Nov 07, 2019 at 10:40 am

I prefer the Impul bodykit more than this.

• Rueben on Oct 16, 2020 at 10:45 pm

Dayummm.. i look at all these comments and some of u guys are just ‘mean’.. lol no need for sarcasm and comparing dick sizes by slandering one another. just agree to disagree! everyone is entitled to his/her opinion.