The updated Mazda CX-5 is now available in Thailand, a month after the revised C-segment SUV range was launched here. Like in Malaysia – where the CX-5 is assembled and shipped to Thailand – there are minor updates throughout, but the biggest news is the introduction of the CX-5 2.5L Turbo variant.
The 2.5L Turbo SP 4WD is the MY2019 range topper in Thailand and it’s priced at 1.85 million baht, which translates to RM256k. If our neighbours could drop into a northern Malaysian Mazda showroom after exchanging baht for ringgit, they would, because the 2.5 4WD High is priced at RM178k here.
The 2.5 litre turbo-four is the same one used in the CX-9, and Thai brochures quote 231 hp and 420 Nm of torque, the latter available at 2,000 rpm. The boosted motor is paired with a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission with i-Activ all-wheel drive system as standard, but there are no paddle shifters for the manual override.
It’s well equipped, as you’d expect. On the outside, one can tell the Turbo apart from its 19-inch alloys (225/55 tyres), but it’s inside where the 2.5T pulls ahead of the rest of the range, which reads 2.0 C, 2.0 S, 2.0 SP, 2.2 XD, 2.2 XDL 4WD in Thailand.
Exclusive Turbo equipment include black headlining, ambient lighting, an auto dimming frameless rear view mirror, real wood trim, brown Nappa leather and ventilated front seats.
Also on are goodies such as a sunroof, auto adaptive LED headlamps, auto wipers, powered tailgate and keyless entry/push start. The top Thai CX-5 also comes with a 10-speaker Bose Surround Sound system.
As for safety and driver assist systems, Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), Smart City Brake Support Forward (SCBS F), Smart City Brake Support Reverse (SCBS R), Driver Attention Alert (DAA), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS) and Lane-Keep Assist System (LAS) are all available, in addition to Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC).
So, while the Thai price for the CX-5 Turbo might seem shocking for “just a Mazda”, it does get a fair bit of premium kit that the Malaysian version does not get – the Bose audio, ventilated Nappa leather seats, real wood trim, sunroof and MRCC are all absent from ours. You get the feeling though that there aren’t many Malaysians who would pay extra for the good stuff, especially if prices creep into the actual premium zone. What say you?
GALLERY: Mazda CX-5 2.5 Turbo GLS AWD, Malaysia spec
Here in boleh land, NO MRCC
Bermaz will sell this car at a killer price. Who really can afford?
According to EPF’s own statistics, 78.3% of all its contributors earn only RM1500 and below.
This means, nearly the whole population already cannot afford to get a car that is over RM200k.
Agree. RM256k can buy 1bijik X70 + 3bijik X50.
Forester sales are going to melambung like this. Somemore Subaru Malaysia always give big fat discounts like RM20k
Like this Forester will be RM119k. Better I buy Forester than this overpriced car OR the overpriced china junk X70
The MRCC cost is around RM4k only. It will not make the price here increases RM75k to what Thailand pays, RM256k. Dont mind the frameless mirror, Bose speakers, Nappa venti. seats, sunroof. We need MRCC. Why CR-V, X70, X-Trail can have, but not in CX-5?
Malaysians are used to low spec safety cars the past 30 years.
This is because, most of our car companies, which are GLC owned, never cared for the safety of the rakyat and wanted to perah the rakyat maximum money for lowest spec cars.
Why was Toyota cars all over the world having 9 airbags with VSC as standard and Malaysia, only until 2 years ago, had only 2 airbags and no VSC in Toyota cars.
Greed. Nothing but greed by GLC UMW Toyota motor
Mazda sales in Malaysia diminishing a lot because previous buyers have shown after sales is very bad and parts are super expensive.
How lah Bermaz when your parts are like BMW and Mercedes prices?
Looking at your comment, you really haven’t drove a Mazda let alone owning one.
Bermaz is selling very high prices for new CX5 facelift without mrcc which not many people will buy new CX5 facelift compare to pre-facelift CX5 2017 because aftersales service is not up to standard.
Thais are not cheapskate like malaysian….
Where’s that joker that kept saying Malaysian car prices are the highest in the world?
Only RM178k here. Cheapest car and petrol here!
In thailand, they retaliate our locally assembled cars to compensate the way we tax theirs. We are suppose to abude by asean free trade agreement which we signed but did not honour due to proton.
I hope no Proton fanboy will come here and say their X70 is better than this SUV. Come on lah, if this is the case why do you see thousands of CX5 in Malaysia and Thailand?
There is a reason people pay more. At least you can drive a car that you can be proud of.
Go kenduri also don’t have t park far far away.
Aren’t you the one telling us we have the most expensive car prices in the world?
Now Paul Tan has pointed out that Thailand prices are much higher than Malaysia?
So why should we even believe what you said?
Buy this car in Malaysia, at least you got RV. Buy Proton in Malaysia, buy RM123k, next year sell, can only get RM70k.
If you need to worry on RV, it shows that you can’t afford it. Better for you to buy X70 instead.
Buy a house if you want RV.
RM256k reduce to RM178k! 30% reduced!! cukurr
Paultan keep posting Thailand car price to remind us we are not the one to enjoy highest car price in the world especially developing country
mazda can close shop, should use 2 liter turbo to reduce price
No wonder auto giants all build cars in siam. CBU price even from asean nations like msia are insane. Maybe msia shld follow..
Damn u Bermaz, just give us MRCC. If anything else that Malaysian would want is the ventilated seats. Frameles mirror; 3rd party will sell soon. Bose speakers, there is seller in FB that sell it (cover only?)
There is someone that made special request for white colored seats. Bermaz did entertaint with additional cost. What about MRCC? I.AM.WILLING.TO.PAY.
Chill sis.. Proton X70 safety ADAS equally good,
if not way better… best in class, no kidding.
All idiot want MRCC so you can play your phone while driving on highway?
Wow, frameless mirror, venti. Nappa seats, Bose speakers, sunroof and MRCC cost RM 75k. Gila!
We Malaysian do not care abt those items EXCEPT MRCC. Well, not all but those who want it are willing to pay. Kami mampulahh!
A baseline Mazda 3 1.5L is priced at 140k while the range topping Mazda CX5 2.5L Turbo with all the bells and whistles is priced at 178k. Is Mazda 3 1.5L overpriced or is the Mazda CX5 2.5L Turbo a bargain? I think Mazda 3 1.5L is overpriced tbh.
You may go and check from MITI how much duty to be paid for a CBU Japan model, it is not appropriate to compare a CBU Japan and a CKD model.
If you use currency exchange app, 1.85 million Thai Bhat is equivalent to about RM256k.