Mazda CX-9 – Malaysia-spec model officially launched

We’ve already revealed quite a bit of the Malaysian-spec Mazda CX-9 just a few days ago, and now, the model is finally making its official launch debut. The seven-seat SUV now comes with a revised equipment list, which incorporates the 2018 model year update, as well as new pricing.

As before, two variants will be offered to customers – 2.5 2WD and 2.5 AWD. The 2WD is priced at RM281,449.70, while the 4WD goes for RM297,349.70, making both slightly cheaper than the outgoing Australian-spec model – RM286,749.70 for the 2WD and RM302,649.70 for the AWD. According to Bermaz CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh, only 60 units of the Australian-spec model were brought in.

These are on-the-road prices without insurance, and they come with a five-year/100,000 km warranty plus a three-year/60,000 km free maintenance. Five colour options are available – Machine Grey, Snowflake White Pearl, Deep Crystal Blue, Sonic Silver and Jet Black, with the first two being premium colours.

Under the bonnet, the CX-9 soldiers on with the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G turbocharged petrol engine that delivers 228 hp at 5,000 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. The mill is mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission and an all-wheel drive system on the relevant variant.

As per the CX-9’s most recent update, the brand’s G-Vectoring Control (GVC) system, which is part of the SkyActiv-Vehicle Dynamics umbrella, makes its debut here. The system, which we’ve detailed before, is found on other models sold here like the Mazda 2, Mazda 3 and the latest CX-5.

On the exterior, the CX-9 now comes with LED daytime running lights instead of the halogen units which equip the Aussie-spec models. That, and the addition of the ‘GVC’ badge, are the only noticeable differences, with everything else remaining unchanged.

You’ll still get LED headlights, front fog lamps and taillights, along with bulb-type rear fogs, eight parking sensors, a powered tailgate, powered sunroof, all-round disc brakes and a set of 20-inch five twin-spoke alloy wheels (shod with 225/50 profile tyres).

The familiarity continues on the inside as well, with nearly identical kit as before. These items include a triple-zone auto climate control system (with rear vents), leather upholstery, powered seats with driver’s side memory, projector-type Active Driving Display, 4.6-inch multi-info instrument cluster display, MZD Connect infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen and a 12-speaker Bose sound system.

A glance to the right of the steering wheel reveals two further changes, the first being the new switchgear for the power-folding side mirrors (like the one seen in the CX-5). The other, is the omission of the i-Stop idling stop function, along with the i-ELOOP capacitor-based energy recovery system. In place of these systems is an improved i-ActivSense driving assistance and safety suite.

Mazda’s Lane Keep Assist System (LAS), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS) and Driver Attention Alert are the new introductions, and they join the existing Adaptive LED Headlights (ALH), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA) along with front and rear Smart City Brake Support (SCBS).

Other safety-related equipment include six airbags (dual front, side and curtain), Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), ABS, EBD, Traction Control System (TCS) and Hill Launch Assist (HLA). Another change is removal of the the second row seatbelt warning indicator, but the vehicle still qualifies for a five-star safety rating from the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP).

For more information and specifications of the new Mazda CX-9, head on over to CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mazda CX-9 2.5 AWD

GALLERY: Mazda CX-9 2.5 2WD

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Putra on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:17 pm

Mazda being premium brand, CX9 price is spot on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
    • Deswai this is very sad, total sales of Isuzu selling only 2 models truck beat Mazda 14 models sales. Now 30millions rejected arrogant luxury price mazda, pre-reg selling new car price & give zero discount. 2016 stock provided to all brach manager company car, balance 2016 new cars still parking road side continue cumulative solar radiation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • 12yrsold on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:39 am

So, all branch manager Now drive a CX-9. I say that is a Gud company to be working with. If that is the case, I’m sure many people would like to work there & get to drive a car that cost almost RM300k. I tot only General Manager onwards are accorded such incentive.

• Bermaz thanks the 60 suckers who have had their OZ-spec units outdated by this new one in under a year. Must be a new local record.

• CarBuyer on Nov 16, 2017 at 12:54 am

In many coutries, the CX9 is priced in Hyundai Santa Fe territory. Bermaz, are you living in dreamland with this price? The extra goodies over the Santa Fe’s can by no calculation justify the RM100k premium you demand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • obamama on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:58 am

This is the price you paid for all the products distributed under Berjaya Corp.

• Cx9 or xc90 on Nov 16, 2017 at 1:35 pm

I will any time go for cx9 that is more premium

• Yup agree with you. In Australia, CX9 prices almost same with 5008

• Johnson Potien original on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:57 pm

300k Mazda, r u nuts?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Bernard on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:09 pm

If it’s sold below rm100k, justified.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • BeemerFreak on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:21 pm

If it’s sold below RM100k, I think you would have asked it to be sold below 50k. Cannot afford means cannot afford, no need to supplement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 10
  • old horse on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:57 pm

the one thing still barring me from buying Mazda yet…

Apple Car Play and Android Auto is missing still..

from CX5 to CX9, paying so much yet no support for any of those yet..

• I know right. It’s 2017 yet Honda is the only Japanese marque locally to offer Apple Carplay/Android Auto in mainstream cars like the Civic, Accord and CR-V. How is it possible for UMW Toyota & Lexus(!), ETCM Nissan, Bermaz Mazda, Motor Image Subaru, Isuzu, etc still missing out on this? Google Maps is so useful on my car’s in-dash screen!

(I know, Mitsubishi Outlander has Apple Carplay but not Android Auto. Just as dumb).

• Nazee on Nov 15, 2017 at 9:05 pm

CKD benefits 5k cheaper. Mazda, some people CAN count. You’ve ruined a good luxury suv that could have taken on the continentals.

• Lucky Gong on Nov 15, 2017 at 11:32 pm

2.5T 4WD RM238K is good price! Don’t rip further!

• helmi on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:59 am

Ever since really hate the Mazda front grill looks

• berombon on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:15 am

It never really bothered me as to how much Bermaz wants to sell their cars. It is up to them, if it is way too high for people to buy it, so be it lah, they only the ones rugi..If it is so high already, don’t buy lar and if you honestly think that they are digging their own grave, let them lar…
    I am sure also that they being in the business know it so much better than we do.
    Peace all…

• I was choosing between CX-9 and Kodiaq, at the end I opted for top spec Kodiaq for value and never looked back. In Aussie land, it is probably 2WD GT spec equivalent and priced in the late AUD 50k driveaway, similar to top spec Korean suspects but with 3yrs warranty which is real turn off.

• According to a Mazda showroom in west bangkok the CX9 will cost north of 4M(!)baht.. The dealer manager also said the CX8 definately isnt gonna be imported in march, but will be produced locally in a years time.