Mazda CX-9 – Malaysian-spec model previewed

In late April this year, Bermaz CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh revealed a Malaysian-spec Mazda CX-9 would be introduced around the same time the new CX-5 made its debut. The model will replace the Australian-spec ones currently on sale, and will come fully imported (CBU) from Japan.

UPDATE: We now have official pricing for the Malaysian-spec Mazda CX-9, which you can check out, here.

It has been several months since then, and we now have our first look at the updated, Malaysian-spec CX-9, which sees a revision to its equipment list. As far as changes go, the CX-9 now comes with LED daytime running lights in place of the previous halogen units. That is the only noticeable difference visible from the outside, with the bi-LED headlights, LED fog lights, LED taillights, powered sunroof and 20-inch alloy wheels continuing to be retained.

It’s a similar story on the inside, where you’ll find a triple-zone auto climate control system, leather upholstery, powered seats with driver’s side memory, projector-type Active Driving Display, a powered tailgate, MZD Connect infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen and a 12-speaker Bose sound system.

However, if you look to the right of the driver’s seat, you’ll notice a few more changes. For starters, the i-Stop button has been removed along with the rest of the system, so there won’t be an idling stop function available. The i-ELOOP capacitor-based energy recovery system joins the i-Stop system on its way out too.

On the other hand, the Malaysian-spec CX-9’s i-ActivSense suite of systems has been improved to offset what has been removed. It now includes the Lane Keep Assist System (LAS), which is accompanied by the Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS) and Driver Attention Alert as well. Other notable add-ons include the brand’s G-Vectoring Control (GVC) system and new switchgear for the power-folding side mirrors.

Powertrain offerings are the same as before, with two- and all-wheel drive available, the former seen here. Under the bonnet sits a 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G turbocharged petrol engine (228 hp and 420 Nm), which is paired with a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission.

Pricing (on-the-road inclusive of insurance) for the Australian-spec CX-9 is currently set at RM316,788 for the two-wheel drive model, and RM323,849 for all-wheel drive. Could the Malaysian-spec model be priced below those figures? We’ll have to wait and see.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mazeda on Nov 09, 2017 at 3:36 pm

the price is too much for a jap car…

• Mazdarati on Nov 09, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Mazda is now premium

• I miss Ohwai on Nov 09, 2017 at 6:43 pm

If you want real value for your money, go buy a BMW x5. In all over the world, the X5 is double or triple the price of the CX9. But in Malaysia, the X5 is just RM60k more.

Pre reg X5 also going for RM340k. 2017 model and brand new.

So, better to buy the X5 as in Australia, it is more than DOUBLE the price of the CX9

• NAZA4eva on Nov 09, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Sorento 150k gud buy, in Australia same segment & price as CX9, Landrover, Kluger & X3.

• 12yrsold on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:37 am

U may be right on most count but some Japs car are more expensive & have qualities that can rival if not better the Germans. Take Acura, Infinity & Lexus for example. Current Mazdas are Not far behind.

• Overpriced AF. KIA Sorento FTW!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Kancil Hybrid on Nov 09, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 255
  • 12yrsold on Nov 09, 2017 at 4:11 pm

At last, the CX-9 gets the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G turbocharged petrol engine with 228 hp/420 Nm that have enough grunt to propel the large SUV that comes with all the latest bells & whistles.

Since this is a fully CBU unit, the asking price of RM286,749.70(2-WD) or 2.5(A-WD) at RM302,649.70 – both OTR prices without insurance is quite understandable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • thepolygonal on Nov 09, 2017 at 4:15 pm

From the looks of things, the third row seats are more for kids, just like the ones in the X-Trail. Price is high because they are selling this as a premium product… now will you rather get the Harrier or this? Or with the price sticks to above 300k, the GLC perhaps?

• harrier seems like a bargain compared to this

• pakcik on Nov 09, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Give us the CX8 !

• passion on Nov 09, 2017 at 4:42 pm

nope.

• AhBoy on Nov 09, 2017 at 4:48 pm

$300k+ for a Jap SUV……Ptui! Ptui! Ptui!

• siang fuan on Nov 09, 2017 at 5:00 pm

Why no adaptive cruise control

• Ervin on Nov 09, 2017 at 5:02 pm

The interior design appear similar to CX 5. Mazda should have create a different space for this premium model. Hope the price will be attractive to justify this…

• Such price positioning is out of the league….Many will ratger take up a CKD Bimmer or Benz SUV. Higher price than OZ spec previously in Msia and lower specs… there is no such things as removal of A n B and sub with C n D when A B C and D are defaults i sense
    Kapu for Mazda Malaysia

• Jason T on Nov 09, 2017 at 6:23 pm

2.5L at 228hp & 420Nm with 6 speeder, Mazda tech still lagging tho. EURO already going for 2.0L at 252hp & 370Nm with either 7 or 8 speeder. Unless you are keeping this car for the next 5-6 years, if not in 1-2 years will be either PHEV or full EV altho price is not bad. Guys, if you have the money and a place to charge your car, do wait. My bosses’ PHEV X5 & XC90 only refuels once a month. I have a director which drives to work and goes back home everyday, refuels once in 2 months.

• Horsepower not important for heavy vehicles. But torque is more important. That’s why heavy vehicles prefer to using diesel engines.

• I’ve already seen a few of these on the road..where did they get it from? Grey import?