Petronas organises first EV Fluids Symposium in Turin

Petronas Lubricants International (PLI) recently held the inaugural Electric Vehicle (EV) Fluids Symposium at its Global Research and Technology (R&T) Centre in Turin, which provided a platform for experts from across the globe to discuss and present EV innovations that contribute to a cleaner, energy-efficient and more sustainable e-mobility future.

The one-day event was attended by more than 120 participants, including industry experts from the across the world, where they shared future EV technology trends, their market relevance and the role of fluids in the evolution of e-transmission and battery technologies. The symposium also saw discussions on how EV technological developments have an important role to play in managing the climate challenge that exists in our world today.

“At PLI, we’ve pledged to double our investments and dedicate 75% of our R&T expenditure in projects that contribute to reducing CO2 emissions. PLI’s venture into the EV market that was announced earlier this year through Petronas iona range of e-fluids reinforces our commitment to the development and deployment of fluid technology. The EV Fluids Symposium is our next initiative to work together, deliberate possibilities and set a shared agenda towards a cleaner future,” said Giuseppe D’Arrigo, PLI managing director and group chief executive officer.

At the symposium, PLI also shared the findings of the industry’s first global study in EV technology and fluids, with particular focus on the primary aspects of an EV, the electric drive unit and battery. Conducted in partnership with FEV Consulting, the study provided a detailed look at innovations that are beneficial to improve the performance and durability of EVs, as well as the necessary steps to increase the uptake of EVs among consumers.

“Change is a challenge, and with the rapid integration of electric vehicles into the global mobility eco-system, that challenge is being met with unprecedented and active collaboration between OEMs, academia, and the world’s smartest engineering teams. I am encouraged to see the focus and ambition here at the EV Fluids Symposium. The twin imperatives of climate change and air quality can only be tackled by truly maximising the efficiency of our planet’s mobility machines, amongst others,” commented Roger Atkins, founder of Electric Vehicle Outlook.

Aside from the various talks by experts at the symposium, guests were also treated to a tour of the R&T’s product development laboratory and mechanical testing facilities to have a better insight into the work that goes into developing Petronas e-fluids.

Petronas has been focused on reducing its carbon footprint, and the EV Fluids Symposium is another initiative by the company to attain that goal. Since the introduction of Petronas Carbon Commitments in 2012, the company has decreased its monitored carbon footprint by 13% from 2017, which is a cumulative 12 million tonnes of greenhouse gas emissions reduction.

The company is also collaborating with Daimler Automotive in green projects towards low-carbon fuel and vehicle emissions control. More recently, Petronas established the Carbon Commitments Guidelines and a New Energy unit to enhance capabilities in the renewables domain.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• newme on Nov 12, 2019 at 11:20 am

Why organise so far away? Why not do it here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Engineer on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:01 pm

Because the Global R&T Center is in Turin you nitwit

• Because PLI is based in Turin

• newme on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:34 pm

Yes, why it is in Turin and not KL? Because they can’t trust tiga/15 engineers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • because all the expertise are there u dimwit.
          2007 Petronas bought FL Selenia a motor oil lubricant company which based in Turin

• newme on Nov 12, 2019 at 1:45 pm

Conclusion is they can’t trust 3 suku engineer like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • The only 3 suku here is you newme.

• kopihitam on Nov 12, 2019 at 3:59 pm

dun want to accept their base in Turi? ok let’s put some logic to your shitty brain..i’ll do the same also if it’s my product..whos going to buy this kind of lube here?huge ev market outside but not here..we only got plenty of 3suku people like you only..moron

• Engineer on Nov 12, 2019 at 2:10 pm

Its a symposium, not a launch. Clearly you’re not from the science/technical field, if you don’t know what’s a symposium.

• newme on Nov 12, 2019 at 4:14 pm

Symposium or not, it’s still not a reason not to organise it in KL.

• Logical Deduction on Nov 13, 2019 at 12:57 pm

Let me turn your logic around, there is no reason to have the symposium in KL when the scientists and R&D engineers are in Turin. And please, don’t argue back with your flawed logic.

• Aura89 on Nov 12, 2019 at 4:51 pm

Small minded katak in your coconut shell.

• Dr Strange on Nov 12, 2019 at 5:16 pm

I believe your just trolling because you just can’t be that stupid, are you?

• Global League Club on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Best water block cooler uses only distilled water. Non petroleum derivative.

• Engineer on Nov 12, 2019 at 2:12 pm

Best WC material is antifreeze mix with distilled water. Pure distilled water will induce microbiobes into the system and that is bad news.