Child car seat ruling – “unpopular measure” but necessary to ensure safety, says transport ministry

The transport ministry says that improving road safety will remain one of its top priorities, and that it will continue its push on issues – and implement necessary policies – related to this, despite these sometimes being seen as unpopular measures.

Transport minister Anthony Loke cited the mandatory use of child car seats or child restraint system (CRS) in private vehicles as an example. He said that the government has stood firm in its decision to implement the ruling – which comes into effect in January – despite protests and negative reactions from certain quarters.

He stressed that the decision was never meant to trouble parents, but was vital because the absence of a CRS had proven fatal for a high number of children in many road accidents, Bernama reports.

“As the minister in charge of transport and road safety, I have to do this even though I’m being criticised for taking an unpopular measure, but I’m confident that this is the best move to ensure the safety of road users in the long run,” he told the national news agency in an interview.

“We know many quarters have been protesting and complaining that the CRS is becoming a burden, that it is expensive and troublesome. We anticipated this kind of feedback because every safety measure will take some time to be accepted and adopted by the people,” he added.

Loke said it was the same case when people questioned the rationality and importance of seat belts and helmets when the usage of these was made compulsory in the 1970s. “Now, Malaysia has reached quite a high level of compliance in the usage of seat belts and helmets compared to other countries in the region. So, we know that it is normal for a new measure to receive negative feedback at the beginning,” he said.

He reiterated that no stern action or summons will be imposed on drivers for the first six months of the implementation, with the period being meant to educate and familiarise the public with the new ruling.

“We want the people to really know and understand that the CRS is for safety. That is why the soft-landing approach is taken for the first phase of the implementation. This is like an educational or advocacy stage before the enforcement phase takes effect,” he said.

On complaints that child car seats were costly, Loke said he believed that the price would drop when the supply becomes higher than demand once the new ruling is enforced. He added that the government will help monitor the price of child car seats in the market, and has also discussed with the ministry of finance the possibility of dropping the excise duty on child car seats so that they can be priced cheaper.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 26, 2019 at 12:50 pm

ignore those idiots. make this a proper rule!

• damn it new gov… just for single term gov and i need to spend money just to get a seat… which hardly use it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • Yes, just like the life of your children..its hardly used right?

• zamri on Dec 26, 2019 at 1:30 pm

hello boss, pls do not compare seat belts with helmets ok

• Unpopular measure is implementation on that date you said you want to implement not 6 months later then UTurn bro. You are not being unpopular you are being confused and causing confusion to others.

• YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Dec 26, 2019 at 2:25 pm

Again 6 months “education period”.Hello,mr menteri..stop all this education thing.U want to enforce..enforce it within 30 days for people to buy the child seats.
    All the kopitiams now smell of smoke cos smokers dont give a damn to 12 months of “education”..they smoke left ,right,centre.
    Most malaysians are well educated now.If parents grumble and do not care to buy safety seats..they are like those on a bike with 3 pillion riders without helmets.IF they dont value the safety of their kids,no amount of “education” will work.
    Stop giving “grace period”..enforce asap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • slirh on Dec 26, 2019 at 3:03 pm

I have a few points to raise with MoT Malaysia and its Minister;
    1. What is the minimum safety standard of CRS so that the complied CRS can be affordable to all users?
    2. Why the pricing of CRS is akin to premium seats ie RECARO sports seats?
    3. Apart from reducing the import taxes (i am assuming Customs and Excise as well as Sales Tax are zero rated), what other efforts are done to make CRS acessable and affordable to the masses. This is important as the safery of our young generations are paramount to the growth of our nation.

• MeToo on Dec 26, 2019 at 3:26 pm

Child seat is unpopular? What kind of parents we have in Malaysia?!

• Safety First on Dec 26, 2019 at 4:10 pm

Dunno where he got the idea that it was unpopular. Most parents welcomed it if they come in as tax free and duty free necessity. He probably got confused with those hentam him for the 6 months probation period which is unnecessary and ludicrous because if anything happens to the kid, is Loke liable for it?

Similar to his flipflop policy with AES summons waiver then he go on to complaint about cases of speeding increased. WTH was he thinking in his clueless head anyway?

• azrai on Dec 26, 2019 at 4:12 pm

These parents are reluctant to buy the child seat because it is expensive for them. There rather will buying a basikal lajak for their children instead. Think about it. The G are so much care about their child safety and health and they let their kids ride basikal lajak?

• Sick & Tired on Dec 26, 2019 at 7:06 pm

Kids who are old enough to ride a bicycle is too big to fit into a child seat.
        And have you seen how expensive good child seats are today?

• People with brain on Dec 28, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Stupid. A child’s life is more valuable than a car seat. Don’t reproduce please

• Ollie on Dec 27, 2019 at 8:28 am

Fine.. so you’re focused on safety. According to statistics 10 motorcyclists die everyday in Malaysia. Unknown number suffer serious injuries. Every day motorcyclists run red lights, no helmet, ride on the opposite lane in front of police, evade roadblocks, speed. No law applies to them. What are you doing about them?

• Go dieidiot on Dec 28, 2019 at 7:13 pm

One at a time lah dey. Entirely different topic. Bodoh kambing

• Add A Comment on Dec 27, 2019 at 9:18 am

For those that complaint…You wanna breed and do not want to take care and raise them probably. You can go kill yourself. Leave your kids to me. I will take good care of them.

And haloooo….YB, stop all these 6 months shit. Implement and enforce it like right now la…let those idiots rots.

• Kuachi on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:29 pm

CRS Good
    ECE / FMVSS Good
    QR code waste of (polis) time and money

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 27, 2019 at 2:40 pm

Rear seat belts also mandatory but see how many occupants uses it.

Going to be another Syiok Sendiri law. First first starting sure operasi sini sana. Wait lah later, semua buat dunno saja.

• Ollie on Dec 30, 2019 at 10:30 am

It’s not as simple as imposing a requirement and expect issues to be resolved. If the law mandates, then the government should buy 3 brands of certified car seats and offer it to public at cost price.