FIRST LOOK: 2020 Mazda CX-30 in M’sia – fr RM143k

As you know, Mazda Malaysia just added the CX-30 to its local line-up of cars, with this slotting between the CX-3 and CX-5 in terms of price and size. Three variants are available, starting with the base 2.0 at RM143k, 2.0 High at RM164k, and the range-topping 1.8D at RM173k. Included is a five-year/100,000 km manufacturer-backed warranty and a five-year free maintenance package.

Powering this car is a 2.0 litre Skyactiv-G powertrain that makes 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 213 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, driving the front wheels via a six-speed automatic gearbox. The range-topping 1.8 litre diesel, on the other hand, produces 116 PS at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 2,700 rpm. Like the Mazda 3, the front gets MacPherson struts, and the rear a torsion beam setup.

Equipment for the 2.0 High includes LED headlights with auto-levelling function (standard for all CX-30s), LED DRLs (mounted lower down as LED strips), keyless entry with push-start button, 18-inch wheels shod with 215/55 tyres, LED combination tail lights, and powered boot. Inside, it’s almost identical to the Mazda 3 hatch, but gains an additional dash trim with brown leather inserts.

There’s also the latest 8.8-inch full-colour infotainment display, complete with the new user interface and support for Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. A head-up display is available as well, as are 10-way powered driver seat (front passenger seat is manual), eight-speaker sound system, and reverse camera. Boot volume is rated at 430 litres, which expands to 1,432 litres with the rear seats folded.

For safety, the 2.0 High variant gets seven airbags including driver’s knee airbags, hill start assist, emergency stop signal, ISOFIX child seat mounts, and the usual three-lettered acronyms. There’s several i-ActivSense advanced safety systems here too, with adaptive front lighting, high beam control, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, driver attention alert, smart city brake support (autonomous emergency braking) and radar-guided cruise control.

GALLERY: 2020 Mazda CX-30 2.0 High in Soul Red Crystal

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Aikon on Dec 27, 2019 at 11:45 am

B-segment CUV killer. Proton X50 RM75k or this.

• Truckers on Dec 27, 2019 at 4:41 pm

Way too expensive to be a killer of anything but itself. At X50 projected pricing, you can buy 2 of that for 1 of this CUV.

• Abdul Sahih Rahman on Dec 28, 2019 at 10:31 am

Whole world moved to SUV because the world wanted SUV. Only until China came and told Proton that SUV is the in thing, our abang abangs in Proton had no clue that SUV was the in thing and top seller.

• No thanks on Dec 28, 2019 at 8:57 pm

Yeah but buying two X50 is just asking for double trouble lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • romance on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:18 pm

(Like) Mazda CX30
    (Dislike) Honda CRV and HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 16
    • Abdul Sahih Rahman on Dec 28, 2019 at 10:33 am

Lucky nobody compared this beauty to a China made junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Hayenadeblue on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:18 pm

Mazda called their keyless system in CX-5 as “advanced” with button at the door handle, and now in CX-30 it is now without button (touch operated) and it is just called keyless?

One more, even in the top spec that we could get here, the right side button panels on the steering wheel is still blank. This will keep reminding the drivers that the car is not full-specced.

Ermmm, Matthew, can u clarify, the MRCC, is it with Stop & Go?

• Angry Voters on Dec 27, 2019 at 2:54 pm

150k Mazda, monthly bayar RM1,500. xproblem

• Hayenadeblue on Feb 15, 2020 at 12:44 am

It is confirmed, our CX-30 only comes with MRCC, without the Stop & Go. I pity the fool who made that decision!

• Wow the diff in price is Rm10k to 20k more. Topkek pricing, no wonder ur business strategy failing

• Remox on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:36 pm

please do a review on the diesel version.

• Apricot on Dec 27, 2019 at 12:56 pm

Finish Honda CRV, no one will touch Honda CRV with no blind spot monitor, no AEB, no rear cross traffic alert, no land departure warning and no other advanced safety features. Service is getting poorer and poorer. We will called as Honda “The Power of Nightmare Cars”

That’s why Malaysians are smart to go for CX-30 with more safety features with good services center at Bermaz Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 24
  • Asam laksa on Dec 27, 2019 at 1:09 pm

Such a stunning SUV by Mazda! Just top up another RM20K, you already can get a Japanese game changing SUV with stunning Kodo design, elegant soul red, advanced features and top quality instead of a RM123K Chinese SUV. Not only because of those factors, driving this game changer can increase your confidence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
    • Real LLort on Dec 27, 2019 at 2:42 pm

did I pick the wrong Mazda article!?? huahaha .. this guy is here!!

• Siam kap on Dec 27, 2019 at 4:44 pm

Top up 20k I can get a much bigger CR-V dy la. Why da heck do I wanna get a crampy dinky CX-30? If I then could save 20k and get an equivalent car, I might as well get X70 dy. So better to get X70 lor. Only those who dunno the value of money can think topping 20k is no big deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Mr Visionary on Dec 28, 2019 at 3:36 pm

Let’s take an example, x70 as Bonia and cx30
        as Gucci, both are good bags while the Bonia is much bigger to let you fill in whatever sampah you want, it’s super practical, but does it make it as special as the Gucci? Once you sit in the cx30 you will get the special feeling which cant be found on other competitors, this cx30 below 200k has the fit and finish that is even better than the 230k mesidis A class, you want good spec sheet just get a proton or japan rivals, simple lah!

• Veyron Owner on Dec 30, 2019 at 2:45 pm

Then your stupid. Those who can afford for Gucci won’t go down to consider Bonia, the same those who only afford for X70 won’t consider topping ‘a litte’ pretty sum to get CX-30 any means affordable. Both cater to different segments and it is utter stupid to be making such comparisons at all.

• Wonder who will buy Mazda3 when you can get a cheaper CX-30 with the same chassis and engine.. Ohh wait, wonder who will buy a CX-30 when you can get a cheaper and better mechanical equipped Subaru XV? (CX-30 torsion beam, XV double wishbone)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Oh wait… You can get an even more powerful, premium interior Proton X70 with 20k less…

• Ppl who complain, Just buy the Mazda2/mazda cx3 with rear torsion beam, same setup like the mazda3 torsion beam value for money.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 27, 2019 at 1:46 pm

Went to have a look at it yesterday and the rear is still lacking of space. I’m not talk by any means but even with the driving position set to my liking the rear is still crap. It’s much better to be in the CX5 if your tall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • mazlee30 on Dec 27, 2019 at 2:07 pm

CX-30 rear passenger seats are too upright like XC-40 – and that was a deal breaker for me.

• vivizurianti on Dec 27, 2019 at 3:47 pm

This mazda is a big car on the outside, small car on the inside, esp the back seat. (not to mention the big price tag)

Myvi rear seats are more spacious, really. This is a matter of fact.

• Mr Hakim on Dec 28, 2019 at 9:40 pm

Myvi rear seats more spacious? That’s too exaggerated! I sat inside CX-30 rear seat and to me its equivalent to Preve back seat.

• rustynails on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:09 am

Bermaz are real scrooge. All their cars don’t have chrome metal outer handles, SUV no roof rack. Body really light. Remember the Penang Bridge accident? CX-5 brushed off the bridge by a scrawny Vios