2020 Perodua Bezza facelift specs, price confirmed – now open for booking, 4 variants, from RM34,580

Following the leaks of the 2020 Perodua Bezza facelift’s brochure and price list yesterday, P2 has officially opened order books for the car, and released an official teaser video. Featuring Malaysian footballer Safee Sali, the 15-second clip offers glimpses of the new design changes.

It starts off by showing the face, which features an aggressive new bumper with sharp faux vent cutouts holding the fog lamps, new shape LED headlamps and a revised grille.

The video then goes to the rear, where we can see the familiar Bezza and Dual VVT-i emblems. However, the thick chrome strip that bridges the tail lamps is now in two-tone – chrome over gloss black.

2020 Perodua Bezza facelift specs, price confirmed – now open for booking, 4 variants, from RM34,5802020 Perodua Bezza facelift specs, price confirmed – now open for booking, 4 variants, from RM34,580

We then get to see the A-segment sedan’s interior. While the dashboard architecture hasn’t changed, P2 revised the full width trim’s design, for an obvious new look without having to redesign the whole thing.

Previously just a plain black bar in the AV, there’s now a silver upturned cradle for the head unit, which is a 2-DIN touchscreen unit for the AV (with reverse camera), as predicted. The new trim also sees some surfacing around the side air con vents. The video then pans to the rear seats – is the bench slightly more sculptured than before or is it just the camera effect? We’ll see.

The next scene is one showing the two-tone side skirts (body colour and black, standard for all) as well as the dual-tone 15-inch alloys on 1.3L models. “Smart Design. Enhanced Styling,” the video ends.

2020 Perodua Bezza facelift specs, price confirmed – now open for booking, 4 variants, from RM34,5802020 Perodua Bezza facelift specs, price confirmed – now open for booking, 4 variants, from RM34,580

As for kit, the big news is the addition of Perodua’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0 suite of driver assist systems, which includes Pedestrian Detection (up to 50 km/h), Pre-Collision Warning (up to 100 km/h), Pre-Collision Braking (up to 80 km/h), Front Departure Alert and Pedal Misoperation Control. First seen on the current Myvi and then the Aruz (in 2.0 form), ASA was most recently included in the Axia facelift that debut in September 2019. So, it’s no surprise that it makes an appearance here, in the top AV spec.

There’s no airbag info in the brochure (Axia continues to have two), but ABS/EBD is standard across the board, and VSC is standard on 1.3L models, which are the X and AV (1.0L G in MT or AT is the other option).

Also new to the model are LED headlamps, something that sets it apart from the Axia. Surprisingly, the Myvi-style headlamps are standard across the board – even the base 1.0L gets it. Other highlights from the flyer (now high res, click below) include a white illuminated meter panel (the design is also new) and keyless entry with push start (1.3L only).

Elsewhere in the kit department, the 1.3L gets gloss black and chrome trim on the front grille (gloss black and silver on 1.0L) and 15-inch alloys (14-inch on the 1.0L). Rear parking sensors are standard for all, but front corner sensors are for the 1.3L only. Apart from ASA 2.0, AV-exclusive items include retractable electric side mirrors with turn signals (power-adjustable mirrors now standard across the range) and a reverse camera.

As for colours, the 2020 Bezza facelift will have two new options called Garnet Red (1.3L only) and Granite Grey to join four other colours. There should be no change in the powertrain department, which has a 67 hp/91 Nm 1.0L three-cylinder VVT-i engine and a 94 hp/121 Nm 1NR-VE 1.3L four-pot. FC goes as high as a claimed 22 km/l with Eco Idle auto start-stop.

The Bezza is now priced from RM34,580 for the 1.0L G Manual and RM36,580 for the 1.0L G Auto. The 1.3L models are auto-only – the 1.3L X is yours for RM43,980 while the AV sells for RM49,980. All prices are OTR without insurance. It’s a slight increase over the pre-facelift prices, but kit count has increased as well.

By the way, the pre-facelift range consists of the 1.0L GXtra MT at RM34,490, the 1.0L GXtra AT at RM36,290, the 1.3L Premium X MT at RM40,090, the 1.3L Premium X AT at RM41,890 and the AV at RM47,790. That means that the new line-up has one less variant – four vs five – and the 1.3L MT has been dropped.

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.3L AV, pre-facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Lets See on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:19 am

Tease here and there for what. Just release it ardy lar! Lets see how you fail again vs renewed Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 36
    • Nasi kandar on Jan 03, 2020 at 11:45 am

Saga will be finished soon! Every Perodua showrooms are filled with many people booking the Game-Changing Bezza FL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 37
      • Darren on Jan 03, 2020 at 3:56 pm

I hope Perodua fanboys don’t come here and syiok sendiri proud of their game over Bezza. It is shameful that Perodua fanboys are so proud of a rebadged car only meant for India market (Etios) and yet sales figures showed Malaysians are still going for Saga and Persona. You syiok sendiri here no use, all your comment don’t translate to sales figures and the numbers showing Bezza is yet another big failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
        • Dylan Chng on Jan 03, 2020 at 4:13 pm

Brother, Bezza not rebadged you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Mr Loba Loba on Jan 03, 2020 at 5:18 pm

Yup. Bezza, Axia & new Myvi all homegrown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
          • Apam balik on Jan 03, 2020 at 6:14 pm

@Darren Game-Changing Perodua Bezza is based on Axia platform. Please learn before you bash ya, hahaha!

• Brian on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:28 pm

Dude everyone knows Bezza is a rebadged Toyota Etios https://paultan.org/2010/12/03/toyota-etios-sedan-unveiled-for-the-indian-market/
            Only denials will say it is not.

• Won ton mee on Jan 03, 2020 at 4:59 pm

People buy Game-Changing Bezza because of it’s reliable quality, complete safety, excellent FC and high RV whereas Proton Saga does not have those

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
          • Brian on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:33 pm

People buy Bezza only for Grab business. 99% of Bezza I see on the road is for Grab but as for Saga, many of their owners buy for own use. Those who use Saga value its reliability, quality, complete safety, excellent FC and high RV. The only reason Grab drivers buy Bezza is because Bezza is cheaper.

• Sure boh? I don’t see a single person coming into our showroom and asking for Bezza.

• Stanley Sinnapa on Jan 03, 2020 at 12:22 pm

at least P2 did not lose RM20 bil in bailouts…….plus Proton never income tax for 20 yrs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • Celup King on Jan 03, 2020 at 4:13 pm

Proton paid more in taxes than what they got in taxpayer money, while Perodua have to send all profits back to Japan to prop their slumping sales. So while rakyat still benefits from Proton taxes, the rakyat does not get anything from buying Perodua cars.

• lilytan on Jan 03, 2020 at 12:40 pm

So right. Pay same $$, get geely enhanced Saga.

• In 2020 you can buy this Bezza fo RM35,000.
      In 2022, you can sell your Bezza for RM28,000

In 2020, you can buy your Saga for RM35,000
      In 2022, you can sell you Saga for RM13,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
      • Smoke Myvi on Jan 03, 2020 at 4:39 pm

So huh? You buy a car just for selling it?
        stupid ^^
        go buy property ja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Kuah satay on Jan 03, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Saga already failed all time vs bezza.
      Habislah saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • contender on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:22 am

C’mon please what is there to tease ? entry level car I mean GRAB car … basic car. Stop wasting marketing budget on this kind of thing … reduce car price more beneficial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • Uncle Joe Low on Jan 03, 2020 at 11:40 am

PH..please u turn…reduce car taxes..like u put petroleum pricing float on hold…Reduce toll ,reduce car taxes,reduce money pit projects like Protiga.,sack other “black shoe” menteri..
      Sure can stay in power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Aura89 on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:35 am

50k for a lesser car compared to Proton Persona? Pfff.. what a ripoff.

All that advertisement lingo…. just for a Milo tin.

Perodua cars still doesn’t make any sense, doesn’t matter how much fanboys try to justify it.

I like competition – but, as an aside, Proton still give more car for your money. Modern car needs in general needs more room space that you don’t get in a Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
    • The Grinch on Jan 03, 2020 at 11:52 am

Ahem proton salesman alert ahem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • Darren on Jan 03, 2020 at 4:33 pm

Why complain here when this site is flooded with bored perodua salesmen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • rjmsfire on Jan 03, 2020 at 4:24 pm

Proton designed cars are ugly, aesthetics is one aspect that Proton fails miserably. To spend so much money on a car, I can’t bear to look at an ugly that I have to use for several years, even if Proton has better handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Real LLort on Jan 04, 2020 at 8:30 am

Yes, yes.. like Perodua owners so ashamed that they always modified their cars with aftermarket Daihatsu/Toyota parts.

• Theresa May on Jan 05, 2020 at 12:57 pm

Commenting on Proton cars’ aesthetic, in an article about Bezza? Really?

• M50B25 on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:38 am

What’s your excuse now, no VSC for 1.0 models? Axia got VSC. Bezza and Axia is based on the same chassis platform, electronics and powertrain. Everytime during and after rain, I always see many Axia and Bezza terbalik after a corner. Causing jam only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • Unsafe Honda cars on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:49 am

Hahaha!!! Bezza comes with advanced safety features. This is more safer than upcoming City Turbo without advanced safety features. Even Perodua service center is a bit good with good reliable than Honda Malaysia with low reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
    • Sam “Hailat” Loo on Jan 03, 2020 at 3:35 pm

Enroll yourself into English classes please…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
  • Apricot on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:55 am

Finish Honda Malaysia, this Bezza will steal sales from upcoming City Turbo without AEB, land departure warning and blind spot monitor. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 03, 2020 at 11:10 am

Expensip! Rakyat no buy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Spacious, safety, reliable, low menten. Bezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
    • Auto start stop battery is not cheap

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 03, 2020 at 12:13 pm

Tak mau pening, tak mau pikir rakyat jelata beli Persona. Lagi baik, lagi besar, lagi mantap.

• Chris on Jan 03, 2020 at 11:15 am

Finally the God car king of A segment sedan is here. Those who have bought the Proton Saga must have regretted so much now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 42
    • azrai on Jan 03, 2020 at 11:25 am

Those who bought the previous Bezza must have regretted so much more now.

• P.Alyanna on Jan 03, 2020 at 12:07 pm

Proton Saga owners are laughing at those waiting for this utter disappointment now. They should have gone for Saga year end promo. Now promo over with new year, menyesal pun tak guna. Tunggula sampai akhir tahun ini.

• Celup King on Jan 03, 2020 at 12:15 pm

Saga welcomes the latest challenger to its throne. Why tease here, come out and fight now!

• azrai on Jan 03, 2020 at 4:38 pm

LCR said, our competitor are Honda and Toyota. P2?

• Celup King on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:38 pm

Perodua? Saga has left their Bezza far behind but it is welcomed to come die at Saga’s feet. Honda and Toyota? They are next.

• Tell me how people will regret buying a full spec Saga for 39k and saving 10k from not buying a full spec 49k Bezza?

• Copy Paste on Jan 03, 2020 at 12:29 pm

Such a shame that after 25 years of automotive experience, Perodua still continue to rely on foreigners help. What have Game Over Perodua been doing for the past 25 years?

• Abegasing on Jan 03, 2020 at 12:36 pm

Saya tidak PERNAH menyesal membeli Proton Saga…..kerana TERBUKTI Saga lebih baik dari Beza….safety Saga lebih dari mencukup UTK keselamatan…….POWERTRAIN Saga lebih power Dari Beza….& Yg paling Ummmp…..harga Saga jauh lebih murah dari Beza yg tak masuk akal…..kelebihan Beza hanya pada Asa 2.0 je……yg lain tidak ada……SAYA TIDAK menyebelahi mana2 syarikat kereta……Sepatutnya Beza sama harga dengan Saga …( Sebab Beza ada Asa 2.0 )…..itu je kelebihan nya……yg lain semua Saga lagi bagus………
      Saya tidak kisah Saga atau Beza……TETAPI HARGA biarlah berpatutan……terima kasih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Lason Jo on Jan 03, 2020 at 1:11 pm

Nope, i hated bezza since day one, i drive 1000km in a bezza, hated it, terrible driving experience, terrible shitty leather seat, terrible upright backseat, fugly look, nothing to shout about, terrible pricing, saga is way² better and way² cheaper

• Khairul Izam on Jan 03, 2020 at 3:31 pm

If that is the case, Saga just earned another nickname as The Godcar Slayer. Mwuahahaha….

• azrai on Jan 03, 2020 at 11:26 am

Bezza: The default Grab Car.

• Last year old stocks facelifted to new look. This is Perodua strategy to make money from BTSH

• They should have extend the rear light horizontally on the boot also like Theophilus Chin’s render.Yes, that will increase the cost but it will make the car look a lot less taller. And airbag count of 6 is still missing, which doesn’t make sense as the Myvi lower variants also has 4 at least and have bigger chassis. I also doubt that there’s any reinforcement/improvement on the body strength, probably still on the 590MPa steel strength which is so tiny compared to today’s standard.

• Meh Some Car Guy on Jan 03, 2020 at 12:36 pm

Wait, they’ve drop the manual variant……the stick is fading away
    #SaveTheStick

• Damn ASA 2.0 in Bezza oredi ..

• CorrectASAtion on Jan 03, 2020 at 3:57 pm

Correction:
      “Damn ASA 2.0 in Bezza top AV Variant only??”

• ugly ching chong bak kut teh on Jan 03, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Great..it should be king of Sedan now..saga only facelift a little and put new speedometer, not enough to convince malaysia, since that shit old vvt engine is still there, thats why saga is only use for taxi only, not even suitable for family..Bezza with D-vvti engine directly from Toyota is the best choice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • When Alza gonna have VSC, ASA, 6 airbag,push start? on Jan 03, 2020 at 2:18 pm

As now.. Alza is the most outdated perodua have.. all car have ASA.. Alza highest spec only two airbag n abs..

• New Proton CEO wasnt kidding when he said Proton will leave Perodua behind for dead. Lol

• A Class Rival on Jan 03, 2020 at 2:26 pm

A200 kille is here!

• Anonymous on Jan 03, 2020 at 5:16 pm

Its direct competitor – the Saga – is 10k cheaper when we compare the top specs of both. Proton could add LED headlights and something similar to ASA into the Saga and I don’t think it would make it a RM50k car. Perodua didn’t even increase Bezza’s price, the Advanced range was also priced RM50k. In fact the Bezza might even be slightly cheaper now.

These things don’t actually cost that much money to implement. There is no extra hardware for autonomous braking if the car already has ABS. Pedal mis-operation control can also be implemented without any extra hardware since cars now use fly-by-wire throttle. The only “major” installation is that of the sensing cameras. Not a major hassle if you are assembling the car from the start with the cameras.

• Celup King on Jan 03, 2020 at 10:40 pm

The reason why it cost RM10k more is due to the fact that Perodua is only purpose is to maximise profits and send all back to Japan. The Japanese lords don’t care their cars are overpriced, they only care how much profits are sent back home.

• Muzaffar on Jan 03, 2020 at 11:24 pm

a bit disappointed they dropped the 1.3MT as the auto gearbox is a bit problematic for me. Doesn’t respond as good as other cars and the issue of the jerking is really worrying at times. Now I’ll probably have to find a second hand 1.3MT as a friend working in Perodua said they don’t keep any new stocks anymore

• FIST (Member) on Jan 04, 2020 at 10:59 am

dont have to reveal it to know its an overpriced price of junk

• DeanBayu on Jan 04, 2020 at 11:22 am

The reality from day one of produa was manual transmission. So much fail for me. Feeling very cheap gear. Only when you convert to Mira or other Japan engine + transmission then, it’s consider good car. When I drive myviSE manual it’s really make me @$+_&#. Better buy Produa Auto transmission on any model.
    For me P2 still proud of his slogan ‘fuel economy’ but if you saving more than 10k money for fuel, it will save you for 5 to 6 years buying fuel depend on traveling point.
    I rather drive my Gen2 compare to my myvi in weekend or long distance. Produa built for ladies.

• Saga Owners are Gay on Jan 04, 2020 at 4:05 pm

Well, when compare saga and bezza, one should compare engine. Why choose lousy lame vvt engine, instead of D-vvt-i technology? ask yourself, and dont be stupid..saga is meant for taxi, and it is proven for a long time ago. Bezza is for urban and city drive, smart choice instead. Please thumbs down if you think saga is useless..hahaha..(laugh in dvvt-i)

• With this milo tin can car l rather prefer Saga. Saga more solid.

• Taufu on Jan 04, 2020 at 9:09 pm

Hmm. Extra about 10k compared to saga for leather seat, ASA system and push start button.
    I don’t think it worth for me. If it uplift the car to SUV direction like Axia style, it would be better.
    Again my vote for saga again this time.
    Feel sorry to bezza since they launched facelifted saga last year. U know I’m always p2 fan.

• Justice on Jan 04, 2020 at 9:15 pm

berukdua the comedy car brand

• Havanesh on Mar 02, 2020 at 11:11 am

I don’t know what to say i had msg to 15 person who work in all perodua showrooms but even one person nvr replied