2020 Volkswagen Passat facelift launched in Malaysia – 2.0 TSI Elegance, new 7-speed wet DSG, RM189k

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has finally launched the facelifted Passat here in Malaysia. The updated D-segment sedan comes with a new look, a mildly refreshed interior and some added kit, with the range pared down to just a single 2.0 TSI Elegance model.

It retails at RM189,012 on-the-road without insurance, meaning that it slots between the old 1.8 TSI Comfortline and 2.0 TSI Highline variants in terms of price. Included in the price is a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, a three-year free service package and five years’ roadside assistance.

As the variant name suggests, the car is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged TSI petrol engine, but it’s been detuned slightly compared to the previous 2.0 TSI mill. It now makes 190 PS and 320 Nm of torque, decreases of 30 PS and 30 Nm, although VPCM would probably like to point out that it’s still significantly more muscular than the old 1.8 litre unit – 10 PS and 70 Nm more, to be exact.

Paired to this engine is a new seven-speed DSG dual-clutch transmission, making it the first front-wheel drive Volkswagen model to come with the gearbox in Malaysia, coming after the all-wheel drive Golf R. So equipped, the Passat is capable of delivering a combined fuel consumption figure of 6.5 litres per 100 km on the new Worldwide Light Vehicle Test Procedure (WLTP) cycle.

Visual changes are numerous but fairly subtle in nature, led by the redesigned twin-slat grille and revised graphics for the LED headlights, complete with eyebrow-esque daytime running lights that also function as sequential indicators. The air intakes have also been re-profiled, with a body-coloured strip that forms a “wing” under the front fog lights.

At the back, the tail lights are also new and come with triple L-shaped graphics and sequential indicators, while the rear bumper has also been redesigned with sharper creases and a wider diffuser-like insert; the Passat badge is also now positioned in the middle of the (powered) bootlid, in a spaced-out fashion. Completing the look are 18-inch Liverpool multi-spoke alloy wheels in a painted grey finish.

On the inside, the facelift adds a new three-spoke multifunction steering wheel and removes the centre analogue clock, replaced by the Passat script. The door cards have also been redesigned, and the rear panels now hide manual rear sun blinds, while the rear windscreen gets powered blinds.

Technology has also taken a step up with the new Discover Pro infotainment system, equipped with a larger 9.2-inch touchscreen, voice and gesture control and a customisable three-view split screen function. It also comes with the new Wireless AppConnect system that also includes wireless Apple CarPlay – the second such application of the feature in Malaysia after BMW. The ports are now all USB-C front and rear.

The rest of the kit list includes keyless entry, push-button start, triple-zone climate control, 12-way power-adjustable front seats with driver’s side memory and a massage function, leather upholstery, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, cruise control, auto lights and wipers, eight speakers and a reverse camera.

The facelift also introduces some driver assistance systems for the local market, though as before, the Passat still isn’t offered with autonomous emergency braking. However, it does now get Side Assist blind spot monitoring with rear cross traffic alert, along with a tyre pressure monitoring system. Six airbags and stability control continues to be on the standard safety kit list.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Raja Kamarul on Jan 10, 2020 at 6:52 pm

Jonathan, am I right that the nomenclature now drops the nonsensical 280 and 380 badging?

• No Wonder Price Drop la on Jan 13, 2020 at 8:59 pm

VW removed the Electronic Slip Differential? And where is the Lane Keeping Assist?

• Shukor bin Azman on Jan 10, 2020 at 6:54 pm

Considered a super cheap car overseas. Mainly used by cab drivers because it is so cheap.

But here, it is RM190k. Considered very luxurious. Where was the previous Government’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

I waited so long from 2013 to 2018, nothing happened. We all got cheated.

I hope now, the current Government can reduce the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
    • Previous Government’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

Hi Bro, Can i advise you something??

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:51 am

Passat is locally assembled. Time to vote previous gomen back!
        https://paultan.org/2020/01/13/locally-assembled-vehicles-may-cost-more-report/

• In ur dream

• Heng Lee on Jan 11, 2020 at 8:58 pm

Totally nonsense. A Passat is around 45000 Euro in it’s homeland, that’s roughly RM198000 (19% VAT included).

• alldisc on Jan 12, 2020 at 9:50 am

Those are the turbodiesel versions, in manual transmission. In Europe, petrol and automatic is hardly popular

• Someone on the net on Jan 12, 2020 at 1:33 pm

Same goes to the new Camry in UAE. They are heavily used as cab, however the quality of the cab version is different than the private owned Camry’s. There’s no soft touch material all around, even on the front passenger door panel is hard plastics.

Considering, the Passat in UK, for 2.0 TSI model starts at GBP 32.8K (RM172K), the price is rather reasonable. And the same elegance spec in Germany starts at EUR50,800. Which translated to RM220k.

The price is quite fair to my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • aiya, reduce price also i wont buy. the dsg transmission later kaput.. $$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Amran on Jan 13, 2020 at 9:16 am

Cheap car no use if camry & accord servicing is going to be pricier than passat.

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 13, 2020 at 5:45 pm

Check properly before you blast your idiot comment. In Germany homeland VW doesnt have Petrol variant but got 2.0TDI diesel engine which similar power output compare to the new B8.5 2.0tsi 190ps. In Germany it is selling Euro 44k, which is about RM198k. Do you still think this Passat is selling super cheap in oversea?

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 13, 2020 at 6:09 pm

Also in Germany Merc and VW are using as cab because not every car elegible to use as cab in Germany. It is not like Malaysia standard where 30 years old Iswara cab still allow to run on the road.

• Truckers on Jan 10, 2020 at 7:19 pm

More DSG? My tow truck welcomes your business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
    • Carfan on Jan 11, 2020 at 10:41 pm

Must diversify business to other unreliable brand cars like Proton, BMW, mesidis, audi, volvo, but sadly jepunis car owners cant be your customer

• Truckers on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:56 am

When i get calls, it is often 90% for unreliable conti cars or japanese cars & peroduas reliably ended in the drain or as wrecks to tow away. These cars are more than enough to keep my truck engine warm daily.

• van jenazah on Jan 13, 2020 at 5:27 pm

As a driver of a van jenazah I prefer jap cars with it’s non-working brakes and exploding airbags. The japs keep me busy all the time.

• makkohijo on Jan 10, 2020 at 7:21 pm

can up genting anot

• John Doe on Jan 10, 2020 at 7:28 pm

Better specs and power, cheaper then BMW 320i.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
  • romance on Jan 10, 2020 at 7:34 pm

(Like) Passat
    (Dislike) Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
  • Rather buy cheaper Passat with lower cost maintenance than newer accord with higher cost maintenance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • S60 or Mazda3 or Passat on Jan 10, 2020 at 8:10 pm

Nice design. Feel more premium now

• shibe on Jan 10, 2020 at 8:35 pm

This car would be freaking perfect if it came with more driver assistance features ugh

• Knightrider on Jan 10, 2020 at 8:48 pm

Very nice in beginning but when problems come, headache is coming. Better buy camry or top up some more $ can get 3 stars or ultimate drive machine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Heng Lee on Jan 11, 2020 at 9:01 pm

Camry, the ultimate driving machine for uncles >65yrs. old.

• My house got kia toyota honda proton merc vw. If i wanna enjoy driving I’ll drive the vw or merc. If want to drive slow & save fuel the asian cars. Vw on highway still save fuel tho if drive 100kmh. So far vw still ok after 4 years with 600km drives on the weekend & drive up to top speed

• I like the new rim

• Don’t say it is detuned, and compare with previous 2.0 TSI. But let people know this is a new engine from EA888 Generation.3B, with B-Cycle (named after Dr. Ralph Budack), engine code: DKZA, emphasizing the engine efficiency.

Passat Highline paired with EA888 Generation.3, engine code: CHHB.

Come on.
    May refer https://www.volkswagen-newsroom.com/en/presskits for their technology updates, which some are relevant to MY market.

• Mario 2nd account on Jan 11, 2020 at 1:35 am

Without AEB, Volkswagen is just another brand selling cars through the badge along with bmw Mercedes. That’s why better buy game changing bezza with AEB and say no to these brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • autodriver (Member) on Feb 03, 2020 at 11:48 am

Because of no AEB this car is lousier than Bezza??? And in fact there are some users of AEB find it annoying as it can suddenly full brake if the car go closer to front car. It can be annoying if other car cut in from another lane as AEB detected the object in front is to close it will again full brake.

• Syafiq Syed on Jan 11, 2020 at 6:07 am

Finally they got rid of that DQ200 for good! Congrats VW! Excellent value for money, though they could have included complete set of ADAS in the Passat just like the Camry…..

• dragon on Jan 12, 2020 at 8:12 am

You’re surely talking about Toyota’s ‘no acceleration’ feature. You’re right: Acceleration is bad and should be prevented!

• FABIO RADICCHI BELOTTO on Oct 31, 2020 at 5:41 am

Friend,
      DQ200 was never used in engines with more than 250 nm of torque. As they are talking of bigger engines, DQ200 was not expected anyway.

• Mat pan on Jan 11, 2020 at 7:16 am

Come on vw. Aeb should be offered here. Its time to make it compulsory in 2020. What is their next model to be launched?

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 19, 2020 at 3:51 pm

Compulsory for AEB? Just because Perodua offer AEB then all cars must offer AEB? Then why not make it standard all car must offer at least 6 airbags, ultra high tensile steel chassis. And come on now 2020 why still launched car with power less than 100ps. Should compulsory make it 100ps and turbo charge.

• Senthil on Jan 11, 2020 at 1:33 pm

no ACC

• Tornado x on Jan 11, 2020 at 3:03 pm

Siapa berani beli?

• DSG wet clutch then it will be fine. DSG Dry clutch will face the same old shite. 1.8 is dry..

• Kamarul on Jan 12, 2020 at 7:55 am

Nice car from vw

• Apa Passat on Jan 12, 2020 at 10:33 pm

Wait, the new Passat no more can select different driving mode aa?

• Contifan on Jan 13, 2020 at 8:20 am

Should we give VW a second chance?. Will this model be any different? Do I need to burn my annual leave attending to the needs of this car?. Cars is suppose to serve the owner not the other way around…

• Ben Yap on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:49 am

my civic 1.5 turbo with 173hp can still cucuk this passat. yet it’s a much cheaper car. that’s value for money with good interior space and performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • Danny Ong on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:53 pm

Civic is a good car no doubt, except local make aka CKD, worse quality ever made by Malaysia.

• EA888.3 on Jan 18, 2020 at 8:23 pm

Your Stock civic ketam wont even outrun this car with -100nm of torque and a cvt that whines louder than its turbo.

• Before I start, I would like to declare that since 2012, I have owned and driven multiple VW cars. I have serviced my cars at VW TTDI, Sungai Besi, etc.

These are my honest feedback:

Launched on 10 Jan 2020 where the outgoing models were going for RM 150k (350NM) and RM 130k (250NM). If you know your way, you might even get lower prices. In terms of powertrain, it sits in between the two outgoing models. Century sprint should be close to its Audi A4 cousin at c 7.3 seconds.

In terms of features, it did not move along with time where even non-premium cars are equipped with AEB and ACC. Of course, they also stripped DCC and XDS off from this ‘Elegance’.

Reliability, most think it’s a gamble But it really isn’t. Genuine parts installed correctly on new higher-tier VW cars generally are quite lasting. But of course they’re still more prone to fail than the Japanese Counterparts. All cars eventually run into some sort of issues, this is where you need reliable technicians. And this is where VW will fail you with almost certainty. For VW, you have to live with one of the worst after-sales services amongst all the brands in malaysia. But you can’t really go to non-authorizes workshops because you really don’t want to void the warranty. Everyone has heard of the long wait when a major part failed, I need to also remind others that their normal services are also as bad as it can get.

When I asked for technical information (the thickness left on the brake disc) when they advised me to replace, they would not be able to and would just claimed that I drove like a woman (what did that even mean? Sexist!) After they bragged to me about how diligently they’ve checked my car, they drove out the wrong car for me to collect. Losing my service booklet and then telling me off. Etc etc.

When you realized that you’ve made a serious mistake, you would immediately find that you can only let it go at a huge drop in value, especially when you buy it at full price when things are newly launched. After 7-8 years of driving, you can let go a Japanese car at slightly above half the price you paid for. For VW, expect to beg ppl to pick it up at 1/4 of the original price.

Within one month from launch, this car is now going for below RM 170k while the ticket says RM 188k. The outgoing 350NM model is a better car and is going for RM 150k. I’m not stopping anyone from buying, just sharing my experience so that others know what they’re signing up for. I myself would not pay more than RM 130k for this car.

I usually support the underdog because they tend to try harder and give better value. That was the reason I bought last time, boy how they have proven me an utter idiot.

My personal view is that, their service over the years has gotten worse and worse. And they’re not even trying to improve.

The only winners are those who buy 2nd hand VW cars at dirt cheap prices and go to their trusted workshops that actually know how to fix cars.

• sakit mata on Feb 27, 2020 at 10:39 am

not so expensive anymore now? harga honda accord bapak dia… jom pegi showroom VW…

• Joe hamizi on May 26, 2020 at 11:27 pm

0-100 in 7.5 sec
    Topspeed 238km/h

• Joe hamizi on May 27, 2020 at 11:33 am

0-100 7.5 sec
    Topspeed 238 km/h

• Nameless on Aug 08, 2020 at 9:15 am

Still no driver assist, no emergency breaking(what happen to no compromise on safety??), no adaptive cruise.. pay so much also don’t include better look at others.
    Only difference than the 1.8 by meager 10hp?!? They dare to call that SIGNIFICANT…..