FIRST LOOK: 2020 VW Passat in Malaysia – RM189k

The Volkswagen Passat facelift has finally landed on Malaysian shores, and it’s available in the sole 2.0 TSI Elegance guise only. The executive sedan is priced at RM189,012 on-the-road without insurance, meaning that it slots between the old 1.8 TSI Comfortline and 2.0 TSI Highline variants in terms of price. Included in the price is a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, a three-year free service package and five years’ roadside assistance.

Now, power comes from a 2.0 litre turbocharged TSI petrol engine, but it’s been detuned slightly compared to the previous engine found in the 2.0 TSI Highline. It now makes 190 PS and 320 Nm of torque (down 30 PS and 30 Nm), and it’s paired with a new seven-speed DSG dual-clutch transmission, making it the first front-wheel drive VW model to come with the gearbox in Malaysia after the AWD Golf R. Average fuel consumption is rated at 6.5 litres per 100 km on the WLTP cycle.

The facelift brings about subtle revisions to the LED headlights (now with Matrix IQ. Light and sequential turn signals), LED fog lamps, new grille and front bumper design, 18-inch Liverpool multi-spoke alloy wheels finished in grey, a Passat script on the tailgate, as well as redesigned LED tail lights with a fancy start-up sequence.

Inside, there’s a new fully digital instrument cluster that’s larger than before, and features better graphics as well. The centre dash also gets a bigger 9.2-inch Discover Pro infotainment system, complete with wireless App Connect function for Apple CarPlay. There are three USB-C ports in the car, as well as three-zone climate control, eight speakers, and 12-way powered seats with memory and massage function.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Can I advice you something? on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:36 am

In overseas, Passat cost like US$20k. Super cheap car. Fresh graduate in US for example earn US$4500 per month. If he tak makan for 5 months, he can buy this car outright without loan.

In Malaysia, this car is RM190k. Super expensive car. Fresh graduate here earn RM1873 (according to BNM 2019 figures). He will take about 10 years to pay this car back

5 months vs 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
    • Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:57 am

Passat is locally assembled. Time to vote previous gomen back!
      https://paultan.org/2020/01/13/locally-assembled-vehicles-may-cost-more-report/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Li Peng on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:23 am

Germany: RM220,000
        Malaysia: RM189,000
        Do you want to vote to pay more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Unknown on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:37 am

2016 B8 Passat: RM 161k
          2020 B8 Passat: RM 189k
          Hell no! Lets change back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • This has higher specifications and more powerful engine then previous 1.8 comfortline model… Fair pricing.

• S60 or Passat or 508 on Jan 14, 2020 at 4:48 pm

Looks good and premium feel

• Li Peng on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:21 am

This Passat is not sold in the US, they got a completely different model without all technical features.

• Copy Paste on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:21 am

Copy paste: “Check properly before you blast your idiot comment. In Germany homeland VW doesnt have Petrol variant but got 2.0TDI diesel engine which similar power output compare to the new B8.5 2.0tsi 190ps. In Germany it is selling Euro 44k, which is about RM198k. Do you still think this Passat is selling super cheap in oversea?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • seancorr (Member) on Jan 14, 2020 at 1:02 pm

Bro why you go convert currency? The right way is to compare dollar to dollar. That just 44k to the Germans with their basic salary. Over here it’s 189k and tell me again, what’s your starting pay again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • JOACHIM on Jan 14, 2020 at 2:46 pm

Nasi lemak in Mesia – RM1.00
          Nasi lemak in Germany – 10EURO

Does Germans earn 10X than average Mesians? Nope. So how does starting pay play into this equation again?

• Se wan on Jan 15, 2020 at 6:38 pm

Did you visited Germany or just bullshit ? Their avg salary is about 4k euro and 1 meal for them is about 10euro, so 44k euro for Passat is cheap for them.
            Kl makan also RM8-10 easily lar bodoh

• Be realistic, you can’t use dollar to dollar comparison. On that basis, if you don’t convert currencies, as an example , an accountant here should be earning 1.2k to 3.8k max, which is what the average German acccountant earns. Also a basic detached house should cost 250k. ….

• According your “logic” Japan has the highest car prices then? 1RM=Yen 27.02

• redpilled on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:28 am

I see you working hard to pay for drugs and GRO to party with YB…

• PH is Parti Hard after all my fren. From there they get Plenty Herpes thanks to their immoral hobbies. Becoz of that they need Professional Helps to cure their widespreading diseases. But in the end all they can do is Pick Headstones for their inevitable fate. Pearly Heaven gate will sort them out, rejecting 99.99% of them mostly, sending them to Papa Heck to play with them.

• macampondan on Jan 15, 2020 at 4:02 pm

bodoh betul… kepala otak kosong… no wonder can’t afford to buy good car..

keep ranting.. no hard work… always dreaming…

• (Like) Volkswagen Passat FL.
    (Dislike) Toyota Camry 2.5V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 34
  • vanjenazah on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:37 am

As a driver of a van jenazah I prefer jap cars with it’s non-working brakes and exploding airbags. The japs keep me busy all the time.

• Be realistic, you can’t use dollar to dollar comparison. On that basis, if you don’t convert currencies, as an example , an accountant here should be earning 1.2k to 3.8k max, which is what the average German acccountant earns. Also a basic detached house should cost 250k. ….

• Ben Yap on Jan 14, 2020 at 4:05 pm

vw shouldn’t have detune the car. now it’s a slowpoke.