2020 Mazda CX-30 officially launched in Malaysia – three CBU variants; AEB and MRCC; from RM143k

At long last, Bermaz Motor has officially launched the Mazda CX-30 in Malaysia, which slots in between the CX-3 and CX-5 in the company’s SUV line-up. As reported previously, customers will be able to choose from three fully-imported (CBU) variants, including two with petrol engines and a sole diesel offering.

Starting with the petrol options first, both the base 2.0G and mid-range 2.0G High are powered by a SkyActiv-G 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated, direct-injection four-cylinder petrol engine that makes 163 hp at 6,000 rpm and 213 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. With this engine, the top speed is 196 km/h, while the rated fuel consumption is 6.4 l/100 km.

The only diesel variant is known as the 1.8D High, and features a SkyActiv-D 1.8 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel with 114 hp at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm from 1,600 to 2,700 rpm; the top speed is 183 km/h and rated fuel consumption is 4.9 l/100 km. All engines are mated to a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission, with drive going to the front wheels. Mazda’s G-Vectoring Control Plus (GVC Plus) comes standard cross the range as well.

In terms of kit, the 2.0G comes with 16-inch alloy wheels, auto-levelling LED headlamps, keyless start, a windshield-projected head-up display, manual air-conditioning, fabric upholstery, silver dashboard trim, manually-operated front seats, i-Stop idling technology and a reverse camera.

Also standard is the Mazda Connect infotainment system, which is linked to an 8.8-inch display and eight speakers, with Commander Control and support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

Meanwhile, the 2.0G High and 1.8D High – which share the same equipment set – gain an automatic high beam function and signature illumination for the headlamps, along with larger 18-inch alloys. Other improvements include keyless entry, a powered tailgate, a powered sunroof and parking sensors (four front, six rear).

As for the interior, both the higher-spec CX-30 variants come with dual-zone automatic climate control with rear vents, leather upholstery, a 10-way powered driver’s seat with two-position memory function as well as paddle shifters.

On the safety side of things, all variants come with seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver’s knee), ABS, DSC, EBD, brake assist, traction control, Hill Launch Assist, an auto hold function for the electronic parking brake, and Isofix child seat anchors for the rear outer seats.

Mazda’s i-Activsense suite of safety and driver assistance systems is also present, but can only be had with the 2.0G High and 1.8D High. The list of systems include Adaptive Front-Lighting System (AFS), High Beam Control (HBC), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), Driver Attention Alert (DAA), Smart City Brake Support (front and rear) and Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC).

Pricing-wise, the 2.0G retails at RM143,059 on-the-road without insurance, the 2.0G High at RM164,059, while the 1.8D High goes for RM172,943.60. Included is a five-year/100,000 km manufacturer-backed warranty and a five-year free maintenance package.

Buyers will get to choose from eight colours, including Soul Red Crystal, Machine Grey, Titanium Flash, Jet Black, Deep Crystal Blue, Sonic Silver, Snowflake White Pearl and Polymetal Grey Metallic. Find full specifications of the new Mazda CX-30 on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2020 Mazda CX-30 1.8D High

GALLERY: 2020 Mazda CX-30 2.0G High

GALLERY: 2020 Mazda CX-30 2.0G

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Apricot on Jan 15, 2020 at 10:41 am

Finish Honda Malaysia, this SUV will steal sales from HRV with no AEB, no land departure warning and no blind spot monitor, especially for upcoming City Turbo. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 37
    • taknakhonda on Jan 15, 2020 at 12:15 pm

Hopefully no Honda fanboys badmouth about mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • Asam laksa on Jan 15, 2020 at 2:26 pm

Mazda is professional in designing car. If this stunning Game-Changing SUV enters Malaysia especially with that kind of pricing, this SUV will sell like hotcakes. People who drives this Game Changer will have more confidence in the roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Dr Strange on Jan 15, 2020 at 4:55 pm

You seriously have some self-confidence issues if you need to rely on a car to boost your confidence. You don’t need a car, you need professional help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • Pay Premium Get Cheap Spec on Jan 15, 2020 at 5:58 pm

Why not Skyactiv-X ?

• alldisc on Jan 15, 2020 at 2:48 pm

Honda HRV winner of most prestigious and coveted car award. What Car? Reader Award ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • Honda Salesman Crying on Jan 15, 2020 at 2:17 pm

Compare Bermaz Mazda vs Honda DRB (from last year to now)

For Mazda Bermaz Service and Quality are not that good before which happened last year, they had already learned because big lesson from last year after people making complaints in FB. So now no more issues about Bermaz Auto. And at least Bermaz Auto Management inclduing sales & service advisor are also more friendly to the customers unlike previous two years ago.

But for Honda DRB, when people also complaint about service and quality in Facebook, Honda DRB always think that it is not very important about aftersales service and quality when it is poor. Moreover, when customers go so many dealers like Kah Motor or other Honda dealers in Malaysia, sales & services advisor always like to cheat on people’s customers. Which they are not very friendly at all. Somemore, after few weeks or several days later of replacing parts for customers car at Honda service center, it still same problem. Probably, technicians never service properly or never bother to service their Honda cars at all. Even assembly workers assemble Honda cars also never check properly.

So for those who regret for driving Honda, this is very very big lesson to all of you. And this is also very priority that you don’t want to have high risk and more headaches

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
    • Yes, Honda Malaysia is dead, as the number one seller of non-national car category and number 3 overall.

While I am not saying Mazda cars are bad, but the only model that is really selling well is CX5. All other models are seriously overpriced. This CX30 looks good (though the price is still too high). Hopefully it sells well.

One big complaint about Mazda is its internal space. The car may look big from outside, but the legroom was really poor (Mazda 2, 3, 6 and CX3)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • sotoy on Jan 15, 2020 at 6:16 pm

latest 3 & cx30 are reasonably priced because:
        – they’re cbu from japan (quality & reliability)
        – they’re generally better built & quality
        – they’re better specced

The space is a trade off for the brand with looks & style that not many can pull-off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • sam123 on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:03 am

Come on la, mazda previous gen all are from thailand already better in term of quality.. about legroom mazda 2 are ok for me (im 180cm) no matter front or back

• Honda is dead? OK let’s revisit this post say 1 year from now….nope I am not a Honda fanboy but just trying to be realistic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • danielthw on Jan 15, 2020 at 10:43 am

The amount of plastic cladding is too damn high!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • romance on Jan 15, 2020 at 10:51 am

(Like) Mazda CX-30
    (Dislike) Honda HRV and CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
  • CIWAN on Jan 15, 2020 at 11:22 am

Better to buy this CX30 or mazda 3 sedan?

• undecided on Jan 16, 2020 at 2:38 pm

i would probably go for the m3. been thinking about the same. prefer the m3 design, be it liftback or sedan. The black cladding is just way too much for me.

• Jeremy on Jan 15, 2020 at 11:24 am

this Mazda CX-30; AEB and MRCC from RM143k. while class rivals GLA from 280k and XC40 from 240k …. bayar bulan baru RM1.5k jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Just bring on the CKD laaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • L1988 on Jan 15, 2020 at 11:53 am

then u will complain CKD craftsmanship and quality later…. only know shouting for CKD for cheaper piece of junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • https://paultan.org/2020/01/13/locally-assembled-vehicles-may-cost-more-report/
      But CKD will be more expensip

• 25or6to4 on Jan 15, 2020 at 11:49 am

Will wait for CBU tax reduction before buying this car. Do it fast, LGE!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • firdaus on Jan 15, 2020 at 11:51 am

wah…so cheap!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 15, 2020 at 1:05 pm

no parking sensors for base model…hmm….its 2020

• Msia driver on Jan 15, 2020 at 1:15 pm

Can buy 2 biji x50…lolzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 15, 2020 at 7:24 pm

can also buy 7 biji perodua axia. want compare like this…can never end one

• Unga Bunga on Jan 16, 2020 at 2:20 pm

2 pieces of crap or 1 well designed vehicle. Can’t afford it? Pls help yourself to 10 pieces of crap if you want. Lololozzzz

• Asam laksa on Jan 15, 2020 at 1:20 pm

Very stunning Mazda! This Game-Changing SUV with red soul color will be a hit with that pricing

• Khairul Izam on Jan 15, 2020 at 3:06 pm

Yeah will those waiting for it with the over the top pricing. Later many will consider getting X50. Mazda has became wayy to expensive.

• The design of door panels seems to have a design flaw and odd looking. While the interior dash though similar with m3 but used in CX30, its chunky n plain. Candidly, CX3/5 have better overall appeal over CX30.

CKD and Price are the downside of CX5 while while CX3 is limited space. Well, the positive side of CX30 is probably being CBU and equipped with MRcc. In short, CX30 is less appealing.

• Max speed for both variant not exceed 200km/hr????Why diesel turbo with more torque has lower speed limit compare to less torque 2.0 petrol? Shouldn’t it be the other way round?

• Top speed need hp, not torque. Diesel high torque low hp and low rpm.

• vivizurianti on Jan 15, 2020 at 5:15 pm

Buy! Buy! Buy! and drive Balik kampung CNY with CX30. Surely gaya, family happy happy.

• SamLorrh on Jan 15, 2020 at 9:32 pm

Call what you want about Japanese reliability, but if Bermaz think they can sell me a car with a warranty only last up to 100K KM…. Imma rather stick to my 2015 CRV or at this point the Hyundai Tucson 1.6 T seems like a more sensible choice

• haha…

well… expensive.. not afford… i pass.
    Should just have 2…
    normal and high spec… base model apa pun tak ada.. tapi ada gaya saje….

well.. u go for gaya or go for safety ? you call…

second tot… somebody willing to sell kidney to get iphone…. well…. all sort of ppl in this crazy world…

• paparadzi on Jan 16, 2020 at 9:58 am

Got radar cruise control (MRCC). Better than equivalent BMW.

• SamaSaja on Jan 16, 2020 at 4:11 pm

Many people here are obsessed and bench marking a car’s value by AEB, Adaptive cruise control etc. Trust me, these items are nice to have but not fundamentally important to decide on what car to purchase..

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 16, 2020 at 4:33 pm

I disagree. Adaptive Cruise Control is indeed optional, yes, but I think AEB is absolutely essential.

You wouldn’t think you will need it, until it comes a time that you wish you did. Better safe than sorry, everyone.

• Hayenadeblue on Feb 04, 2020 at 10:54 pm

It is now more than half-month after the launch and no one in Malaysia including PaulTan doesnt know whether we get the MRCC with Stop & Go or not.

• Monana on Dec 16, 2020 at 1:55 pm

MRCC but not with the Stop & Go feature. Confirmed. Bermaz is sh*tty!

• Michael on Feb 14, 2020 at 3:55 pm

Top speed 196km/h only? Cipet. Fix an engine so that the top speed can go up to 230km/h and 0-100km/h in 6.9s. Then the car will sell.

I think the 0-100km/h of this car is around 10.0s with that engine.

• Mutiara Damansara on May 28, 2020 at 3:19 am

Actually I like Mazda designs. In 2017 I was about to buy Mazda 3 but i find the cabin a bit cramped and I didnt quite like the electronic parking brake. If car no power, cannot release handbrake. But the deal breaker was the now common start stop ignition. To cope with starting and stopping, you need a high capacity battery. The battery cost RM800. I ended buying Altis which has more spacious interior but it is a very unsafe car in my opinion because the driver view is blocked by the thick pillars and rearview mirrors. Also the CVT and old tech engine makes it rather sluggish. At the end, I am not happy with Toyota either but the maintenance is much cheaper than Honda and Nissan (the other cars i owned before). There is limited C segment cars in Malaysia. Honda, I dare not touch again due to my previous bad experience.

• Mei Hwa on Jan 11, 2021 at 7:39 pm

You must be a very, weirdly shaped human. I own an Altis, and I am not a big fan of the HU either, but the HU does not block my view as the driver. At all! Test drive Civic 1.5 TCP and like its power, but the slow response of the paddle shifter is way, way worse than the Altis. Quality issues in Hondas is terrible. I like the engine in Altis, it is old tech, NA, responsive enough for me, and knowing that the engine is super-charged in Lotus Elise is kinda guarantee for me that it can last for years.

• Honda marah on Jul 31, 2020 at 2:07 am

Honda malaysia just served LOD to their customer who complained alot in fb