New Malaysia excise duty regulations introduced for 2020 could see CKD car prices “rise by up to 15%”

Last December, a news report indicated the possibility that locally-assembled cars could cost more from this year as a result of a potential restructuring of automobile duty rates by the government.

UPDATE: On January 22, the ministry of finance (MoF) said that there will be no increase in CKD vehicle prices for a period of one year until December 31, 2020. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) says that new OMV calculations could see CKD car prices go up by varying degrees (0-20%), depending on the model, although any increases will be gradual over coming years and would only begin from 2021.

This is now looking like a reality, if what is based on that determined in the new, publicly available Excise (Determination of Value of Locally Manufactured Goods for the Purpose of Levying Excise Duty) Regulations 2019, prepared by the ministry of finance and which was gazetted on December 31, 2019, is interpreted right.

Under the terms of the new regulations, which is now technically in force, completely-knocked-down (CKD) vehicles will be liable to pay more taxes. This is because the methodology of how the open market value (OMV) of a vehicle is calculated has been changed.

What is OMV? Well, it is the defined final market value of a CKD vehicle ex-factory, before the government imposes excise duties on it. An assortment of components determine the OMV, and these include the cost of the CKD pack, cost of manufacturing and components as well as assembly and administration charges.

This is different to that for a fully-imported CBU vehicle, which works on a price based on Cost, Insurance and Freight (CIF), to which import and excise duties are imposed. Excise duty is between 60% and 105% (regardless of CKD or CBU), calculated based on the car and its engine capacity, while import duty can reach up to 30%, depending on the vehicle’s country of manufacture. Vehicles from ASEAN countries are not imposed with import duty.

The gazette adds new components into the OMV calculation. Under the new regulations, the computed value to determine duties will now take into account not just the profit and general expenses incurred or accounted in the manufacture of a vehicle, but also of its sale.

According to a source familiar with the matter, the new way of calculating OMV, which introduces duties to the sale of the goods raises new questions and has caused confusion for OEMs and distributors.

Previously, the OMV only took into account costs for the manufacture of a said item, but the “and sale” clause also now applies to areas such as engineering, development work, art work, design work, plan and sketch, royalty payments and license fees (patent, trademark, copyright).

The clause 4.2 (d) widens the net considerably by including “any direct and indirect costs incurred or accounted in the manufacture and sale of the dutiable goods.” This, the source points out, is “frightening,” because the MoF/Customs did not engage the auto industry prior to the release of the gazette.

The inclusion of this “office cost” (versus only “factory cost” before this) could potentially widen the scope significantly as it will factor in the sales and marketing costs of a particular model at the distributor level. As excise duty (which rate remains unchanged) is levied on a car’s OMV, the base price’s increase will also cause chargeable excise duties – and the final car price – to rise accordingly.

The source said that the previous method of calculating value – ex-factory – is the more fair approach as that’s the convention. Levying a product should be just that, levying the product, he said. There’s also the question of double taxation, as car companies pay corporate income tax on their profits as well, as with all businesses.

Another point is that the CBU fully imported vehicles continue to be taxed the same way – on the vehicle itself and nothing extra – which brings some disparity. “This is unfair to those who have invested in CKD operations in the country,” he said.

Clearly, this move is to extract more revenue from the business of selling cars, but with this duty restructuring, the cost price of cars are set to increase, and it’s likely that car companies will pass it on to the consumer.

Asked on the possible quantum, the industry source said: “A rough figure would be CKD cars costing around 12-15% more with this new way of calculating OMV.”

Looking at the bigger picture from the immediate effect – which is extra revenue for the government coffers and possibly higher vehicle prices – there will be knock-on effects, aside from being unpopular with the public.

“Higher prices will translate to lower volume for car assemblers in Malaysia, which will in turn affect employment if they decide to scale down operations,” the source said.

“Should that happen, the government will collect less in corporate taxes, and Malaysia will lose out on investment to neighbouring countries. There will be no extra revenue for the government,” he said, casting doubt on the overall effectiveness of this move and branding it as a lose-lose scenario for consumers (higher prices) and carmakers (lower volume) as well.

All this would go against the grain of what the ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) had intimated last year, when it said that it was considering a reduction in excise duty for vehicles as a possible way for bringing car prices down. Deputy minister of international trade and industry Ong Kian Ming had said that while a reduction in excise duty would mean less direct revenue, it would be offset by total collection due to increase vehicle sales.

With all this, plus the added uncertainties of changing policies heading into the future (the NAP has been delayed multiple times), car companies in Malaysia looks to have a tough time planning ahead, especially those with CKD operations. How would they plan their investments if nothing is set in stone, and could or would change in an instant without sufficient notice?

Rumours are that a few brands are already considering to pull potential investments in upgrading their CKD plants if this is to go through. Going the CBU route sounds like a simpler process, but the reality is far from it, because approved permits for imports cannot exceed 10% of CKD total industry volume (TIV), as stated by an industry observer previously.

Observers have previously stated that the tax structure has come under review because local CKD manufacturers ‘have been known’ to under-declare the foreign content levels of the vehicles produced and ‘escape with huge profits’ as a result. Another industry observer has also noted that raising car prices will benefit local makes due to their lower price points, though it will also deter foreign direct investments into the industry.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Just as the world progresses, Malaysia regreses. Businesses don’t like uncertainty and raising prices while the real economy is pretty stagnant is an unwise decision.

As it is, manufacturers have to share their CKD profits with local “partner” companies which are either GLCs or cronies. Instead of sucking more from the public in the form of increased taxes, MoF should look for efficiencies from the various contracts with cronies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 211 Thumb down 5
    • Honda - The Power Of Sucks on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:44 pm

Actually this is very good thing to see that, Malaysians will now turn away from buying Honda Cars. But sooner, when launching new Honda City and Jazz without AEB, land departure warning, rear cross traffic alert and others. Malaysians will buy other brands instead of Honda. Even Malaysians also complaint about service and car quality

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 226 Thumb down 55
      • Westar Heli on Jan 17, 2020 at 10:31 pm

True CKD carmaker P2 not impacted, its ASA2.0

• Same goes to Proton will not impacted due to national carmaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • Rosman on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:12 am

Proton & Geely protek, 2020 Prosperity Year

• Awang Selamat on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:23 am

the ones that will suffer most is the DRB staff because DRB assembles cars for Proton, Honda and many others.

These people will suffer most.

Infact, most of the cat companies in Malaysia are GLC staff. When sales go down, they will suffer the most.

Kasihan DRB and UMW. Pity the staff, already they got such big families each to feed, now, no bonus and lesser sales, they will suffer a lot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 21
          • Kelab Penyayang & Penyokong Kunta (KPPK) on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:11 am

Last time Kunta say our car prices the highest in the world but BN fanboys say he lies.

Now we see who speaks the truth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
          • Logical Deduction on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:21 pm

Previously not highest in the world. Now with the increase it is the highest in the world. Well said Kunta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
          • Goreng pisang on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:35 pm

With this advantage, Game-Changing Perodua will continue to be at the top and will have a sharp increase in sales from previous year. So in the end of the year, we will see Perodua sales 4X more than Proton and 6X more than other carmakers here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
          • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:43 pm

For once, I will admit that Honda will be Game Over soon as sales this year will decrease a lot due to this new excise duty regulations. We will expect Game-Changing Perodua sales to be 5X more than Honda and Proton sales 4X more than Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 24
          • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:49 pm

Yes, Proton will not be impacted with this new regulations and their X50 & X70 will have a sharp increase of sales. But no matter how good X50 & X70 sales is, Perodua sales will still 4X more than Proton as people who drives non-national cars will move to Perodua Game-Changing cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:18 pm

The truth is out – abang2 from Kastam for the past 30 years have been covering up this big lie and enriching themselves with the car companies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:20 pm

Looks like all the BN cronies from Kastam and other Government bodies just got caught.

Naughty abang2 for under declare cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:36 pm

Malaysians are so shocked that abang2 from MITI and KDRM can cheat the country of tax revenue. Shocking sabotage of their own country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
          • Prince of the Earth on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:50 pm

Just like the Recordings, the truth is out now. Welcome to curi curi Malaysia when the Prince of the Earth like to steal from their own people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
          • Looks like BN all these time have been keeping car prices down for the last 60 years and PH is bumping the car prices. They must be desperate to makan as much before they get kicked out permanently. Rindu zaman BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
          • Thank you Madani on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:05 pm

MAI never saw this coming? They make lots of noise but could not protek their own Government from being cheated from under declared cars?

And the best part, Government rewards Madani with Datukship and makes MAI even bigger.

• Bumi Oh Bumi on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:16 pm

Saya malu orang saya tipu kerajaan sendiri!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Angry Voters on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:25 pm

Thank you BN for keeping car prices down! Now we know that you had our interest at heart. We love you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
          • Same Type of John on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:32 pm

The whole automotive industry is shocked with this news.

john, how can your own type cheat the gomen?

• Apa Lagi John Mahu? on Jan 18, 2020 at 5:35 pm

I prefer PH over BN. PH is equal, not racist, no SONGLAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 53
          • M makan m..

• Same L0rr on Jan 18, 2020 at 7:59 pm

Car prices go UP , Rv orso go UP !!

• Sick & Tired on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:44 pm

The truth is out – abang2 BN have been helping the rakyat with cheaper cars for 60 years. Now Pakatan hates the rakyat so they are increasing the price. Kunta, why is your gomen hate the rakyat so much? We had voted for you but this is what we get.

Kunta, please answer this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
          • izzudin on Jan 19, 2020 at 12:10 am

Abang2 BN tak bayar tax pon… terbongkar.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 19, 2020 at 12:23 am

Pakatan spinners can tok kok until cows come home but the gist we see:
            Under BN, car prices were cheaper.
            Under PH, car prices are increasing.

The people are suffering because of PH. I am so sick & tired of them. Go try & spin this one, you paid freaks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • Kesian rakyat Mesia. Dahla kena tipu oleh PH, ni pulak dimaki hamun dari PH. Ingatkan undi harapan, undi ubah ke arah baik. Manala tau jatuh pulak ditimpa tangga, lepas tu puak PH datang ketawa rakyat. Mengundi PH adala kemalangan terbesar yg pernah berlaku di Mesia. Kesian Mesia, kesian rakyat Mesia….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • @Sick & Tired, just like 1MDB and RM10.3 bil TH scandal, now rakyat got to pay higher car prices because car companies cheated on their taxes the past 30 years by under declaring it. Now, the actual taxes are shown and it is higher car prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Kasihan, kerajaan kena tipu duit, budak asrama Felda pulak yang susah sebab kerajaan tak ada duit untuk bagi yuran bulanan

• M makan M on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:10 am

Looks like M makan M. How sad. Give them all privileges also, they do this

• Abang2 Kena Kantoi on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:20 am

Tupai pandai melompat akhirnya jatuh juga

• Abang2 Kena Kantoi on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:23 am

Do not eat and berak on your same plate. Why cheat your own gomen?

• Abang2 Kena Kantoi on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:25 am

Now we all 35 million people have to suffer because of the greedy people

• Rosmah on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:38 am

Can I advice you something? Why do you steal from your own people?

Why do you under declare?

• BN Under Declare Sdn Bhd on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:51 am

Jangan bimbang, nanti kami ambik alih kuasa, kami turin kan harga lagi. Kami under declare lagi ya!

• EDITOR on Jan 19, 2020 at 4:03 pm

KiMANIS given vote of no confidence agaunst PH. PH must step down now..

• @Raja. Agree with you that Pakatan had hoodwinked the people. Better the people vote back BN. We see this in Tg Piai, we see this in Kimanis. Pakatan should step down, they had lost the confidence of the people.

• jamal on Jan 19, 2020 at 6:09 pm

Betui bro Editor. Biar kite naik semula …

• For Goat’s sake, what kinda smelly gross shiets still hidden after 60 years… mypipu.

• Lets See on Jan 19, 2020 at 9:41 pm

The real truth that after 60 years of cheap cars, PH will make cars more expensive because they want to cause suffering onto the rakyat. 60 years of resentment by PH now open for all to see. Shame on you PH! Shame on you!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 20, 2020 at 8:22 am

Thanks to all our abang-abang engineers, technicians, operators, all the way down to the cleaners for making Proton a great success since Day One. You all have contributed much to the national automotive sectors and made your country proud. Without you guys, we would not have reached this level today. So tahniah to you all! You have made Proton proud, you have made DRB proud, you have made Malaysia proud, you have made us rakyat proud. Now is time to impress Geely and make them proud. Majulah Proton!

• Awang Selamat on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:18 am

Why the Government needs more money by increasing tax on cars? the answer is very simple. They have to sustain and support and pay the overbloated 1.6 million Government servants in Putrajaya.

This is the problem in Malaysia. We employ people for the fun of it and give them jobs eventhough the job is not needed.

One good example is Proton. Proton has 12,000 workers but it only produces 60,000 cars per annum

Mitsubishi in Thailand has 6000 workers but produces 350,000 cars per annum

Can you see the difference? 6000 workers make 350,000 cars vs 12,000 workers making 60,000 cars.

Our Putrajaya is the same. Overboated. So, the Government now cannot sustain the overbloated staff. So, Gomen now hantam the rakyat with higher taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 93
          • Copy Paste on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:11 pm

Copy paste: “Another classic case of misinformation by our favorite RBA. As Goebbels said: “a lie told once remains a lie, but a lie told a thousand times becomes the truth”

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nst.com.my/node/212733/amp

Ceupacs disagrees vehemently with that spin of yours.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 16
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:21 pm

The only lie we have been told is that abang2 from Kastam and the car companies have been lying and under declare to our Government.

This is what corruption does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:38 pm

Malaysians now have to pay higher car prices because abang2 have deprived the Government of Malaysia few hundred billion ringgit the past 40 years with under declare of car prices and cheating on tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
          • Prince of the Earth on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:59 pm

I am so ashamed that our GLC run Japanese car companies can do this to Malaysians. We trusted them so much. To find out they declare less amount to get lesser tax makes me sick to the core.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • Thank you Madani on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:07 pm

MAI must answer why this scandal has happened. They were supposed to protect the automotive industry.

Now it will collapse because they did not identify the under declaration

• Bumi Oh Bumi on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:22 pm

Kenapa lah orang saya suka menipu kerajaan kami sendiri?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
          • Same Type of John on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:34 pm

Harga kereta naik sebab geng john songlap selama ini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
          • Hafiz Hisham on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:51 pm

Heran. Kalau songlap tu, kenape harga kereta dulu lagi murah? Logik u tak masuk otak, tapi sebenar ye otak u kat lutut ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
          • @ Hafiz Hisham, harga dulu lagi murah kerana syarikat kereta menipu kerajaan Malaysia dan under declare harga sebenar kereta mereka

Itu pun tak faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • M makan M on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:12 am

So shameful when you cheat your own Government of income and revenue!

• Abang2 Kena Kantoi on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:24 am

Kalau berdosa, mesti kena tangkap punya. Habis lah 35 million people suffer now cause of you

• Rosmah on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:39 am

Can I advice you something? It is not good now, after we songlap, people got to pay expensip price for kete

• BN Under Declare Sdn Bhd on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:52 am

Jangan bimbang, semua OK!

• Spin Too Much on Jan 19, 2020 at 12:15 pm

Kastam songlap la .. They all main under declare, Can i advise you something? us Kastam goons of past 60 Years cheated gomen & Rakyat. we only deal Cash tunai..

• Amran on Jan 19, 2020 at 7:39 pm

#UBAH BALIK

• The Truth About Car Sales on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:32 am

All over the world, car prices are going down. Only in Malaysia, car prices going higher and higher.

Toyota Corolla (Altis) in Malaysia in 1988 was RM20k
          Toyota Corolla (Altis) in Malaysia in 2020 is RM140k
          Toyota Corolla (Altis) in Maalysia in June 2020 is RM180k

But in Japan, Toyota Corolla from 1988 to 2020 only gone up 50% in price.

In summary,

In Japan from 1988 to 2020 – 50% naik harga
          In Malaysia from 1988 to 2020 – 700% naik harga

Why our cars naik harga? The answer is very clear. All our car companies are Government owned. Except for Tan Chong and a few others, all are Government owned.

For 40 years, Government squeeze us maximum kaw kaw.

Honda – DRB
          Toyota – UMW
          Proton – DRB
          Perodua – UMW
          BMW – Sime Darby
          Hyundai – Sime Darby
          Ford – Sime Darby

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 84
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:26 pm

Car companies and Kastam has conspired to cheat the Government of Malaysia. I think to recoup back, we can get few hundred billion in taxes

Hooray- we can now build our ECRL, HSR and many others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • Prince of the Earth on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:55 pm

Last time I worked in UMW. Can get bonus 12 months. Now I know why. I guess UMW was cheating with taxes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
          • Prince of the Earth on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:56 pm

Kerja UMW dan DRB bagus lah, selalu dapat bonus 12 bulan.

Untung kalau kerja dengan syarikat GLC.

Tapi sekarang kantoi lah, bonus mungkin 1 bulan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Thank you Madani on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:08 pm

We must sack all the MITI, MARii and KDRM bosses.

This is like espionage towards the Government.

• Bumi Oh Bumi on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:23 pm

Dah lah kerajaan bagi bantuan banyak banyak, masih lagi nak menipu kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Kjaan kaya tapi rakyat miskin apa gunanya? Lagi baik rakyat kaya yg menjadikan kjaan kaya nanti. Ini tidak, PH mau makan semuanya. Harapkan Harapan, Harapan pula makan Rakyat.

• Kerajaan asyik tolong usahawan Bumiputera tapi akhirnya mereka menipu kerajaan dgn under declare

• M makan M on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:15 am

Kereta CKD Jepunis sepatutnya bayar balik duit yang di “curi” olehnya. Under declaration pun di gelar curi

• Abang2 Kena Kantoi on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:27 am

Aiseh, now I got no choice but to buy old second hand car because greedy people already spoil the market

• Rosmah on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:41 am

Can I advice you something? Better we naik moto or kapchai. Don’t buy cars. Or use LRT

• BN Under Declare Sdn Bhd on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:53 am

Jangan risau, kami bole baiki ini kemarin

• Please participate intelligently.
            Or you’ll just sound liek an old fool like LKS.

• Kelab Penyayang & Penyokong Kunta (KPPK) on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:10 am

Ha ha ha ha, last time when Kunta always hantam Gomen for high car prices, all the BN fanboys come here and attack him and bamboo him.

All BN fanboys kelentong and say we have the cheapest car prices int he world.

Now see what happens? We kena kantoi. Praise be to Kunta!!! He is truly the best champion fighter we have!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:37 pm

It is shocking, abang2 get all the privileges and bantuan kerajaan and yet, they can cheat their own Government of revenue by under declare cars

• Sick & Tired on Jan 19, 2020 at 12:26 am

Not only do you self-talk among your dupes, you also shamelessly self-praise too? You got some mental issues here.

• Syarikat macam UMW selama 30 tahun under declare kepada kerajaan, sekarang kami pula yang susah

• The only ones complaining and making demands for cheap cars and cheap petrol are Perodua owners. Reduce the number of cheapo Perodua cars on the road and there will be less asking for cheap cars and cheap petrol. Make it so.

• Abang2 Kena Kantoi on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:29 am

abang2 got caught with their pants down….now we all suffer with high car prices

• Rosmah on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:42 am

Can I advice you something? I am sorry my cronies under declare the cars before.

• BN Under Declare Sdn Bhd on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:54 am

nanti 2023 kami buat creative accounting lagi. Pasti turun

• Bossku Pun Ada Bossnya Sendiri on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:17 am

Where is Bossku promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

I waited from 2013 to 2018 but car prices went higher and higher!!!!

Now even worse!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • Copy Paste on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:00 pm

Copy paste: “Pakatan’s promises car price will drop since 2012 (https://paultan.org/2012/08/16/pkr-launches-turunkan-harga-kereta-campaign/), now after coming in power, car prices increase instead. Well-done Pakatan, well done.

Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me. I know where my vote will go next round.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:23 pm

The problem here now is not the ruling Government but the abang2 who under declared car prices and bersubahat with the car companies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Current Government must now recoup back 30 years of cheating of under declaring cars by the former incompetent Government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • Pelik betul, syarikat kereta milik GLC (Government Linked Company) boleh menipu kerajaan dia sendiri

• I feel pity for Malaysians now cause we got to repay back 40 yrs of cheating of back taxes by car companies

• Rosmah on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:43 am

Can I advice you something? I wear the pants and I will correct this. I will make cars go down in price

• Dr Strange on Jan 20, 2020 at 10:55 am

Can I advise you something? Better plan new furnitures for replacement when you and Bossku walks back into Seri Perdana residence as our new PM. You don’t want to get contaminated by all the PH germs and diseases they brought into PM residence during their short stay.

• Bossku Pun Ada Bossnya Sendiri on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:18 am

We would have gotten cheaper car prices if bossku was not too scared of his bini and ran the country without fear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
          • Celup King on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:10 pm

Car in Mesia is cheap enough, see:
            Bezza in Malaysia – RM35K.
            Bezza in Sri Lanka – RM103K (3.69m rupees)
            Bezza in Singapur – RM183K (S$60,800)

But because cars are cheap here so PH want to raise prices up to topkek level. How does their logic work?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:27 pm

Cannot bilip our own abang abang from Kastam can cheat their own Government and their own country with hundreds of billions of under declared cars.

Lucky with a clean Government, this has been exposed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:32 pm

BN now have been caught cheating the coffers of the country. Malu Malu Malu Malu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:58 pm

As long car prices is lower, rakyat untung, it is okay for gomen to lose a bit. Now gomen want to eat as much possible and make rakyat suffer. Pakatan, your rule is finished.

• Rosmah on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:45 am

Can I advice you something? I am sorry about all this. I will make it better. We will reduce car prices soon okay??

• Hanum on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:08 am

Most of the Ministry calculating tax the past 30 yrs of cars are all from Uitm. Their calculations are all wrong and not accurate.

So, this is why now there is a correction taking place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
        • Unknown on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:53 pm

So Uitm was helping us with cheaper car prices. Thank you Uitm grads. But now PH is raising car prices. Fook you PH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:24 pm

Budak2 coligs pompuan kat ofis depa, smue angkat Yaris 1.5 Rm80K …same enjin p2 Myvi 1.5 rm40k jek.. rakyat Msia memang bertuah, takde BN takdak rasuah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • Bumi Oh Bumi on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:25 pm

You are happy cheating your own people from money? Kerajaan kurang duit, budak Felda yang susah bro

• sam123 on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:53 pm

Naza group and AP Recond Otai kebal pipu, so Under declare/Lari tax no problemo

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:57 pm

We are ok as long we got cheaper cars. Everyone wins here. But now everyone loses except PH. Yup, fook you PH!

• Sama macam 1MDB, Felda, TH RM10.3 bil, duit semua kena songlap, akhirnya, syarikat kereta pun songlap

• Hafiz Hisham on Jan 19, 2020 at 4:56 pm

@Alan. Tak kesah songlap ke, tipu ke, underdeclare ke, itu semua tak kesah. Janji harga kereta murah. Sekarang tidak harga kereta naik. Ini ke Pakatan janji mau jaga rakyat. Pirraahhh lahhh!!!

• Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:40 pm

Malu betul, these people get all the bantuan kerajaan and yet, they can cheat the Government of Malaysia revenue and make themselves richer.

I hope MACC siasat this scandal because now, rakyat got to suffer with high car prices for the Government needs to recoup the billions lost the past 40 yrs.

• BN Under Declare Sdn Bhd on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:56 am

Jangan panic, 2023, kami adjust balik ya….jangan risau. Kastam pun kata sama sama pakat

• Ghani on Jan 19, 2020 at 9:56 pm

Terima kasih Bossku. Harap kamu semua naik balik memerintah tak lama lagi. Tak sabar nak tunggu Pakatan turun.

• Can I advice you something? on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:24 am

I wish our leaders are strong and run things without fear like Li Chunrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:23 pm

I wish LGE was as strong and run things without fear like Li Chunrong. This only tells us, Mainland ones are much better than local ones. Can we trade them back for Mainland ones?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:29 pm

you are right, pls replace all the GLC car companies with Mainland people. At least they are more honest and will never under declare our CKD cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Are you suggesting protectionism is good for Malaysia?
        Why do you think we have a choice by simply looking away from Honda?
        Proton for the longest time has been selling us old accords for the price of new ones.
        It is for the first time in Malaysian history we have X70 at a cheaper price then Perdana.
        Just accept the fact that the current government do not understand economics. With ckd car prices going up, expect local cars to follow. They have never directed the savings through local content. All it does is enrich the cronies in the automotive industry, and we all know who they are.

• michelle on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:56 pm

These Japanese Brands from ASEAN could see price hike probably since the import duty is not imposed. But BMW, Hyundai, Mercedes and other carmakers from other Europe will not be price hike which import duty will reduced maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:54 am

We have to blame our corrupted KDRM officers the past 40 years because it has been proven now that they have closed one eye to all the car companies under declaring tax to LHDN.

Time to sack all these officers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:35 pm

Looks like the abang2 all have taken money and lined their own pockets to sabotage their own country.

• Can I advice you something? on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:26 am

MACC must open investigation on this issue because it seems our car companies have all cheated in declarations in the past.

Now, it has come to light. OMG OMG OMG. Company besar pun boleh tipoooooooooo

• Aura89 on Jan 19, 2020 at 2:39 am

If you have evidence then go ahead and sue these companies. No need to come and bother us here. Just go away.

• Engineer on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:57 pm

Local CKD manufacturers ‘have been known’ to under-declare the foreign content of the vehicles produced and ‘escape with huge profits’.

Kia, Peugeot, Merc, BMW and Mazda are CKD cars with high local content. but most highest is still Honda, ultimate Power of our Dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Honda - The Power Of Sucks on Jan 17, 2020 at 10:55 pm

But Honda is no longer called as ultimate power of our dreams. It is now known as Honda – The Power Of Sucks because Malaysians complaint about service and car quality. So they will be tax higher roughly 12%-15% for many CKD Honda cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
      • YB Albert kunci kunta on Jan 18, 2020 at 6:27 am

How to under declare ?Some rogue custom officers must be sleeping or on the take.Gomen not catching the idiots but instead punishing rakyat.

• Everyone is so happy to get rm30 eWallet, now is the time to pay back

• This is PH style. They gip gula gula but behind take ur whole wallet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • 1Mdb. Si Rosmah ambik seluar pon hilang.

• Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:42 pm

Shameless people. Help them so much with AP and all that and yet, they can con the Government of revenue.

This is why Government got no money to build more hospitals and schools

• Calvin on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:03 pm

Righto. Najib could pay for 1MDB, full sized LRT3, MRT 1, MRT 2, MRT3 and yet keep car prices down. He must be a godsent magician that could achieve so much but PH dunno how to replicate this formula and so they prefer to tax the people until they die.

• Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:50 am

betul betul, siapa milik Honda? DRB. DRB oh DRB, masih menipu rakyat lagi ke?

• Amran on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:55 pm

Honda milik DRB? Jepun dah jual pada DRB? Tahniah DRB!

• Melayu on Jan 18, 2020 at 4:07 pm

honda malaysia milik DRB.

• Jangan tipu. Kalau Honda milik Malaysia, takkan diaorang benarkan pakaiguna nama Honda. Tengok je Nissan dibawah Tan Chong, namanya bukan Nissan Malaysia tapi ETCM. Kalau bukan kepunyaan milik kita, dioarang takkan bagi kita dia punya nama.

• Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:57 am

Now we Malaysians suffer because KDRM has been allowing under taxation and under declaring of AP cowboys and AP for local brands.

Looks like KDRM officers have got very rich now with all the under declaring done by Honda, Toyota etc

• Kelab Penyayang & Penyokong Kunta (KPPK) on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:12 am

Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world and now, it is going up further!!!! OMG OMG OMG

• YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:58 pm

The rakyat should enforce a moratorium on buying new cars for 6 months if gomen increase car taxes.
      Just buy 1-3 year old pre owned cars and see distributors lobbying for reduced taxes when car sales plummet.
      The problem with malaysians is ‘THE NEW CAR ITCH”.PH IS NO LONGER able to command our trust,cos they keep making u turns to make rakyat poorer instead of richer.
      REMEMBER…’ When new car sales plummet badly,gomen has to act accordingly”,if not retrenchment will spiral upwards.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
      • Awang Selamat on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:20 am

This can be done if all rakyat follow this. But the problem is, majority of the new car buyers buy their cars just to show off. Statistics have shown, majority of the car buyers, especially luxury cars buy their cars just to show off to Opah in the kampung that they have got a new car and they have done well in the bandar.

So no matter how high car prices go, these people will still continue to buy new cars to show off to their peers and their family in the kampung they have got new cars

• Bossku Pun Ada Bossnya Sendiri on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:20 am

Hope Bossku no more scared of his bini and come and take over our country and give us cheaper car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • Geng Abang Nuar on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:15 pm

Sapot lu bro! Harap bosku jangan takut bini. Dahlah cukup kantoi dengan boytoy terbaru dia.

• malu betui kalau suami takut isteri terutamanya kalau suami leader negara

• Betul bro. Saya sangat malu dengan PM in waiting ku. Dah takut isteri lagi main budak, ini ke mau jadi leader negara. Seluruh dunia akan ketawa kita.

• Rosman on Jan 17, 2020 at 10:01 pm

Minyak mahal
      Kereta mahal
      Kos sara mahal
      Gaji minimum naik kecik mana Rm1500
      Subsidi yelek
      BRIM yelek
      Cakap jaga rakyat saja banyak tapi usaha yelek
      Jaga poket diri je yg banyak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 4
      • Awang Selamat on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:25 am

Memang betul. Dua dua PH dan BN sama sama. This is because majority in BN and PH all sama sama. They like easy life, they like bantuan kerajaan, they demand tongkat and they don’t want to work hard like others to achieve things.

Confirm betul BN dan PH SAMA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • Hafiz Hisham on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:53 pm

Big difference.
          BN promised little but did a lot of benefit.
          PH promised a lot but did little benefit but a lot of detriment to the rakyat.

• Kelab Penyayang & Penyokong Kunta (KPPK) on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:15 am

Last time Kunta say Malaysia got highest car prices in the world but you say Singapore had the highest car prices int he world

you forgot to mention Singaporeans earn 5X more than Malaysians

you forgot to mention average Government servant in Singapore earn SGD8000 per month (RM24,000)

now you make noise about car prices going higher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Logical Deduction on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:19 pm

Agreed! Time to vote back BN so we can work hard.

• macampondan on Jan 20, 2020 at 8:03 am

bro… hv u stay, earn and live in SG for long term?

If u want cheap car, migrate to US la..

did u also compare car prices against Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam and etc? and their income, and taxes…?

Katak di bawak tempurung

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 20, 2020 at 8:20 am

Minyak mahal?
        Kerata mahal?
        Kos sara mahal?

Pergi tengok la Thailand baru komen.

• Siam kap on Jan 20, 2020 at 10:52 am

Ye ke?
          TIV 2018 Mesia – 565k
          TIV 2018 Tomyam – 1.1 million

Siapa mahal, siapa murah ye?

• Wesley on Jan 17, 2020 at 10:38 pm

Very very higher tax for CKD models in 2020

• Turn M on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:12 am

Betul la tu. Kan sy dah kata Manifesto sebenar kita; Penipuan Diutamakan, Janji Dicapati. he he he he he….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Crony on Jan 18, 2020 at 8:26 am

Terima kasih bossku. Harap bossku boleh bertahan 22 tahun lagi…

• Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:03 am

Harga bossku tahan 22 tahun kerana kereta CKD di Malaysia menipu harga kastam

• Awang Selamat on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:38 am

Does not matter, both PH and BN have the same majority inside them who are always seeking an easy life with freebies and perpetual bantuan kerajaan forever.

So, does not matter who governs, the people need to be reeducated about working hard and not looking for freebies, contracts, diskauns and biasiswas all the time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • Logical Deduction on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:19 pm

Agreed! So time to vote back BN so we can work hard.

• Aura89 on Jan 19, 2020 at 2:40 am

PH tells this story from 2012.
          And you eat all the nonsense

• CKD price rise 15% for CO2 emissions more than 130 g CO2/km, agree?

• transformer on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:29 pm

rakyat don’t care whatever adjustment PH Gov did to tax/duty structures at any level, rakyat just want lower car price(shorter loan repayment translate to lower household debt)

After new Malaysia, PH, what had you did ? what are you doing? what will you do next?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
    • Damon Lee on Jan 17, 2020 at 10:26 pm

PH will next raise prices of every other cars (inc Proton & Perodua) just to force us no choice but to buy their 3rd national car and flying dronemobile. Well played PH, you GG the entire country in only 20 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
      • Lexus Kaki on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:00 am

Blame it on the Prime Minister of Malaysia
        ( third nationaL car coming together with cronies Greed and Profits)

Not the other Ministers in the PH cabinet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • Logical Deduction on Jan 18, 2020 at 7:30 am

Without the old crone, we wouldn’t have the old cronies back. Now we suffer yeah

• Bossku Pun Ada Bossnya Sendiri on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:23 am

I blame it on bossku, he was so scared, he left the country to be run by his bini. If he was a real man, at least we won’t be in this mess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • If he was a real man, he wouldn’t have to fear 22 years of his corrupted legacy opened up to be scrutinised. Instead he came and buried his successors just to protect his neck and his childrens daddykasiness.

• M.Faizul on Jan 17, 2020 at 10:43 pm

Bezza in Malaysia – RM35K.
      Bezza in Sri Lanka – RM103K (3.69m rupees)
      Bezza in Singapur – RM183K (S$60,800)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
      • Why So Serious on Jan 18, 2020 at 1:16 am

1993 Kancil – RM15k
        2020 Bezza – RM35k

• Henry F. on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:58 am

1919 Ford Model T: $880
          2019 Ford Mondeo: $28,000

Redicilous!

• Same Type of John on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:33 pm

Harga kereta akan naik sebab geng john songlap duit

• YB Albert kunci kunta on Jan 18, 2020 at 6:17 am

Stupid way to compare.why don’t u compare USA Camry n here..pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • Bezzalia on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:37 am

OK:
          – US has kosong national health service. If you can’t pay, then you’re thrown out of hospital.
          – All US citizens have to pay income tax, even those who live abroads for years. Evading income tax is a crime that is punishable with jail.

I think “US Camry price” lovers like you should be treated like US citizend.

• lorry on Jan 19, 2020 at 12:45 pm

He want to grab the benefits (healthcare) but he want tax-free cars as well. The others shall pay taxes, not him.

• Can I advice you something? on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:28 am

Habis lah all the car companies for cheating the Government about their CKD tax incentives.

Now, you pay the price.

MACC can you please wake up finally?

• Apricot on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:33 pm

Finish Honda Malaysia, even this facelift revealed, especially for upcoming City Turbo also no AEB, no land departure warning and no blind spot monitor. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 40
    • My God paultan team when will you start policing these anti Honda cybertroopers? It’s funny at first but getting old very quickly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
  • Honda Salesman Dont Be Too Jealous on Jan 17, 2020 at 9:35 pm

Malaysians always cheated by DRB Honda. In Japan, Honda HRV got Honda Sensing consists of AEB, Blind Spot Monitor, Land Departure Warning, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and etc plus with good car quality and good aftersales service too!

But for DRB Honda, they sells RM108K to RM123K for Honda HRV without Honda Sensing consists of AEB, Blind Spot Monitor, Land Departure Warning, Rear Cross Traffic Alert that you have missed ! Even Honda DRB assembles Honda Models in Melaka with super low quality!

Somemore, still talking about Honda DRB, Malaysians who owned Honda cars, go to service centers and see. After few weeks later or several days later of taking their Honda cars out from service centers, people felt that still having same big problems and always have to spend spend spend for buying parts without problems solved just like buying new smaller A segment car.

Now you know, This is how stupid Malaysians are. And How DRB Honda can protect the people safety lives when DRB Honda Safety is becoming more riskier to the customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 16
    • Actually not only Malaysians cheated by Honda, Honda also cheated Malaysian Government with under declare. Patutlah DRB kaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Why blame Honda for local tax issues? Honda would surely add the Sensing to HRV, just as it has done with recent Civic, but are you will to pay for it or you all want it Free ?? Safety features should have tax reduction to promote all manufactures to add more safety feature. but don’t bash a single brand, even other brands have safety products that they don’t add to keep their price competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Looks like he was so worried that honda sales is dropping when nobody is touching honda because of issues about quality, services and even selling honda cars with kosong safety specs

• Honda will plummeting sales since most of assembled models are CKD and doesn’t imposed any import duties which are from ASEAN. So this means Honda Sales will lose a lot thanks to price hike and lose to other japanese brands. And even people also will not buy Honda because of quality issues and service issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • MyNewToy on Jan 17, 2020 at 10:33 pm

You can bring CBU from Thailand is cheaper than CKD Malaysia after taxes and better quality and technology.

• shaun on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:10 am

That is why FDI is down in Malaysia
      Most investors are getting out of Malaysia instead of investing

Malaysia is becoming a producer of poor quality goods but selling at Premium prices just what China products are ( low quality but premium prices) couple with poor productivity ( too many holidays , absentie , MC and etc) leading to increase production cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • autodriver (Member) on Jan 20, 2020 at 8:17 am

I can’t comment Malaysia product as it has good and bad quality depend on how much we pay, but for China I could not agree that they are selling Premium prices with low quality. I am in automotive industry and over the years I seeing China product from poor quality and become good quality and yet keeping its low selling price. 5 years ago we are blaming China product is cheap with low quality but now we no longer call it low quality as it improve a lot from the past.

If you don’t believe me you can go China stay for a while to find out poor quality product like car whether it can sell in highly competitive market of China or not.

• CSY ex on Jan 20, 2020 at 10:19 am

You need to travel to China more bro.. See how competitive is their market

• Chris on Jan 17, 2020 at 10:56 pm

So…basically we got screwed by the new government which we hoping to help us to ease the cost of living. Well done PH…well done.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • Matchy on Jan 17, 2020 at 11:20 pm

Why everyone here so obsessed with Honda and keep bashing them? I’m pretty sure other manufacturers such as Toyota will face the same problem. ‍♂️

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 41
    • Hanye on Jan 18, 2020 at 7:54 am

Toyota is cbu Thailand, not ckd. They stand to benefit from this.

• Correction, UMW Toyota has new CKD plant since last year. All CKD models. Stop the blame game on Honda. Please get proper information.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Matchy never understand at all!!!! on Jan 18, 2020 at 8:48 am

Because when Honda Salesman find that latest Mazda models have more tech and more sleeker, they always bash Mazda, especially for Proton (when Proton X70 have more tech and more safety features) too as their sales will lose out to other Japanese brands which they forced customers to buy Honda. But mostly customers will buy other brands including other japanese rivals instead buying Honda anymore because aftersales service and product quality is terrible. So you need to understand this? This is not Mazda problem’s, Proton’s problem, Toyota’s problem, BMW’s problem and etc. It is only their Honda’s problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • Sad when ignorant butt-hurt bashers talk non-sense. All cars have problems, even P2 and Mazda have problems. So please inform yourself properly and not listen to garbage social media news…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Basically, Honda will be higher since most of assembled are CKD and doesn’t imposed any import duties from ASEAN. For other japanese brands which also imported from ASEAN, they will also affect too but not much because severals models like Mazda CX-30, Camry, Altis, Starex Royale, Avanza, Mazda 2, Navara Top Spec, Leaf and others are from CBU.

• engineer on Jan 17, 2020 at 11:23 pm

PH should just resign if they decide to implement this. So much cost cutting, and tax increasing. In the end what do we even get? Didn’t expect to be such a burden on the people, might as well we vote back BN. Useless minister of finance with his so called Ivy league grads advising him. Useless. Shame on you all PH politicians. Righteous my ass. Just as dumb as BN. God bless the future of this country with both sides having idiots as leaders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • firdaus on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:10 am

calling John…calling John….
    PH/Proton supporter John….where are u?

• Party Hard screwed the pipu n country. I told u pipu so b4 GE14. Now everyone suffer

• Its dr m’s way of screwing up his PH partners. The extra money from taxes will be used to create that 3rd car.

• shibby on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:38 am

Those who voted for ‘new malaysia’, please pat yourselves at the back , take a bow , clap your hands and smile…..

beribu ribu tahniah

• It’s about time to do that

Every year perodua record sales.. thousands of new cars flood the road every month..

Congestion getting crazier.. stupid inconsiderate drivers Everywhere now.. time to stop it, hike the price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Xoxox on Jan 18, 2020 at 8:20 am

This is the stupidest move ever done by government. If the CKD price increase due to readjustment of tax, it will chase away all the CKD automotive industry…That why a lot car manufacturer invest in Thai instead of Malaysia. It will even cause the situation worst..Good luck with this move. Unemployment rate will shot sky high..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • PDW7257 on Jan 18, 2020 at 8:46 am

Aaaa…. has this G gone bonkers!!!

• kelappa on Jan 18, 2020 at 9:01 am

The goal of the finance ministry seems to be that manufacturers shall close down operations in Malaysia and supply the malaysian market from Thailand or Philippines then.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:06 pm

Some has suspected that PH was a foreign agent/puppet propped up by slush funds to destabilize and deeconomized malaysia. This latest act doesn’t get any clearer to confirm that suspicion.

Like the US House of Rep is trying to impeach Trump as a Russian influenced agent, it is high time we need to see how we can impeach the entire PH Government as a foreign influenced agent.

• Kerajaan sepenggal… betul lah orang cakap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Gabriel on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:26 am

Pakatan’s promises car price will drop since 2012 (https://paultan.org/2012/08/16/pkr-launches-turunkan-harga-kereta-campaign/), now after coming in power, car prices increase instead. Well-done Pakatan, well done.

Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me. I know where my vote will go next round.

• Old promise on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:50 pm

That’s pakatan rakyat’s manifesto for GE13. Not part of PH manifesto (buku harapan) for GE14. Still, not many promises delivered. Instead, making our lives more difficult.

• Bezzalia on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:29 am

A step in the right direction! The sale of imported cars, be it CKD or CBU should be banned outright! Only hardworking gouvernment officials should be allowed to drive Accords and Verfires, the average citizen should be glad with the Bezza.

• Henry on Jan 18, 2020 at 10:49 am

This is how you kill an economy which is already half dead.

• Sensors on cars must be mandatory.

Business is about profit.

That’s Honda Malaysia peoples are genius, since Malaysia do not have such law, why they need to install on theirs cars? Charity?

Government is to take care rakyat.

This blame must go back to your MPs. They should take care of you.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 18, 2020 at 11:59 am

Wow rakyat have to give bigger angpow to government leh. Already we dirt poor now government add extra cost to us they really want to be sacked in the next election so badly izzit. Initially I was told up to 5% increase by sales reps late last year but now it’s bloody 10-15%. I think we better start walking to work lah like that. Can bring down obesity in our country.

• Chavez on Jan 20, 2020 at 9:27 am

Car companies and Abam2 kastam worked in cahoots Under declared Taxes for 35Year , rakyat Msia lost RM300 TrillioN in Ckd taxes to crooks.

Govt cleaned up rotten Rubbish work done by BN.

• gracke on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Rubbish goverment until now still not allowing EV to come in and now wanna rise up some more 15% for CKD!!! What the hell, totally not fair at all!

• Robinhood on Jan 18, 2020 at 12:27 pm

The govt reduced the toll and then later increase the taxes on cars. Smart decision of the govt on the expense of the rakyat!!! We will remember this in the coming GE!!!

• Gibran Khan on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:30 pm

The government now must recoup the taxes lost with 40 yrs of cheating with under declared cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Fordist on Jan 18, 2020 at 3:05 pm

And so what? Rakyat untung from 40 years of lower car prices, but now? Rakyat has to suffer for PH mismanagement of 20 months.

• Greatest speculative news. If so, welcome to sales slump! That’s the fun part.

• Prince of the Earth on Jan 18, 2020 at 2:57 pm

when you steal and declare a lower sum, karma will come and bite you eventually

• LGE & M must resign on Jan 18, 2020 at 5:07 pm

No wonder la mazda hesitates to produce CKD models. This gomen is beyond clueless. Economic effect will be damaging. Less corp taxes, less fdi, less production output, less job opportunities.

• ionlaw on Jan 18, 2020 at 5:31 pm

Speculation by car companies to drive up the sales.

• Erwan on Jan 18, 2020 at 5:45 pm

Ni semua sebab takde GST, what sort of nonsense to make things worst

• Bamkai on Jan 18, 2020 at 6:22 pm

Ahh just in time for the comments :D

• Worry not my fellow citizens. Come GE15, we will give a decisive victory to those whose manifesto making sure car prices go down, not up. And a painful lesson to liars.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 19, 2020 at 12:28 am

But will we still have a country to save come GE15? I worry PH will ruin us to the point of near collapse before we can kick them out.

• If so, I don’t see how our upcoming car brand can ‘live’ in our small country. Wanna buy car also hard hmm pindah la ceni.

• 7yearsfd1 on Jan 18, 2020 at 7:12 pm

Guys, imagine we ALL delay our next car purchase for a whole year

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 20, 2020 at 10:00 am

nice idea. but most probably quite a lot already fail by this month due to cny want new car to show off….we havent even passed hari raya and deepavali also

• Price Hike.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 19, 2020 at 10:07 am

Guys this is the era of economic warfare. When the buying stops, all policies will U turn to help increase sales by reducing car prices. Let 2020 be the year the rakyat teach whoever the govt of the day is a great lesson not to bully the rakyat. I bet u if sales plummet by month 6, all out panic will happen as the govt revenue will be severely affected. No need to shout or curse others. Just keep quiet & refrain from buying.

• You think? Govt will simply just increase personal income taxes, SST rate, and any duties they can increase to cover the shortfall. There is no escaping the wrath of PH unless we voted them out, but that is a long time away. Prepare to just suffer yea.

• john is otak batu on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:39 pm

I’m with u Brader!!!! Let’s boycott car sales!

• john is otak batu on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:39 pm

I’m with u Brader!!!! Let’s boycott car sales 2020
      !

• kantoi liao on Jan 19, 2020 at 12:11 pm

dulu masa bn, kalian jerit jerit Mana 30%, sekarang kamu jadi kerajaan, kamu cakap Naik pula.. APA dah berlaku ??? sepatut turunkan harga, lebih orang beli. lebih production. lebih dijual, kerajaan dapat lebih income Dan toll dapat lebih.

• BETUL2 KENA KENCING LAH NI…MALU PULAK AKU DGN PENYOKONG UMNO.. NATANGGG

• Tukar on Jan 19, 2020 at 7:25 pm

Guys, is time to change or revert back. You know what I mean.

• Bodoh nya nobita nih…

• Akira on Jan 20, 2020 at 8:41 am

Habis lah PH.
    One term only confirm!

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jan 20, 2020 at 9:05 am

This news means everything price up up up since almost all Cars in malaysia is CKD. Even our proton and perodua also CKD. So much for cheaper car.

• 25yrsOld on Jan 20, 2020 at 9:50 am

cars is just a clothe, not a status.
    our goverment are gila kuasa.

dont like rakyat able to own a comfortable and fuel saving foreign cars. X70 is an alternative but it drink fuels like water, speed only 11secs to 100km/h.

• John doe on Jan 20, 2020 at 10:50 am

Seems to me Pakatan Harapan got harapan busuk for Rakyat. They are on the right track to be overthrown in GE15. Bunch of Idiot buffoon lunatics. We should all try to stop buying new cars for the next year or so.

• newme on Jan 20, 2020 at 11:10 am

And they need a post-mortem to find out why they lost so many by-elections.

• vivizurianti on Jan 20, 2020 at 11:13 am

Please give a “self-syoik moments” for PH. Probably first and last for them.

• wattafak on Jan 20, 2020 at 12:26 pm

for those who waiting the x70 ckd & x50 better get a myvi instead..just expect x70 price will be close to 100k thanks to this stupid tax..thanks also to the cronies who run from tax and still beg rakyat to pay more tax

• Tom T on Jan 20, 2020 at 2:46 pm

Typical Tun M way, support national car but all other car kena high gao gao tax. That why 90s, and 00s zaman tun majority car is proton car

• dong gor on Jan 20, 2020 at 4:08 pm

we know we’re in a lot of debt.
    we know government needs the money desperately.
    HOWEVER, a capable government does not only look at how to squeeze the money out of their ppl. Look beyond malaysia and bring in the money from else where MAN!!! there’s only this much of money malaysians have. and we have paid a lot a lot since many years ago and deserved to be spared!

• A gomen that constantly talks about debts and needing money desperately won’t be buying Velfires and Accords for themselves using taxpayer money, unless they are really talking about needing the money to buy these cars. So rakyat suffers with increased car prices while PH ministers rides in luxury? Does that tell you a capabled or incapabled gomen?

• newme on Jan 20, 2020 at 4:44 pm

If the people can kick the gov out because of GST, they are more than happy to do it again.

• Fauzi on Jan 20, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Bloody hell…CBU already expensive…now CKD also going to cost more…this govt will fk you left and right…