2020 Honda City recalled in Thailand, deliveries halted

The fifth-generation Honda City was launched in Thailand in late November last year, and barely two months since its debut, the B-segment sedan is now being recalled in the Kingdom.

According to a report by IndianAutosBlog, the issue involves a fault with the car’s window run channel, which is a rubber strip that runs around the windows of the car. The issue has since prompted the company to ask its Thai dealers to halt deliveries of the City and even call back units which have been delivered while it investigates the matter.

In Thailand, the City is produced at Honda’s assembly plant in Rojana Industrial Park in Ayutthaya, with the issue said to affect only the first batch of cars coming from there. For now, there’s no timeline shared by Honda for fixing the problem.

The Thailand-spec City is priced from 579,500 baht (RM77,534), with four variants – S, V, SV and RS – offered to customers there. All versions feature a 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 122 PS and 173 Nm of torque, which is paired to a CVT that drives the front wheels.

Underneath the entirely new bodywork, the sedan shares the same platform with the fourth-generation Jazz, and has revised dimensions. The new car is 113 mm longer (4,553 mm), 53 mm wider (1,748 mm) than its predecessor, but with a 10 mm decrease in height (1,467 mm) and a wheelbase that is 11 mm shorter (2,589 mm).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Datuk on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:43 pm

every few years, Honda runs into major problems.
    give and take if you trust Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
    • Not Honda dream on Jan 20, 2020 at 10:45 pm

The power of worst QUALITY.. Just a few months away after launched.. Honda BOLEH and time to restructure and replace all your Quality Assurance/ Control Dept..

Think more about quality instead of sales target..

• Chuk Chuck on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:48 pm

Not only Honda City problems, even quality for Honda product models also have problem too. Just like for DRB Honda, Honda product model also got problem and service quality is terrible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 17
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:20 pm

That tells you Honda car problems didn’t come because of DRB. Our local abang-abangs had been absolved. Good job Honda Thailand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:00 pm

I hate how the doors are bare metal at the top half in the previous generation City, the one we currently have in Malaysia as of January 2020

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • kenot on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:29 am

maybe honda wants to tell the public, city is entry level car. they cut cost at a certain points.

• Celup King on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:00 pm

What’s this?! Recalled as soon as being on sale?! OMG! And this followed Civic FC that was recalled prior to going on sale. I am shocked by how dishonest Japan can be, treating us as lab rats to test their products. Now I understand why they don’t launch the car back in their homeland. They wanted us to test their cars and not endanger their own people.

How irresponsible can they be? We must boycott all them unscrupulous Japan brands that treats us like test subjects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
    • Fjdhd on Jan 21, 2020 at 5:15 am

Dei calm down. It was a rubber strip not the airbag

• German VW is worst. every model not tested at all. All spoil in consumers hand. And continue to churn out same untested models,.

• Sochiro on Jan 20, 2020 at 8:15 pm

2020 starts with “Hondagate”.

• Truckers on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:19 am

As 2017 was Toyotagate
      So was 2018 was Nissangate
      And now 2020 is Hondagate

Can we still trust these japanese brands?

• azrai on Jan 21, 2020 at 8:38 am

Power of Dreaming.

• Whattttttt on Jan 21, 2020 at 9:18 am

Whats new..typical Honda neglecting quality for customer to pay them back later after sale. Tell that to current civic hrv and brv owners

• applegreen on Jan 21, 2020 at 9:35 am

Honda..the power of dreams. Quality wise? In your dream

• FireAce on Jan 21, 2020 at 10:04 am

Anyone know why such as serious recall & stop sales order for a mere “car’s window run channel” problem?

The only thing I can think of is this problem will caused the car windows glass to blow/shatter really easily and cause serious injury (i.e. When you slam the door when closing.)

• bezzalina on Jan 21, 2020 at 3:20 pm

So when it ‘only’ cause serious injury, then you think it shouldn’t be recalled? You’re the dream customer of the car industry.

• These are the kind of customers Perodua targets at. You see Alza problem of flying rear axles and yet they don’t do any recalls because it ‘didn’t kill anyone’. That is how irresponsible of Perodua and yet people still buys their cars. So Perodua is just feeding of the stupidity, short memories, and ignorance of the people.

• Padulkamikup on Jan 27, 2020 at 1:04 am

Honda will never success on turbo engine. Just continue on their big vtec engine across all models.

• All this turbocharging just reduces the life of the engine. If you want a turbocharged car to last long, disconnect the EGR and reflash the ECU.