Ford has agreed to settle a class-action lawsuit in the United States with nearly two million owners – and former owners – of Focus and Fiesta vehicles equipped with its troubled DPS6 PowerShift dual-clutch transmission, as The Detroit Free Press reports.
The lawsuit, first filed in 2012, alleged that Ford knowingly sold cars with defective DPS6 (or 6DCT250) transmissions to unsuspecting buyers and then blamed the drivers for the problems they experienced. Last July, the publication revealed internal Ford documents and e-mails, which showed that the company knew the transmissions were defective from the start, but continued building and selling them anyway.
Customers claimed in legal filings that their 2012-16 production third-gen C346 Focus and 2011-16 production B299 Fiesta vehicles had defective transmissions that were prone to “shuddering, slipping, bucking, jerking, hesitation while changing gears, premature internal wear, delays in downshifting and, in some cases, sudden or delayed acceleration.”
The automaker has tried repeatedly to repair the vehicles. In 2014, it extended the warranties on transmission-related parts to seven years and 160,000 km (100,000 miles) on Focus and Fiesta models built before mid-2013. Following the July news report, it extended the warranty to also cover 2014-16 Focus and 2014-15 Fiesta models.
In its proposed agreement, Ford is offering a guaranteed commitment of US$30 million (RM122.5 million) in cash reimbursement to consumers who have a record of multiple failed transmission repairs within five years of buying their cars or 96,000 km (60,000 miles).
The company will also come up with a simplified buyback program for defective vehicles as well as an easier process for former owners and people who leased the cars to get compensated.
Ford had offered an earlier agreement in which the payout was estimated at US$35 million (RM142.8 million), with no minimum required payout. That earlier agreement also required car owners to give the company a final chance to repair vehicles before going to arbitration, but that prerequisite has been dropped in the new settlement. The case is set to be heard on February 28 for final approval.
The payout could exceed US$100 million (RM408.25 million), according to a lawyer who helped broker the deal on behalf of owners. There would be no cap, and the automaker will have to pay out until people are done filing their claims.
The automaker also revealed that between October 2017 and the end of 2019, it spent around US$47.47 million (RM193.8 million) to buy back 2,666 defective Focus and Fiesta vehicles through a voluntary arbitration programme. There was no word on how the company is approaching the issue in other markets globally where the affected Focus and Fiesta models were also sold.
damn son. what about malaysia?
What happens in USA stays in USA. At least Ford is more responsible to compensate customers on their DCT problems unlike a famous German brand that was facing even more problems with their DSG and yet got off scot-free.
Porsche’s PDK ka?
DSG7(dry) no problem
This is why Ford failed in Malaysia big time. All their models always got breakdown problems.
They can only survive on the Ranger
Not only now it is proven tha tthe Fiesta and Focus is No 1 Problematic car, it is also a well known fact that you have to wait 3 months for any parts.
Be prepared to take the Len Seng bus to work for 3 months whilst your car is in the workshop.
Audi’s S-tronic?
Skoda Dsg or SEAT dsg?
Guys above, you know these are all derivatives from the father user of DSG of course.
That’s the point xD
My Focus stall 5 times. Gearbox kena tukar. SDAC deny anything wrong
Khamis. SDAC has nothing to do with your Perodua gearbox breakdown. Of course they would deny any responsibility. And yeah, we know your the Perodua troller.
Father user of dual clutch? Lots of manufacturer esp those sports or premium….lambo, porsche, audi, beemer, merc…..now even proton/geely moving to dual clutch….dct are esp great for sporty driving wt lightning fast shifting..kimchi & japs are also starting to use this
stay away from ALL Ford cars in msia except ranger
RV sure jatuh now!!!!!!! Gone lah in mudah for 1 year minimum
R u sure they compensated customer? my car last time tersadai 3 months with no replacement car nor discount..i have to pay in full amount!!! made complaint and they ignored –
Yar, they only able to claim those “Quality Issue” part for us but not “Design Issue” part like the gear box.
Quality issues are also related to gearbox if you can prove it.
Ford is not responsible, they lost the lawsuit. Is this so diffecult to understand for you?
In USA, settlement doesn’t mean admitting guilt and neither does the other party can outright say they won. Since this is a court mediated ruling, it is likely a compromise between both parties where there is no real winners or losers. So nope, Ford didn’t admit guilt nor lost the case.
u have ford?
Malaysia macam mana? Any compensation?
u have ford?
Forr was duped by German engineers to use DCT.I remember Ford brag that Fiesta had a touch of German Engineering in their ads
The Fiesta sold worldwide was designed and developed by Ford Europe so it had a lot of Continental influence inc the DCT gb, yeah in the end Ford took back car development and now this is done back in USA. They learnt their lesson.
Fiesta and Focus are now deveoped in the US? Where you have this nonsense from?
The new Fords are clearly inspired by Mustang design which was a US exclusive car. Open your eyes and see.
Another fake news from an owner worried RV is collapsing
If you care about RV, go buy a house instead. Shoo!
“and now this is done back in USA. They learnt their lesson. ”
737max is designed in the USA too. A good example of design made in USA.
From failures comes success? Like the rebirth with the recent new 777X
777X? The one where the wing broke of during tests?
Broke off? Link or just fake news.
Boeing rebirth? Link or just fake news.
The plane itself has no issues, only the software which was developed in Israel. Is Israel a part of USA? Maybe all that Trump talk makes you believed it is true.
The plane itself is from the 1960’s. Boeing’s US-designers simply mounted engines that are much too big for the plane and tried to compensate by software. And that failed with hundrets of deaths.
I’m gonna call bull on that. The plane was 60’s design so it is sound. The issue with the crashes ain’t coming from the engines but from the software erroneous reading and controls.
According to Boeing’s chief test pilot, the 737max is a “plane designed by clowns”.
Q: “How do you recognize a designer from the USA?”
A: “That’s easy. They wear read noses, colorful clothes and big shoes”
Those cars were nice on paper. Well specced and nicely designed. Should have been a revival for ford in msia. A false dawn indeed.
100 million only? Cheating seems to be cheaper for US-companies?
Syukur that Ford cars in Malaysia have no similar problem……or ford owners had been taken for a ride?
sapa ckp takda problem…ford owner je tahu!!! banyak tersadai di workshop! and im one of the onwer!
In possession of one of the earliest Fiestas in M’sia. After fixing the gearbox and clutch, the car runs perfectly since. Sounds silly but it is a great car to drive. It’s 9 years old and 175k km on the clock. Parts replacement included the fuel pump, shocks, electric fan, batteries and some fixtures, otherwise pretty routine replacements. Starts first time every time and no scary sounds whatsoever.
Thank you for that insightful and real user experience. Unlike all that BSing Japanese fanboys here keep repeating fake news of Ford cars.
Been using my Fiesta for daily commuting for 7 years plus. No issues after changing to the latest revision of the clutch pack. Avoid creeping at traffic jams and slow moving traffic.
could not agree more, if no traffic jams, the car is enjoyable to drive. a very nimble and fun car to drive. Mine already 6 years old, change the DCT on the warranty on the 3rd year. so far ok lah juddering still there nevertheless.
Malaysian buyers must unite and saman ford malaysia in this case SDAC la and use the US case as precedence.
haha
If US cases can be used as precedence here, I would like us to impeach PH Gomen for not telling the truth about their fake promises in winning GE14. I wish that could happen.
Rarely hard to find ford cars now. All pupus except ford ranger.
Thankfully the Ranger is designed by Thais and not “clown designers” (quote: Boeing chief test pilot) from the USA.
I been using fiesta all it have gave me is problems and problems got salary repair the car.
We need replacement in Malaysia too. U need to settle our Malaysian fiesta and focus issue also
If u can sell the car then u must know how to solve our problems also.