Toll fares on PLUS highways reduced by 18% from Feb 1 – no change in rates until concession ends in 2058

As agreed under the terms of its concession extension, PLUS has announced that it will implement the 18% reduction in toll rates as defined by the government on all its highways from midnight on February 1 (Saturday). Highways and tolled routes operated by the concessionaire that will see the toll reduction are the:

• North-South Expressway (NSE)
  • New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE)
  • North-South Expressway Central Link (ELITE)
  • Malaysia-Singapore Second Crossing (LINKEDUA)
  • Seremban-Port Dickson Highway (SPDH)
  • Butterworth – Kulim Expressway (BKE)
  • East-Coast Expressway 2 (LPT2)
  • Penang Bridge (PB)

New fares for closed system toll collection, for passenger vehicles (Class 1), taxis (Class 4) and buses (Class 5). Click to enlarge.

The lower rates come as part of PLUS’ renewed concession on all of its highways, which has been extended from 2038 to 2058. The company will continue maintaining and operating the roads without relying on the government.

The toll reduction will cover all passenger vehicles (Class 1), taxis (Class 4) and buses (Class 5) and will remain unchanged until the concession ends. While toll fares for lorries (Classes 2 & 3) remain unchanged, PLUS said that the rates will not be increased until the end of the concession in 2058.

New fares for open system toll collection, for passenger vehicles (Class 1), taxis (Class 4) and buses (Class 5). Click to enlarge.

Some of the new toll rates were listed in a series of tables provided by the concessionaire, with major stretches highlighted. As of tomorrow, those in a passenger vehicle making the drive to KLIA from Petaling Jaya via the Damansara toll plaza will pay RM6.07 for a one-way trip compared to RM7.40 previously. On the NSE, one way travel on the Jalan Duta-Juru stretch, which used to cost RM43.30, will now cost RM35.51.

Elsewhere, customers passing through the Tanjung Kupang Toll Plaza at the Malaysia-Singapore Second Crossing Highway (Linkedua) will also enjoy the toll reduction in addition to the off-peak discounts for all passenger (Class 1) and taxi (Class 4) and bus (Class 5) vehicles.

The toll reduction will also cover passenger (Class 1), taxi (Class 2) and bus (Class 3, 4 and 5) vehicles at the Penang Bridge toll plaza. Class 2 vehicles registered with PLUS and those working and residing in Penang will enjoy the 18% reduction on top of the existing 20% discount.

Despite the 18% toll reduction, PLUS said it remains committed to offer better highway services for its customers. These include aspects of its highway operations and maintenance as well as travelling experience on its highways.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Myvi1.5s on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:08 pm

This is akin to extending your car loan… Pay less but more months. In the end you end up paying more. Penny wise pound foolish. Gomen untong rakyat rugi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Leong on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:59 pm

Have you done the calculations? Mine proved otherwise, in total still got substantial savings, even without considering the inflation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
      • Toll Abolish Janji Mana? on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:34 am

Have you calculations included your parents generation paying the tolls, your generation paying the tolls, and your children’s generation paying the tolls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Azman Malek on Feb 02, 2020 at 10:44 am

Always complaining. Everything is not good enough. That’s why even marriage also, cari lebih and quick to talak. Not contended with anything in life.

• JOACHIM on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:40 pm

Free movement of people is a right, so having barriers and tolls are against human rights. Why are you against human rights? Are you even human?

• Avenger on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:52 pm

@Joachim. If he has no respect for human rights, he might just be very sick person or a computer bot and I’m not sure which is worse.

• If you stand by your calculations, why don’t you post it here for scrutiny?

• Your maths obviously failed big time.
        The right question is did you go to the right school?

• Sohai on Feb 02, 2020 at 9:33 pm

Have you consider this is not even the first extension given to PLUS?
        And why so not transparent when it comes to other bidders and what they offer?

• X70Wet on Feb 01, 2020 at 12:32 am

Better buy Birkin handbag. Gomen rugi rakyat rugi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Tiade Harapan on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:32 pm

This is like the story… ok, I promise give you free lunch today but u need to pick me as the winner…ok, fine, I am the winner now so I am the boss and I can’t give you free lunch, I can only give a discount of 18%, take it or leave it! Next GE pls….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • tiadaid on Feb 01, 2020 at 12:09 pm

Same2 here…

Better gomen used the cash gips more subsidi and handouts to us the majoriti, and bayar hutang 1MDB. Pump primed local ekonomi sat..

• vivizurianti on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:30 am

Last time grandparent pays toll. Now, parents, their kids will pay toll.

The govt screws many generations of Malaysian.

• C.P. MOHAN on Feb 01, 2020 at 11:58 am

Overall a good deal e.g maintenance and upkeep. Promises are not always good overall thus need a second-look or review, anyway PLUS is for ALL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Noname on Feb 01, 2020 at 9:57 pm

Of so many tolled highway, NSE is one of the highway that I’d happily pay even at the previous rate. They have good services and constantly upkeep the roads.

Now the one that should reduce or remove are highways like kesas or ldp. Congested most of the time, and maintenance are subpar.

• If kesas and ldp removes tolls, what do you think will happen with regards to daily traffic levels?

Reduce or increase?

• jinggo on Feb 03, 2020 at 10:33 am

u should try the NSE during festive season.. hahahaha

• vivizurianti on Feb 03, 2020 at 4:35 pm

Abolishing toll in Malaysia is like asking a fish to live without water.