PLUS 18% toll reduction confirmed, commences Feb 1

The government has put down the terms of PLUS Malaysia’s concession extension in writing, with the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) confirming that motorists will enjoy an 18% decrease in toll rates as part of the move, starting from as early as February 1.

In a press release, the administration said that under the 20-year extension, the highway concessionaire will cut rates on the North-South Expressway, North Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE), North–South Expressway Central Link (ELITE), Malaysia-Singapore Second Link (LINKEDUA), East Coast Expressway (ECE) Phase 2, Seremban-Port Dickson Highway (SPDH), Butterworth-Kulim Expressway (BKE) and the Penang Bridge.

The PMO gave the example of the toll rate on the North-South Expressway, which will drop from 13.6 sen per kilometre to 11.15 sen per kilometre – lower than the 1999 rate of 11.24 sen per kilometre. This means that a drive from Jalan Duta to Alor Setar will cost RM45.50 instead of RM55.50, while a journey from Jalan Duta to Skudai will cost RM38.50 instead of the existing RM47.

As mentioned before, the lower rates come as part of PLUS’ renewed concession on all of its highways, which have been extended from 2038 to 2058 – enabling the company to continue maintaining and operating the roads without relying on the government. This also ensures that there will be no toll hikes for the next 38 years (until the end of the concession), negating the rising rates afforded under the previous deals.

In addition, the reduction comes without any compensation from the government, and in fact the latter will no longer have to pay anything to PLUS, saving it an estimated RM42 billion throughout the concession period. The PMO said that PLUS will continue to be the operator of its highways and hold all of its liabilities and assets, and will manage the costs of highway operation and maintenance on its own. Khazanah Nasional and the Employment Provident Fund (EPF) will remain shareholders of PLUS.

The PMO said the cabinet’s decision follows more than a year of research and deliberation by a number of agencies, including the works ministry, finance ministry and the ministry of economic affairs. It also said the cabinet has evaluated and considered various proposals that have been offered, in order to make the best decision for all parties, including the people.

The government is said to be confident that the decision will provide manifold benefits to the people by ensuring a reduction in tolls while keeping PLUS in a good financial standing. It promises that the RM42 billion it saved will now be used for other initiatives that will benefit the people. The toll rate reduction, said the PMO, is subject to the approval of PLUS shareholders.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Toll Abolish Janji Mana? on Jan 20, 2020 at 11:33 am

As above. Another janji capati?

• 2015 Exora on Jan 20, 2020 at 7:15 pm

Highway get toll hike.

https://paultan.org/2015/10/12/12-highways-get-toll-rate-hike-highest-at-rm1-10/

• lilytan on Jan 20, 2020 at 11:40 am

Toll reduction and scrapping toll is not the same. Alzheimer perhaps?

• No. PH has invented the politics of UTURNism. In private practice, it is called a Ponzi Scam, this doesn’t have the same breath and scale of UTURNism scam.

• Same as payment for house loan, if you reduce a bit but getting longer duration payment. In the end, we have longer duration to pay toll road instead of 2038 all road free. Now 2058 only tol free.

• lilytan on Jan 21, 2020 at 9:42 am

Yeah. How about reducing toll by 99% and extending concession for another 1000 years. That would be better.

• Anonymous on Jan 21, 2020 at 10:33 am

But… with an 18% discount… the toll collection should extend from 18years to a mere extra 3 and a half years making it 21 and a half years in total and not 38years…!

TunM and PH Govt taking people for a ride.

• Copy Paste on Jan 20, 2020 at 11:49 am

Copy paste:
    Minyak mahal
    Kereta mahal
    Tol mahal
    Kos sara mahal
    Gaji minimum naik kecik mana Rm1500
    Subsidi yelek
    BRIM yelek
    Cakap jaga rakyat saja banyak tapi usaha yelek
    Jaga poket diri je yg banyak.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 20, 2020 at 12:02 pm

Janji abolish toll broken.
    Janji RM1.50 petrol broken.
    Janji petrol targeted subsidy broken.
    Janji reduce car prices broken.
    Janji reduce cost of living broken.
    Janji they fulfilled is buy luxury Toyota Velfire and Honda Accord for ministers using taxpayer money while rakyat suffers.
    Janji me no more cuz no PH no cry.

• azrai on Jan 20, 2020 at 12:09 pm

Rakyat don’t care. They want BN back, especially DSN. Malaysia Baru but still rakyat lama.

• Einstein on Jan 20, 2020 at 12:24 pm

Oh na na, just be careful, na na
    Governing ain’t simple, na na
    Promise me no promises (promise me)
    Oh na na, just be careful, na na
    Governing ain’t simple, na na
    Promise me no promises, no
    Promise me no promises
    Don’t you promise me nothing
    Promise me, me, me, me
    Just be careful
    Promise me no promises
    So where your promise me to abolish tolls?

• Pyraxle on Jan 20, 2020 at 12:25 pm

Toll turun 18%, CKD cars naik 15%. Hebatt government kita

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 20, 2020 at 12:34 pm

Terima kasih gomen PH ! tenkiu PLUS!!

i. Tol reduction 18% !
    ii. No toll hike for the next 38 years !

iii. Government no longer have to pay anything to PLUS, saving RM42 Billion!!

iv. Living cost lower 18%.. Jom balik kampong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 20, 2020 at 12:34 pm

Terima kasih gomen PH ! tenkiu PLUS!!

i. Tol reduction 18% !
    ii. No toll hike for the next 38 years !

iii. Government no longer have to pay anything to PLUS, saving RM42 Billion!!

v. Living cost lower 18%.. Jom balik kampong!

• 3 vw car in single shot? so many vw. malaysian never learn

• Woohooo happy CNY gais! Best G eva!!

• msia driver on Jan 20, 2020 at 12:52 pm

why not start on this week for CNY ?? fff u gov and PLUS

• Mark Cheng on Jan 20, 2020 at 12:57 pm

PH one term government confirmed, commences 2023.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:41 pm

If we could have impeach PH gomen for all the broken promises, maybe in 2020/21 we could end their short stay in power.

• aieazri on Jan 20, 2020 at 3:34 pm

“The toll rate reduction, said the PMO, is subject to the approval of PLUS shareholders.”

Let’s hope this will materialize.
    1. Reduced toll rates for users
    2. Guaranteed no price hike for 38 years (with no penalty imposed to the government)
    3. Khazanah and EPF remained as primary shareholders

Bravo PH. Good news hardly come by these days.

Pls replicate this to other highways as well.

• Same L0rr on Jan 20, 2020 at 4:13 pm

Now i know what is CAPATI..

• vivizurianti on Jan 21, 2020 at 1:56 pm

Today, PH govt screwed the Rakyat big time. This time, even longer.

• Afif Fathie on Jan 22, 2020 at 9:26 am

Sabar, kita ikutkan ja perkembangan semasa dri kerajaan, bukan nak sokong mana2 pihak, one day its become rotten, kita as rakyat ubah balik, bukan senang actually nk jdi pemimpin. Tanggungjawab mmg kna laksanakan. Tapi kita jgnlah menilai dgn hnya melihat dan menunding. Kita kna pham situasi skrng yg dgn economy ngra yg sgt merunsing. We dont seat in the same chair. Setakat ygblh dibuat oleh mrka kita syukur ja. Ada yg lebih baik dn atau sebaliknya kita mungkin x tahu. Yg penting Malaysia kita masih aman dn harmoni. Bersyukurlah. Tu bnda yg pling besar nikmat Tuhan berikan.