G20 BMW 330e plug-in hybrid launched in Thailand, RM370k – replaces petrol 330i in local model line-up

The G20 BMW 330e plug-in hybrid has made its market debut in Thailand, the car going on sale in locally-assembled form as an M Sport version, priced at 2.769 million baht (RM370,000). It replaces the petrol 330i – which debuted in February 2019, priced at 3.329 million baht (RM444,000) – in the local model range, and joins the 320d M Sport diesel as the available G20 offerings in line-up, The Bangkok Post reports.

Malaysia, meanwhile, is still awaiting the arrival of the new 330e, which went on sale in Europe last August. Earlier this month, it was reported that BMW Malaysia has said that it is keen to introduce the 3 Series PHEV variant this year, but no definite timelines were mentioned. This is of course an advancement from that offered last year, in which it was said that the introduction of the 330e and G05 X5 sDrive45e was not an absolute certainty.

The G20 330e uses an updated version of the B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, which offers 184 hp and 300 Nm. The mill is paired with a 50 kW (68 PS) electric motor and a ZF eight-speed automatic gearbox, and combined system output is 248 hp (252 PS) and 420 Nm of torque, with an XtraBoost feature providing an extra 40 hp (41 PS) temporarily under acceleration.

A larger 12 kWh lithium-ion battery has nearly doubled the all-electric range, which now sits at up to 60 km. Performance figures include a zero-to-100 km/h sprint time of 6.0 seconds and a top speed of 230 km/h, a slight increase over the F30 version.

GALLERY: G20 BMW 330e in Munich

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• “We can be the first capital city with mass and private transportation using autonomous and electric vehicles. We will build it that way so everything can be efficient and cheap,” he added.

Cheap?

• Parti Pintu Belakang Malaysia (PPBM) on Feb 28, 2020 at 3:53 pm

Everyone is moving towards EV. Infact by 2035, Whole of Europe will be fully EV. That is not long more. Just 15 years more.

In Malaysia, because of lembap NAP, NEP and Affirmative Policy, we cannot plan well our automotive road map.

Biggest joke is that, if the world is moving towards EV, Proton and P2 is still producing combustion engines….who will they export it to?

Proton syiok sendiri said they are going to export big time next 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Celup King on Feb 28, 2020 at 4:57 pm

Don’t talk about syiok sendiri. I am still waiting for your own syiok sendiri talking Kenari Hybrid. Perodua have been syiok sendiri talking about their hybrid car since 2003. 17 years later, they got overtaken to use Daihatsu hybrid technology by DreamEdge. Only left for Perodua syiok sendiri talking until they gameover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • Abang2 Sheraton on Feb 28, 2020 at 5:34 pm

You have always said Kenari is foreign car maker but Proton is local National Car maker. So, this is why Malaysians are waiting for Proton to launch their EV

Mana EV Iriz weiiii?

• Big difference mate. Perodua promised Kenari Hybrid will be on sale while Proton said Iriz EV would be sold only when there is sufficient demand.

• Abang2 Sheraton on Feb 28, 2020 at 5:35 pm

Also, Perodua never taken bailout. Proton taken RM20 billion bailout.

The least they can do is repay the rakyat with an EV car.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 02, 2020 at 2:18 pm

So why have you been harping for a brand to sell EVs and hybrids, if you knew the battery replacement is going to be expensive? You sound like someone intending for our rakyat to go bankrupt. Such traitorous intent!

• Abang2 Sheraton on Feb 28, 2020 at 4:59 pm

The pricing is more expensive than Malaysia. This shows Malaysia car pricing is so reasonable and affordable.

• Calvin on Feb 28, 2020 at 5:36 pm

So someone was lying to us all along we had 60 years of expensive car prices. I cannot trust what he said anymore.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:05 pm

Tolak overpriced D-Segments, Tolak Price Hike!

• Angry Voters on Feb 28, 2020 at 6:08 pm

Agreed. 60 years of reasonable and affordable car prices but thanks to PH it is going up like crazy. #TolakPriceHike

• I’m positively surprised!

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 28, 2020 at 7:04 pm

I hope that, if or when, this comes to Malaysia, they won’t phase out the normal petrol 330i. BMW Malaysia should give consumers more choice.

• Alanista on Mar 02, 2020 at 10:52 am

Looks like Thailand’s car price is more ridiculous than Malaysia…