2020 Honda BR-V open for booking, M’sia launch Q1

The Honda BR-V is set to arrive in Malaysia with a select range of updates, and the order books are now open for the seven-seater which is slated for launch in the country within the first quarter. The update comes three years after the model’s launch in our market in January 2017, and went on to record 11,000 sales within the first six months from its introduction.

Under the hood is the familiar 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine producing 120 PS and 145 Nm of torque, the highest in its segment according to Honda. Visual updates applied to the 2020 BR-V include a revised front bumper with a new front grille, lower bumper garnish and front fog lamp garnish.

At the rear end, the BR-V also gets updated with a new lower rear bumper garnish and side trim as well as a shark-fin antenna, while a new 16-inch alloy wheel design also features here. For convenience, the smart entry system aids in keyless entry and locking.

Inside, the BR-V gets new leather seat upholstery with added red accents, while the third-row seats are adjustable with 50:50 split-folding for tilt and tumble functions to liberate a maximum of 539 litres in luggage capacity with the third row folded. With all seats up, capacity is 223 litres.

Ahead of the updated BR-V’s launch within the first quarter of this year, bookings are being taken for the 2020 BR-V at all 100 Honda dealerships nationwide, where customers can also find out more about the updated seven-seater.

GALLERY: Honda BR-V facelift at GIIAS 2019

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Rather buy Perodua Aruz than rubbish quality Honda BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 15
    • Paultan Consultation service on Mar 03, 2020 at 8:16 pm

Better u ask Honda to pass the baton to our dearest PT teams, a package of “consultation service” from the overall design point of view up to material selections, seriously they have more sensible knowledge and vocabulary

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
    • Stanley on Mar 05, 2020 at 8:37 am

I went and test the car and the seats and my opinion is BRV give you better handling and the seats more comfortable. The sterling adjustment for Aruz is limited. As a car enthusiast, we should comment fairly and not blindly

• Jia Ren on Mar 03, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Come to Malaysia, still got 2 airbags and no AEB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Zzzzz on Mar 03, 2020 at 2:21 pm

So boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • More importantly, how much is the PH tax price rising to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • taknakhonda on Mar 03, 2020 at 2:59 pm

Don’t forget honda cvt gearbox will not last longer for honda owners. So you have to pay higher cost for replacement honda cvt gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Uncle Sammy on Mar 06, 2020 at 9:02 pm

Dun tok kok! My Honda crz cvt is 7yrs old now, no problems although heavy duty use, stuck in jams everyday.

• add sporty looks can get + 10hp macam Honda Turbo…
    can tapau X70 already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
    • Jon Salah on Mar 03, 2020 at 4:37 pm

Only one person which is for you to buy this. The others will not touch this unsafety BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • stone on Mar 03, 2020 at 4:11 pm

Nothing is excited

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 03, 2020 at 6:21 pm

Still only 2 airbags?

Pass.

Honda should be enbarassed to sell cars with only 2 airbags. Let alone at this price. Very poor showing, Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • vivizurianti on Mar 03, 2020 at 7:25 pm

The plastic wheelarch mouldings are pretty lame. Even kedai abang accesories can do one better than Honda thesedays.

• Brv Ok mah! on Mar 03, 2020 at 8:01 pm

Do u guys own it? I hv a brv, i admit tht the quality is not as good but other than tht i am quite happy with it. The power 1.5L is better thn my previous citra 2.0 and this has rear blower. Cheap roadtax. Good FC. Went genting with six ppl, no prob. Handling like a saloon. I just hate the autolamp coz cant turn off and the external smell issue. My frens all quite impress with the space and performance after driven it. Frankly, i like my BRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 38
    • BRV not OK mah!! on Mar 03, 2020 at 9:11 pm

Most honda owners also owned BRV. Yes you said quality is not good. Even honda owners also said that BRV quality is not good too. And it doesn’t mean that everyone can buy honda because everyone also said that Aruz have greater safer with Pre Collision System comes with AEB than BRV plus with more reliable than honda engine and CVT Earth Dreams. So everyone will still not buy this unsafe BRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Stanley on Mar 05, 2020 at 8:41 am

Well, if the person drive like mad cow, what safety also will die.

• Maria on Mar 03, 2020 at 10:11 pm

The heck!! It’s 2020 but Honda still sell a car that cost almost 100k without 6 airbags.That’s horrible. Aruz is a better buy although the engine not as good as brv

• Safety First on Mar 04, 2020 at 8:21 am

Honda only? Hahahahahaha…..
      https://paultan.org/2020/03/03/2020-mazda-2-facelift-launched-in-malaysia-from-rm104k/

• Stanley on Mar 05, 2020 at 8:51 am

Well, if the person drive like mad cow, what safety also will die.

• Paulleong82 on Mar 05, 2020 at 1:26 pm

This model always get negative comment from owner, should cancel import to Malaysia.