SPIED: 2020 Kia Rio facelift spotted, to debut this year

The fourth-generation Kia Rio facelift has finally been spotted, and this heavily camouflaged prototype mule suggests that the mid-life revision may be quite an extensive one at that. According to our sources, the facelift will get a new CVT gearbox that replaces the six-speed auto which was introduced in 2018, while engine options are said to remain the same.

There’s no telling just how significant the styling changes are with all the blacked out exterior panels, but expect the B-segment hatch to get a heavily revised front face, new headlights with LED DRLs, Kia’s more aggressive Tiger Nose grille, and a range of new wheel designs. Expect the rear end to get new tail lights and bumper design as well, although the addition of a powered tailgate may be too big of an ask at this juncture.

Our spy photographers couldn’t get close enough to get a peek of the cabin, but it’s safe to assume that some of the gadgetries in the Seltos may find its way here. That potentially includes an updated instrument cluster with either a 3.5- or seven-inch digital multi-info display, leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, and a larger touchscreen infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto functionalities.

For powertrain, the range-topping choice is the 1.0 litre three-cylinder T-GDI petrol engine that makes 118 hp and 171 Nm of torque, while the other turbocharged option is the 1.4 CRDi diesel mill making 90 hp and 240 Nm of torque. Other markets get the carryover 1.4 litre MPI engine that’s tuned to make 100 hp and 133 Nm of torque, or a tinier 1.25 litre MPI engine. Transmission options are a six-speed manual, six-speed auto, or Kia’s seven-speed dual-clutch auto.

Now, more interestingly, Kia may be planning to introduce a crossover version of the Rio, positioned as the second subcompact crossover model after the Stonic. This is a response to growing demand for taller-riding cars, and word is it may possibly called the Xrio. Apparently, crossovers are in such a demand in Europe that Kia’s COO, Emilio Herrera added: “Booming XCeed sales would make a strong case for a sporty Rio-based SUV. Nothing is decided, but that’s a decision on the table right now.”

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang on Mar 12, 2020 at 7:41 pm

What a wonderful design. No wonder they can sell 8 million cars globally.

Hyundai first car rolled out in 1974, just 10 years before Proton rolled out their first car in 1984.

And yet, one company can sell 8 million cars and another company can only sell 50,000 cars.

8 million vs 50,000 – hard work really pays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 37
    • the driver on Mar 12, 2020 at 8:38 pm

Go back to school – not any school but MBA school before making over simplified statements. The relatively subdued performance of P1 has been studied extensively and discussed, and it’s much more than your ‘kampung’ statements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Fake News on Mar 12, 2020 at 11:17 pm

Fake News. KIA was a Billion Dollar GLC company by the time they rolled out their first car, compared to Proton only had RM100million at that time. If Proton had the same resources as Hyundai, they would be a greater success as they have hardworking and dedicated workers.

• Edwin L on Mar 12, 2020 at 11:30 pm

I am amazed that some are so proud of this so-called Korean car when it is really just a Made by China car, without China this car won’t be produced (https://paultan.org/2020/02/04/hyundai-suspends-south-korea-production-due-to-china-parts-shortage-disruption-from-coronavirus/). If I were a fanboy, I would be ashamed to be proud of this fake Korean made car.

• Masquerading for the attention, a lonely life on Mar 13, 2020 at 1:26 am

And it is You Again, just enough of your rants of copy paste, fake, backed with no fact, outdated old issue. You’re just a lonely guy live in a sad, small and dark corner of this world. You’re just waiting – Keeps refreshing the article that you’re commenting before, scroll down straightaway to the space below your comment and with Finger Coss really Hoping for the opposing argument from someone else, more than one person or a group of resident here to counter your argument asap. Finally when they come and reply to your comment, you scream “oh thank you God”, you’re jumping with joy, you read it with a lively big smile on your face, as if your lonely and dark world turns into a fire and meaningfull again. You just told yourself it is normal to go on keep doing this as those reply and argument keeps you going. What a sad and lonely person masquerading through multiple of usernames here and it’s sad that PT allows it to happen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 30
      • Kerajaan Pintu Belakang on Mar 13, 2020 at 2:07 pm

looks like you got mental problems. Too many commitments – you cannot take the stress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
        • EDITOR on Mar 13, 2020 at 2:53 pm

Can I advice you something? Go take a hard look in the mirror and heed your own advice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Maria on Mar 12, 2020 at 10:42 pm

If they want to build hi-ride rio (read X-Rio) then what’s the use of Stonic then?? I thought Stonic is a jack up Rio

• Maria on Mar 12, 2020 at 10:44 pm

I also want to see new Rio GT Line facelift with 1.0 tgdi 120ps with dct here soon if naza kia is not on daydream