Mini EV X2 in Malaysia – electric citycar, just RM13.8k?

This cutesy little car has been going viral in Malaysia’s social media space, even amidst breaking news such as the banks’ U-turn on not charging interest on car loans over the moratorium period, and even our PM’s announcement of the more relaxed Conditional MCO that will start next week. So, what’s this all about, then?

Well, one only has to look at the leaflet below to understand why this Mini EV X2 has been shared by thousands of Malaysians. If it is to be believed, you can own one of these from just RM13,800 (a huge saving over the normal price of RM18,800). And better yet, you can even purchase it with instalment plans of as low as RM159.98 per month over nine years!

A little bit of digging around led us to a Malaysian website miniev.online (no, we’re not going to link it, but you may take a look if you wish), where we found a rather comprehensive set of images and details. Now, we too are intrigued.

The brochure speaks of an “electric revolution”, with the Mini EV X2 claimed to have a homologated all-electric range of up to 120 km. It can be charged with a simple domestic power plug (up to 80% charge in five hours; a full charge takes eight hours), is rear-wheel drive and believe it or not, even has front and rear disc brakes – take that, Honda City.

Other interesting bits include a fully digital instrument cluster, automatic LED headlamps, a big nine-inch touchscreen, reverse camera and a massive 850 litre cargo space behind the two seats (85L seems more likely if the standard method of calculation is employed). It’s available in six colours too, each with matching interior panels to out-MINI the real thing.

But beyond that, the performance figures are slightly less exciting. The EV X2 accelerates from 0-50 km/h (not 100 km/h) in a full 25 seconds, has a top speed of 50 km/h or a heady 80 km/h for the “High Speed” version, and is only rated for 800 complete recharge cycles. On that last bit alone, better think twice before taking up a nine year loan, folks.

Now, dig a little deeper and the Mini EV X2 hails from China (yes we know, very surprising), courtesy of a company called the Zhejiang Today Sunshine New Energy Vehicle Industry. Back home, the citycar is called the Mine M1 – obviously an homage to its design “inspiration”.

The company also has a presence across Europe (marketed there as the Today Sunshine M1), if its rather swanky website is to be trusted. In fact, the brochure you see here comes directly from those markets, as it even claims that the Mini EV X2 can be “driven by everyone” from 16 years and up with a B1 Driving Licence. Such a pass doesn’t exist here in Malaysia, obviously.

Back to reality, should you be excited over this cute, incredibly affordable all-electric city car that is the Mini EV X2 in Malaysia? Well, it’s a no for now, as the local website is rather thin on documentation and contact numbers, though it does include a CIMB Bank account number to make payments to. Proceed at your own risk, people.

Beyond that, our media friend Abang Gan of PanduLaju.com.my has informed us that upon checking with the JPJ, there has not been any application, let alone any official green light for such a vehicle to obtain a valid Vehicle Type Approval (VTA) certificate. In short, the Mini EV X2 strictly cannot be driven legally in Malaysia.

So, what do you all think of this now? To be honest, we are shocked of the positive reception this has received, compared to the usual wrath that other China copycat models are met with here. Has Geely really paved the way for all Chinese carmakers to come to Malaysia, or is it all about the low price point? Do discuss in the comments section below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ahmadjr on May 01, 2020 at 9:52 pm

Was planning to get Renault Twizy after PKPB, but this one really take the cake. maybe Taman ride

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Safety First on May 02, 2020 at 9:12 am

You have to be careful when there is no mention of any passenger safety features and NCAP test results. Safety First.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • fuzzlee on May 02, 2020 at 11:01 am

Same here … Better get the proper P2 Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Safety First on May 02, 2020 at 12:03 pm

Axia is even worse as you could burn to crisp inside the car upon impact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • Yes you are definitely right about Axia. I had accident last year its nearly cost my life.

• alldisc on May 01, 2020 at 10:15 pm

Actually.. DBKL should really close the entire of Jalan Sultan Ismail KL for all ICE vehicles. Only allow EVs like this. In fact, this EV can be used as taxis plying along Jalan Sultan Ismail. We can see the effect of MCO how clean is the air with very little pollution. Now is the right step

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 7
    • hailthePurist on May 01, 2020 at 10:56 pm

We have clean air and river now. EV is good citycar.. flush out and send home the illegals. Give jobs to our own unemployed Malaysian youths

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
      • Bibychow on May 02, 2020 at 9:54 am

If Msian youths want those jobs we wouldn’t have had to take in those foreign workers in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
        • muniandy on May 02, 2020 at 10:38 am

Yes its the local youths choosy & pampered. So foreign workers here to stay, syukur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
          • Troll warruor on May 02, 2020 at 2:47 pm

I’m sure your kids would just love to work those 3d jobs that those pesky illegal immigrants have a hold on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • noname on May 02, 2020 at 10:11 pm

bro troll warruor, you’re rite. some people simply want to make comment without looking at themselve in the mirror

• Ghani on May 02, 2020 at 11:52 am

If taukes more willing to pay reasonable living wages for those jobs, more Malaysian youths will take them up and not needing cheap foreign labour, mostly cheaper illegals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Bob_B78 on May 03, 2020 at 9:16 am

Reasonable living wages to attract local youths will only end up increase in living cost. There is no win win situation here unfortunately

• Sick & Tired on May 03, 2020 at 12:56 pm

Bullshit. Cost of living is steadily increasing regardless. If not due to minimum wage laws, our basic salaries would be stagnant 10 years ago. Do you think our cost of living is the same as 10 years ago? Heck no!

Wages needs to go up to attract locals as current levels is bordering on slavery.

• jobsl mb on May 03, 2020 at 1:17 am

what do you expect from city youth. i’m sure there are a bunch of kampung people that are more than willing to do such jobs if working conditions are a little bit better. human resource ministry just need to put some effort and money into scouting for them.

• noname on May 01, 2020 at 10:41 pm

To tell you this is interesting but im doubtful it will go thru, even if it does it wont be cheap in tax. there are alot of things to take into count . their cronies and majority stakeholders of business will persuade the govt to reconsider as they will stop earning more and its not practical to have a healthy competition when u can be master of the monopoly the game. but it will be great to have it here and things will change . i dont need to worry bout purchasing a new car which might take me 9years to pay just to get to office on time. keyboard worriers my attack say this n that . practically there are no public transport near my place. i need to walk 1km least n change busses few time to reach 1km away from my office. so yeah i need a car like this cheap small practical

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • this would also be a great and cheap way to use as a first/last mile transportation from your house to the bus station or is it not?

• Zan Ismael on May 01, 2020 at 10:42 pm

It’s too good to be true….I think it’s a scam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • JacKie Loh on May 01, 2020 at 10:46 pm

Where to get the mini EV X2? I’m interested to get one. Please advise and thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • BOYRACER on May 02, 2020 at 1:03 pm

I think if you read the whole article you won’t be asking this question..

• Cheng on May 01, 2020 at 11:12 pm

Does this car need road tax?

• It may be a good buy but will never have a good resale value as many hidden things are not shown example cost of batt etc.Still fit the purpose of a golf caddy vehicles and can be driven within the housing areas for marketing.Still safer than a motorbike and protects from rain.Within next 5 years the technology will get much cheaper and will.provide better range of distance.Can be a good rental vehicle for city driving instead of bikes as it has better protection.One need not take any grab or taxi for within city travellers.Good for hotel industry to relook at marketing approach of providing such services too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Max291 on May 02, 2020 at 8:31 am

What resale value? It’s only 11k. 9 year interest rate for Myve is already 12k. Other points are valid, but the first one is just…..

• Woot Woot on May 02, 2020 at 12:00 am

Is the car even road-worthy?

• Good for environmental, why not. 50KM/H within city centre should be no problem as currently during heavy traffic jam how fast u can drive.

• bvc100 on May 02, 2020 at 7:47 am

Dunno about the acceleration time. Sounds a bit slow, needing 25s to 50km/h, which is unusual for EV… Which are usually faster than ICE in acceleration.
      Worried it’ll disturb traffic flow.

• Haidi on May 02, 2020 at 12:23 pm

I do not really worry about its acceleration though. Extremely worry about its capability to stop. Like emergency brake.

• Good for environment why not. 50KM/H within city centre should be no problem as currently during heavy traffic jam how fast u can drive.

• Happy on May 02, 2020 at 12:33 am

Scam!!!

• GodSaveMalaysia on May 02, 2020 at 12:34 am

To be honest, looks like a death trap to me.
    How to plunge out of junctions swiftly in KL traffic with 0-50km/h in 25 seconds?

• jpwaran on May 02, 2020 at 12:50 am

Wah can install Superbank XS lah if like this

• Why is it that electric motorcycles do not fall under the same scrutiny as a electric cars? You need neither licence, road tax nor insurance for one. If the seller is to be believed. And based on anecdotal evidences of their many clients, it’s true.

• Any showroom

• Looking at the size and design, these definitely NCAP rating 0 star.

• Kipidap on May 02, 2020 at 2:24 am

This is the greatest offer and I believe a very good car for the price paid

• I think it is suitable to be driven within the university or college. For student to get to lecture hall from their hostels. At least u wont get wet when it rains and save money because its electric. Need to plug into charger during lecture and you ready to go.

• Azgarffield on May 02, 2020 at 6:56 am

If this is true, I’d buy one for use in the neighbourhood. Just for trips to mamak, minimarket and surau. Doesn’t need trips to petrol station or service center. Can be used during bad weather unlike kapchais. Won’t mind the limited battery charging cycle, if it cost this cheap, replacement battery costs shouldn’t break the break. Essentially a golf cart, only better.

All in all, sounds too good to be true. Ain’t it?

• Botak Chin on May 02, 2020 at 7:40 am

Price and specs wise, it sounds true-able.
    Speed and size seems to resemble a golf buggy, but enclosed for all-weather and looks. Probably safe to use within gated taman, private land communities, and avoid public main roads and highways. No JPJ & roadtax means no insurance to cover whoever/whatever you hit, or any damage you sustain. Speed won’t help travel beyond your taman or neighbourhood. 800 charging cycles, well, if you want another 800 cycles, better find out how much the battery change is, otherwise, take it as RM14k per 800 charging cycles, or if used daily to full drain limits, it’s approx RM14k for 3 years. Sounds about the same as the depreciation of most new cars, except you didn’t need to take up a 100+k liability at one go.

• Terrence on May 02, 2020 at 8:05 am

Where to buy it this car Mini EV x2?

• King Penguin on May 02, 2020 at 9:24 am

Good for Taman drive as this cute vehicle will make a blast in the market. But comes to price, will Malaysia gov allows such low price in the market? They must have tax 1000% on the import tax as this vehicle may make some jeolousy of some related politians.

• King Penguin on May 02, 2020 at 9:27 am

13K? That’s consider cheap and I believe many ppl are affordable for that. BTW, is this price really not collide with some gov policy? I’m afraid this price would make some so called politicians unhappy cause in certain ways, against their interest.

• vivizurianti on May 02, 2020 at 9:46 am

How much is the replacement batt?, workmanship cost? and what are other maintenance cost like? (if any).

Consumers need to know the fine details before committing themselves.

• Jonathan Khan on May 02, 2020 at 10:28 am

For the low spec..
    Zero to 50km/h (top speed) in 25seconds.
    Dont play play arr.

Put this penang island narrow road nice. 2 road can widened to be 2 roads with side parking.

KL not suitable yet. But desa park city sounds right.
    This can ripened to be regulated, cannot go on the road. Cannot allow to apply road tax and car licences plate.

Zero ANCAP car should be banned. Cannot even test at 64km/h crash test, win liao lor
    Use for internal compound/factory logistic purpose it’s fine.

• Timothy on May 02, 2020 at 11:15 am

How much does the battery replacement cost?

• Ol Skool on May 02, 2020 at 11:22 am

This is as legal as electric golf only. Buy one, and drive inside your gated property. No other people in danger if you’re going to to crush into a tree or pond.

• 0-50km/h in 25 sec?? you’ll cursed at at every traffic lights!

• mr1031 on May 02, 2020 at 11:38 am

people are excited definitely because of the price point..we have been hurt with our high car price for far too long

• Avenger on May 02, 2020 at 12:06 pm

It is time PN rescind PH NAP2020 that is causing car prices to spin out of control. Let’s bring back some sense.

• OMG….come with 4 disc breaks…good pricing. if this car can last for 5-7 years also worth to own.

• Too slow to be enjoyed

Better use the money elsewhere

Like a used viva

• kcsoo on May 02, 2020 at 1:15 pm

This is most welcome and definately a game changer in the market. Cheaper than bike but once it become popular so sure gov will try to take some chips from owner.

• frankC on May 02, 2020 at 2:35 pm

Without JPJ VTA, no need consider yet.
    Making a vehicle safe for our road is not just pasang 4 wheels on a chassis. beyond that… own a car need competent driver for sure. if the advertisement is misleading then you know the seller sense of responsibility.. that is lacking. they just wants to make $$$

• Lchan on May 02, 2020 at 3:03 pm

25secs to 50km/h….can this thing even climb hills?

• Msian on May 02, 2020 at 3:48 pm

Sounds like a scam. Get approval 1st, then talk about plying Malaysian street legally

• dream_125 on May 02, 2020 at 4:43 pm

“In fact, the brochure you see here comes directly from those markets, as it even claims that the Mini EV X2 can be “driven by everyone” from 16 years and up with a B1 Driving Licence. Such a pass doesn’t exist here in Malaysia, obviously.”
    Not only in Malaysia it doesn’t exist:
    “B1 Heavy quadricycles: This class is optional, i.e. it is not implemented by all EU countries.”

• Philip on May 02, 2020 at 7:06 pm

So, can buy or cannot buy it

• vivizurianti on May 02, 2020 at 7:29 pm

Batt good for 800 charging. Say 1 charging per day.
    (I havent factor in batt depreciation of charging capacity over time).

Batt will kong in slightly more than 2 years, even before installment ends.

Buy 2nd hand viva or kancil better. At least can drive farther and safer.

• Ahmad on Jun 02, 2020 at 8:45 am

in the brochure, they say for a full charge is 2 dollars for 800 times, I think the battery costs around RM6400 to RM7000, already half the price of the car, if the car is on the market, 3 years installment is enough

• Ahmad fakhry bin Abdul halim on Jun 02, 2020 at 9:11 am

in the brochure, they say for a full charge is 2 dollars for 800 times, I think the battery costs around RM6400 to RM7000, already half the price of the car, if the car is on the market, 3 years installment is enough

• Could be a terrible car like mini bike illegal one without roadtax currently on the road seen too dangerous to public.

• the front design also copy from Mini Cooper..!

• Robin Baxter on May 02, 2020 at 11:04 pm

I don’t really care too much about cars, my passion is motorbikes.
    Now would I buy a new Chinese motorbike or a second hand Japanese motorbike, for the same price.
    No question about it the second hand Japanese bike wins every time.
    So I suppose I could apply that thinking to cars.
    The second hand Japanese car versus the new Chinese car. For me the Japanese win again. But I would probably buy a Malaysian car. Both Proton and Perodua offer fantastic value for money. And they could both knock the socks of the Chinese offerings, in terms of reliability.

• Dato Seri Louiss W. K. Lo on May 03, 2020 at 1:35 am

Where to get the mini EV X2 ? I’m interested to get one. Please advise and thanks.

• Brian on May 03, 2020 at 1:52 am

This looks like an accident waiting to happen

• I think is the marketing trick that drawn attention – MINI. Most people just share w/o reading the full contents, mistakenly thinking it’s a cousin of MINI Cooper with ridiculously affordable price!

• richard on May 03, 2020 at 11:35 am

why the tel no is ND travel
    CONTACT INFO
    Address : 82-B, Jalan Rimbunan Raya,
    Laman Rimbunan,
    52100 Kuala Lumpur,
    Malaysia

Phone : +6 0340652165

[email protected]

and the bank ac no CIMB same as this company no ? any ideal ??

• very catchy, promo, is there any show unit? test drive? T&C? what company ND BEST ENTERPRISE, no address,no contact? payment online?

• laugh_laugh on May 04, 2020 at 8:02 am

and then you see this small lil guy take up 2 space in a parking lot

• Ricky on May 04, 2020 at 4:56 pm

Hopefully Tesla will enter SEA market. Especially Malaysia and Singapore.

• Ronilyn on May 23, 2020 at 6:20 pm

how to get this mini EV X2 car? i really like it? what is the process of these?

thank you.

• sharina on Aug 17, 2020 at 3:39 pm

kat mana nk tengok show room or test drive sekitar jb? and need insurance/roadtax?

• Abdullah Bin Lamsah on Sep 13, 2020 at 4:14 pm

I like… Cant order

• Ahmad on Dec 03, 2020 at 8:05 am

A wake-up call to P1 and P2. It’s green, practical, and affordable. Much fewer components to maintain. I will buy it.

• Thomas Ling on Mar 03, 2021 at 11:55 am

Can I buy it in Sarawak?

• Susan Teal on Jun 27, 2021 at 11:57 am

I love this cute car.. can some enterprising business get the licence from JPJ and get the green light for such a vehicle to obtain a valid Vehicle Type Approval (VTA) certificate. Lets get Mini EV X2 so it can be driven legally in Malaysia.

• Leong Seng Chee on Oct 07, 2021 at 3:11 pm

Can we buy it now in Malaysia at this price

• C. A. M users on Jun 08, 2022 at 1:07 am

Please do legally let this mini EV2 in Malaysia.. Safety or not depends on the driver.. Pandu hati2, jangan kereta kecil otak pun kecil juga.. We hold the steering wheel.. Think la what is good and bad.. Unless if they are a sindrome down.. No..no..let the mini EV2 coming in Malaysia..

• Pm