Honda Malaysia recalls 55,354 units over fuel pump

Honda Malaysia (HM) has announced a product recall involving 55,354 units of Honda vehicles of various models. This is to replace the fuel pump as a precautionary measure, in line with a global fuel pump recall campaign that involves around 1.4 million vehicles.

UPDATE: More info regarding this worldwide recall added

The affected Honda models were manufactured between 2018 and 2019 – see the chart below for the list of models involved. HM says that all cars produced in 2020 are not affected by this recall.

According to HM, this preventive measure is to address the possibility of loss of engine power or the vehicle stalling due to a faulty fuel pump. As of today, there are no reported cases of of accidents or injury caused by this issue in Malaysia, the company says.

In the US – where Honda and Acura earlier this month recalled 136,057 units – the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recall report mentions that the Denso-supplied fuel pumps were “exposed to production solvent drying for longer periods of time” during manufacturing, which could cause surface cracking and excessive fuel absorption, and eventually cause the impeller to become deformed and fail.

This Denso fuel pump issue does not only affect Honda. In March, UMW Toyota Motor recalled 13,500 units of Toyota and Lexus models ranging from the Toyota Innova to the Lexus LC 500. Click on the link to view UMWT’s recall.

All affected Honda customers will be informed via notification letters, which will include details of the product recall. Upon receipt of the notification letter, customers can make an appointment with a dealership to fix the issue, subject to parts availability. The fuel pump replacement is free of charge and so is workmanship.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Adnan on Jun 18, 2020 at 2:59 pm

Mujurla Honda Msia FOC fuel pump replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • Only one item recalling to other customers which is fuel pump????? How about gearbox, steering rack and all others parts that also have problem. What a big shame DRB Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • DRB Honda Sucks on Jun 18, 2020 at 6:14 pm

And where is 2016 – 2018 Honda models?????

• Chavez on Jun 18, 2020 at 6:16 pm

Err not DRB fault but solely Honda’s own.

• Calvin on Jun 18, 2020 at 6:50 pm

Even drb honda also have biggest fault too for not servicing properly, including giving low spec cars

• Engineer on Jun 18, 2020 at 9:22 pm

Parts malfunction not due to improper servicing.
            Only last year, were they behind the curve. The past few years, Honda was 2nd best in the car features list for cars only behind Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • This year and next few years will also going to lose more to other brands, which honda are not very popular because you can see that many honda owners are already turning away from driving honda and decided to buy other brands because of improper service and quality is not so good too.

• Owner on Jun 19, 2020 at 11:30 am

Anything to do with Honda they are also responsible. If problem go to them they will push here and there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Civic fc owner on Jul 19, 2020 at 1:15 pm

10k km fuel pump problem…20k km petrol lid problem…40k km steering rack problem.60k km tensioner problem…90k km gearbox problem..all within 20 month usage…be prepare to have rm 16k for gearbox repair.no warranty .think twice to buy honda.

• TAN YEONG YONG on Apr 13, 2021 at 7:49 am

totally agreed with that, i had fuel pump problem recently and the HM said, they won’t call for replacement as long as the User still can use it..kinda dissappointed..

• Zuchie on Jun 18, 2020 at 3:43 pm

please check with anyone whose car is listed to be able to avoid anything bad

• Is this the lejen Jepunis quality? Hahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Blue rider on Jun 18, 2020 at 3:58 pm

But still Honda service is still yucky. No sense at all

• swoosh3553 on Jun 19, 2020 at 8:44 am

Care to share which SC or you are saying ALL Honda SC in Malaysia? I service my Honda with Honda Tiong Nam Motors Setia Alam. No issues of yuckiness so far for past 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Yes you hear many honda owners all complain most of honda service centers? And you think service is good uh? Later, you will see, after several months of after behaving so good, they will go back to square one. Believe that. Everyone are still complaining honda service. Attitude will still be the same bro. So BeCareful

• Jinggo on Jun 18, 2020 at 4:05 pm

if proton sure kena hentam kaw kaw…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • Honda is going to be like proton in the past. Just like what happen my Wira after I sold it off for many years ago, unlike now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Flash on Jun 19, 2020 at 10:40 am

You mean proton service is bad? Tell me are you proton owner or not?

• david on Jun 18, 2020 at 4:25 pm

and you owe shell an apology

• vivizurianti on Jun 18, 2020 at 5:44 pm

Kesian Honda owners….Sudah bayar kete mahal, now getting lemony fuel pump…..

• Very disappointed with Honda Malaysia for not recalling Honda Insight 2012 onwards for heavy oil consumption..It’s a known fact it’s the manufacture fault. Many thousands of Malaysian owners suffering bcos of this problem. No resale value and cost for repairs is about RM16k. .But no guarantee the same will happen again. It’s a known universal problem for Honda Insight and the US Honda is recalling these model 2012. I think Honda Malaysia know of this problem and keeping quiet about it. Contact them many times ask to write in but never reply. Ask for your support those facing this problem.

• Justice on Jun 18, 2020 at 8:33 pm

perodua new myvi has the same issue, many cars stalling on the road

• firdaus on Jun 19, 2020 at 10:55 am

luckily i sold my G5 CRV 2 weeks before MCO.
    fethced a good price cos finance minister changed their tax calculation rule and increased the CRV 1.5TCP by 12k.

Now with sales tax abolished, price drop.
    The dealer who bought my car must be cursing all the way to the bank!

• anonymous_c on Jun 19, 2020 at 3:44 pm

Issue happens on Honda City 2014, DRB swept this under the carpet until 2020??? Amazing

• Facepalm on Jun 19, 2020 at 3:59 pm

Still not as bad as the Takata airbag fiasco. They only acknowledge the problem when people died.

• Same L0rr on Jun 19, 2020 at 5:44 pm

Buy toyota better! Good RV!

• Will that include City sold in the Phillipines?

• CivicFC Owner on Jul 31, 2020 at 11:57 am

So it really happens to my Civic TCP bought in 2019. Just only 1 year old. Just yesterday 30 July 2020 I sent my car for servicing less than few hours, engine stall in the middle of driving. I called my sales guy, and he brought his mechanic over for help. Don’t know what they did, but problem temporary got fixed and they drove it back to Service Center. Suspect fuel pump issue too.

To Civic FC owners, please get your car to fix it asap.

• Steven on Mar 30, 2021 at 10:44 am

Since purchase HRV Honda… for 3 years.. FUEL PUMP ISSUE.

Whole family in car stalled in the middle of highway in 2019.

Came to change to recall fuel pump…..to change… . delivered damaged

Tell their BOD.

• Mukhwant Singh on Jun 21, 2022 at 7:11 pm

My 2015 city engine stall while driving, what should I do