Proton Saga exported to Kenya, CKD local assembly

A Proton Saga in Nairobi? As unlikely as that sounds, it will soon be reality, as the Malaysian carmaker has just shipped its first batch of cars to Kenya. The 30 units of Sagas got on a ship in knocked down CKD form, and will be assembled in the African nation by Simba Corporation, a conglomerate with a history in car sales and assembly.

Proton said that its decision to export the Saga in CKD form was made following close consultation with its Kenyan partner. Aside from attracting lower taxes by being locally assembled, CKD assembly will help spur development in Kenya’s auto manufacturing industry.

“While strengthening Proton’s domestic position is critical to truly be acknowledged as an international car maker, we need to see our products in places as diverse as Bangkok, Islamabad, Cairo and now, Nairobi,” said Datuk Radzaif Mohamed, Proton’s deputy CEO.

“On a national level, this will also increase the value of trade between Malaysia and Kenya and help to contribute to the creation of jobs in Kenya’s automotive industry,” he added.

The guest of honour for the ceremonial flag-off ceremony earlier this week was the Kenyan high commissioner for Malaysia, Francis N. Muhoro. In his address, Muhoro explained how his country has a Look East policy and his wish was for more Malaysian companies like Proton to discover the investment opportunities in Kenya.

“Malaysia and Kenya share many similarities, from a colonial past to our efforts in developing our nations. Proton’s entry in to the country is not just as an entry in to a market of 51 million people but it is also a gateway to a potential market of 1.3 billion inhabiting the African continent. Therefore, I am hopeful this will be just the start of more trade between our two nations,” the envoy said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Aero (Member) on Aug 22, 2020 at 4:40 am

Although pickup trucks, all-terrain SUVs, vans and other CVs are most preferred in many African markets, there’s always a place for small passenger cars.

I believe the Saga is a good fit for the Kenyan market ; it can go up against the India-made Honda Amaze and Hyundai i10 Sedan there. Local assembly should give the Saga an edge in pricing and Simba more leverage with the local government.

On another note, Proton has previously exported to Kenya sometime during the early 1990s. Coincidentally, the first batch then was also 30 units. Proton has tried their luck in many different African markets over the decades, but only South Africa, Egypt and Mauritius had been encouraging.

Good luck to Proton and Simba Corporation. Maybe this will be the start of something big ? Time will tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
    • Engineer on Aug 22, 2020 at 11:06 am

Simba the Lion working partners with Proton Rimau the Tiger. *Thumbsup*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • komarad on Aug 22, 2020 at 4:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 139
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 24, 2020 at 9:22 am

Also thank u Proton for coming out with homegrown Saga, Persona & Gen2 that is still loved by all around the world!

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Aug 22, 2020 at 11:27 am

Good move … good move… We like it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • AliAhKauRamasamy on Aug 22, 2020 at 11:33 am

Exora should be next as it is suitable to be their airport taxis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Jeremy on Aug 22, 2020 at 12:21 pm

So the next round of my Grand Tour in Africa, I can use this Saga as part of my show. Jolly well done.

• Pre2020 proton logo on Aug 22, 2020 at 7:30 am

They forgot to change the new Rimau Badge

• P1 growing the economy of their partners. P2 only growing Japan profits. Tahniah P1!
    To the basher: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 13
  • Pootang on Aug 22, 2020 at 9:37 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 160
    • Engineer on Aug 22, 2020 at 11:05 am

Which is why you remained 3rd world mentality while the country is rushing towards 1st world level. What a pity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 13
    • dream_125 on Aug 22, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Japan and Germany were “3rd world countries” not too long ago…

• azrai on Aug 22, 2020 at 12:15 pm

Congratulation Geely. Still remember Egyptians’ response on Gen2 and Persona. It is a cult there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Celup King on Aug 22, 2020 at 1:18 pm

Yeah, Proton specifically brought Gen2 and Persona back into production due to hot demand there. I wished we could buy new ones here, the car design is still handsome compared to more modern cars today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Jaguh on Aug 22, 2020 at 3:43 pm

Well done Geeky!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 64
  • David on Aug 22, 2020 at 7:43 pm

What happen to Turkey business?

• Moving forward. on Aug 22, 2020 at 11:53 pm

Kenya is a tall people country. How can small saga attact them?

• Khairul Izam on Aug 24, 2020 at 9:28 am

Not every African is a Usain Bolt. If you see Kenyan runners here, most are average height like you and me.

• Really? on Aug 24, 2020 at 9:36 am

Really, whats the ‘tall’ figure?

• Zeeshan Ashraf on Aug 23, 2020 at 12:46 am

Aoa.sir when Proton is available in Pakistan

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 24, 2020 at 7:23 pm

Ask Alhaj Automotive Pakistan, the official distributor for Proton in Pakistan.

• Justice on Aug 23, 2020 at 11:55 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 140
  • fafau80 on Aug 23, 2020 at 11:29 pm

A huge congrate to Geeley & Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • newme on Aug 24, 2020 at 9:48 am

Go to Australia, Iceland for road testing, bukan main ATAS. Tapi jual kat Kenya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Avenger on Aug 24, 2020 at 2:37 pm

Do you know how much challenging is African country roads. You think all of them are super flat roads like in Wakanda ke? Pls come back to reality.

• newme on Aug 24, 2020 at 5:07 pm

Tau tak pe. Then you should do testing on African roads instead of Australian?

• kumamoto denpa on Aug 24, 2020 at 11:14 pm

Proton to Nairobi? Wrong maket segment i think…small size car with huge body size driver… what a funny story…. stop lah this nonse…

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Aug 03, 2023 at 2:44 pm

Congratulations Proton! Export Persona too ASAP!