Proton X50 SUV to get ride and handling upgrades

Ahead of the impending launch of its X50, Proton is holding a short media test drive of the highly-anticipated B-segment SUV. Our man Hafriz Shah is at the scene and will bring you his first impressions of the car (which he’s buying, by the way), but for now, we’re bringing you news as they come from the event.

One titbit that the national carmaker has revealed is that it has made some tweaks to the suspension. The company claims that it has improved both ride comfort and the handling of the car which, given its track record in the area, is a very believable claim.

Adjustments include revised spring and damper rates as well as a new anti-roll bar. The electric power steering system has also been retuned for the local market and will come with four different modes, presumably with differing control weights.

The Proton X50 is now open for booking, with four variants to choose from. Based on the Geely Binyue/Coolray, it will be available with features such as the latest GKUI 19 infotainment system, remote engine start and Level 2 semi-autonomous driving. Two 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine options will be offered – a 150 PS/226 Nm port-injected variant and a 177 PS/255 Nm direct-injected version.

As usual, stay tuned for the latest updates.

GALLERY: Proton X50 drive preview, Sepang International Circuit

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• dR. Li Li on Sep 30, 2020 at 10:16 am

Does this mean the suspension setup in standard Geely Coolray is inferior?

This my upset Geely suspension department in China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Not Toyota Fan on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:44 pm

Main photo big big say “Optimised For Malaysian Roads”.

There different road conditions than here lor.

• I see nothing to be ashamed, even Mitsubishi suspension department in Japan bows down to Proton suspension team on their superior tune up of original Lancer suspension for the Inspira.

• Pretty sure Geely already know about Proton’s expertise in suspension tuning well before being a shareholder.

• Reality Check on Sep 30, 2020 at 4:39 pm

Why tho? I don’t see they’re upset over Volvo exceeding their own expertise in technological-advanced engineering.

• Fuh dia punya kipas… kalah aircond.

• newme on Sep 30, 2020 at 10:34 am

Can’t wait for the media briefing introducing the revolutionary aircond knob they are using in the X50. Also the fuel cap and tyre jack.

• Don’t forget another post to talk about the locally-developed grille.

• Copy Paste on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:57 am

Copy paste: “Good morning. Just woke up and crawled out of your cave?”

• newme on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:59 am

ah, “out of cave” …. never hear that for a long time. Guess the old cybertroopers at Proton are still around. That’s why they are still owned left and right here.

• Vader on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:39 pm

You must be new here. [@Copy paste] had been using other people’s comments in place of his own for some years now.

• Where is this myth that proton is good with handling and comfort coming from? Just because they owned Lotus? I bet those drivers who think proton rides well never actually owned any other cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
    • Brian on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:43 pm

On the contrary, you sounded like someone who never drove a recent Proton before lol. Their ride & handling prowess is no myth as proven from testaments by many, many writers & reviewers.

• Hantu Raya on Sep 30, 2020 at 1:27 pm

Good morning. Just woke up and crawled out of your cave?

• Codak on Sep 30, 2020 at 2:15 pm

What myth are u talking about? Just because u have experienced multiple vehicle which u ‘think’ rides better? I bet u think u are better than almost all motoring journalist but never actually know anything.

• CarBuyer on Sep 30, 2020 at 2:28 pm

Having owed 3 Protons, I find the ride and handling compromise to be “above average”. But levels of grip are only average, even after replacing uniformly horrible factory tyres with higher performance ones.

• Delusion on Sep 30, 2020 at 2:44 pm

Ok, big talker. What cars with good ride and handling have you driven before? Let’s share here so we can know whether your reference points are good enough.

• Reality Check on Sep 30, 2020 at 4:17 pm

It’s not a myth, it’s a fact proven by Satria Neo S2000 and Iriz R5. Both chassis were designed and made by Proton themselves. That’s a key part for a good suspension setup. There’s a good reason why they’re winning in rallies. Go figure.

• Monana on Sep 30, 2020 at 6:28 pm

Lu sorang saja tak tau. Pasal lu tak pernah pakai Proton. Tapi just handling. Contoh, Iriz, not a bad engine, but the CVT is bad.

• Having X70 and buying X50 as well? Now that’s confidence in P1 right there, and from none other than Haf bro himself.

P1, Geely, Mesidis, Volvo, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • So? Just a regular buyer.

• Regular buyer? Obviously you are oblivious to what website your in right now. Reflects on the BS that you keep spouting.

• Jasonk on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:19 am

How hard to give the price?
    Tease tease tease… Like foreplay like that…

• Thinking this thing on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:22 am

I believe china have plenty outskirts road, which are rougher, and the Chinese demand higher comfort, critically

I am not sure if this is downgrade or upgrade

• Ol Skool on Sep 30, 2020 at 4:34 pm

Cars with soft suspension tend to feel like a boat speeding on a curvy road. Judging from our curvy roads and highways, the way our people drive, and how fond they’re of their continental cars. This, definitely is an upgrade.

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:39 am

‘Our man Hafriz Shah is at the scene and will bring you his first impressions of the car (which he’s buying, by the way)’

Bila dah dapat nanti, kami nak pinjam boleh tak Hafriz?

• Cun design in and out, powerful engine, decent transmission, plenty of futuristic features, safety wise, cheaper than competitor, now will have superb ride&handling.. apa lagi Malaysian mau?

If the handling can be as good as my Preve, I will heavily consider buying it..

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:40 pm

Bring this 4 EPS modes upgrade to X70 please.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:48 pm

Got a feeling Hafriz aint gonna sell his 3 pointed star just yet.

This X50 might be the family new going to pasar/supermarket car.

• potato on Sep 30, 2020 at 9:33 pm

The C coupe kinda car, blum coba blum tau. Sula coba ari2 mau

• Justice on Sep 30, 2020 at 5:51 pm

meluat la hari hari tengok news x50 ni

• Bruh... on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:47 pm

Just…. do not bother clicking the news. But you have to anyway, complete with comment added. One wouldn’t simply ignore Proton’s good news, especially haters lol…