DBKL roadside parking – cashless payment from Oct 1

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) has announced that roadside parking within the federal territory of Kuala Lumpur will no longer use roadside payment machines from September 30, 2020.

Effective October 1, roadside parking in areas under the purview of the city council will be payable through one of four listed mobile applications or e-wallets, which are EZ Smart Park, Flexiparking, Wilayah Parking or MCash, said DBKL. Integration with other e-wallets such as Boost and Touch ‘n Go eWallet are also in the works to offer users a wider selection of payment methods, the city council said.

Meanwhile, DBKL also stated that daily and monthly parking passes have yet to be operational, and the passes will be activated only after system upgrades have been completed. Applications for specially allocated parking lots are still being received as usual, and the rates for DBKL parking lots remain as before, it said, also recommending members of the public to get familiarised with the new parking payment methods.

The Wilayah Parking and Flexi Parking apps appear to be nearly identical (left), while payment for parking in DBKL areas via TnG eWallet is currently offline for upgrading (right)

A quick sampling of the mobile applications listed have found that Flexiparking and Wilayah Parking are near-identical, and the e-wallets in both of these apps can be replenished through online banking, credit cards, as well as Boost, Touch ‘n Go eWallet and GrabPay e-wallets.

JomParking uses tokens as currency in its own e-wallet, and those are purchased via GrabPay. However, its users who frequent DBKL parking locations will no longer be able to use their tokens there, as it appears usage of the app in Kuala Lumpur is now limited to one area in Cheras.

Meanwhile, the MCash e-wallet can be topped up via online banking (RM50 minimum top-up), credit card (RM25 minimum top-up), merchant on-location via QR code, E-Pay voucher, Digi reload, KK Super Mart via bar code or QR code, and MCash itself via alphanumeric code.

JomParking (left), another parking payment app, previously worked for various areas in the Klang Valley, however it no longer works in downtown KL; a parking ticket machine in TTDI operational in September (right)

The proliferation of mobile applications with their own systems could prove laborious for the end user, who will potentially have to have money tied up in various separate e-wallets, cashless as they may be.

Many, if not most road users will frequent areas that are under more than one municipal council, and with the growing network of additional players in the market with their own e-wallet systems, users will need to keep tabs on their balances across various e-wallets to ensure they do not get caught out.

What do you think of these developments, dear readers? Will the myriad payment options improve convenience or add to confusion?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Syukur! Not another damn X50 advertorial today!

Pakai TnG e-wallet je senang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Ex VGM staff on Oct 02, 2020 at 10:21 am

DBKL should start controlling open car parks..since the LRT3 is coming to completion in less than a year from now.

More car parks allow more cars to come in the city. More cars = higher carbon footprint = more emission.

Either reduce the number of open space parkings or reduce the size to fit kei size cars, like Japan (where b segment cars like vios city cannot fit and need to go expensive private car parks).

• longjaafar on Oct 02, 2020 at 10:29 am

What we want is better enforcement, but DBKL prioritise payment..

• Lets See on Oct 02, 2020 at 2:11 pm

Try dont pay and you will see the enforcement you asked for.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 02, 2020 at 10:41 am

Why don’t DBKL use 1 app rather than 4 apps. Initially they use JomParking and few months ago the app no longer provide service. Imagine the money we have putting inside is literrally burnt. Last time Smart Selangor can use to pay DBKL roadside parking but yesterday when I activate the apps the DBKL no longer available. So DBKL how many more APPS you want to use and withdraw to trouble to citizens. Why don’t DBKL launched they OWN APPS instead of using 3rd party one and keep changing. You guys are just nothing more to do but to trouble the road user.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Chan Peng Leong on Oct 02, 2020 at 10:43 am

Agreed that there are too many parking operators. Once I was in Seremban and used the Smart Selangor parking app to pay. The app detected I was in Seremban and prompted me to pay and I did accordingly. Just 5 minutes later I saw a summon on my windscreen. The local parking operator said that app cannot be used and I had to pay cash again plus pay the fine of 10 ringgit. Meanwhile Smart Selangor had deducted from my wallet.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 02, 2020 at 10:53 am

Typical local gomen mentality. Last minute announcement, removal of existing e-payment provider like Smart Selangor without a mention. Then expect rakyat to just switch over to new e-payment just like that.

Where is the grace period? Where is the transition period? What about the balance left in previous e-payment? All done with tidak apa, not my problem attitude.

• pengayuhbasikal on Oct 02, 2020 at 11:54 am

They treat the epayment system same as machine base payment… epayment shall be borderless..where..1 one ewallet can use at various places…but now…1 ewallet…1 border…damn stupid…need to maintain many e wallet in phone…

• Neutral on Oct 02, 2020 at 12:01 pm

Cashless parking should be introduced nationwide with one single apps. At the moment, the various local authorities have their own systems which only applicable to certain areas. In Penang, the Penang Smart Parking which started 1st January this year only covers the island n the seberang. It’s very convenient with time up alert and you can top up without having to go to your parked car. I am all for this type of cashless parking.

• BIAS GOV on Oct 02, 2020 at 12:18 pm

MCash minimum topup RM50? WHAT A JOKE! Imagine a B40 who rarely park at DBKL’s territory and they want to park like for less than 3 hours only and gotta topup rm50. That amount are a lot to them. Why can’t they just put it no minimum amount to topup. Don’t say like grab cause wanted to make the transaction smooth & save time. Hello, rich people can topup straight 1k inside while we B40s gotta topup sikit2, we don’t mind if we have to topup many times. Just give people choice la u think RM50 is small amount? It’s like lunch money for 3 days for some people. Boooo!!!

• Fireant on Oct 02, 2020 at 3:13 pm

WTF is wrong with DBKL? Can’t even do one job right? Why in the world would you wanna keep creating more apps just to do one lousy parking job & then keep switching..
    This is really inconveniencing & burdening the ppl. Why can’t they link the parking apps to e-wallets like T&G, Grabpay or Boost.. So we can just pay via the e-wallet link inside the app.. Or is there some hidden agendas on this app switching issue?

• vivizurianti on Oct 02, 2020 at 3:39 pm

DBKL changes their mind every week. Worst than fussy auntie.
    Like my fren says “Kalau tak tukar, itu bukan DBKL”

• damn….y this damnbkl not just stick with 1 freaking app!
    previously it works just fine with TNGO but now cant.
    everyone, everywhere also have TNGO now or boost either one

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 02, 2020 at 5:32 pm

Same conundrum back when each toll operator had their own cashless card payment. Different toll, different card.

Only when federal gomen step in and forced every toll operator to only use T&G did one unified payment system was implemented country wide.

It’s about time the same unified cashless payment is implemented for parking, tolls throughout the whole country. Force all the local gomen to accept unified cashless payment.

• Angry Voters on Oct 02, 2020 at 6:43 pm

But now we hear idiots complain about cronyism since it only uses a single unified payment system. That is the problem with Malaysians, damned if you do, damned if you don’t. Don’t give them choice they complain, give them choice and they still complain. Macam mana la Malaysia nak maju ni….

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:44 pm

Today, it doesn’t have to be just one cashless payment option but if you seriously look at the strong 2 companies that are financially strong, have big enough number of users, widely accepted by other retailers and able to survive long term, it would be T&G e-wallet and GrabPay. Maybe Setel but it’s still too new and currently concentrated on fuel payment. Boost is as good as gulung tikar.

So, T&G e-wallet and GrabPay are the 2 logical choices business wise but we know in Boleh-Land, other factors such as politics, “commission” & “cabel” comes to play. Hence, back to where we are today.

• Trinity on Oct 02, 2020 at 6:28 pm

Will there be a fee for reloading? The parking app in Melaka takes RM1 fee for every reload and the state government condones it.

• DBKL – you had one job.

• Anti Poyo on Nov 24, 2020 at 2:22 pm

So many parking apps, but one problem remains. Enforcement towards selfish & stupid drivers. This species will always park everywhere, yellow line, double park, at the corner, on the curb. They exist everywhere, either driving luxury car or abeng car. I would rather DBKL spend on cctv to nab & issue summon to these idiot drivers (but the problem is dbkl will give summon discount for late payers. Never ending problem)

• Use this code to get free token
    ‘JOM50K0’