Touch ‘n Go eWallet adds TNG Card feature – bypasses physical card balance, pilot rollout on DUKE

Touch ‘n Go eWallet adds TNG Card feature – bypasses physical card balance, pilot rollout on DUKE,

Touch ‘n Go has added a new TNG Card feature to its eWallet app, which allows users to pay toll fares using the funds in their eWallet. This is not to be confused with the RFID system that also uses the app, as you still pay using a physical Touch ‘n Go card.

Instead, the system lets you link your cards – up to three in total – to your eWallet account. From then on, whenever you use a card at a toll booth (either by tapping it on a reader or by using a SmartTAG), the toll charge will automatically be deducted from your eWallet, bypassing the balance in the physical card. The fare will only be deducted from the card if your eWallet has insufficient funds.

Touch ‘n Go eWallet adds TNG Card feature – bypasses physical card balance, pilot rollout on DUKE

Touch ‘n Go says that with the implementation of the TNG Card feature, users will no longer need to queue up at reload lanes at toll plazas. They will also save a bit of money along the way as they will no longer have to pay a 50 sen reload surcharge – top-ups for the eWallet, which are made through your phone via credit or debit card, online banking or TNG Reload PINs come with no additional fees.

For now, the pilot programme is only being conducted on the DUKE Highway, at the Ayer Panas, Sentul Pasar, Segambut and Sentul Pasar Tambahan tolls. However, the company plans to roll out the service on all highways in the Klang Valley and, subsequently, nationwide. It also wants to make the system available in more places such as public transportation networks and carparks.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• mabuk ketum on Dec 07, 2018 at 8:20 pm

Syabas TnG! Meanwhile my old folks up north still using cash to pay tol… btw they coming tmr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:01 am

Good job TnG. Well done. But most importantly, try to help the tens of thousands of traditional touch and go card owners who get their cards blacklisted for no apparent reason.

Then, cannot sort the issue at tolls booth touch and go counters. Must go to KL Sentral and pay parking fee RM5 per hour.

So many people don’t bother. They just throw away the cards with credit inside because it is a hassle to go KL Sentral Touch and GO HQ to sort the matter our. Queue there is so long that waiting 2 to 3 hours is very normal. So, parking alone cost more than the creidt inside your card.

TnG makes hundreds of million of ringgit free money this way.

Why our cards suddenly blacklisted? Like ajaib magic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Hello~ John what? on Dec 08, 2018 at 10:20 pm

which parking fee 5MYR? didn’t actually went to nu sentral before?

• John Bin Dedak on Dec 09, 2018 at 6:02 pm

Lazy company always not wanting to innovate themselves. Look at Singapore, they made the Gantry system so advanced 20 years ago.

Now only TNG kena bamboo from the PH gomen to work hard. Otherwise last year and before that, all tidurzzzzzzzzz

• Alamak on Dec 07, 2018 at 8:48 pm

Wow!!! So advance!!!

Amaaaaazing…

• John Trollvolta on Dec 08, 2018 at 1:45 am

Well, took them damn long enough to figure out to link TnG cards to eWallet.
      And now we’ll have to wait again for the rollout on PLUS highway…

• Advice to Government of Malaysia on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:40 am

Better to outsource this TNG to some China company, I think they can do a better job. Just like how Li Chunrong has made Proton better, this China company also will make TNG better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:20 am

This is typical Putrajaya mentality. have you sent in any application to Putrajaya for anything? They will take months or years before they get back to you

Go to their offices and you will see what they do. Half the time eating keropok, listening to music and laughing non stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Really hoping they would enable DBKL parking payment because I am really tired of tapping on the parking machine every day

• Jomparking on Dec 09, 2018 at 6:00 pm

Use JomParking – An app that ease your parking payment for DBKL. You may download the apps in Google Play and Apple App Store.

• Imprezzedz on Dec 07, 2018 at 10:31 pm

So….that means you will have separate funds in your eWallet and TouchNGo card???

• Mr. Octopus on Dec 08, 2018 at 9:37 am

Which I think is good. The ewallet will be the active balance and the card balance will be sort of a buffer.

• francis on Dec 08, 2018 at 7:28 pm

1st, i dont understand why they want to separate the fund?
        2nd, they had decided to separate fund for whatever reason and I do hope the fund can be transferable between the wallet and the TnG card. I do not want ill be keep using the wallet to ease my reloading and i still have RM100 in the card unutilized.

• Eyesore on Dec 10, 2018 at 10:56 am

for now yes… bcoz not all toll point are fitted with system yet… so fund in your card still needed… once they roll out the system to all toll point next year, maybe no more fund needed in ur card.. be patient lol..

• WONG KIEN WAI on Dec 08, 2018 at 12:10 am

i downloaded the app but after i read all the comments, i stopped.

• John Trollvolta on Dec 08, 2018 at 1:44 am

Well, took them damn long enough to figure out to link TnG cards to eWallet.
    And now we’ll have to wait again for rollout on PLUS highway…

• Dun know but what I know jepunis hybrid EV tipu punya, high maintenance and low RV

• Saktish on Dec 08, 2018 at 3:07 am

Why does all these system has to be complicated? Why can’t it be just same account, and both card and e-wallet account are sync-ed?

• Sohai (not ori) on Dec 08, 2018 at 5:23 pm

Pls STOP this monopoly …stupid ideas and half baked implementation example is the reload machinee at BHP if suddenly offline while u reload, the money stuck and u have to call wataapss a hp no give yur name account no and NRIC AND WAIT FEW DAYS for the refund

• Kimberly on Dec 08, 2018 at 10:45 pm

Do they accept American Express?

• Bryan Tee on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:54 pm

Personally I think is an improvement which is good to touch and go user on smart tag. However what is the point of having rfid if this works? The only difference is you no need a device with rfid. Then is rfid an upgrade or another way of paying toll….so how many type of toll gate you want to build? Make up your mind with route you want to take.

• RFID Lab Rat on Dec 09, 2018 at 2:32 pm

This is almost like RFID already.. Good in cases where RFID isnt detecting and the fallback is to TouchnGo/smartTag. Looking forward to seeing it being implemented in more toll

• Notched phone is fugly on Dec 09, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Why does it have to be a notches phone on the picture? Habisla touch n go!

• wongkc on Dec 10, 2018 at 2:51 am

Most of the time we cannot remember the balance in our Touch & Go card. Can we check the balance in our Touch & Go card from the ewallet? If we cannot check our balance, the ewallet is useless.

• Iqbal on Dec 10, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Yes you can, but it’s not in real time. I don’t know how frequent they update the card balance bit it seems that it did update the card daily

• Can you please clarify on Dec 11, 2018 at 6:20 pm

Why only rolling out to certain toll? Why not nationwide? And why is this caveat not stated in the App. What a waste of time. Go big or go home. Test is extensively before rolling it out nationwide. I’m not going to use this until all toll accept this.

• Troll & Go on Dec 13, 2018 at 10:36 pm

The management surely stupid, but did they hired a stupid system developer too?…it’s not that hard to code so the balance in card can be deducted..

• Shamsul on Jul 02, 2019 at 6:41 am

Reload pin