Touch ‘n Go PayDirect coming to closed-system tolls – PLUS Highway, Elite Highway, NKVE, LEKAS Highway

Currently, there are 16 highways in Malaysia that support Touch ‘n Go’s PayDirect feature, which provides road users with the convenience of paying for toll charges with their eWallet via their existing TnG cards.

Soon, the company is set to expand that list to include closed-system tolls such as the PLUS Highway, Elite Highway, NKVE and LEKAS Highway, bringing the total number up to 20 highways. However, there’s no timeline on when this will happen for now.

To get PayDirect working, you will first need a TnG eWallet account. Next, you must link your Touch n’ Go cards to the eWallet app (up to three allowed). Whenever a linked card is used at any of the listed highways (SmartTAG or by reader), the toll charge will be automatically deducted from the eWallet balance instead of balance on the physical card itself.

In the event there are insufficient funds in the eWallet, the fare will be deducted from the physical card’s balance instead. You can ensure that you have a sufficient balance in your eWallet by enabling the auto-reload feature in the eWallet. whereby funds are automatically added to the eWallet whenever the balance dips below a certain preset amount.

The auto-reload action can be set via phone app, with payment made using a credit or debit card, online banking, as well as TNG Reload PINs with no additional fees.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sohai on Jun 03, 2019 at 5:03 pm

Our highway the only problem is bottleneck congestion long q kilometers to start-stop make tol payment or slow down to 5kmh smart tag payment.(not really smart)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • There is also the irony of drivers holding the SmartTag (!) and waving it around in the air and yet still causing idiot jams at the tool booths. Bunch of imbeciles. Orang suruh lekat kat windscreen not hold it in your hands!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
      • Kunta on Jun 03, 2019 at 8:02 pm

Malaysia boleh ma.nanti kena Curi smart tag.you go buy the myvi la built in la.after you put in windscreen later missing then menangis.

• Why dont u pay for my window when it got smashed because some robber stole my SmartTag

• How about you get more creative with your smartag windscreen placement or take it out from the holder when parked? Inilah masalah orang Malaysia, fikir problems instead of solutions.

• Psychology Observer on Jun 04, 2019 at 12:44 am

And then there are imbeciles who makes comments on said imbeciles for not knowing why they did that. From past experience, I see people taking their tag out from their vehicle because the lane faced a problem with the reader and was unable to read REGARDLESS of where it was placed in the vehicle.
        To the motorist’s disdain, they took the reader out and wave it about to see if the reader catches the tag’s signal. It’s a normal reaction as like how people still take their phones out to the sky to see if it boosts the signal. Of course it doesn’t, but people still does it instinctly.

This is due in fault to faulty reader or even metal-imbued/infused tinting like those found in many high end tints.

• My smarttag had ZERO read problems in all my years of use, and it fixed to my windscreen 24/7. And not stolen yet, because I used some brainpower to ensure no one can spot it from the outside.

On my daily drives, it is the drivers who hold it in the air that cause all the read problems in the first place. And the kicker is many hold it out of the car way before they reach the read zone of the sensor. Then they get stuck and bring INCONVENIENCE to the rest of us behind. Absolute morons these specimens.

• Azlan on Jun 04, 2019 at 10:04 pm

Ada lagi ke orang curi smart tag?

• Sohai on Jun 03, 2019 at 5:04 pm

E wallet boleh improve traffic jam at tol kah?

• Sohai on Jun 03, 2019 at 5:06 pm

Pls solve the tol jam problem, don’t doing others stp thing.

• Sohai on Jun 03, 2019 at 5:07 pm

When can 110kmh pay tol like singapore done it 20yrs back ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Does it means there will be RFID usage in PLUS soon too? Looks like I was right when spotting the hidden RFID signboard on 1 of the toll booths at PLUS. Hope it comes soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • azhari kassim on Jun 04, 2019 at 9:59 am

TnGo is kiasu.They did not allow PLUS encroach TnGo monopoly of RFID. TnGo now battling with PLUS in court

• Ghani on Jun 04, 2019 at 11:56 am

And yet PLUS is still going to implement RFID from TnG nevertheless.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 04, 2019 at 3:05 pm

I’m with TnGo on this. If PLUS introduce another form of RFID tag, we may have to spend more money to get another type of tag/sticker etc. 1 type is enough, because we like it or not, still have to pay tolls. Unless the dream to abolish tolls becomes reality.

• Truckers on Jun 03, 2019 at 5:43 pm

TnG scanners works. It’s the imbecile users that forgets to reload their card and sheepishly hands out the cash to the toll booth attendants.

• the rfid scanner is still lousy. not like japan or other country.

• Tarmizi on Jun 04, 2019 at 9:40 am

RFID still have to improve the system. Sometimes you go into RFID lane they cannot detect you car. Have to drive really slow then ok. If not have to reverse & go thru again. Stupid isn’t it. There are occasions where we decide to go to touch & go lane or SMART TAG LANE. Still my e-wallet go deducted as it I’m using RFID. Rugi la if like that!!! PLEASE IMPROVE YOU RFID SYSTEMS FIRST!!!!

• Steven on Jun 07, 2019 at 8:50 pm

RFID sticker install inside the car screen to avoid lost due to washing or long sun exposure .

• keyboard warrior on Aug 26, 2019 at 9:07 am

i thought after undi PAKATAN, no more toll right?

• Elord on Jan 20, 2020 at 2:37 am

Bentong toll can use pay direct also gambang??

• Calvin Yoo on Sep 08, 2020 at 11:46 pm

Any new update for PayDirect at Closed Toll like PLUS? Already one year since this news mentioned expand to Closed toll.

• Wayne on Sep 18, 2022 at 6:12 pm

3 years on and still no sign of this on PLUS. Farking useless.