REVIEW: 2021 Toyota Hilux 2.8 Rogue AT in Malaysia

The 2021 Toyota Hilux has officially made its Malaysian debut. This is technically the second facelift for the Hilux, and it’s available in five variants, starting with the Single Cab 2.4 MT 4×4 at RM92,880 to the range-topping 2.8 Rogue AT 4×4 at RM146,880. Prices include sales tax, as pick-up trucks are excluded from the government’s 2020 sales tax exemption.

New face aside, the 2021 Hilux gets significantly better kit, better fuel efficiency and cheaper servicing costs. The last bit is via UMWT’s Toyota Service Savers package, which essentially lets you pre-pay for future service costs, bundling it into the loan. TSS starts from RM3,580, and owners can save up to 13% and enjoy discounts up to 20% for selected items and parts replacement.

On the mechanical side of things, the Rogue is powered by the 1G-FTV 2.8L turbodiesel engine, offering 204 PS at 3,400 rpm and 500 Nm from 1,600 to 2,800 rpm. That’s 27 PS and 50 Nm more from before, but despite the higher output, Toyota says fuel consumption is lower by 4% to an average of 10.9 km/l. It also gains a heavy-duty turbo unit that’s now water-cooled (was air-cooled).

The rest of the Hilux range is powered by the 2GD-FTV 2.4L engine with 150 PS at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,600 to 2,000 rpm. Fuel efficiency is also up by 5% thanks to increased pressure in the commonrail system. The service interval for both engines is now 10,000 km or six months, versus 5,000 km or three months from before.

All variants get a six-speed automatic transmission with sequential shift (Toyota’s usual Power/Eco mode is there), or a manual for the workhorse single cab and the 2.4G double cab. There’s also a variety of accessories to go with the Hilux, should you fancy.

Standard safety kit includes VSC, Hill-Start Assist Control, Emergency Stop Signal and reverse sensors. The top two variants get Blind Spot Monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert, as well as security and solar tinting. The Rogue, however, gets Toyota Safety Sense, which consists of Pre-Collision System (PCS), Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) and Lane Departure Alert (LDA) with Yaw Assist.

GALLERY: 2021 Toyota Hilux 2.8 Rogue

GALLERY: 2021 Toyota Hilux official photos

GALLERY: 2021 Toyota Hilux official brochure

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• the driver on Oct 08, 2020 at 1:11 pm

Is it any wonder that some intrepid motorists buy these high powered trucks? By exploiting the loophole in taxation, where can you get 204 bhp and 500Nm for RM93k? Who cares about the so-so ride when you have that much power?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 08, 2020 at 1:39 pm

Sorry to disappoint you, but 205 PS/500 Nm is for the RM147k model, which, btw, is not much faster than a Perodua Myvi 1.5 in the real world because of its weight.

• the driver on Oct 08, 2020 at 2:01 pm

But that still doesn’t quite explain why these truck driver barrel down the highway at elevated speeds, even challenging fast saloons. Cheap fuel? Company cars?

• powerbank on Oct 08, 2020 at 2:24 pm

With that montrous 500Nm, just a slight foot to the pelt. Not that it wanna go fast, but Toyota Hilux Rouge simply too powerful.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 08, 2020 at 3:02 pm

(Like) Ford Ranger
            (Dislike) Toyota Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
          • Sarah on Oct 08, 2020 at 3:20 pm

(Like) Ford Ranger and Toyota Hilux
            (Dislike) Isuzu Dmax

• Michael Yap on Oct 09, 2020 at 8:04 am

This is an amazing and powerful car. In Thailand it can even pull Boeing 747 lah. Tengok youtube videos

Power !!!!!

• Truckers on Oct 09, 2020 at 11:15 am

Pulling 747 is nothingla. Even M’sian ironman can use his hair to pull a 747….

• Vigo3.0 on Oct 09, 2020 at 1:34 pm

Since we talking abt hilix vs myvi. I drive hilux 3.0 facelift. I once, for fun, drag race wif my fren myvi extreme 1.5, both AT. We drag 3 round. All 3 round myvi leads half car from gear 1 up to 100kmh. After 120kmh myvi byebye and getting further behind.
        Then my that same fren bought hilux revo 2.8 2018, we drag race, from gear 1 he lead 1 car, til top speed he lead 3 cars and i cant even catch up wif him n getting further ahead.

• Borneo King 205PS 500Nm 6AT on Oct 08, 2020 at 2:05 pm

Don’t expect too fast.
      Even Ford Ranger Raptor, X50, X70, all about 10seconds only, not much faster than Myvi 1.5L

But its definitely the fastest to climb the hill, or when you are loaded, or running in the construction site/Felda road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Yes this Hilux could able to climb up the hill. But For facts, Toyota Hilux is the faster truck than Ford Ranger Raptor. Both cars are good and faster. But seriously, Hilux 2.8 is faster than Myvi 1.5. However, Myvi would not able to compare with Hilux. Even X50 and X70 is not possible to compare with this

• yenyen on Oct 08, 2020 at 1:56 pm

air cooled turbo?

• 147k and so many blank buttons on center console and driver side… means Msia spec is still missing tons of options.

• Transferred to the steering, more space for Hilux Fans to add spot light/other accessories, etc

• Letstorque on Oct 08, 2020 at 4:51 pm

Most modern pick up trucks, quite stable for hiway speed.
    Ride is really bad on bumpy road, but on smooth road, okay.

The problem came when its raining.

Saw that Hafriz driving in the rain scared me.

I drive truck most of my time on the road.
    Around 1k km every week for the last 12 years.

I have other cars (D seg sedan, B seg sedan, MPV) but I can’t afford to put 50-60k km every year for my commute.

Believe me, pick up truck is very tricky to handle during wet condition.
    Especially on AT or MT tire.

But, ironically, I never involved in accident driving pick up truck (maybe because I’m driving pick up truck very slow if its raining)

All my accidents (with me at steering wheels) involved sedans.

• the rock on Oct 09, 2020 at 8:57 am

Yes, dont choose all terrain rubbers, but good for construction road

Go for highway terrain tyre, this is used for 205Ps 500Nm the Rogue Hilux

• FORD Raptor still the best

• Monana on Nov 28, 2020 at 12:55 pm

Why not just give Toyota Safety Sense 2.0 with all-speed ACC and Lane Centering? Lemaula UMW ni.