VIDEO: Mitsubishi Xpander finally in Malaysia – what took MMM so long, only 2 airbags? Bosses explain

The Mitsubishi Xpander has been finally revealed in Malaysia, with a media preview coinciding with the revelation of specs and opening of order books. Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) will be officially launching the seven-seater next month.

A single Pekan-assembled CKD variant will be offered here, to be priced below RM100k and competitively against the Honda BR-V and Toyota Rush, which are also people carriers with SUV-inspired styling. Behind the bold Dynamic Shield face is a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated engine with 105 PS and 141 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The 4A91 MIVEC unit sends drive to the front axle via a four-speed automatic gearbox.

As for equipment, the facelifted Xpander comes with bi-LED reflector headlamps and LED daytime running lights. The LED eyes mark this out as the facelift (the original car had halogen lamps), along with U-shaped louvres that replace the triple slats on the grille. Also fitted are LED tail lights and 16-inch two-tone alloys.

VIDEO: Mitsubishi Xpander finally in Malaysia – what took MMM so long, only 2 airbags? Bosses explain

Inside, a black interior with quilted leather seats, a 9.0-inch touchscreen head unit with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility, a 360-degree camera system and dashcam are unique-to-Malaysia features. Elsewhere, the Xpander also comes with keyless entry with push start, a 4.2-inch colour multi-info display, six speakers and four roof-mounted rear air vents. Safety-wise, there’s two airbags, ABS/EBD, stability control, hill start assist and Isofix child seat anchors. Read more in our media preview report.

We caught up with MMM CEO Tomoyuki Shinnishi and senior VP Hoffen Teh at the media preview and posed some burning questions to the bosses. On why it took them so long to introduce the Xpander in Malaysia (the model made its debut in August 2017 in Indonesia, and word then was that it would reach Malaysia the following year), Shinnishi said that the Malaysian market is such that if a car is to be competitive in price, it has to be CKD, and the delay was due to preparations for local assembly.

He added that the decision to put the Xpander together at Pekan was a business one. DRB-Hicom, which owns the automotive complex in Pekan, is also a shareholder of MMM, and “we highly utilised DRB facilities to make the product more competitive,” Shinnishi said, hinting at cost savings and a win-win for all parties. The Mitsubishi Outlander and ASX SUVs are contract assembled at Tan Chong Motor Assemblies’ Segambut plant in KL.

MMM has planned initial sales of 500 units per month, but with over 7,400 names in the registration of interest exercise, Shinnishi said that MMM might have to revise its sales planning and production capacity to meet demand.

Moving to the product, Hoffen explained that there are slight changes to the Xpander for Malaysia. Our country has unique regulations compared to other ASEAN countries, and one example is the rear fog lamp requirement. He said that the lifestyle and expectations of Malaysian customers also differ from their regional counterparts, and changes to the interior colour scheme reflect this – our Xpander gets a black theme with silver trim, while Indonesia prefers a more “luxury” beige and wood combo.

On top of that, MMM has included quilted leather seats, a 9.0-inch touchscreen head unit with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, an around-view monitor and a dashcam. “We’re aware of market demand and requirements, the preference of Malaysians,” Hoffen said, while conceding that they couldn’t do much about the Xpander’s airbag count, which is two.

“We have to admit that this vehicle was originally designed mainly for the Indonesian market, and then it expanded to Thailand, Vietnam and the Philippines. As far as vehicle engineering is concerned, as of now, they (the other ASEAN countries) represent the major markets and there’s no real market demand for more than two airbags,” he said.

As for why now, and why this product, Shinnishi pointed to Mitsubishi Motors’ mid term business plan, which was announced in July. As it’s no longer the wide-ranging carmaker it once was, MMC declared that its the company will focus on the ASEAN market, where it is relatively strong, while concentrating on pick-up trucks, SUVs and MPVs. Passenger cars from the three diamond brand are history. The Xpander Cross? Under consideration.

The MMM chief summarised by highlighting the Xpander’s three major points – good design (the Dynamic Shield look is powerful, macho and robust), a spacious body (full size, seven adults can sit in comfort), and features customised for Malaysian customers (large head unit, around view monitor, dashcam). He also pointed to the brand’s good after sales record in Malaysia – top in the JD Power Customer Service Index (CSI) study for two consecutive years, and second in the Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI) last year.

Check out the video above for the full interview, and the video below for a walk-around tour of the Xpander.

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Xpander colour options

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Neutral on Oct 23, 2020 at 6:03 pm

Hmmm the better one alredi here. Honda BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
    • They basically saying other markets don’t care about safety, so they’d design ngam-ngam for with 2 airbags and now they are pushing this car to us as a joke in hopes they can have some market presence here. Only fools will buy into such insincerity as there’s not even an option for them to up the airbag count!!!! This car shouldn’t exist on our roads and I hope it stays that way to send them a message; your freaking large audio screen with that horrible cover is worthless feature when you only give 2 airbags!!!!

They can take their ASEAN only (minus M’sia and S’pore) car and shove it up their Jap arses!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 3
      • Typical Malaysian on Oct 24, 2020 at 11:51 am

Totally agreed bro. Perodua Aruz has got 6 airbags, VSC, TRC, ASA2.0 & 5-star Asean NCAP rating. Surely the best miracle godcar for every Malaysia family, kereta sejuta keluarga sejahtera Malaya. Kemon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on Oct 24, 2020 at 9:27 pm

How about brv..? Only 2 airbag but still make decent selling here.. ? Solely for brand honda.. than, honda user even stupid as well

• Proton oh Proton on Oct 26, 2020 at 11:34 am

P. Azla = M. Xpander

• X70 or Expander on Oct 24, 2020 at 3:35 pm

Go for sushi will never wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Ghani on Oct 25, 2020 at 7:38 pm

Is alwiz wrong if enter frm backdoor. now the utter failure & malu all rakyat can see. Harus aruz

• You must be the first I know enter car thru the backdoor.

• Ajibkor on Oct 26, 2020 at 10:17 pm

Hahahah tabik spring geng hangpa naik thru the backdoor, belakang masuk suka sangat.

• Ethan on Oct 23, 2020 at 6:13 pm

It’s really surprising to know that “there’s no real market demand for more than two airbags” in the other ASEAN countries. I wonder why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • what took so long? this car made in DRB-Hicom Pekan, deswai perlahan lahan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • AEB first 2020 on Oct 24, 2020 at 6:51 am

https://paultan.org/2015/12/03/mitsubishi-mirage-facelift-goes-high-tech-in-thailand/

They launched Mitsu Mirage at Thailand in 2015 with AEB.

• newme on Oct 23, 2020 at 6:18 pm

Yeah, burning question for everyone except Proton. Why don’t start with their part issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Arnie on Oct 23, 2020 at 10:52 pm

Ever tried getting fuel pump replace under campaign? Yeah, still waiting after 1 month for my Honda City with no firmed date on replacement. Don’t get me started on the number of quality issues at the car. You want to complain, go complain when you actually own the car.

• headwind on Oct 24, 2020 at 12:26 am

Back in 2017, proton rebadged this mitsu the new gen Proton Ertiga… and avoid all these costly geely mess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Celup King on Oct 24, 2020 at 9:36 am

Hoi 2 airbag saje, hoi! Jelaskan, jangan tak jelaskan. Kalau tak bagus, jelaskan cepat-cepat.

• Avenger on Oct 24, 2020 at 10:32 am

And what does parts issue have to do with inferior safety?

• dumbyou strikes again on Oct 24, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Yeah, yeah, newme/DK. Try to help your worshipped Japanese deflect as much flack as possible about lack of safety. And sounded ridiculous while doing so by changing the topic.

• PEJUANG on Oct 25, 2020 at 12:29 am

This guy again…. obsessed with newme ❤️

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • dumbyou strikes again on Oct 25, 2020 at 4:48 pm

newme, this name suits you since you are a ‘Pejuang Jepun’ to the core. Banzai!

• Well it takes someone fedup enough to tell you off, Newme.

• PEJUANG on Oct 25, 2020 at 10:12 pm

newme isn’t my dupe, Damon Lee.

• Copy Paste on Oct 26, 2020 at 9:54 am

Copy paste: “Yeah sure DK/Newme. We believe ya.”

• Copy Paste on Oct 26, 2020 at 9:56 am

Copy paste: “newme/DK – a decade old troller, another nonstop fake accusations against Sir.Hafriz’s & Paultan’s credibility. They are always neutral and Fair to all sides.Their articles really a World Class and It is still Free, no sub-charge to readers too. Just go Big, wiser & another level – Go setup your own website, media platforms or youtube accs to create multiple Fake Articles such as “5-10… variants you should avoid”, or “Beware of this before you buy…” or “My bad Ownerships experiences with…”. Go on, express your pov for whatever Brands there! Instead of coming here days & nights with slow poke diversions & no impact on masses. Stupid decade old troller & your handler as well – low KPI’s on trolling, repetitive, stagnant, no progress at all.”

• Yo dumbass dumbyou, that guy isn’t me. I’ve stopped commenting here since the editors are now X50 salesmen. I might be back IF the editors repent and go easy off the biased reporting. Big IF!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • Hypocrite DK strikes again on Oct 25, 2020 at 4:46 pm

As if your words can be trusted…Well, good riddance that you no longer trolling here. Better heed your own advice and repent by stop accusing others that not agreeing with you as ‘biased’.

• Aura89 on Oct 25, 2020 at 5:08 pm

Yeah sure DK/Newme. We believe ya.

• azrai on Oct 23, 2020 at 6:33 pm

Good CSI and SSI are due to low sales volume. You have 1 wife, everyday you can be with the same wife and cuddle her. You have 4 wives?

• Silthice on Oct 23, 2020 at 6:55 pm

If the price is on par with brv it will be a hot seller

• totally dont get it why people nowadays like these kind of ghey design. ugly with lot of unnecessary crease etc..its simply ugly, even juara look better than many ghey design these day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • C.P. MOHAN on Oct 23, 2020 at 7:36 pm

The competitors are not Japanese Toyota and Honda only, but specifically also Chinese Geely/Proton X70/X50 .

• Dong gor on Oct 23, 2020 at 7:53 pm

Can sit 7 adults comfortably? Nay, I guess we can argue the definition of comfort. In my book, alphard/ equivalent can sit 6 comfortably.

• Datuk on Oct 24, 2020 at 10:26 am

Most important, the 5 seater in 7seat MPV is not compromised
      We expect it to have B segment comfort, not Premium car level.
      2 seater behind sitting at car boot, we expect it to have sufficient space.

When we ferry 2 ppl at car boot, we should drive more slowly.
      Just like we are ferrying a newly purchased TV at the car boot.

I respect 7 seater drivers. They know how to take care of thier family member comforts.
      Rather than ask 5ppl squeeze in a 5 seater. Its definitely more comfortable for 5ppl in 7 seater car for long journey. Some even try to squeeze 6ppl in 5 ppl B segment cars. Aduhhh

• PlainBS on Oct 23, 2020 at 8:15 pm

there’s no real market demand for more than two airbags,” he said.

Well, I bet these words will bite him back.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
    • Crystalball on Oct 26, 2020 at 10:01 am

Oh, let’s look into the future a bit. 3 months after launch, slow sales will force MMM to give big discounts to move the Xpander.

• As far as vehicle engineering is concerned, as of now, they (the other ASEAN countries) represent the major markets and there’s no real market demand for more than two airbags,” he said.

Not a convincing and good excuse for Mitsubishi. Safety is always better than sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • observer on Oct 23, 2020 at 8:33 pm

Didn’t see any CEO come out to take questions from PT. Bravo MMM.

• We aint cheap on Oct 23, 2020 at 8:46 pm

Chaiit!! Not even bother to look. Next X50 pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Because of Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam can accept with only 2 air bags, that’s why it remains only 2 here? The main competitors selling here also upgraded to 6 air bags, then why never follow? I can accept other areas but definitely no compromise on safety!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Ahmad on Oct 23, 2020 at 11:03 pm

Yo Hafiz. Their mask is really good looking with the MMC logo. Do you manage to ask one? Looks awesome.

• Silthice on Oct 24, 2020 at 1:32 am

Put Triton ‍♂️ engine in the Expander like Innova with Hilux engine and undoubtedly people will go for it.

• Ex VGM staff on Oct 24, 2020 at 6:47 am

For those not knowing why this car created for Indonesia.

First. Indonesia has a large Automobile market, annual new car registration easily hit 1 million units.

Second. MPV is the most sought after car since it can carry the most ppl in one go. That’s useful in a country where poverty rate is high.
    Toyota Innona and Avanza is prove to this.

Third. Due to the above, Mitsubishi already had a small 7 seater MPV earlier (some 20 years ago) only for the Indonesian market and it’s known as Mitsubishi Kuda.

Go Google.

• Laurie K Gilbert on Oct 24, 2020 at 8:21 am

Great car but only two airbags is a big mistake and an indication that Mitsubushi as a brand dont take passenger safety and family safety seriously. “Business decision” but a very stupid one and one which will cost the brand credibility.

• Unker Sammy on Oct 24, 2020 at 3:41 pm

Mitsu consider our poor like those in Indon not knowing that they are poorer until smuggle themselves across water and jungles to work here. Our so called poor buy cars like hotcakes. Typical Jap bakero thinking like nippon era where other races in Asia are below them. ‘ No chinese and dogs allowed’ Remember?

• When we raise our level of consumerism, even Nissan with it’s new Almeera and Honda City have to improve safety features for Malaysian market. The only reason u are stuck and talk crap with your two airbags is because your lame effort here in Asean, unable to reap economy of scale benefits, and hence cut cost to maximise profits!

• Pak mie on Oct 24, 2020 at 10:40 am

Already look face to face with this car. First impression. I was shock It look “kontot”. The inside was ok. Comfortable. The third row is comfortable also. Just like brv. Compare to aruz. Like Abang adik. Suspension for me it soft than aruz.

• Azman Jantan on Oct 24, 2020 at 11:00 am

A competitive segment compromises suv and mpv…most importantly is its stability on the road and able to run and accommodate 7 person…hopefully is powerful …I’d already booked one..anxiously waiting..

• 25yrsOld on Oct 24, 2020 at 11:10 am

If got ADAS, then no need give excuse already

• Raman on Oct 24, 2020 at 11:56 am

I suppose ‘demand’ should come from the government and related NGOs again. Compulsory minimum 4 airbags. It’s time. Consumers may give safety short shrift and profit margin may not give two hoots about it. So MIROS and gang, make some noise please.

On another related matter, and I have mentioned this before, all safety features – physical and electronic should be left out of tax accounting by the government. Tax luxury by all means but don’t tax safety.

• Minimum on Oct 27, 2020 at 12:33 pm

Xtrail oso 2 airbags, yes?
      That is minimum requirement.
      Should make it mandatory to have 4 airbags n some other safety features

• David on Oct 24, 2020 at 1:12 pm

What so difficult to add more air bag and sell here. Its a junk product launched some where in 2017

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 24, 2020 at 3:11 pm

lol 2 airbags is ridiculous in 2020

• So drb hicom stopped the expanded ftom coming in as they have onterest in proton and Honda?
    And why the need to assemble locally when its a asean car? What happened to asean free trade area we signed?

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 25, 2020 at 1:01 am

1.5 NA with 4 speed auto and 2 airbags. Fuyoh, top Japanese technology. Sure never break down one. Japanese technology mah. Fanbois jizzing non stop.

• 12yrsold on Oct 25, 2020 at 1:37 pm

Go for japs you never go wrong. You want to know how powerful this engine is?

It can tapau those turbocharged MPV when climbing hills!

• I can see why you talk like a 12 years old. Go to bed its past your bed time kid.

• Zuluboy on Oct 26, 2020 at 1:40 am

2 airbags?!?!
    ONLY TWO???
    Mitsubishi, u guys are having a laugh!
    It should not be sold here!

• sam123 on Oct 26, 2020 at 7:56 am

a proton saga 7 seater from 1985

• sick&tired on Oct 26, 2020 at 9:40 am

Mitsubishi Spander?

• Ajibkor on Oct 26, 2020 at 10:17 pm

Hahahah tabik spring geng hangpa naik thru the backdoor, belakang masuk suka sangat.