Proton targets 4,000 units of X50 deliveries by end December, aims to clear early queue by April: Roslan

The manufacture and distribution of new Proton vehicles is one of the many operations affected by the Covid-19 pandemic, Utusan Malaysia reported today. Most affected among them is the Proton X50 which was launched in October this year, said Proton Edar CEO Roslan Abdullah.

There have been more than 30,000 bookings made for the national brand’s B-segment SUV, with 3,200 units delivered and registered thus far, he said. “We aim to have 4,000 units delivered by December 31, which is consistent with our earlier statement,” the Proton Edar CEO said at a briefing.

Various stages of the movement control order (MCO) since March have also disrupted vendor operations as they are unable to fulfil the bookings received, he said. “It is a reaction of the supply chain. when vendors are unable to supply, we can’t fulfil orders as a result,” Roslan said.

The most recently-received bookings may take six to eight months to be delivered, while the company aims to have the earliest bookings delivered by April, he said, adding that the sales tax exemption that took effect from June 15 as part of the government’s Penjana economic stimulus plan has been among the key factors in the strong reception for the Proton X50.

An extension of the sales tax exemption until June 30, 2021 was announced by the government yesterday, confirming that the percentage of exemption remains unchanged from when it was originally announced, that is a 100% exemption for locally-assembled (CKD) cars and 50% for fully imported (CBU) cars.

The length of the customer queue means that even with the latest tax exemption extension, customers at the tail end of the list may have to bear the difference in the eventual price hike once the tax exemption period ends. With that in mind, Proton Edar will work towards offering a loyalty reward for its affected customers. “We are not able to provide details yet, but we will have something for the customers,” Roslan said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Future X50 Owner on Dec 30, 2020 at 8:07 pm

Not so excited to get early, that X50 terrible wind noise and cheap flimsy toy-plastic door handle….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
    • Angin Kosong on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:39 pm

X50 booking never reach 30K. P1 BS alot only, syiok sendiri.
      Remember early this year tokok kosong?

“We want to sell more (X70 models) this year. Last year we sold about 30,000 units, so I think we can sell more than that this year.”

But the truth is, whole 2019 x70 only 26,331 unit sold. Never even reach 30K even. Tokok only!

So X50 since launched on Oct til now only 3,200 unit sold? Its like 1.6K per month LOL LOL LOL! 30K booking konon LOL, at least can deliver 3K a month la. BS only. Poor alza can sell better than this LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
      • Heng Lee on Dec 31, 2020 at 8:51 am

Paying 80k for this X50 crossover is real bargain. When same segment rival… Benz GLA & Lexus UX200 priced more then RM250K,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Heng Lee Lan Lan on Dec 31, 2020 at 3:26 pm

Compare X50 with Haval or Tata

• Celup King on Dec 31, 2020 at 7:58 pm

Does Haval or Tata has ADAS Level 2? No? Then why bother to compare?

• Amran on Dec 31, 2020 at 9:06 am

Early this year mana ada covid. Many of these X50 bookings would have been for X70 if rakyat were not squeezed for a smaller car. You think covid never exist, mco never exist. You sound like an angry and dissatisfied P2 sales agent which I believe you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • Neutral on Dec 31, 2020 at 11:49 am

Couldn’t agree more with you. Otherwise, how could one get so emotional with the sales figure of Proton. Whether Proton sells well or not is non of his bloody business.

• Soda Krim on Dec 31, 2020 at 11:59 am

Covid exist since as early as Oct in certain place. Started become big in china on December 2019 bro. Get ur fact right even u got angry.

• Dr Strange on Dec 31, 2020 at 7:56 pm

Covid only landed in M’sia right at end Feb/early March. Get YOUR facts right Kunta.

• YB Albert on Dec 31, 2020 at 1:00 pm

Any waiting period that exceeds 2 months is never acceptable.
        Now,reports that used car dealers are buying up stocks to resell to desperadoes is not surprising.
        P1 cant just say wait till April..there may be supply bottlenecks should there be further lockdown ,and the June 30 deadline is exceeded.
        P1 ,it is simply outrageous for the waiting time to be so long.

• jusknitting on Dec 31, 2020 at 4:03 pm

Its unacceptable for any car brand period. Not just for P1. But I can understand for such a hot car, its unavoidable. My last experience with buying a Bezza, I had to wait more than 2 months to get my car; actually, I can give the exact days I have to wait, it’s 82 days! That’s for the most base Bezza variant (1.0 Std G Auto). Was the variant is the most sought after during Oct 2019 to Jan 2020? I’m curious to know because if it’s not, then why I have to wait that long?

• A Bastardised Brand on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:41 pm

Malaysians are falling for this “Proton news” still….

Proton is long dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Claim Warranty on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:46 pm

Pity the sheeps buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • AJibkor on Dec 31, 2020 at 12:54 pm

HAHAHA..Wait few more months,due to the powderful “Turbo”,more spare parts needed…these you cant claim warranty due to wear and tear.
      The X50 is over priced in Bolehland.Check it out for yourself how much it cost in China.Plus hp interest the car costs 125 grand for top specs.
      And our hafriz,as loaded as ever,also jump into this money pit.
      Another lockdown,people will wake up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 30, 2020 at 9:02 pm

More OT = More production

• omegle on Dec 30, 2020 at 10:21 pm

More production since CEO Roslan Abdullah moved from honda to proton..

• Kow King on Dec 30, 2020 at 9:29 pm

Alamak! How to balik kampung for CNY without my handsome red X50?

• Calvin on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:00 pm

If covid cases still going up and CMCO still in place, better I dont go back in case I might spread covid to my friends and relatives. Stay safe and stay at home better.

• Jeremy on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:27 pm

Just couple of months ago, menteri2 sez is safe to balik kampung to sabah… So kudos to them better.

• Amran on Dec 30, 2020 at 10:08 pm

Habisla! Thanks to SST free extension. 30,000 waiting list will grow even longer until June 2021.

• Mr Zhaf on Dec 31, 2020 at 12:43 am

Menunggu dan terus menunggu…
    Tukar tunggu x90 lak la

• Order sebelum lancar pun x dapat2 lagi. Proton main politik.

• Vanguard on Dec 31, 2020 at 8:57 am

Lots of “buyers” are speculators. I know a few used car dealers “ordered and bought” many x50, so that they can sell at higher prices later to desperate people. The speculators are ready to make a big kill when CNY is approaching.

• make sure nobody buys from used cars then these speculative buyers will slowly die off

• msia driver on Dec 31, 2020 at 3:34 pm

some buyers willing to pay rm180k++ for a scalped x50 flagship model…

• newme on Dec 31, 2020 at 9:26 am

They also said confident in achieving 200K sales since 2004. Am still waiting for that…

• yawnz on Jan 01, 2021 at 1:31 am

Perodua fanboys also said Proton will die this year. Already 31 Dec just past, am still waiting for that… waiting… waiting… zzzzzzz

• azrai on Dec 31, 2020 at 10:35 am

Other carmakers are grappling with stocks of 2020 model which they ramp up production to catch the 31 Dec SST waived. Since the exemption push until June 2021, many customers are delaying their purchase. Fo r the new January 2021 price list, they should start it all over again due to government price approval process. Sigh.
    meanwhile Mitsubishi has 8 month waiting list now.

• ex VGM staff on Dec 31, 2020 at 10:55 am

believe me when i said in 6 months time x50 will be ready stock just like the x70.

unless proton can get another 50k bookings in indonesia and another 30k from thailand. small numbers to consider indonesia new car market is about 1 million units every year while thailand is somewhere in between malaysia and thailand.

why not proton? why cant you? they are the closest neighbouring countries sharing borders to malaysia and also utilising same RHD driveway.

• Choong Khim Fen on Dec 31, 2020 at 11:15 am

By April to clear up all 26,800 order, in 4 months times mean need to produce around 7k per month almost double up production. Will it able to do it, since Proton vendor also slow to produce as Klang valley still a hot spot…..might as well import all part form China…Likely vendor also import part from China to assemble here in Malaysia, might as well import straight from China. China production now full sing, till Port also traffic jam….:)

• William wong on Jan 06, 2021 at 5:32 am

Can l get the proton x50 by April this year ?