100% sales tax exemption on new CKD cars, 50% exemption for CBU until end of the year – PM

In his short-term economic recovery plan speech earlier this evening, prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin announced a host of measures to stimulate the country’s economy, which has been adversely affected by the Covid-19 pandemic.

For the automotive sector, these involve an initiative with a quantum of around RM897 million, aimed at boosting new car sales, which will effectively keep the industry moving and provide some financial relief to new car buyers.

The relief measures that were announced under the economic stimulus plan known as Penjana are a 100% sales tax exemption on locally-assembled (CKD) models and 50% on fully-imported (CBU) models, starting from June 15 until December 31, 2020.

The current sales tax rate under the sales and services tax (SST) for both CKD and CBU passenger vehicles is 10%, so for CKD this will mean the complete removal of the 10% rate on all locally-assembled cars for the period, while for CBU it will be halved to 5%.

As such, expect car prices to go down in the same way as it was when the 6% goods and services tax (GST), which was introduced on April 1, 2015 was abolished in June 2018. The result was a three-month “tax holiday” (until SST was reintroduced in September 2018) in which there was zero sales tax imposed on all new car sales. Of course, CKD vehicles will benefit more from this round of the tax holiday.

Seeing as the announcement was made just this evening, price revisions will only come about from next week on. We don’t know by exactly how much car prices will change, given that there are a few variables and differences since 2018, but our follow-up story provides a rough indicator of what to expect.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sunga on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:10 pm

So tax holiday again!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Tricycle on Jun 05, 2020 at 5:55 pm

Is now to book Proton X70, 10% discount. Pheww

• YB Tan Sri KK on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:25 pm

No effect really because since 30 years ago, Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world.

Why?

Because all our car companies are GLC owned and Government knows these companies have no vision to work hard and merit on its own two feet. This is why
        for 30 years, they perah the rakyat with the highest car prices in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • Mantol on Jun 07, 2020 at 2:17 am

You mean companies like tan chong?

• Its really too little and too late to Penjana. Rakyat continue suffer with incompetent gov, jobless and no food worst then penjara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • A good Malaysian on Jun 07, 2020 at 12:38 pm

Malaysia should liberate car prices to be at par with at least neighboring Thailand. Or open up the AP to all. You’re harboring a few cronies at the expense of the 34 million Malaysians .

• Rosman on Jun 08, 2020 at 12:26 pm

Highest car prices in the world and yet PH perah us until blood comes out with higher car prices. Lucky we only suffer 22 months of this most incompetent and corrupted government in the world.

• Windshield on Jun 05, 2020 at 7:19 pm

Let’s buy toyota/bmw/Mercedes/mazda/hyundai. As from honda owner will be selling soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Lijger on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:53 pm

Besides these recommended brand, others like proton, volvo, hyundai, kia

• Lost confidence in Toyota, will never give a chance. I’ll choose conti-car rather than Toyota.

• Damon Lee on Jun 05, 2020 at 9:15 pm

This is surprisingly good news for Malaysians! Kudos to the government of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:15 pm

I feel like this sales tax exemption should be only applied to energy efficient vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 105
  • CHUA MIN FUI on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:17 pm

may I know what is CBU tax rate in Malaysia ?

• It’s a sales tax which is 10% regardless CBU or CKD. CKD will be 10% cheaper while CBU is 5%.

• cbu.. between 75 and 105% for excise duty. and 10% for sales tax.

• please read. it is mentioned in the article above

• Untung Manyak Wang on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:20 pm

Jangan lupa motorsikal CKD :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • QUincy LEE on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:22 pm

while for CBU it will be halved—> half

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:31 pm

Good for new car sales but not so good for used car dealers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Damon Lee on Jun 05, 2020 at 5:21 pm

2nd hand car dealers are mostly crooks. Know how to low ball car sellers & cheat car buyers. When I sold my car they point out this & that trying to justify lowering the selling price, until I got fair feedback & fair price from a professional used car retailer. Waste my time going to these ahpek towkays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
      • hi Damon Lee. May I know who is the professional car retailer? thanks

• Cheating pipu is how taukes gets rich.

• Ehuss on Jun 05, 2020 at 8:34 pm

I want to know who the professional car retailer is too. I desperately want to buy a used car but with so many horror stories i am terrified to be stuck with a lemon. I really wish we could buy certified used cars but the choice for these is so limited espcially for japanese cars.

• vedder on Jun 05, 2020 at 5:52 pm

Used car dealers are the devils reincarnated. No pity whatsoever for them. Only buy used from a private seller. There is no added value to getting one from a dealer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Removing the 10% sales tax will mean roughly 5% drop in actual selling price won’t it? I think the sales tax is applied to the pre-excise duty price

• Yong Ming on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:39 pm

https://paultan.org/2018/05/16/gst-to-be-set-to-0-on-june-1-no-sst-until-later-on-what-are-the-implications-for-car-prices/

• Ongtk on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:35 pm

Many Malaysians are struggling to put food on the table. Banks are giving moratorium on car loans until September. How would making cars cheaper help Malaysians? Only the rich will benefit from the sales tax holiday and deductions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 45
    • rangsang on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:39 pm

that’s why it call porgram rangsang ekonomi. the purpose is to encourage those who can spend, spend now. So economy recover.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 2
    • Jinggo on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:43 pm

Ali bought new cars from Ahcai, then Ahcai got revenue to pay his employee Abu, Muthu & Ahbeng. Later they spend their income to buy foods & groceries and pay bills. PENJANA.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
    • damien laurent on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:49 pm

Have you seen the automotive sales number for the recent months? Yes, it’s to keep the rich car dealerships to stay afloat, but also for the thousands and thousands of employees in the industry to keep their job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • true. this tax break is meant for the rich anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • It’s called stimulating the economy. It’s holistic. Something for all industry. We cannot think so shallow and narrow only to food on the table issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Atuk Lim on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:59 pm

the percentage of rich to spend money is higher now. once they spend, money will start to roll from top to bottom. this is the main point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Economically bankrupt on Jun 05, 2020 at 5:00 pm

Car become cheaper. Cars get sold. Car companies earn money to feed their employees. Their employees get to put food on their table for their family. Hawkers earn money. Grocery shops earn money. Rinse and repeat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • aiman on Jun 05, 2020 at 6:41 pm

but it was benefit me to buy new one..Currently i don’t have any car..just total lost before the mco started.

• dakhazee on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:38 pm

lol, ingatkan Halved —-> Harvinder Singh

• ungrateful on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:44 pm

100% sounds so big but it’s actually only 10%

• Does it apply to Recond Car?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:57 pm

relax. sales tax, not duties.

• Celup King on Jun 05, 2020 at 5:12 pm

Relax. Very low duties for CKD cars so the masses still get a massive price reduction from this effort.

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:58 pm

Vehicle prices are already high in Malaysia thus this exemption should be seen as a limited-period incentive, although personally do expect much in 2020 since mind is preoccupied elsewhere.

• Dong gor on Jun 05, 2020 at 5:15 pm

If everyone ignores this for 6 months, will the price drop further next year :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • His Friend on Jun 05, 2020 at 6:55 pm

By then, nobody will have a job anymore to afford for any car. So how?

• kurang la harga rumah.. kereta xde pun ok.. rumah x de memanh susah

• Pls answer cos i wan to buy one on Jun 05, 2020 at 5:57 pm

Ok..for x70 premium..how many % lower can get ..10% off otr price ??

• Hilang taste on Jun 08, 2020 at 2:43 pm

If can afford, shall get a japanese. Higher class and better RV.

• vivizurianti on Jun 05, 2020 at 8:06 pm

Economists say Malaysia economy down, employment all time high, etc until 2022…..Ada berani go buy new cars.

Gaya itu mesti even have to eat Maggi kari every day.

• P.Alyanna on Jun 07, 2020 at 3:04 pm

Grads coming out to work still need cars to go work, so how is that GAYA? It is a freaking necessity and if the price reduction can help them, all the better for our future generations.

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 05, 2020 at 8:21 pm

The power is with the customer, some may take the incentive while others may not or not able too.

• Yaw Hun Nian on Jun 05, 2020 at 8:24 pm

How would this affects the recon or second hand car dealer?

• No! Why tax exempted 5-10%???
    Cars Better increase the price now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • be cautious..i’m afraid discounted vehicles came with discounted safety features..u know what i meant..a.w malaysia boleh

• so u must be failed in maths bro lol

• james choong on Jun 06, 2020 at 9:14 am

does this affect recond cars? sorry am a newbie

• Hopefully this will help in price increase for ccb share price

• Dont kena cheat on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:29 pm

Now give you chicken drumsticks, later take back the whole chicken! Dont happy so early

• Jayden Lucas on Jun 06, 2020 at 3:22 pm

Please do not simply buy car for nothing just because there is a discount. Deep inside your heart u know that how “dahsyat” the depreciation is.

• Jeffrey on Jun 07, 2020 at 7:56 am

Why wasting those tax money?? Am sure car sellers and makers can lower lower down or promote their own products if sees fit.

• zicron21ck on Jun 07, 2020 at 7:33 pm

How come the price will reduce as GST…

SST is charge at manufacturer level… not at last point price to user…

hence the price reduction will be less from 10% from total price… maybe around 5% only for CKD and 2.5% for CBU…

• Edwin L on Jun 07, 2020 at 11:28 pm

That is the beauty of SST. You don’t get the transparency of how much taxation is levied so you won’t know if the manufacturer will be reducing at 10% or not. Dang I wish GST was here now.

• Carslave on Jun 08, 2020 at 11:00 am

Buy only if really really a necessity. Otherwise avoid it, in case you lose your job.

• nik botak pendek on Jun 08, 2020 at 4:55 pm

I tot car price, petrol & toll has been reduced & abolished? How come ppl are still complaining, govt has done that right. It was in their manifesto…

• Matjava on Jun 08, 2020 at 5:40 pm

can we get Langkawi car price for both ckd & cbu?