Masks to be optional outdoors in Malaysia from May 1; still mandatory for public transport, e-hailing vehicles

It’s official – health minister Khairy Jamaluddin has announced that face masks will be optional outdoors in Malaysia starting May 1, as part of sweeping relaxations of COVID-19 protocols.

You’ll be allowed to unmask anywhere outside your house, office buildings and malls, including bus stops, parks and fields and open-air walkways and bridges. The protective face coverings are still encouraged, however – especially for high-risk individuals and the unvaccinated – in order to continue preventing the disease’s spread.

The mask mandate remains in place for indoor settings, with exceptions made for certain situations, such as eating, exercising alone, performing onstage or giving speeches. You will also need to wear a mask on public transport (buses, trains and taxis) or when in a ride-hailing vehicle such as Grab. There will also no longer be any social distancing requirements, so businesses will be able to house as many people as they wish, although physical distancing is advised for maskless situations.

It has also been confirmed that the requirement to check-in via the MySejahtera app before entering commercial premises will been dropped from May 1. With that, both vaccinated and unvaccinated individuals will be allowed to enter, although those that have tested positive for COVID-19 or under enforced quarantine (Home Surveillance Order, or HSO) are obviously still prohibited. Business owners are required to check the risk status on the visitors’ MySejahtera app, as before.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Dong Gor on Apr 27, 2022 at 6:36 pm

After June 1, let’s forget about covid altogether!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Tom Cruise mauverick on Apr 27, 2022 at 8:30 pm

Hello,which business owner will check risk status of every guest?
      Say.my area ..the kopitiam is pack with 50 customers at any one time.
      KJ…do mean the owner has to standby himself or authorised staff to “scan” every walk in?
      When the floodgates are open,tenggiris,selar,todaks,sharks etc all will enter.
      No business owner has the time or leisure to authenticate each walk in.At the most,they can do spot checks when “headmaster is coming”.
      KJ,perhaps u could come out with an iris eye scanner that can “scan” positive C19 cases.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
      • Brian on Apr 27, 2022 at 11:07 pm

In Singapore, restrictions are almost all lifted including mandatory masking and yet nobody there is moping like you do. Such a snowflake better just stay at home if your that afraid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
        • KJ, University of Oxford on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:54 am

Off Tangent Brian
          Spore got high COE on cars..u want here to follow?Dont follow blindly.US/UK abort mask mandate,today cases r shooting up.
          We r debating about how practical it is to”differentiate” walk in customers.
          No business owner has the time to check walk ins,for positive cases.
          Dont accuse others of being afraid.You r off tangent in your presentation of facts.
          You r from Oxford Uni ,UK or ULU Kelang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
          • Brian on Apr 28, 2022 at 8:25 am

Really? And people say why not follow Spore style to implement active RFID ERP instead of sticker here, so are you saying we should not follow them? Stick to the topic mate.

This got nothing to do with tenggiris,selar,todaks,sharks, or whatever aquatic creatures you fond of. Certain restrictions have been removed in line with the global recommendation moving forward.

You want us to be like Shanghai, like Beijing continuously total lockdown? Heck we saw you whack that too complaining about people no job no income to feed family, so what is it that you want? Or you just want to troll for the sake of trolling coz that is your only consistency here.

It don’t matter if you hail from Oxford or Ulu Kelang or Mars, just man up and be consistent or shutup, whichever.

• Johnson on Apr 28, 2022 at 9:05 am

Daily Cases in UK is the lowest number since June 2021. Stop lying and saying cases shooting up. In fact, the day they lifted the mask mandate was the day cases started dropping and have been dropping ever since.

• Arnie on Apr 28, 2022 at 1:29 am

If you are that afraid, stay at home and watch all those Tom Cruise flicks you can dreg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Brian on Apr 28, 2022 at 8:27 am

The world is moving forward, or you want us to be like Shanghai, like Beijing still total lockdown forever?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2