Malaysians entering Thailand face RM1,000 entry fee

Malaysian travellers planning to enter neighbouring Thailand are facing a more stringent of requirements in order to cross the border, reports the New Straits Times, and checks at the immigration, customs, quarantine and security (ICQS) complex in Bukit Kayu Hitam have found the checkpoint to be relatively quiet despite the reopening of land borders.

This was attributed to stringent requirements introduced by the Thai authorities, where inbound travellers are reportedly required to pay an entry fee of at least RM1,000, the report wrote.

According to local tourism player Ooi Jui Hu, the cost for four persons booking accommodation in Hatyai, Thailand amounted to RM5,000 for a seven-day stay, plus an additional US$20,000 (RM84,536) in insurance with a RM500 premium per person, he told the newspaper, adding that the compulsory RTK swab test priced at RM350 per person is to be paid for by the travellers themselves upon arrival at the hotel.

To leave, one must first enter, and there seem not to be that many crossing into Thailand since the re-opening, according to the locals

As of April 4, just 6,980 travellers have been recorded passing through the Bukit Kayu Hitam border checkpoint from Malaysia into Thailand, compared to 160,818 persons at the Bangunan Sultan Iskandar, Johor Baru checkpoint towards Singapore, the immigration department said in a statement last week.

There appears to be “no immediate impact” from the border reopening, as most travellers passing through the Bukit Kayu Hitam land border crossing seem not to be driving their own vehicles, cross-border insurance services provider Lee Ai Choo told the New Straits Times. “I think the number of travellers to Thailand will pick up once the Thai authorities ease the requirements imposed on inbound travellers,” she said.

Similarly, Napoh eatery operator Adbul Rashid Mohd Salam has not seen any economic impact from the border reopening as most of his clientele are lorry drivers and local residents. “That is why we have decided to only operate between 4pm and late evening during this fasting month,” he told the news outlet.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• FudgeMeSideways on Apr 14, 2022 at 2:47 pm

Why are our authorities so weak? Our citizens are being made to pay exorbitant fees by our neighbours in the North and bullied by our Southern neighbours by being a nuisance on our roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 50
    • Yea all this while our government bully the innocent that follow the law but somehow killed multiple that did not. Worst still we refuse to condemn an invation event hough that’s exactly what happened

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
    • Celup King on Apr 14, 2022 at 6:24 pm

You can like choose not to go, their land, their ruleslah. Nothing to do with our authorities, why bring them in? Real bodoh shiok sendiri bashing them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 14, 2022 at 6:48 pm

Why? Because it is their land. What authority does our authorities have in their sovereign nation. You want us conquer them like Putin so they would follow our rules & laws is it? Kebodohan tahap gabang. Dont go there lahhhh!!! Simple!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
    • MaderFader69 on Apr 15, 2022 at 11:14 am

If so itchy wawa go ‘shop’ and pay lor. Otherwise, if complain too much expensive yada yada, takeout 200 from pocket while the other hand fly kite lo.

• Roslan Bin Wan on Apr 15, 2022 at 6:29 pm

Now only you know? Most top criminal also wandering around the country freely and the our authorities yet give him police as his escort…

• Leonidas on Apr 15, 2022 at 10:54 pm

Right, so Malaysia wasn’t doing the same to foreigners coming in, making them pay exorbitant fees under the guise of “quarantine”, pathetic.

• Mr. Sotong on Apr 14, 2022 at 2:49 pm

Here’s an idea… Don’t go la.. Why so impatient? Air sudah penuh ke?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
  • Border sentry on Apr 14, 2022 at 4:34 pm

And MY still have trouble controlling Singaporeans driving in for RON95. Start imposing tax to Singaporeans driving in from SG. For starter, RM 100 per day, assuming they pump 50 litres per day. Revise as needed. This will solve the problem of stealing RON95 subsidy and help with the economy.

Cannot wait for the response from some syok-sendiri-rich-and-intelligent who went with nickname “R” from previous similar topic.

• Ground europe passenger on Apr 14, 2022 at 5:13 pm

Negara gilakan duit, most importantly full of crime and gangsters. As safety concern, u paid me rm 1k i also dun wan to enter.

• Darren on Apr 14, 2022 at 5:55 pm

What’s in Thailand that Malaysian must pay thru their noses to go?

• Prometheous on Apr 16, 2022 at 6:35 pm

Haha… True. Better use that money togoto Europe or donate to charity

• Bangkok on Apr 14, 2022 at 7:51 pm

if u havent been there for the last 5 years it is very expensive now everything food cars house condos i find singapore cheaper and most expensive in asean soon it’s not what you used to know of Thailand

• Mickey on Apr 14, 2022 at 9:47 pm

Sudahlah. Dudk rumah diam or gi lain tempat. Melaka langkawi pangkor dll pun ok

• Don’take more trouble for every nationality. He who has no sin cast the first stone.

• Ben Yap on Apr 14, 2022 at 10:36 pm

Thailand so poor until need to rip Malaysians off?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 16, 2022 at 12:35 am

Thailand soon to become the next Sri Lanka. Syukur Malaysia maseh kaya…

• bangkok on Apr 15, 2022 at 6:59 am

Thailand today is not the Thailand you used to know everything has gotten really expensive food cars house condos daily expenses i’m not sure if singapore is more expensive than here you laugh??

• There are a lot of other places you can go lah.. mau cari apa pergi ke sana?

• Johnny Ong on Apr 16, 2022 at 7:28 am

Your article is not entirely correct as people may have fed you wrong info. Unless you have travelled to thailand recently and I know the reasons as been in/out thailand in last few months

• Van from Thailand with tourist entering Malaysia is allowed without any restrictions by our govt.. But Malaysian entering Thailand in a van must get a thai tourist guide at the border and also must buy insurance.