Face masks no longer mandatory in Grab, LRT/MRT, and other public transport from July 5 2023 – KKM

Masks will no longer be compulsory on public transport (including e-hailing) from July 5 2023, which is Wednesday next week. In addition, the use of masks will also no longer be mandatory in hospitals on the same date. However, they remain mandatory for anyone who is Covid-19 positive.

The last mask rule update was in September 2022 during Khairy Jamaluddin’s tenure as health minister. At that time, it was decided that facemasks were no longer compulsory indoors, but were still compulsory when using public transport and e-hailing.

In addition, the quarantine period for Covid-19 positive individuals will be shortened from 7 days to 5 days.

As always, the announcement comes with an encouragement from KKM to continue to wear masks in crowded areas especially if you are a high risk individual.

Will you continue to mask up for your Grab ride after this mask rule has been relaxed? Share your thoughts in the comments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dah Menang Semua on Jun 29, 2023 at 2:40 pm

Would U wear the face-mask?
    At public transport, Hospitals

(Like) YES
    (Dislike) NO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 75
    • Can I advice u something..from Fat Mama on Jun 29, 2023 at 9:46 pm

How can we identify in public those with covid,walking around with no mask? Answer..virtually a waste of time.Might as well say,those elderly or those with compromised immune system like severe asthma, cancer patients..encouraged to mask up.
      So,if u know u r compromised health wise,pls mask up.There r still people dying due to covid,lesser though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • eeeriz on Jun 30, 2023 at 8:58 am

Hospital – definitely yes yes
      Public Transport – most likely no, but see first lah

• Stroke - crash - stroke - crash tic tac on Jul 03, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Well, does mask help to prevent blood clots after injections?

– No. Masks are just an entertainment for people to believe there was a “Deadly virus in the air” (there wasn’t!)

Once government signed billions$ contract with bigpharma, it doesn’t matter anymore to maintain terror over the population. MONEY IS GONE and depopulation is ON.

Those who accepted to sign in order to get there injection are idiots. They will understand their mistake in less than 5 years… Many “vaccinated” already died from that poison. It’s just the beginning…

• Moots on Jun 29, 2023 at 3:23 pm

Will you continue to mask up for your Grab ride after this mask rule has been relaxed?

Answer: No. The world has moved on long ago. Majority are not using proper masks, and even then not using it properly.
    High risk individuals get vaccinated.
    Healthy individuals just stay at home if infected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
  • Happyuser on Jun 29, 2023 at 5:44 pm

Finally! And regarding the question, no I will not wear it. This is really good news for everyone, hopefully people will relax a little now too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 20
  • LightSaber on Jun 29, 2023 at 6:42 pm

We are always the last, our neighbouring country bigger/smaller than us have long gone with the mask as mandatory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
  • 自己意淫怪得了谁? on Jun 29, 2023 at 7:33 pm

Oh no, the female in the center of photo shown her asset, someone will make noise again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • PuAS triggered (because horny people in PuAS)

• stasta on Jul 01, 2023 at 12:52 pm

next step – wawasan 2050

green wave control penang and selangor.
      religious extremism exceeds middle east and on par with Afghanistan.
      USD 1 – MYR 10

this is inevitable

• Yeahsure on Jun 29, 2023 at 9:08 pm

Im not a local, but obviously residing here, i always wondered why chinese always insist on wearing masks till today? I see even when they drive alone still wear? I dont get the logic.. I thought we have moved on loooong time ago.. Wd love to know the answer actually… I move around alot and i always notice this… Not being racist or what obviously..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 39
    • Racism..A Clear and Present danger on Jun 29, 2023 at 9:50 pm

Mr.Not So Sure
      U r definitely racist.Our Transport Minister..Anthony Loke is Chinese..u see him masking up lately?
      U r talking like the WION newscasters who keep talking about the “Wuhan Virus”.Shame on u..Mr racist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 47
      • Yeahsure on Jun 29, 2023 at 11:31 pm

dafaq is wrong with you..or ur too shallow to understand…its an honest question , or u only understand things in a racist manner…i asked a genuine question politely , if you dont like it there are walls you can crack your head on to , jesus christ..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 26
      • Wuhani on Jul 01, 2023 at 7:17 pm

Triggered! Lol

• Tak Tau on Jun 30, 2023 at 8:40 pm

Don’t know is their answer, scared you borrow money maybe if can cover eyes sure they do it if no eye contact and no need smile even better Kiasu I win mentality dame also in my country Vietnam. I live here 20 years already marry local so I know a bit.

• A concerned citizen on Jul 01, 2023 at 8:42 am

Chinese r born dumb. They spread the virus and they act like they are concern abt health issues. Just ignore those dumb axx idiots and move on bruh coz there is a lot of dumb ppl in my country.

• stasta on Jul 01, 2023 at 12:50 pm

the hand-kissing tribe are even dumber. number one vector of transmission air borne disease

• KiasuKing on Jul 01, 2023 at 8:45 am

Most of the this people do not bath/brush in the morning. So, they decided to cover their stinky face with mask. And, kiasu of course.

• why use only one hand to eat? on Jul 01, 2023 at 9:34 pm

still smarter than the type of people who are brain washed to use only one hand to eat even though they have 2 hands.

• Outalingam Crap on Jun 29, 2023 at 10:41 pm

Being inside ANY transit or local bus, it’s my own MANDATORY MASK ON FOR ME…..walking about outdoors to the transit station, not necessary (depending on how big the crowd is) so in short, BE SAFE than SORRY – full stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • The news is it’s not mandatory to wear mask in public places, means that it is not guilty anymore if people decided not to wear mask in the future.

If you still want wear mask, go a head my dude. No one is stopping you from wearing mask to your bed or anything.

• stasta on Jul 01, 2023 at 12:54 pm

not true, if i wear mask in public still got busybody like mister “yeahsure” few posts above will still question my decision to continue wearing mask

• BelalangLalang on Jun 29, 2023 at 11:36 pm

Tools of W H O are running show no need qualifications to be whatever minister they want to be now takok ß

• Pammy on Jun 30, 2023 at 12:30 am

I think hospitals is a must to wear mask.grab drivers necessary a must..please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Ben Yap on Jun 30, 2023 at 6:23 pm

the girl in white… fuyoh… padu…

• Mane Jabatan Agama sekarang? on Jul 01, 2023 at 8:48 am

The girl in the picture wearing tight dress. PDRM/Jabatan Agama, please don’t forget to arrest her and send her to jail.