Cyclists want motorcycle lane reserved for weekends

Cyclists are urging authorities to reserve the motorcycle lane on main highways for their use on weekends. This was said by Bukit Jelutong Plan A community organiser Faz Adhili, in the interests of cyclists’ safety, in an Astro Awani report.

“I recommend that on weekends, the motorcycle lane on main highways such as Guthrie, Kesas and the Federal Highway be closed and reserved for the exclusive use of cyclists,” says Faz. “This is because traffic on the motorcycle lane on weekends is very low,” he continued.

Speaking on video broadcast Awani Pagi, Faz has the opinion this is an effective way of ensuring safety of cyclists and requires tolerance from all parties to make it a success. He added that while there are cycling lanes in Shah Alam and Kuala Lumpur, the lanes are not able to be fully utilised due to parked cars obstructing cycle traffic, as well as hawker stalls located along the five-foot way.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:28 am

and then motorbike can rempit everywhere?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • AJibkor on Jan 05, 2021 at 10:40 am

If Cyclists want motorcycle lane, then Cyclists pay motorcycle roadtax RM120 every year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
      • Hailat on Jan 05, 2021 at 12:30 pm

And 1000cc fellas pay only 20RM? Pls use your head

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
        • the motorcycle road tax structure is based on engine capacity, and falls into six categories. These are 0 to 150 cc – RM2, 151 cc to 200 cc – RM30, 201 cc to 250 cc – RM50, 251 cc to 500 cc – RM100, 501 cc to 800 cc – RM250 and 801 cc and above – RM350.

when stupid people asking other to use their head

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • wheels on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:43 am

Motorbike already rempit everywhere b4 bicycle trending…

• panjang on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:30 am

Wow…reserved for cyclist.
    We save cyclist but we kill motorcyclist. What kinda mindset is this?
    Some will say not many motorcyclist during weekend but does that mean we can sacrifice that ‘not many’ motorcyclist during weekend?

Its simple, cyclist just need to behave on the road. No need to ride like you are participating in LTDL.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 5
    • Idiot detector on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:12 am

You don’t go out often right? Cos if u do then u know that even on peak period motorcyclist don’t use their lane… Isn’t that what all car drivers been complaining all along?? Typical Malaysian retards, last time could only pick on motorcycle and now motorcyclist join car drivers to pick on cyclist… Soon we will pick on those walking… Majulah 2020… Ptui…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 70
      • panjang on Jan 05, 2021 at 12:37 pm

Hahahah…you light up my day brother…its about closing the lane and reserved it for bicycle only. Motorcycle not using the lane is an offence and thats another topic altogether. If we want to maju, we should stop ‘tak apa’ attitude and start abiding the law.

Nobody is picking on anybody as an entire entity. You generalise the issue to all cyclist, motorcyclist, and motorist when the issue comes from only certain group. What you suggest is not solving the issue but patching it temporarily until another ripple effect/issue comes up.

Patching the issue and solving it is two different thing….unless the person loves kerja separuh siap.

• simon says on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:30 am

its true alao and especially at putrajaya where the bike lanes are never utilised at all. but for federal highway the bike lanes have high traffic users day and night 24-7. not that safe. for leisure cyclists out there pls watch out for traffic movement around you, wear visible clothes.. and keep some distance between one to another. never ride side by side!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Scoot on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:31 am

what about the motorcyclist? are their safety is not a priority

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • nd sam on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:40 am

i think that is asking a lot.. just respect each other when use the moto bike lane la..rule of the rooad still apply to cyclist too. I am a cyclist too but that pretty much asking a lot. bad enough we need to have have bell on our bike to cycle in putrajaya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Sanysan on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:40 am

Can, pls contribute to pay roadtax too ;-)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • nasynas on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:51 am

Probably these cyclists contribute more road tax a year than the mat rempits in their life time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
      • wow. cyclists pay roadtax ??? since when.
        bike the dont even hv no plate. how to pay roadtax ??

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2021 at 7:11 pm

I’m not a cyclist but this is a perfect example of a brainless comment.

Almost all cycling enthusiasts that hit the highways on the weekends have bicycles that cost more than a motorbike. Many of them ride carbon road bikes that cost over RM10k. At home, they will have 2 or 3 cars. They pay more road tax and income tax than tin kosong people that look down on cyclists.

On the flipside, I have at times encountered groups of inconsiderate entitled cyclists also, who are lansi just because they feel they’re on expensive bikes. They’re no different from those riding high-capacity motorbikes who think that all cars should give way to them.

Well, either we tell them to stick to lanes assigned to them and keep out of automobiles’ way, or they end up learning the hard way. It’s their choice. Safety or death. It’s not the car drivers’ responsibility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • kazar on Jan 06, 2021 at 1:53 pm

Totally agreed bro. exactly like that beskal rm45k menteri pretending to be competitive cyclist,

• jusknitting on Jan 05, 2021 at 3:22 pm

If they’re willing to “contribute”, by all means they can even get a road for themselves. If they don’t want to pay a single cent, don’t even bother asking to use that lane.

• And I suppose, Faz is perfectly fine for motorcyclist to ‘share’ the main road with bigger vehicles which ‘will tolerate with them’ during weekends?

• Trollercoaster on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:41 am

When was the last time a motorcyclist actually bothered to even use the motorcycle lane? Give it to them id say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
    • jin666 on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:55 am

The problem is ATTITUDE. Just look at Shah Alam for reference..dedicated cyclist lanes are constructed everywhere..but none using them, they still cycle on main roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • 12yrs old on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:31 am

Designed for them they don’t want,

No engine but want to use the engine road for free.
        As if they paying the road tax…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • ifrit on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:54 am

I agree on the ATTITUDE but those bicycle lanes are more for taman rides(slower riders/kids) and since long gone to the dogs. Cracked concrete and missing pavement pieces.

• setan666 on Jan 05, 2021 at 2:59 pm

U mean that dedicated cycling lane occupied by parked vehicles?

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:43 am

Bikers gave up their dedicated infrastructure given. Police gave up to enforcement. So why not offer to cyclist for their healthy lifestyle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Brian on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:50 am

If motor traffic on motor lane is very low on weekends, then why need to close off for bicyclists? Where would the motors ride on then?

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:54 am

WTF am I reading…? So brazen are cyclists nowadays they are demanding that motorcyclists give way to them by endangering the latters’ lives on car lanes so that this Fast Jahiliyyah fella can cycle in peace…?

• the driver on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:55 am

I am a cyclist myself and a cost effective way of making cyclists more visible is simply advise them not to wear dark or black apparel. Another is to quit the fad for dark or worst, matte black bicycle frames – being visible is key. In bicycle friendly nations, short of widening the road which is extremely costly, they paint the edge of the road where cyclists dwell with non slip high visibility paint

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jan 05, 2021 at 9:55 am

Even in Netherlands, there is no bike lanes on major highway and not allowed to cycle on them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Nampak sangat kebusukan hati si Faz adhili ni mintak benda yang bukan2. motorsikal nak pakai weekend biar ajela, orang ade hal on weekend nak pergi lane mana pulak.
    Banyak pulak demand kau ni nak exclusive .
    Tax tahun lepas bayar berapa Faz Adhili?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • kazar bijan on Jan 05, 2021 at 10:20 am

dont cycling on highway la, lembab road hogging. cycling kt jalan biasa dah la. basikal puluh ribu tapi tak bayar tol atau roadtax bising nk demand macam-macam

• Malaysian on Jan 05, 2021 at 10:22 am

In many developed countries, cycling is very common/normal & routine there for thousands daily (if u never see it with your own eyes before) but over here, our limited road infra & weather wise discourage Malaysian to do the same. The current weekend/night cyclist are bunch of dedicated, discipline but willing risk takers (for their own safety) to ride on public roads/highway (for exercising but not those riding as part of their routine Point-A to Point-B or for green initiative etc) The government should consider having “special” exemption to these cyclist to continue their healthy lifestyle. (pls visit any hospital to see yourself what happened when a person is sick)

• First, we need to urger them to have light for visibility. Second, they need ro obey road law, no lane splitting. Third, if accidents happen, they are to be treated as vehicle accident and not as pedestrian accident.

• 25yrsOld on Jan 05, 2021 at 10:22 am

Selfish Cyclist, Non Civic Minded.

You want to use the road, pay the road tax, register your motor-less bike.

• Minority on Jan 05, 2021 at 10:29 am

only a half baked educated bike demand for such.
    Real racers go find your own professional path, route, track.

Don’t be a nuisance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • willie on Jan 05, 2021 at 10:33 am

am a cyclist here, sad to see cyclist now using road like they own the entire road especially trunk road. single file but more often u see them in double file and do not bother to return single file if there are cars at the back. and when accident happen, they blame on automobile. it all boils down to attitude which see now getting worse.

• Vanguardian on Jan 05, 2021 at 10:38 am

If granted, the cyclists will ask bicycle lanes at other venues. Later the cyclists will want to ride along highway….Just cycle at taman perumahan loh

Most of the cases, existing bicycle lanes are heavily underutilized anyway. Better convert to motocycle lanes, for safer travelling to work, etc.

• Selfish bunch of idiots
    If you are so concerned of being knock down by cars, just cycle in the gym..

The safety of other road users has to be protected as well.

• Weekend pun orang guna federal hgway motorlane tu pergi kerja la woi. Bukannya riadah macam korang. Dah la roadtax tak bayar, main pusing taman je la. Kalau nak sangat, ride la kat jalan jauh2 dalam hutan, kena langgar tanggung sendiri.

• Mann Bell on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:32 am

no need to reserve federal highway. they can use it any day. motorcyclists never use it anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Mohammad on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:40 am

Lets respect each other & share the road. As a cyclist that is what we want. As a car driver my self we should respect each other. I always look at my side mirror before switching lanes…. always be aware what is around you while driving, cycling and riding motorcycle.

• cyclista on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:49 am

As a cyclist, I don’t think shud closed off the motorlane to cyclists. That’s being a very selfish mindset. The govt shud try to make the effort to upgrade the transportation infrastructure to cater the rising demand of cycling. Motor lane on Federal Highway was once a bicycle lane aeons ago…

• Bieight on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:51 am

For something that don’t pay any road tax and insurance yet full of demands…

• V8 4.6 on Jan 06, 2021 at 12:14 am

If I pay the roadtax twice as much as you, would that be acceptable then?

• Kancil Hybrid on Jan 05, 2021 at 11:52 am

Makin mahal basikal, makin bangang jadinya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • AntiPoyo on Jan 05, 2021 at 12:10 pm

Selfish cyclist. Go pusing-pusing inside your taman la. Seasonal hobby like kid. Simply follow the trend.
    Ride in big groups, blocking lane then lepak at mamak, smoking & vaping. Majority cycling to update IG & show off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • I have been cycling almost 20 years, I’m in my 50s now and still cycle. I have cylced almost every part of Semenanjung Malaysia and Sarawak. Usually I will try my best to avoid highways or roads with high volume of vehicles unless there is no choice. Yes I do agree sometimes that the new group of cyclist (not all) these days are quite bold, lets not generalise. No, not all cyclists are seasonal. Cycling is supposed to make the person more aware, develope defensive driver mindset and good anticipation on the road apart from making them healthy. Lets be take care of each other on the road, we are better than

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2021 at 7:20 pm

I’ve been a cycling enthusiast since my school days. But I’ve never considered it a “lifestlye” snobbish sport like most people do these days. Until today, I still buy my own components that have good value for money and build my own bikes from scratch. Not like those syiok-sendiri racer wannabes that plonk down RM10k for a bike to show off on their social media, and go riding everywhere as if they’re training to be pros when they’re not.

I just ride with my good buddies around housing areas, and along those short trunk roads towards the nearest mamak to rest and relax. Back when I was in college and had more time on my hands, I’d take my mountain bike into rubber and oil palm estates for slow rides instead of putting myself in danger alongside motor vehicles.

These days, cycling is no longer a sport. It has become a hobby for snobbery and showing off. Everyone wears clothes like they’re being sponsored by manufacturers. Everyone wants to show off the latest RM4k wheelset that they just bought to shave off 200g from the overall weight of the bike. They spend thousands on their rides and yet they’re not competitive cyclists, just spending money to show off.

It has become a disease, not a sport. Be yourself. If you’re not a competitive cyclist, stop pretending to be one. If you’re a casual cyclist, just be a casual cyclist and don’t pretend to be something more.

• John Doe on Jan 05, 2021 at 12:27 pm

What’s next? Wheelchair?
    The roads are designed for motor vehicles, never intended for cyclist. Just because a few countries are encouraging it we decide to follow suit. Stick to your community parks and stay away from the traffic.

Stop endangering motor vehicle users just because a few decided to ride ridiculously long journeys to scratch their itch.

• Namasayabutoh on Jan 05, 2021 at 12:32 pm

Dear Faz, trying to be noble and speak on behalf of cyclists with your stupidity words only will give you and the whole cycling community backlash, we demand you to make an official apology statement on social media, you are an darn idiot! You dont represent the cyclists!

• I think all can share any road of motorcycle lane or car lane the same. However it is right to share the same responsible and share the same maintenance also. Being said that, the government had to come up with SOP and law. So cyclist can go through undang-undang test, practical test to obtain license as many doesn’t know road safety and law. Also need to pay road tax and buy insurance. Isn’t that fair?

• alvin on Jan 05, 2021 at 1:11 pm

Just go to the Sepang.

Don’t act like a racer on the JPJ regulated roads.

• Adrian on Jan 05, 2021 at 1:12 pm

Good. Then more people will realise how bad the bike lanes are. Got enuf potholes to make the entire menteri in parlimen to fall off their bikes, many2 times lol…

• CR-V 1.5L CVT on Jan 05, 2021 at 1:41 pm

JKR constructed road,
    JPJ regulated,

Its for registered vehicles, not cyclist.

• Lim Jason on Jan 05, 2021 at 2:51 pm

If u cyclists want exclusivity, pay roadtax

• Chong KL on Jan 05, 2021 at 3:31 pm

Can, no problem. Motorbikers do not want to use the motor lane. Better let cyclists use instead of wasting tax payers’ money!

• jusknitting on Jan 05, 2021 at 3:40 pm

I cycle occasionally and I can count how many times I’ve had cycle on the highway and honestly, I don’t like it because it’s too damn risky! Thus, I only cycle around my apartment complex. In my opinion, there are those cyclist type that like to show off rather than doing it for “health” purposes. I don’t like those type because they rode on highway like they belonged there. I can see many commenters mentioned about “road tax” and I agree because I always mention the same thing to my wife. One of the most thing I despise the most is when I see people donned a sticker to encourage 1 meter distance between cyclist and road users. What a load of crap! IF the cyclist already consume 20% of the lane, you want cars to give you 1 meter distance some more!? Like that our cars makan jalan already and you don’t mind because your safety is much more important than others.

• Jerangkung on Jan 05, 2021 at 6:15 pm

How about you don’t cycle on the highway at all?

• Im cyclist myself, to close lane for cyclist is a bit too much la. But allow us to share the motorlane on Saturday and sunday in certain time is more than ok. For example share motorlane 6am-2pm Saturday & Sunday. Weekdays maybe 7:30pm to 12midnight. Just saying la….Not all are selfish cyclist, just like Motor rider and car driver. Don’t la stereotype all cyclist. Cheers.

• CycleMaster on Jan 05, 2021 at 7:21 pm

Cyclist asking this and that should start asking then they’re under a lorry wheel with one leg missing

• Roadtax paying cyclist on Jan 06, 2021 at 12:11 am

Roadtax payer here and also cyclist. I see no harm if cyclists have proper etiquettes to use the road except major highways. Goes both ways, not all cyclists are smart, nor people riding/driving cars & bikes. As long as cyclists don’t block the road or create nuisance to traffic, I’m okay with it.

• start-a-fight on Jan 06, 2021 at 6:18 am

cyclist is for leisure… motorbike is for work.. and some people are working on weekends. grabfood panda etc are motorbikers.

in the first place. bicycle are not allowed on any highway. LLM and police are too tolerant to these people.

for the love of all people. these have-have people. please get them to pay permit to use the public road to control the number of them on the road at certain time.

• Malaysian on Jan 08, 2021 at 4:36 pm

For Gutherie & Kesas still ok as low usage (even on weekday as many motor not using their dedicated lane) but not for Federal even on weekend.

• Jason P on Mar 09, 2021 at 10:02 am

At the current moment, there is a missing connection between PJ and KL with regards to a safe cycling route. If an exercise of restructuring the traffic design should take place, the cycling lane segregated from motor vehicles will be the most viable options.

In terms of safety of motorcyclists, priority can be given while they share the roads with other motor vehicles by the following below:-

1) Increasing more speed traps along Federal Highway.

2) Increasing the amount of fine and the punishment level based on severity of offense.

3)More cameras along Federal Highway to record any potential accidents and to bring to the courts of law incase require to be use as evidence during prosecution.

With such implementation, KL have the space, and potential to be a platform in transforming itself to be a bike cycling friendly city.

• isaac ang on Oct 18, 2021 at 8:58 pm

hi everyone, please talk about conclusion can we cycling at motor lane? yes or no?