Honda Malaysia today announced that it sold 60,469 units in 2020. With that, the brand maintains its position as the top non-national marque for the sixth consecutive year, beating compatriot Toyota in the process.
The main contributor to HM’s 2020 tally is the City at 34% of total sales, followed by the Civic and HR-V at 20% and 17% respectively. Great performance from the City, considering that the previous-generation model was holding fort at the end of its life cycle for most of the year until October, when the fifth-generation B-segment sedan surfaced here.
The new City got off to a great start, culminating in 5,500 units sold in December 2020, the highest monthly sales ever for the nameplate. HM has received 15,200 bookings of the new City to date, and from that total, delivered an impressive 10,800 units of the Melaka-assembled sedan since its October launch.
Zooming in, the most popular variant of the new City so far is the V, which is the highest spec petrol variant that can be purchased (the RS hybrid is coming very soon). 52% of City buyers went for the V, and the central region of Peninsular Malaysia contributed 48% of total City sales, followed by southern (19%) and northern (18%). As for colours, Platinum White Pearl is in pole position with 26% of model sales.
“The year 2020 may have been challenging but we have managed to maintain our undisputed No.1 position in the non-national segment for the sixth consecutive year, and we are truly humbled by the support we have received. The City continues to prove its position as the most popular non-national B-segment model among Malaysians who love its advanced features in an attractive price package,” said Toichi Ishiyama, HM’s MD and CEO.
“Your continuous trust in the Honda brand has allowed us to keep trying to outdo ourselves in our service to you as we strive to bring forth the ‘3 Joys of Honda’ which are Joy of Buying, Joy of Selling and Joy of Creating. We sincerely thank the Malaysian government for the extension of sales tax exemption, which will allow many Malaysians to purchase cars with extra savings” he added.
For more on the new City, check out our launch report.
GALLERY: 2020 Honda City RS e:HEV
GALLERY: 2020 Honda City 1.5L V
GALLERY: 2020 Honda City 1.5L E with Modulo bodykit and options
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
Does this car has rear fog lamp? Is important for me
Best B-segment Design Award.
1. Nissan Almera
2. Toyota Vios
3. Honda City
Honda should start selling some pick-ups and commercial vans
The last few years,the City has gone thro countless facelifts..more or less the same boring frontage and rear.
With super computers,and tons of talents now ,cant Honda Japan come out with something more exciting and daring? It’s like eating roti ,roti bakar and then roti margerine kering.
Look at Hyundai..while not many may like their latest Sonata and Elantra”Zorro” designs,they have a mass following in the USA.
Honda Japan..stale bread sucks.
No
Every car must have bro it’s a UN statuary requirement so we can blind everyone behind us.
vios is ur best friend
Still loose to p1 without tongsan x50&x70.
Proton without tongsan x50&x70 sold 83k cars.
Because x50 stole by city sales, no wonder these honda fanboys have free time to bash against proton x50 so that proton will pull down the sales. Sighhh
Proton is our national car with many more models in their list and cheaper too. If they didn’t sell more than Honda then super malu already.
Proton is the only brand as far that sold more last year than 2019 before covid hits us. Everyone should malu compared to proton.
Why are these people saying 2020 have been a challenging year due to Covid when Proton actually sold more in 2020 than they did in 2019? It seems everyone slacked off but Proton and now they are finding excuses for their failures.
Proton got tax advantage. It helps a lot especially with their cheaper models.
so, proton sold 20k unit sales from you? the x50, no? perodua sold another 20k and toyota 5k units… after 5-6 years of doing 100k a year sales, something may take place if you are not careful.
Bad assembly by DRB honda caused bad sales.
Bad car is bad car, nothing to do with assembly by DRB honda. You can have Ferrari quality assembly and still be affected by exploding airbags and fuel pump failures. So assembly is not the issue here.
Jepun fanboy trying to plotek and taichi. Boy, you learn the wrong things from your Jepun idols.
Oh no no no, drop from 85k to 60k..
30% dropped, with less market share already…
Buckle up, Honda.
Just wonder how many Honda Accord were sold during 2020 and the percentage of the total sales?
Honda haters crying. As usual. Top sales. Told earlier. Lol
Last year 85,418 units roll out. This year 60,469. A -29.2%.
Curry puffs also selling less la during the pandemic..
Nope, my friend selling curry puffs better than last year.
Face mask and glove sales are hotter than your curry puffs. Maybe your curry puffs not tasty at all.
2017=109,511
2018=102,282
2019=85,418
2020=60,469
Actually Honda maintains steady decline for 4th consecutive year also.
Dear Paul Tan, similiar update/numbers sold for Toyota cars too please, thanks
Toyota sales figure also worst, estimate around 55k units.
Toyota fanboys cannot accept Honda beat Toyota?
Competition is good for the auto industry. Honda has to buckle up. The recent QC of locally assembled Hondas come with fitting problems n the quality of locally supplied parts also left much to be desired.
Well done abam-abam DRB Honda! No 1 non-national brand and No 1 truly national brand with Proton. Majulah Malaysia!
remember by September 2020 Honda was neck and neck with toyota in total sales. honda recorded 61k units, surely Toyota not that far left behind. in terms of year on year percentage difference, Honda is the biggest lower. refer to this.
https://paultan.org/2020/10/23/vehicle-sales-performance-in-malaysia-q3-2020-versus-q3-2019-market-slows-but-sst-exemption-kicks-in/
60k and it’s news?
Next year will be tough for Honda. A lot of newer and updated models like the AEB equipped Almera and Vios/Yaris will take a chunk out of the City.
Accord has become a unicorn.
The long in the tooth and short on safety gear BRV has no replacement in sight.
Sayonara Toyota
Basically our market are dominated by UMW (P2 + Toyota) and DRB-HICOM (P1 + Honda). Around 82% market share.
lulzzz x50 only also got 80-90k booking already 2020…luzz
Proton should learn from HM how they are able to delivered 5,500 units of City’s in December and total 10,800 units from Oct to Dec. Maybe can use their vendors =))
I am sad for this 60k+ sales, looks at 2 years ago.