BMW Malaysia updates price list – cheaper with two-year warranty; 218i, X1 under RM200k, 320i RM227k

BMW Malaysia has just announced a new price list to go along with its move to offer extended warranty and service packages as separate cost options. Starting January 1, 2021, all new BMW and MINI models will now come with a standard two-year, unlimited mileage warranty, with lower prices to go along with it. The previous five-year warranty and servicing (as offered before) is still available, but now as cost options.

With the standard two-year warranty, prices are lower across the board, ranging from between RM12,190 for the 218i Gran Coupé and M135i, to RM44,560 for the M8 Coupé and Gran Coupé. The reduction for each model matches the price of the optional five-year warranty and service package, so opting for the extended coverage brings it back to the original price again.

Let’s take the most affordable BMW model as an example. The F48 X1 sDrive18i with the standard two-year warranty now retails for RM194,738 (with SST exemption included, effective until June 30, 2021), which is RM13,630 cheaper than before. If you want the five-year warranty with free service package, you’ll have to top up exactly that, therefore bringing the price up to parity.

The move also makes the 218i Gran Coupé effectively cheaper, moving from RM211,367 (with five-year warranty and service) to under the magic RM200k mark, at RM199,177 (with standard two-year warranty). Likewise, the most affordable 3 Series is now priced at RM226,763.65, down from RM239,883.65. Prefer to have the extended coverage? Opt for the optional package, and pay the same as before. No more, no less.

In essence, the extended warranty plus free service package has simply been made optional – there is no price increase here, and you’re not getting short-changed either. Let’s just say this is one way to broaden the brand’s appeal here in Malaysia. After all, wouldn’t a sub-RM200k BMW tickle your fancy?

While everyone loves the idea of a cheaper BMW, we would think that added peace of mind is not worth sacrificing. You may, of course, choose to purchase the extended warranty package separately at any point throughout the first two years of ownership, or even pass the cost on to the next owner if you plan to drive it for less than that. Resale value down the line may also take a hit if the standard warranty expires (nearly-new BMW with no warranty, no way), but you’ll also have to balance it out with the extra cost of extending it.

So, what do you think? Pay less for a shorter warranty coverage, or pay the same as before for extra peace of mind? How would you go about this? Let us know, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• sugarhill on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:12 pm

those who can afford a beemer wouldn’t save 20k over a warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • VoidDance on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:32 pm

Beemer owners change car every 2 years. Dont make sense to pay more for 5 years warranty…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
      • Gonggok on Jan 17, 2021 at 12:19 pm

Try selling a bmw with no warranty would surely affect the price u will get

• X5 Air kaput on Jan 17, 2021 at 2:12 pm

Air suspension problem lah. Even 7 years warranty also not enough.

• qirdah on Jan 17, 2021 at 6:55 pm

2 years ownership:
        1 year OTR
        1 year in the workshop

• M & B on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:16 pm

Nice

• Chow Wei Zhen on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:20 pm

Ok. Well lovely

• (Dude) on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:23 pm

Is the X5m and X6m coming soon??
    Why is it mentioned in the Extended Warranty & Service Package price list??

• Haidi on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:34 pm

People says, LPPL.
    But can’t deny that it offers a good flexibility. Good that buyer can extend it even after purchase.

• Have anyone noticed that 320i and 330i is cheaper now even with the add-on package?

320i
    With 5 years – 241,794.41
    2 years + package – 239,883.65

330i
    With 5 years – 286,187.47
    2 years + package – 284,332.02

Source: https://www.carbase.my/bmw/3-series?utm_source=bmw-3-series

• Have you excluded the SST? I have a quote from SA for 320i, with service package price is 239,154.65.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:52 pm

Give us option to extend to 7 or 9 years. A lot of stuff start to kaput on the 6th year of ownership.

• Venza on Jan 16, 2021 at 11:54 am

Is better to buy Toyota, you see those Camry 2002 and Altis still goin strong as ever … Harrier, RAV4 and new gen Camry too good to missed,

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:59 pm

Cars cheaper in Malaysia now thanks to perihatin gomen. Tengkiu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • u dont want 2 years warranty for BMW .. haha

• Ex VGM staff on Jan 15, 2021 at 7:37 pm

In short.. there is no such thing as FREE services. All car distributors would have include those in the car prices.

• Ben Yap on Jan 15, 2021 at 7:38 pm

extended warranty without added cost is better. wait till Merc lowers their price and that’s when BMW will start to shake to its core.

• Now when you buy a used BMW used….. U ll need to check on the warranty situation.

• Can’t afford? Don’t buy
    190k for a 218i? Camry Mazda6 can smoke it any time and they don’t even bother to have long warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • typical ah-beng / la-la chai who buy car to smoke other cars.

• cheaper to buy but make it more expensive to maintain ^^

• 7yearsfd1 on Jan 15, 2021 at 9:31 pm

I get it with the lesser free service but 2 years waranty? we gone back to cavemen era?

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 15, 2021 at 10:01 pm

If the first owner only brought the base 2 year warranty, can the next owner buy the extended warranty and service package? Is it something that can be added in later?

• Ganes on Jan 15, 2021 at 10:54 pm

BMW Malaysia going back to stone age?

• Ballack on Jan 16, 2021 at 12:49 am

Possible that BMW will upgrade 320i to idrive 7 this year?

• my experience is the sales guy are good, but the service guys, well, let’s just say there’s room for improvement.

IMHO getting a good indie workshop is better than the dealer. because service guy just paid salary, they just take their time doing things. while indie shop is running a business, they makes things very efficient. for my E90, the dealer took 1 month to get the alternator replaced. indie will do it in around 2-3 days. and cost cheaper too.

mechanically, BMWs are quite reliable, but if there’s any problem, you just need to address it quickly. the problem w/ german cars that if you don’t fix the problem asap, the problem will grow and grow until it will cost a bomb to fix it.

so if shorten warranty period means cheaper prices, yeah sure, why not.

• Who is indie

• Independant dealer, there are plenty in Malaysia that have good experience servicing German cars. As soon as your warranty is out, service at indie since it’s much cheaper.

• Nice to know. Care to share some of these independent dealers? I don’t own a BMW, but a Mercs. Since you said they can service German cars, would appreciate your sharing so I can options to turn to after my warranty expires. TQ.

• Bieight on Jan 16, 2021 at 9:38 am

Bmw are reliable now

• jonbb on Jan 16, 2021 at 2:24 pm

It is a good move.
    Buyers have a choice of 2yrs or 5yrs warranty.
    Your money your life your choice.
    The rest are just noises a.k.a. not buyers.

• Michael Lee on Jan 16, 2021 at 10:11 pm

Meaning those buying under corporate discount will get lower discount based on the base 2 years warranty price. BMW is smart.

• Zahari on Jan 17, 2021 at 12:59 am

The extended warranty can be bought later.
    Appreciated the price reduction by making the package 5 years warranty as an optional this year.

• Henry on Jan 18, 2021 at 11:36 am

There is a price to pay for everything. Besides air and sunshine nothing is free.