Jail term, RM2,000 fine await exhaust noise offenders

The Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) reminds the public that owners or drivers of vehicles that have been fitted with illegal exhaust modifications can be punished with a jail term of up to six months, according to a Harian Metro report. Parties convicted of the offence can also be slapped with a fine of up to RM2,000, said Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department director Datuk Azisman Alias.

According to Rule 103 of the road transport department’s (JPJ) Construction and Use rules of 1959, every exhaust, including silencer, must be maintained in good working condition at all times, and must not be modified to cause noise. Individuals making any such modification are committing an offence under this rule, Azisman said in a statement.

The police also have the authority to seize vehicles found to contravene the rule in order to prevent repeat offences under the provision of the Road Transport Act 1987, he added. The use of loud exhausts are trending among youth as the modifications are said to improve the performance and the aesthetics of motorcycles, the department chief said.

The JSPT always conducts joint operations with other departments and agencies, including the department of environment (DoE), Azisman said. Motorcycles with illegal modifications regularly come under public scrutiny, more recently with Azisman saying that his department is taking the matter seriously.

What does the law say about modifying your motorcycle? Read our article on an overall view of what is, and isn’t permitted in terms of motorcycle modifications for use on public roads.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hong Yee Hong on Feb 22, 2021 at 5:10 pm

Very happy to hear this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
  • Say only if no actions taking then no point…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • Boleh liau on Feb 23, 2021 at 9:18 pm

The regulations was there for decades. Just wayang2 say but no action taken. Especially powerful people in the country with modified vehicles always escape from the law. Only, less powerfull ppl get summoned or bully with. Remember, Malaysia Boleh!

• dong gor on Feb 22, 2021 at 5:47 pm

Yes, please. This is long overdue!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 22, 2021 at 6:08 pm

Yea go try saman the countless mat rempits on the road first since they contribute the most noise pollution in the entire country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Hanns on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:54 pm

You know sometimes it’s not the motorcyclist wanna install those loud a bit exhaust (for those over loud me no no too)the reason is safety, Becos nowdays people who driving a lot are not aware of them surrounding , especially if it’s us motorcycle coming ,be it on big road or small junction ,like they don’t know we coming and oh they loved unpredictablely switching lane without signal which I kena tons by those car and we like have to be the future mind reader to predict,at least with louder a bit exhaust they notice us and we feel little safer (but for those extreme loud exhaust in motorcycle for 150cc and below I don’t agree too)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
      • Adam KH on Feb 23, 2021 at 8:45 am

Hi there Hanns, seancorr… I am a rider AS WELL as a driver. This issue of who is right or wrong can never be defined clearly. As a biker, fitting a “louder than standard factory fitted ” exhaust for safety reasons (to be heard by cars) is NOT the reason if you ask your heart’s deepest desire. Bikes come fitted with horns and we can always use the horn to pre warn your overtaking maneuver. Its just that bikers tend to use the main road on the centre or right lanes rather than left most lane or motorcyclist lane (Fed Hgwy). As a driver, I normally assume that major highways are “clear-off” bikers when I want to overtake from centre towards right lane….but…. out of blind spot, there will be a bike weaving through EVEN with signal indicated. Its just our malaysian driving education and sense. I have drove & ride in Japan, UK, US, China, India … and have seen all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • You really made sense in ur comment here much thanks to ur sense of humour, honesty I have a superbike 1000cc and the fact is while riding on the road , I don’t mean the noisy exhaust of smaller bikes but for the sound of the exhaust alone u know a motorcycle is coming behind u . And for the switching of lanes by vehicle users the exhaust has reduced careless accidents on the road these days u can quote me wrong for that , I say what I have notices cause I am a road user in 365 days of the year I am always on the road and I am happy with it , no more accident like as usual as it has been before 2013/14/15/16 even 17 so from my own experience they should to check on smaller cc bikes that are noisy not all Moto bikes, u can’t expect a big bike of 1200 cc to have 135 cc exhaust system on it and for modifications what we should be advising ur country men is to ride with carefulness or be gone by carelessness thanks to you all it’s my own point of view with Alha nothing will harm us ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • yes, I have to agree with you. Too loud may not be good, but authority shall determine probably the dB level that loud enough on busy road, for say 50m kind of range, meaning, a driver can just hear the exhaust approaching 50m away, from behind. Or whatever distance suitable. Self-experience after installing an aftermarket exhaust, the occurrence of cars switching lanes when me approaching to the side drop dramatically. This only my personal POV.

• Typical Malaysian on Feb 23, 2021 at 7:48 pm

Idea mantap bro. In future, Bikes dont come fitted with horns and cars no signal lights.

• Real malaysian driver on Feb 28, 2021 at 2:27 pm

Yes. Should be loud but not too loud. Motorcycle should not keep horn for nothing. Like riding beside a car. Just to alert the car driver. N Car signal from the back. How often u check your side mirror brader mantap? N u should know hearing sense dont have delayed transfer impulse to your brain. But eye do have delayed. For me. Sound n signal both is important. If they cant see, so let them hear. If they pekak can hear like oku driver. So let them see. If still excident then aleady ajal la. What to do?

• Jin Shamsuddin on Feb 22, 2021 at 6:12 pm

In Malaysia, everything is legal, until you get caught by the authorities.

Dark tint? Fancy no. plate? Tayar-kepak? non-compliant-HID? Hellaflush? These examples are so commonly seen in Malaysia, but authorities aint doing anything, right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • panjang on Feb 22, 2021 at 7:19 pm

That ‘everything is legal until get caught’ is applied all over the world.

Its easy to enforce, just banned the sale of such accessories but guess which quarter will make noise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Wan Hamizan on Feb 22, 2021 at 8:06 pm

True. Want saman because of fancy no plate but legalise the sale of those plates zz

• Dark tint? Meh! Black tint is now legal thanks to our previous TM!

• Kariayam on Feb 23, 2021 at 9:07 pm

They don’t want to ban the sale of these things because they can get revenue from it. Why do you think we have a 110kph speed limit and we have cars sold here that goes 2 or 3 times the limit? If they really care about our safety they would’ve just placed a limiter for all cars from the factory right? The fact is that It’s easy money for them to fine you when you’re speeding and even easier when they pull you over and try to fault you for duit kopi. They could care less about the danger of dark tints or loud exhausts. That’s the truth.

• Must also go after d big bike like harley davidson. Their exploding noise is deafening, cant d police & jpj notice this rich men ignorance & irresponsible behavior. Or just buat tak tau !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • Don’t talk like that be reasonable in comment sections
      Probably u sound poor for pointing at the rich , this Harley Davison is a monsters bike that’s how it’s built and for the behaviour this people are bikers club and can take care of them self nicely what do u now say about the death racers on the highway people’s children playing with their life’s always remember this till u die ……( LIFE IS NOT BALANCED )…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Bieight on Feb 22, 2021 at 6:49 pm

The police should install noise detection cameras and the raise the fine to 50000

• Rambo pipe on Feb 23, 2021 at 11:58 am

Wierd one. No difference from the drivers whom blast their music while driving until they can’t hear someone horns at them.
      Also, like the cigarette rule. There’s rules but it’s just for decoration.

• I believe it when they enforce it. Daily you always hear some mat rempit motor w/ super loud exhaust, but yet, nothing happen. Also dark tinted, tayar rota, etc fancy ass plate, but nothing happens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • drkai on Feb 22, 2021 at 9:08 pm

pls go and do enforcement to exhaust shop and motor service shop too. they should take responsibilities coz they sold different type of exhaust which is not legal to use on the road.

• On the road u said not in the house lol u have problems with people lifestyle?

• when rempits donch have license to drive, dont have insurance on their bikes, how easy to get them fined over fancy plates and vroom vroom sound?

• Jason on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:23 pm

Those losers finally had it coming! no helmet somemore, go die la

• Consumer lah on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:32 pm

Then why still allow exhaust import to Malaysia?? Please summon the respective department instead or consumer

• Fazil on Feb 23, 2021 at 1:01 am

Why aren’t they going for the sellers? If they stop selling, then the bikers or car drivers will stop buying and fitting it. In this case, go and fine most of the accessories shops. Not only the riders and riders.

• panjang on Feb 23, 2021 at 8:11 am

What if the exhaust is loud but the sound is soo sweet?
    Imagine a ZXR 250 or the latest ZX25R with aftermarket exhaust.

Personally i hate nonsense-sounding loud exhaust on moped but with technology advancement of moped esp in the 150cc category, a properly tuned exhaust coupled with aftermarket ecu can produced sweet noise.Its like free entertainment during traffic jam or when the lights turned green.

• As long below 95dB not a problem

• Well I have come to see in this country that most of the men are more jealous uncivilised and ignorant than the women. And today it’s now the sickness we have today, for example they complained about motorcycle exhaust and penalties but here people are behaving like they never attended school , now what concerns exhaust with tinted glasses and HID light And Matting why are you people so incompetent , just wanna look into people business talk like no sense of humour. See believe me some people commenting here have kids or siblings or friends even family member who they have never cautioned or advices them to stop that the exhaust is noisy but rather u engine them and support them now u see but in comment section u will see ignorant people saying what they don’t know claiming to be law abiding citizen u lie and fail .

• Ben Yap on Feb 23, 2021 at 11:29 am

there is no active enforcement and no one is scared. accessories shop also has been busy earning money from demands to change exhaust. just go to youtube and you can see youtubers blatantly show off and review their loud exhaust.

• Rambo pipe on Feb 23, 2021 at 11:55 am

Wierd one. No difference from the drivers whom blast their music while driving until they can’t hear someone horns at them.
    Also, like the cigarette rule. There’s rules but it’s just for decoration.

• Paul Low on Feb 23, 2021 at 12:41 pm

I would like to give a brief background about myself and my mode of daily transportation in order to put some context before I comment.

I drive only on weekends, but commute daily on a scooter and sometimes on a superbike. All my vehicles, be it two or four wheels are stock standard with zero modification, meaning, everything is original and in full compliance with and adherence to transportation rules and regulations, be it JPJ or PDRM.

So with regards of noise pollution, there is a famous phrase among bikers “Loud Pipe Safes Lives”. If you’re one of those who believe this, then good luck to you. Personally, I think it’s utter nonsense.

With regard to after market exhaust modifications, there are after market exhausts which are designed for road use, with full specifications listed on their website comparing the product’s noise output in dB to stock exhaust noise level, which in the case of legal noise level limit, is 98dB. You can visit any renown exhaust makers’ website and view the specifications and comparison charts, it’s all listed.

So personally, I fully agree and wouldn’t mind motorcyclist “upgrade” their exhaust for whatever “perceived” performance gains or delusional “safety measures” against car drivers from afar. However, the problem occurs when motorcyclists start removing the baffles that muffle the noise inside the exhaust, resulting in noise pollution.

So yes, as an avid motorcyclist on daily commute and weekend rides, I too fully agree that the authorities should target noise polluters, meaning, those who “modify” exhaust, stock or aftermarket, not exhaust “upgraders”, those that bought aftermarket exhausts specifically designed for road use, and welcome their enforcements with open arms.

Note the distinction here, noise polluters, meaning those who intentionally remove exhaust baffles or those that fit a non-road use exhaust (i.e. for racing use only) onto their motorcycles.

• Ronnie ng on Feb 23, 2021 at 1:15 pm

Just opposite of my house live a group of young men. Think between 6-10 people. I believe all of them are law enforcer. Saw them on police uniforms and also traffic police boots airing at the car porch. What’s their transport like… 4 cars dark tinted with loud pipes and also 3-4 motorcycles with modified loud pipes. They work on shifts and can hear them at night and even midnight. What do you think??

• Selvam8240 on Feb 23, 2021 at 1:24 pm

Loud pipes save lives @We Play Harley

• Only works to marhaen..

• Noise pollution must be measured to d noise loudness level(decibel). Wether its factory fitted or purchased from acc shop, if it doesnt meet d requirement mesti disaman la. Baru betul. We r talking about noise pollution la. Kalau factory fitted boleh lulus loudness level, kena panggil sprm siasat, boleh? polis, jpj or yg meluluskan. Nak tengak cakap ada serupa bikin, bikin ada serupa cakap tak. kan

• Hello on Feb 23, 2021 at 4:21 pm

This apply to sedan cars also or just moto?

• Andrew on Feb 23, 2021 at 5:48 pm

Guarantee you nothing will happen.
    So many rich people with Harley Davidson and other loud machinery will complain kaw kaw if this enforced.

• Hooray. I’m a car lover but definitely hate those deafening exhaust on cars and bikes. Annoying, irritating, and useless. Can we report ourselves if we saw one?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 23, 2021 at 7:10 pm

saman all the supercar owners too

• Naza. on Feb 24, 2021 at 1:59 am

Sembang kari boleh lah…berapa bnyk mat motor yg duk memekak siang mlm..walhal motor kapcai jer pun..bunyi ekzos tu sampai balai polis pun boleh dengar….sejak bila nak kuatkuasa…kan dah lama ada undang2 tu…mcm Mana plak dgn abang motor besar yg level have2 dato2 tu bikers…rikeks jer lalu depan jpj polis roadblock…nape tak tahan, sita la…rakyat marhain ni cepat jer kena tahan ye…so jgn la double standard dlm kuatkuasa undang2…baru rakyat hormati undang2.

• Why only motorbike ,car also have why not mention clearly !

• Eldie on Feb 24, 2021 at 8:05 am

We are well known for talking only but when come to action, nothing, no enforcement.

• Ann Zhang on Feb 24, 2021 at 8:50 am

Stock HD motorcycles exhaust r not noisy. What we see n hear r those ald changed their exhaust. Go n try 1 at the showroom.

• Lanang on Feb 24, 2021 at 1:29 pm

What type of motorcycle model in the pictures?

• do like japan, they do sell and fit aftermarket exhaust, but its legal for the road as it did not exceed the db required. so people can still fit an exhaust for the looks.

• Maybe they should consider looking at actual threatening things like motorist/food deliveries driving on pedestrian sidewalks?

• Andrew Wong on Mar 05, 2021 at 9:09 pm

Yes correct sound some is very unbearable but before issuing any summons you have to proof that the sound from the exhaust is above the permitted sound level

• CG Chong on Nov 09, 2022 at 5:59 pm

Hello and Good Day.

We are a group of third-year engineering students from the Faculty of Engineering University Malaya that wants to implement the Noise Vehicle Surveillance System for our Integrated Design Project (IDP).

We are conducting a survey to understand the view of the public on illegal exhaust noise contributed by vehicles as well as the feasibility of the Noise Vehicle Surveillance System to alleviate this issue. It would only take you 3 minutes, and we kindly appreciate your help.

Thank you and have a great day!

Link to form: https://forms.gle/GoY8wf19sU9v7g9G8