Proton working to fix aftersales parts delay issue

Over the past few months, there have been reports of Proton customers facing issues with aftersales parts, for both accident repairs and scheduled services. This has left some cars stuck waiting for parts, or serviced with a few parts short (commonly brake fluid and cabin filters, with owners asked to return later when the parts are in stock).

To get the full picture of why this is happening, we reached out to Proton for some official comments. Proton vice president of sales and marketing and Proton Edar CEO, Roslan Abdullah said: “Proton admits that some aspects of our business have not been able to keep up with our recent successes. While we have dramatically moved forwards in product quality, brand image and the technology offered in our cars, our aftersales service has not made the same leap.”

“This situation was exacerbated in 2020 by firstly Covid-19, and then our decision to invest in a completely new backend ordering and delivery system. As a result, we have experienced integration issues and customers requiring accident repairs as well as regular servicing have faced delays,” Roslan added.

“We are working on these issues around the clock to overcome them in the shortest time possible. But for now, I urge all Proton owners facing delays to please contact our customer care hotline at 1-800-88-8398,” Roslan explained.

According to its press statement, Proton’s 10-year strategy required the company to completely overhaul some of its operations in order to succeed. Those include the immediate improvement of product quality, and today Proton said its quality scores are close to matching Geely’s.

The national automaker’s distribution network has also improved drastically – Proton currently has the most 3S/4S facilities in Malaysia and has moved its focus to a wholesale rather than consumer driven business.

With these measures in place, Proton has managed to post some of the highest sales growth numbers for the industry over the last two years. But for 2021, the focus is on improving its entire aftersales value chain so customers can enjoy a premium brand experience after buying their cars.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Yam Weng Cheong on Mar 02, 2021 at 12:18 pm

Bring up the SC system first, my X50 case is not being followed up because SC blame system down and no communication between SC and HQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Amran on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:13 pm

So seancorr was correct and telling the truth all this while. Nice one bro seancorr, double fistbump!! burn the liars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Casual reader on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:50 pm

Sorry, seancorr had been talking about bumpers but obviously this wasn’t the case here. Try again, seancorr.

• Bidenkamala on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:50 pm

The mediocrity is creeping in again.After Dr.Li has put in 12 hours, 6days working week,,he is taking panadol daily now cos the downline dudes are taking it too easy.
      After all,DRB made half a billion Rm in profits,mah.Just relax,dont punish yourselves.

• IGP Mom on Mar 02, 2021 at 12:33 pm

Kudos, honest and professional response from ex Honda GM Roslan Abdullah. “Proton admits that some aspects of our business have not been able to keep up with our recent successes. While we have dramatically moved forwards in product quality, brand image and the technology offered in our cars, our aftersales service has not made the same leap.”

Those aftersales service pipu, sabotaged Proton parts system. or serius Hanky panky all along for past 35years… Deswai aftersales local bolehman dunwan to kerjasama..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • M & B on Mar 02, 2021 at 12:47 pm

Well done Proton

• Avenger on Mar 02, 2021 at 12:57 pm

Haters were saying bumper and other big parts were shortage lah, so they were lying!!!
    What is really short are basically consumable parts and unfortunately these are coming from local suppliers affected by Covid shutdowns.

• Melania Rosmah on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:42 pm

MC Dunno avenger,
      Brake fluids…the Proton Edar CEO cant fix,do u think it is acceptable? Are the fluids sprayed with moondust that make them difficult to secure?Stop using covid as excuse.
      One fine day,Dr.Li will say,enough is enough.Obviously,he cant he running around doing all these sub sub sooi tasks.
      It is always a suspicion in our minds,that the party spoiling the show ,are the DRB dudes.
      Dont promise a trip to the moon,when you only have a toy rocket.
      Dont be surprised,one fine day,Geely will say”we pull out of the collaboration and bring in fully right hand drive imported versions of Geely cars.”

• Ghani on Mar 02, 2021 at 4:15 pm

or Geely Chinas give up for good, and sell off their stake back to DRB goons. and DRB can continue facelifts saga, exora, iriz & persona sampai 4040… maruah maa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • John Gagal on Mar 02, 2021 at 1:13 pm

Heard that million times before.

• lilytan on Mar 02, 2021 at 6:34 pm

Yeah dejavu. Gentoo, sawy, prevei and so on. Promising starts that ended up with disastrous after sales. Cheated once is naivety, cheated many times is plain stupidity.

• Danny Choong on Mar 02, 2021 at 10:30 pm

Buy Proton cry later

• Casual reader on Mar 03, 2021 at 5:56 pm

Danny Choong and Chong Kong above same person? Very obvious the crap they crap here.

• Shawal Ali on Mar 02, 2021 at 1:20 pm

Use App better
    For customer to keep track of services , prices, promotions and appointments

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 02, 2021 at 1:36 pm

About time fnao made it to the news channels. Really unacceptable to not have basic spare parts readily available but the train wreak doesn’t end there. X70 CBU owners will having issues even with TCU 5 and 6 updates while CKD owners have a multitude of QC issues with their vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Casual reader on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:53 pm

If you really had that much angst onto X70 i do wonder why would you pick that over your own perodua aruz. Shouldnt you be supporting your own products or are you not confident about it? Just curious from a casual reader.

• ex VGM staff on Mar 02, 2021 at 1:38 pm

the one thing that Proton overlooked for so many donkey years. and yet nothing was done. if only JD Power still here to do survey… CEO dr Li will faint of heart attack.

• Chow Wei Zhen on Mar 02, 2021 at 1:44 pm

Oh well, good to hear that. Hopefully Proton Aftersales service will be improve and also reducing backlog orders for every proton models to help to boost Proton sales again. #Worstwillbeendsoon

• dong gor on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:04 pm

Couldn’t agree more that Proton is lacking in after sales service. The customer experience for both the SUVs are positive = right product at the right price. It’s just that every time when we go back for service…we are made aware and be reminded that we’re driving the ‘Proton’ with worst service level imaginable.

• Matchy on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:05 pm

I doubt that calling the customer hotline will able to help to solve the parts shortage problem….

• Well, at least now there is an acknowledgement of issues that Protin is facing. However, Proton should do the obvious and bite the bullet to alleviate the frustration of their customers and offer some form of compensation for their shortcomings and gain back their customers support and rebuild their reputation, otherwise it will be just downhill.

• Justice on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:32 pm

what a shame

• David on Mar 02, 2021 at 2:37 pm

Standard proton SA advise to customer. Boss kereta proton Mah, what u expect. Sometime I just wonder why local car manufacturer can’t have stock available. Shame. Unless we are talking about fully CBU cars or rare models

• Proton should have engaged Shopee and Lazada for their warehousing fulfilment system.

big or small parts, 2 weeks can deliver.

• Brian on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:12 pm

This is parts shortage due to covid-19. Speedy delivery can’t solve parts shortages when there isn’t parts to ship out.

• Operation Manager on Mar 02, 2021 at 4:24 pm

Those P1 Aftersales otai jokers alredi in same jobs for 20 Year.. but Drb incompetent not able to handle international shipping & warehousing, PKP time at home busy Masak apa Pon Jadi…

• Kim Jong Din on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:46 pm

GET Lazada and shoppee to collect bookings.No need sales advisors mah,Even Kim Jong Un from North korea can place booking mah.

• prince charles on Mar 02, 2021 at 6:12 pm

my uncle”s X70 waitting one electronic parts it take 4 mth to arrived…..!

• Megat on Mar 02, 2021 at 8:00 pm

Hafriz, if you read this i hope you can ask proton about confusion with servicing their car. Recently i went to sc for 80k service for my iriz.proton service advisor told me to change timing belt,fead belt,water pump at 90k.this is without inspecting condition of my car.but the booklet and paultan article clearly wrote changing belt is at 100k and 110k.i feel that they are not transparent about service to appear ‘cheaper’ in comparison for 5 years ownership.i emailed to proton for answer,but they forward my query to sc.

• Yusop on Mar 03, 2021 at 3:16 pm

Good luck on your dealing with Proton. totally can feel your frustrations since you emailed to proton for answer,but they forward the query to sc.

Exactly the same predicament faced by my cousin, SPM student 17yo received RM1000 saman for riding bike to SPM exams. Go appeal buat rayuan at Balai Polis Daerah, they ask to go Balai Polis Negeri. then cannot, they forward to MKN, then cannot. They ask go to JPJ, then cannot. They ask forward to Balai Polis Kawasan Taman, then cannot. They ask go to Pejabat Kesihatan Daerah… Rakyat semua pening, kesian.. Yang dok kat atas xreti keje langsung, SOP bikin pening susah kami marhaen

• Upset on Mar 03, 2021 at 9:20 am

My 6 month old persona driver power window motor kaput. SC told me to wait 2 months for the part.

• Suprima S on Mar 03, 2021 at 3:21 pm

” Anda ingat saya ada masa untuk sakit kepala?? ” #panadol

• My car has been in CoSE Shah Alam since before Christmas 2020. Almost 3 months. Everytime I call CoSE SA for update he says parts no stock.

• There’s problem with both absorber. Went to the service centre and need to change the absorber. Until now (March) still did not received the parts. Almost 6 months

• 3bulan kereta xsiap2 bila tanya barang takde stock gile ape nk peram berapa lama lagi excident sikit bahagian bumper dan ade part2 yg kena.tolong la bila call bg tahu jawapan yg customer boleh puas hati ini call dari bulan 1 ke skrg jawapan mggu ke mggu xpasti koyak la ni mcm….

• Steven Liew on Jan 07, 2022 at 11:14 am

Proton after sales service sucks. Took me 3 weeks to get an appointment at authorized agent, Setia Gemilang Auto Sdn Bhd, Shah Alam for car checking/repair recently. Turn up at appointment to be informed the technician to check tailgate damper issues is on leave due to recent flood. Had to make another appointment 2 weeks later for car checking. During 2nd visit checking, technician confirmed tailgate dampers were faulty and under warranty. However parts need to be ordered from Proton. Parts availability unsure. Was told it may take 1-3 months and Setia Gemilang can’t do anything else to help. Just wait for their call when part arrives, they said. Then make appointment again…..it really sucks.

• Manikir on Jun 04, 2022 at 8:24 am

We Malaysian are cheated by everyone